Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TXFM (formerly much missed Phantom) line up

• Registered Users Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Lads, I think a lot of you might still be wearing your rose tinted glasses that were loaned out at the time they announced it was closing and got a bit more freedom with the playlist.

And when they got that freedom the listeners went up! If anyone gets the licence if/when it goes up they should take note.

I was never a regular listener but i listened yesterday and am listening to Joe's last hour now and it has the feel of Phantom back when it was a pirate station.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭SimonMaher

Just for info - 8Radio.com is live on weekday evenings and all day at weekends. Some day the shoestring will stretch to more live hours but for now it's just tunes and voiceover man in the daytime and a mellow playlist after the live stuff finishes at night :)

Thought TXFM did a very nice job of wrapping it all up last night and a great choice of final song too. The closure of another creative outlet in the city is a real pity and the loss of jobs in the Radio business is a obviously unwelcome too. Best of luck to all those involved - good work done by all.

Simon

• Registered Users Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Mrs Shuttleworth

Cina wrote: »
    A few people suggested Radio 6 - I tried this morning, but the presenter was unbelievably annoying, absolutely loved the sound of his own voice.

I think a part of what made TX great and why we're sad it's gone is that fact that all the presenters just seemed so ... sound. It always felt like they were interacting with you, that they cared what music you wanted etc.

I just don't think we'll ever get that again, *sniff sniff*

That's Shaun Keaveny, I know him a little bit actually! All radio morning jocks in the UK are like that...:P

Radio 6 is a hipster version of BBC Radio 2. Same demographic just think they're a bit cooler. Will have the Bee Gees and Michael Jackson wedged up again QOTSA and Toro Y Moi and pretend it's all ironic, like.

Speaking of BBC Radio 2 (and BBC Radio 1) - all of a sudden I can get both perfectly clear FM signals in South Dublin. Used to be only going up the M1 towards the North. 88.1 for the former, 99.7 for the latter. In the evenings they're pretty good.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Thanks Simon for the info.

Not sure about other listeners but personally I'd mostly listen to radio 7am - 7pm and do my own thing after that. I'd also listen less at weekends than during the week. Is that fairly normal?

I've been listening to 8Radio most of the morning and while I'm enjoying it good music alone does not a good station make. I guess a lot of us would have many TXFM / 8Radio tracks already on spotify or whatever.

I realise your presenters may be voluntary and have day jobs and obviously budget is an issue but certainly for me I'd be happy to switch over if there were daytime presenters.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,662 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

the mood around here reminds me of the Tuesday after the Electric Picnic :(

• Registered Users Posts: 11,968 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Somebody suggested cdnx.co.uk - indie station. So far so good.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,936 ✭✭✭LEIN

Just had a quick listen to 8radio, was impressed and will most likely be my final settling place after my holiday from radio.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭Irish Gunner

Like a relationship you don't know what a good thing is until its gone
    Woke up this morning to Nova and almost threw the radio out the window. Think they played 2 songs in half an hour. Then turned onto yesterday fm and same jokes and songs been played
    Onto the bus and listening to 8radio but the walk to work listening to my SanDisk mp3 player and not one radio station worth listening to so just listening to whats on my memory card
    It was a sad day yesterday but something will turn up hopefully soon on the FM band...I Hope

• Registered Users Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

If I knew anything about how a radio works I think I'd Ho early have w craic at a terrible pirate station.
    I don't though, so I hope someone that does is having similar ideas.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Mrs Shuttleworth

CianRyan wrote: »
    If I knew anything about how a radio works I think I'd Ho early have w craic at a terrible pirate station.
    I don't though, so I hope someone that does is having similar ideas.

There's no niche dance station on FM now either, either legit or pirate.

Three MOR stations with the same playlist and the soundtrack in all Dublin taxis.

Three pop stations with the same playlist, for the tweens/young workers.

National pop station playing the same tracks they did in 1984.

There is a market there...someone just has to make it work.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

It's gotta be a labour of love too, go in expecting to spend money and not get any back. A hobby.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,662 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Three MOR stations with the same playlist and the soundtrack in all Dublin taxis.

Maybe XFm might bid and get it this time..

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭jennebean

seriously , I cried last night and I'm down in the dumps today.
    can't believe how much I already miss my radio friends. all the bants and laughs in the car , pulling in to text in. I really feel like a community has just gone , vanished. Id like to think that there is people like me , wandering around all day stressing out about what to listen to.

I always had a listen to Cerys mathews on bbc radio 6 (the podcast from her Sunday show) then Giles Peterson and am trying to listen to jarvais cocker but im not really getting him yet , maybe he's a grower.

I do agree with the posts as well as the music I really think its Cathal Claire and Joe that il miss the most. i hope to hear them return to radio soon.

my car is a lonely place now :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

CianRyan wrote: »
    It's gotta be a labour of love too, go in expecting to spend money and not get any back. A hobby.

I think to break even would be a good expectation no-one is going to run it at a loss. But I would think the licence would have to change in order for that to happen, strip out the need for news and a percent of the airtime to be used for talk shows. Times are changing the licences need to change with them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭The_Captain

It looks like the split is happening already, 8radio or nova.

Personally I'm on team 8radio

• Registered Users Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

It looks like the split is happening already, 8radio or nova.

Personally I'm on team 8radio

Nova won't even an option for me.
    I'd rather listen to the static!

For the times I'm in the car, I already mentioned DublincityFM LiveDrive play surprisingly good music between the traffic updates, which themselves make my day a lot easier!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Kensington

Sad but true :(

What exactly is it that makes it so hard to commercialise niche stations here?

Lack of sustainable audience?
    Costs associated with the 10% News & Current Affairs?
    Funding?
    Licensing costs?
    Legal costs?
    Insurance costs?
    Wages?
    Royalties costs?
    Greed...?

Pirates/temps seem to be able to put together a fantastic and professional alternative station on a shoestring budget (Freedom, Pulse, Phantom, The Rock, Non-Stop 90s... to name but a few!) but when anyone tries to commercialise upon it (Phantom, Spin 103.8, Nova) it either ends up descending into generic, watered down, playlisted-to-the-hilt mush much like every other station they claimed to be offering an alternative to, or, sadly, in Phantom/TXFM's case, goes to the wall...

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Nova won't even an option for me.
    I'd rather listen to the static!

For the times I'm in the car, I already mentioned DublincityFM LiveDrive play surprisingly good music between the traffic updates, which themselves make my day a lot easier!

Dublin city fm are great , I love pam doing the traffic in the am :) always plays random stuff:)

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭Twizzler

jennebean wrote: »
    can't believe how much I already miss my radio friends. all the bants and laughs in the car , pulling in to text in. I really feel like a community has just gone , vanished. Id like to think that there is people like me , wandering around all day stressing out about what to listen to.

Hello :)
    I think a lot of your people are right here! I for one am a complete zombie today over it. Can't even think of that mic drop vid without both smiling (classic last tweet) and welling up.
    As for that Pulp song.....still traumatised!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,936 ✭✭✭LEIN

I have been subjected to an hour of 4FM.

FML..... :(

• Registered Users Posts: 39 Clem_Fandango

I think you're wrong. I don't think a viable market exists for non-MOR music on the FM format. The JNLR's don't think so either... and neither do the advertisers.

I think you'd have to blend a web/app based user platform with a visible presence (ie a jock desk in a high footfall area business).

This format takes the best bits of pirate without the financial limitations of commercial that seem to ultimately restrict and confine until the playlist becomes a bloated ad for Universal.

Sure, feck it. I'll do it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

LEIN wrote: »
    I have been subjected to an hour of 4FM.

FML..... :(
    That's me every morning, Monday to Friday.... Pure torture. Ears bleeding

• Registered Users Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭ahlookit

Sure, feck it. I'll do it.

Can we then tweet your station saying "I can hear you Clem Fandango"?

I'll see myself out.

Twizzler wrote: »
    Hello :)
    I think a lot of your people are right here! I for one am a complete zombie today over it. Can't even think of that mic drop vid without both smiling (classic last tweet) and welling up.
    As for that Pulp song.....still traumatised!

It did cross my mind to listen to the podcasts on the app , but then I thought i might cry again, I was sad , but then Joe closing his show set me off and the rest uhhhh i just went to bed at half 8 miserable.

I just find it hard to believe that it wasnt worth saving. There is shag-all for the tx audience to listen too on Irish radio now.

Listened to spin when it started but then ya grown out of that and hopefully your music taste evolved you moved to phantom , then tx. is the next stage really going to be q102 or even worse nova (insert cringey dj laugh here ahu ahu ahu ) fml

98 and 104 are to pop whiz all the presenter ARE ONLY THE MADDEST CRAIC LOIKE EVER (sigh)

sad sad days

• Registered Users Posts: 349 ✭✭numbnutz

I always had a listen to Cerys mathews on bbc radio 6 (the podcast from her Sunday show) then Giles Peterson and am trying to listen to jarvais cocker but im not really getting him yet , maybe he's a grower.

I do agree with the posts as well as the music I really think its Cathal Claire and Joe that il miss the most. i hope to hear them return to radio soon.

my car is a lonely place now :(

Totally agree with you there. I feel like its the day after a funeral. I never realised how much a part of my life they had become. Hearing your texts getting read out and your requests getting played and the way they spoke to you over the airwaves.
    I actually drove with the static playing from the radio this morning. I said to a friend that a hole had appeared in the airwaves and he reminded me that a hole is surrounded by something but in TXFM's case nothing surrounded them they were on their own.
    Joe reading out the letter actually made me tear up and John Grant showing up was absolutely beautiful. Amazing that a radio station that truly championed so many Irish acts is gone.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Broadsheet.ie has a list of alternatives for the passing of the King of alternative...
    http://www.broadsheet.ie/2016/10/27/so-what-now/

Cant wait for the sadness to be gone :(

sending all you guys loads of hugs .....maximum 3 awwwwww lol not lol

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭Twizzler

maximum 3 awwwwww lol not lol

That did make me chuckle :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Kensington wrote: »
    Sad but true :(

What exactly is it that makes it so hard to commercialise niche stations here?

One thing that struck me, if they were sharing a building, and surely the same broadcasting infrastructure as Today FM - why were they only broadcasting to Dublin?

Surely if they could broadcast to the entire island, they'd make much more in ad revenue alone. Not to mention they'd gain a wider fan base.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Licencing reasons.