Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liveline Thread 27/03/14 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,739 ✭✭✭sudzs

Put a brick in your cistern?! :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

snubbleste wrote: »
    Hurdy gurdy hurdy gurdy I'm a giant hurdy gurdy wurdy

Fair play to him too.

He has my vote !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

"I've actually worked that out incorrectly havent I?":confused:

Dear God...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,281 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Hahahaha. She comes on with a point about how many times she can flush the toilet and then realises she did her sums wrong. Brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,068 ✭✭✭✭neris

Lapin wrote: »
    What did Phil Hogan said?

I missed the news.

bend over and let the government bugger you even more

Already the worst liveline callers ever!!!

Maybe they should get a job and feck off and fend for themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

Living on a flood plain isn't such a bad thing now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

"I'm worried now whether I can go to the toilet"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Tell those adult kids to pay for their own water!

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Tell those adult kids to pay for their own water!
    Evian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭digzy

BPKS wrote: »
    Hahahaha. She comes on with a point about how many times she can flush the toilet and then realises she did her sums wrong. Brilliant.

Joe fairly fcuked her off quickly enough. Coming on quoting maths is bad enough but getting them wrong on air:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

I think it's a D minus ordinary level junior cert on the maths for our callers today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,949 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Tell them to crap at school, then.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

digzy wrote: »
    Joe fairly fcuked her off quickly enough. Coming on quoting maths is bad enough but getting them wrong on air:rolleyes:
    Oops69 wrote: »
    I think it's a D minus ordinary level junior cert on the maths for our callers today

It wouldn't happen if they had project maths back in her day.

fianna fail should have brought this water charge in during the glory days then these feckers could have little to whinge about

Fer gaws sake, there's nothing to stop you putting your own meter in your incoming main, inside your own house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

Have the Lavlahn researchers rang John O`Donovan yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

well well well ..surprise surprise water charges..

Just cut down.

Don't leave the tap running.

Put a brick in the cistern.

Wash the car less often.

Get a tank to save rainwater for the garden.

Share a bath with the neighbours.

Drink less tae.

Put the clothes in the diswasher with the pots and pans.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    It wouldn't happen if they had project maths back in her day.

The scary thing is she said she was running a business.:eek:

Why does he have to say "old aged" pensions, I thought it was implied..

Taxation and Joe.
    Via the Channel Islands, the Cayman Islands, Gibralter, Lichtenstein, and back to Clontarf.

newstalk this morning were saying labour were pushing for social welfare recipients to get their water for free so that us nice tax payers can pay even more to support some of the wasters and spongers that have been spawned off the state most of their life

Ex-public sector oap with a second pension whining

• Registered Users Posts: 8,195 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

Just cut down.

Wash the car less often.

Drink less tae.

Pee in a bucket and use it as a fertiliser for your lawn...supposed to be mighty altogether...allegedly..

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    Fer gaws sake, there's nothing to stop you putting your own meter in your incoming main, inside your own house.

And its very simple to pop the cover off the mains and have a look at the meter there too. Well it is mine anyway, the lads installing showed me before they went.

Just cut down.

Wash the car less often.

Drink less tae.

...not with my neighbours........now, if I was living next door to Angie Jolie......mmmm........:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,159 ✭✭✭bigroad

Is anyone on a young aged pension.

I see you're not familiar with many of our retired ex state employees who took very early retirement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

he must be on a bloody big pension if he does not qualify for a card

bigroad wrote: »
    Is anyone on a young aged pension.
    Brian Cowen, Mary Hanafin, Mary Coughlan, Dermot Ahern..

"and it's not a gold pension is it"

He should know that Joe's expected response for that question is...
    "haha... Jaysus no Joe, I wish it was.. like Michael Fingleton.. ha ha"..

Half his final salary.

The old defined benefit pension, nice.

Who is paying for his pension again?

And its very simple to pop the cover off the mains and have a look at the meter there too. Well it is mine anyway, the lads installing showed me before they went.

yeah but popping the cover off and looking yourself would be cop on and sensible. cop on and sensibility are alien to the liveline caller

To distinguish from the TD and ministerial pensions currently being drawn by members of the last government, most of whom have yet to reach old age.

neris wrote: »
    newstalk this morning were saying labour were pushing for social welfare recipients to get their water for free so that us nice tax payers can pay even more to support some of the wasters and spongers that have been spawned off the state most of their life

One of the guys, can't remember who he was now, was having none of it, saying that people who get up to go to work and make an effort, no matter how little they get paid, shouldn't be penalised as a result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭AK333

So he has a public service pension
    Has an old aged pension
    Has a widows pension

And he's worrying about a €100 rebate/freebie :eek:

FFS, some people are just plain greedy - if you use it, you pay for it

ThisRegard wrote: »
    One of the guys, can't remember who he was now, was having none of it, saying that people who get up to go to work and make an effort, no matter how little they get paid, shouldn't be penalised as a result.
    It would be another incentive to stay on social welfare if you got free water

• Registered Users Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭White Horse

Half his final salary.

The old defined benefit pension, nice.

For only 5% contribution (which he got tax relief on). What a country.

How are water charges going to be applied for students who rent from Sept - May or people on Short Term rents?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

AK333 wrote: »
    So he has a public service pension
    Has an old aged pension
    Has a widows pension

And he's worrying about a €100 rebate/freebie :eek:

FFS, some people are just plain greedy - if you use it, you pay for it

He would not have an old age pension and a widowers pension together afaik..

Some of public service pensions can be very small as well depending on the final salary..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,159 ✭✭✭bigroad

American washing machine like in the levi add.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭AK333

I have a thing out the back Joe

which I'm going to set up with.... attach to .... the neighbours Joe

lucylu wrote: »
    How are water charges going to be applied for students who rent from Sept - May or people on Short Term rents?
    Pay as you go meters! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

Michaels back garden
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQeIZZZiq0rtHG4TvyBx4UtlAQUYUW9kRYMZRv7IM5KrL-dOicd

• Registered Users Posts: 6,529 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

bigroad wrote: »
    American washing machine like in the levi add.

Throw in the ould rocks, for the stone wash!!!

What the hell are these people doing with all that water? It's long after time that water charges were introduced to force them to conserve water.:mad:

so the gym and Gaa clubs don't have showers.. :eek:

People coming on saying they're going to be crippled for using a shítload of water then saying they have an American style washing machine and a son the spends his life in the shower. :confused: