Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liveline Thread 27/03/14 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Here. Joe does the puns on this show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

snubbleste wrote: »
    She said that the Garda would've gone off shift

Why didn't say to him what she said to Joe?

Ask him when he's on shift or to get someone else.

That said, they should be eager to catch thieves not give people the short shrift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭face1990

She said that the Garda would've gone off shift

But she couldve asked for another Garda to go with her.
    Either way, she's giving out about the Gards not helping when she actually never bother to ring them back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

That dog with canine cough sounds very like Marian Finnucane?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,529 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

Derek Mooneys back garden, no thanks :eek:

Moderator: user banned for this homophobic comment as well as another in the Derek Mooney thread.

Roger_007 wrote: »
    That dog with canine cough sounds very like Marian Finnucane?

Probably works longer hours aswell.:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Derek Mooneys back garden, no thanks :eek:
    He's got in a young fella to landscape it nicely ..you should visit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

I am thinking about making a large investment in a whistle factory :eek:

I don't believe the drug dealing thing either.

The idea being it was to get more prosecutions, but who pays any notice garda statistics anyway?

If they wanted to catch more drug dealers they need only go to the Liffey Boardwalk or respond to their confidential hotline.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,529 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

With water features and golden showers, nah your allright!!!! :p

Nest watch......porn for birds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Lovely Austrian theme to it.:eek:

Moderator: user banned for this homophobic comment as well as another in the Derek Mooney thread.

No Derek today either....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

signostic wrote: »
    I am thinking about making a large investment in a whistle factory :eek:

Is that you Ming.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

I don't believe the drug dealing thing either.

The idea being it was to get more prosecutions, but who pays any notice garda statistics anyway?

If they wanted to catch more drug dealers they need only go to the Liffey Boardwalk or respond to their confidential hotline.

How high up does this go.

https://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=3&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CEEQFjAC&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.broadsheet.ie%2Ftag%2Fkieran-boylan%2F&ei=pdVwU-noBdSw7Ab_4oHIBA&usg=AFQjCNFHuCatnGxvgbBnMUZ1MMY4etBpDg&bvm=bv.66330100,d.ZGU

February 4, 2007: John Mooney reports in The Sunday Times that charges against Boylan, in relation to the €1.7million drugs haul, were struck out in June 2006 because the DPP failed to give detectives from the Garda National Drugs Unit any direction in the case. Mr Mooney also reports that Fine Gael leader Enda Kenny and Labour’s Brendan Howlin are demanding to know why the charges in relation to the €1.7million drug haul were not pursued against Boylan. It’s reported that Boylan is said to have boasted that he is ‘untouchable’ and will never stand trial in relation to the €1.7m drugs find, while an internal Garda inquiry into the case is under way by Garda Commssioner Noel Conroy and Chief Superintendent Kevin Ludlow. It’s reported that Mr Kenny said: ‘Drugs are the single greatest threat to Irish society. I want the government to give a full explanation on this case. I will be tabling questions on the nature of the inquiry into Boylan and why he isn’t before the courts when he was caught with such a large amount of heroin and cocaine’.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

not to forget the department of transport giving him a haulage licence and the gardai vouching for him

Aha, he's discovered the catch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,950 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

It's cheaper for a reason.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

"unwell"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Joe doing his best to make this as dramatic as possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Private health insurance is a scam.

As a public patient he would not be refused the treatment, provided it's an approved drug.
    There may be more to this story than this lady is telling us?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Private health insurance is a scam.

Not really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭AK333

If the man is dying doesn't the State have a duty of care to care for him.

Roger_007 wrote: »
    As a public patient he would not be refused the treatment, provided it's an approved drug.
    There may be more to this story than this lady is telling us?

I agree with you. Surely the State wouldn't stand back and just let someone die, the family would sue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭woejus

IPPI KI-YAY LISTENERS

deatthhhhhhhh back for 75 mins

woejus wrote: »
    IPPI KI-YAY LISTENERS

deatthhhhhhhh back for 75 mins

He's not dead yet.

AK333 wrote: »
    I agree with you. Surely the State wouldn't stand back and just let someone die, the family would sue

People are dying everyday on waiting lists and the state is standing back , not as obvious as in this case but a fact nevertheless

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    He's not dead yet.

Ah but the prospect is there, that's enough for Joe to hang on to

woejus wrote: »
    Ah but the prospect is there, that's enough for Joe to hang on to

Yes, he's tilling the ground. Expect updates in a few months, when we will hear the stealthy sound of the clamp drawer sliding open...

Caller "who has 100,000?"

hmm....

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

more and more i think yer man savage has the right idea about joe.

signostic wrote: »
    Caller "who has 100,000?"

hmm....

Ben Dunne? ........if it can be done............

This really is a desperate state of affairs that this poor woman has to plead to a radio chat show host for the care her husband deserves

that poor couple, death by bureaucracy/capitalism more than anything else

the advertisementing would lead you to believe they have you as their main concern, when really it is the money you pay in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,569 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Eh, remember Rosie? She didn't fare too well relying on the State to step in and save her life.

Bit odd that a man suffering from cancer, changes health care companies, and doesn't ensure that the new company covers him totally for his cancer care, and get it in writing

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Eh, remember Rosie? She didn't fare too well relying on the State to step in and save her life.

Was she that poor woman waiting for a colonoscopy and developed terminal bowel cancer? That was incredibly sad

Bit odd that a man suffering from cancer, changes health care companies, and doesn't ensure that the new company covers him totally for his cancer care, and get it in writing

Exactly. I suspect that he may not have been totally honest when he changed insurance providers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,569 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Was she that poor woman waiting for a colonoscopy and developed terminal bowel cancer? That was incredibly sad
    Yes. It was heartbreaking, and I guarantee you she was far from the only one.

I would never be without private insurance in this country they way it's currently run. Never. (And I know I'm very lucky I'm able to say that)

Sympathy to this woman on her situation and that she has to plead with a radio host for help..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

"Byzantine"

That's fancy.

"what happened you"
    the to dropped

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Joe hasn't got a clue what he's trying to say, "Who's running this, Dunne, Done Deal, Deal or no Deal ?"

Enough of this ****e for today.

"Byzantine"

That's fancy.

So to speak.

I think the Garda Siochana have bigger fish to fry than the lads in the Reserves "always wanting to be a Guard"

He sounds deluded

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

Its amazing with all these tests the we still ended up with a corrupt police force.

"I know that I know that I know that"

Five years on, he's still hankering to be a guard.........sounds a bit obsessed to me!