Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TXFM (formerly much missed Phantom) line up

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭Twizzler

Thats always been my bugbear with him..he plays what HE likes and fcuk the rest of ye.....cant see him getting a good slot on Nova though....maybe after everyone is finished...:)

He doesn't seem to liaise much with the listeners via text and Twitter either. I find that strange when he's the head of the station. Yes, it's on the way out, but the other presenters are still doing it.....and it's always been the cornerstone of the daytime shows to take texts and tweeted requests. I understand it when it comes to Revolver because it might be prerecorded, given the time slot. Just seems a bit odd when it comes to the day shows he fills in for.
    I think a lot of the success of Joe's show is the interaction with the texters - the regulars (the same names come up again and again), the intermittenters, the commuters, the trolls (there have been a few odd texts on Joe's show over the years!) and how he deals with them - all of that matters.
    I don't have a problem with him and I don't mind when he's covering, but I don't feel much either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭former total

John Cadell is the best presenter on TX by some distance. He will be the only real loss when it closes.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,317 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I always like Cadell, he doesn't stick to a script. Heard exactly what you said above myself. Was shocked for a sec and then thought 'Fair play'

• Registered Users Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

Twizzler wrote: »
    He doesn't seem to liaise much with the listeners via text and Twitter either. I find that strange when he's the head of the station. Yes, it's on the way out, but the other presenters are still doing it.....and it's always been the cornerstone of the daytime shows to take texts and tweeted requests. I understand it when it comes to Revolver because it might be prerecorded, given the time slot. Just seems a bit odd when it comes to the day shows he fills in for.
    I think a lot of the success of Joe's show is the interaction with the texters - the regulars (the same names come up again and again), the intermittenters, the commuters, the trolls (there have been a few odd texts on Joe's show over the years!) and how he deals with them - all of that matters.
    I don't have a problem with him and I don't mind when he's covering, but I don't feel much either.

I sent him a text a few years ago about a band and his obsession with playing them.....he read it out and put HIS point across almost to the point of being abusive...after that i knew what type he was...;)

Feck sake, Biffy Clyro side project earlier and now 2 from the actual Biffy Clyro.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭DavyD_83

I sent him a text a few years ago about a band and his obsession with playing them.....he read it out and put HIS point across almost to the point of being abusive...after that i knew what type he was...;)

the b@stard, how dare he engage with your abuse and give a counter point :pac:. I'm sure he was slightly sarky and dismissive of your view as wrong, but that's just his way.
    I've always thought of it as honest cynicism, rather than Joe's dry "wit".
    Meh, I've given up on the station a long time ago, but I'd still take Cadell over Joe any day.

DavyD_83 wrote: »
    the b@stard, how dare he engage with your abuse and give a counter point :pac:. I'm sure he was slightly sarky and dismissive of your view as wrong, but that's just his way.
    I've always thought of it as honest cynicism, rather than Joe's dry "wit".
    Meh, I've given up on the station a long time ago, but I'd still take Cadell over Joe any day.

100% with you on that.

Sure, I texted Joe one day saying that the reason 'Stupid Girl' by Garbage sounded like the Clash's 'Train in Vain' was because the former sampled the latter's drum beat, he read it out in the most sneery way. I was fuming.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭paddylonglegs

Birneybau wrote: »
    100% with you on that.

Sure, I texted Joe one day saying that the reason 'Stupid Girl' by Garbage sounded like the Clash's 'Train in Vain' was because the former sampled the latter's drum beat, he read it out in the most sneery way. I was fuming.

There are a few times he might not get the point of the text alright, but mist of the time he has an unbiased approach to people's opinions. But at least he will challenge a text and make it interesting, unlike a lot of djs who can't deal with much more than a song request.

100% with you on that.

I wouldnt read too much into it..unlike Cadell, Joe's knowledge of music lets him down sometimes , whereas JC googles kwows a lot more it seems and doesnt suffer listeners fools easily...while Joe will admit to not knowing about a band/song...which is another thing i like about Cathal too..

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭Liam92

Feck sake, Biffy Clyro side project earlier and now 2 from the actual Biffy Clyro.

Paul Donegan, I presume?

I can't listen to him covering other people's shows, it's as if he's trying too hard. His weekend shows are more listenable.

But he should be working on Nova, or else he should have been given a specialist grunge/rock show on TX. There he can play all the Nirvana/Foos/Biffy he wants.

Has anyone noticed a rise in the alt/indie music on other stations..??..i only listen to TX and the occasional trip to Nova and as i've said a definate rise on Nova...anyone..???

• Registered Users Posts: 316 ✭✭RastaRed

Has anyone noticed a rise in the alt/indie music on other stations..??..i only listen to TX and the occasional trip to Nova and as i've said a definate rise on Nova...anyone..???

Yeah I've noticed Nova playing the coral a lot lately, Mr Cadel played 3 faith no more tracks in the space of an hour this afternoon

RastaRed wrote: »
    Yeah I've noticed Nova playing the coral a lot lately, Mr Cadel played 3 faith no more tracks in the space of an hour this afternoon

Yeah..he's a real rebel...and he made it sound like he was doing us a favour...:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭former total

Just stop listening.

Is that an order...:confused:.......i cant help myself..:p

• Registered Users Posts: 9,936 ✭✭✭LEIN

JC just tried to break tx

LEIN wrote: »
    JC just tried to break tx

Unfortunately he didnt break it before that "i love the Beatles so much i want Macca's babies"....jesus...he went on and on about their influences on other bands, played various Beatles sounding tracks...then at the end he says "well i wont go on about the Beatles cause everyone does that"...what a tool....:rolleyes:

NO ..i couldnt turn it off...cause the alternative is as bad.....:p

Well, sit in silence. Jeeezz

Hard to sit when your under a gearbox.....:p...some people still work on their feet...:pac:

Liam92 wrote: »
    Paul Donegan, I presume?

I can't listen to him covering other people's shows, it's as if he's trying too hard. His weekend shows are more listenable.

But he should be working on Nova, or else he should have been given a specialist grunge/rock show on TX. There he can play all the Nirvana/Foos/Biffy he wants.

I really hope Paul gets sorted with a show like that when TX ends. He knows his grunge (if that's not too much of a "Is the Pope a Catholic?" type of statement) & he always sounds excited about what he's playing. I know it's probably frustrating if you aren't into the same bands as him - but like you said, a specialist show for him would work well. I just hope there is call for it somewhere.

On another note, I've known all the words of Blossom's Getaway for at least a month now....
    Some songs really do get a good airing!

• Registered Users Posts: 425 ✭✭deecom

Tbh just listen to 6Music... Shame nobody can get a station like that together in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭Liam92

On another note, I've known all the words of Blossom's Getaway for at least a month now....
    Some songs really do get a good airing!

Since they started playing 'Getaway', Blossoms have re-released 'Charlemagne' as a single, and have a new one called 'Honey Sweet'. Yet, 'Getaway' is constantly played.

I think that has a part to play with TX's problems because it seems there's little effort in ensuring 'new' singles are still new, or else they are played to death.

It's not that hard really. English stations are up to speed all the time regarding new releases and deciding to stop playing songs over and over.

deecom wrote: »
    Tbh just listen to 6Music... Shame nobody can get a station like that together in Ireland.

Will see if I can get an app for that when I get home & the wifi is stronger...can't find it now. I am definitely more of an "actual radio" listener (aka dinosaur) but I suppose provisions need to be made at this time for post-Oct anyway!
    I have listened to 6 whilst on my laptop & yeah, it's promising.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

What was the craic with Joe this week? Holidays or covering a slot on another company station?

Gotta have some level of respect for Cadel but he comes across very 'I'm right, you're wrong' at times. I've actually heard him use the childhood phrase 'Neah - neah, neah, neah-neah' before to a listener that contradicted his opinion.

Big Nasty wrote: »
    What was the craic with Joe this week? Holidays or covering a slot on another company station?

Gotta have some level of respect for Cadel but he comes across very 'I'm right, you're wrong' at times. I've actually heard him use the childhood phrase 'Neah - neah, neah, neah-neah' before to a listener that contradicted his opinion.

If im honest, and i hate going on as if i hated him..i dont..but i cant really see a slot for him on any other station..unless its a late night one, he knows his stuff alright ....,to the point of boredom sometimes, ..:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Kensington

He covered for Sean Moncrief on Newstalk before.

• Registered Users Posts: 425 ✭✭deecom

Will see if I can get an app for that when I get home & the wifi is stronger...can't find it now. I am definitely more of an "actual radio" listener (aka dinosaur) but I suppose provisions need to be made at this time for post-Oct anyway!
    I have listened to 6 whilst on my laptop & yeah, it's promising.

TuneIn Radio, think most stations stream on it. ;)

deecom wrote: »
    TuneIn Radio, think most stations stream on it. ;)
    Got it there - cheers! The things you don't know you don't know...v useful info. Thanks.

Big Nasty wrote: »

I would think a hol because he isn't tweeting, and he usually tweets if he is filling in for someone...just a guess though.