Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liveline Thread 27/03/14 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

snubbleste wrote: »
    This ex-garda detective seems to be 'lost'

Thank fook he's retired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,159 ✭✭✭bigroad

it must be hard for them to pay for all property tax on the apt blocks they own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

I asked directions from a guard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

The hattitude on that garda sergeant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,950 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

I asked directions from a guard.

He told me to ask the ticket collector.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

bigroad wrote: »
    it must be hard for them to pay for all property tax on the apt blocks they own.

Your not too far from the truth......I personally know 9 guards and 7 of them have more than 2 properties

Off topic:

I missed LL and Mooney on Friday. I wanted to catch the latter to hear all the "disgust" about Ireland not getting into the Eurovision. LOL

Is it worth my while finding it on the player?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

This ex-guard's attitude is very like a certain retired Garda Commissioner......he sounds 'disgusted'.....!

Couldn't be contacted by radio. He thought he was Serpico

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

This is ok radio for a change. Public servant working practices being exposed.
    Surprised the Garda Press Office have not contacted the show so far

• Registered Users Posts: 6,529 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

That Phone Watch ad is a bit disturbing!!!!.......

Joe you can't talk, look at the way you treat your very own Garda reserve equivalent....D'Omen and only letting him discuss really minor topics

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Is Garda overtime included in their contracts?

That's the problem with some of these jobs - people assuming they'll get overtime hours, that they can just take sick days etc..

JM Skipton wrote: »
    Your not too far from the truth......I personally know 9 guards and 7 of them have more than 2 properties

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/garda-credit-union-owed-nearly-1m-by-defaulters-26565801.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

I'm not listening..

have cornflakes been brought up at all or gardai having to sleep in their cars?

it usually it's in these struggling gardai owner of several properties stories

Trying to undermine McCabe

• Registered Users Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Reminds me of the heavy gang.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

The hattitude on that garda sergeant.

Becoming more evident now.

He is getting very Garda like ,dont question ME joe.

He's looking for another rat to hang on a McCabe's door.:eek:

Why is he sayin all this crap if he is not sure about the TIMELINE...

This caller typifies the attitude McCabe was being subjected to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭AK333

Maybe Sergeant McCabe did direct Guards to crimes, only for his boss (inspector, etc) to stymy it and direct the Guards in other directions

Why is he sayin all this crap if he is not sure about the TIMELINE...

Real "tribunal answer", is'nt it!!!! :D

This country must be full of retired guards....?

Il bet he's very sure of his timeline on pension day !!

Roger_007 wrote: »
    This country must be full of retired guards....?
    Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

Off topic:

I missed LL and Mooney on Friday. I wanted to catch the latter to hear all the "disgust" about Ireland not getting into the Eurovision. LOL

Is it worth my while finding it on the player?

Mooney wasn`t on on Friday...on his way back from Denmark..
    but he did get to meet the winner before he left...

[IMG][/img]
    derek-and-conchita-wurst-from-austria

• Registered Users Posts: 8,195 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

Answering a telephone in a garda station is a very important job, especially when it is being recorded

Now we get to the real stuff - telephone operators

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

"our overtime"

This is driving me mental tbh. It's not an entitlement!

signostic wrote: »

[IMG][/img]

Hea had a back door pass

[IMG][/img]

Ha brilliant! Thanks.

Joe knows the experience needed for taking a phone call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,012 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

This reserve is getting on grand , Why ? because he's not posh , simples :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,739 ✭✭✭sudzs

This fella has the right accent anyway!

2smiggy wrote: »

He even bought two apartments.......just to be one of the lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,012 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

Hea had a back door pass

beard rash on the back of his neck ?

verbal reasoning?

[IMG][/img]
    Didn't realise Mooney was a Celtic fan, Giving Samaras his big send off

beard rash on the back of his neck ?

Probably got that "below the belt" :P

• Registered Users Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

+100!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Answering a telephone in a garda station is a very important job, especially when it is being recorded

they should give them an allowance for it and then they should give the other lads an allowance for not getting the telephone allowance

It's called rent supplement!

Being handed a report with all these facts is not what you'd call discovering something Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,950 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Obviously wasn't Gill Ette, then.
    Not the first time an Austrian with unusual facial hair has dominated Europe.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

Rents up 14%!......Much rejoicing in the Gardai?

I was just going to say what the guy has said Joe, there's probably plenty of people on rent allowance on that area, so they want to spread it out around the city so they don't have socio-economical black spots Joe, simples.

It sounds to me like they want SOME DIVERSITY involving non rent supplement people?