Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Masters 2014 * Warning Post #19 *

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,386 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Don't know what they're on about the cut going to +5... It's very unlikely.

2 from the 3 of Rory (+4), Jimenez & Olesen (+3) need to go to +5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,563 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

There simply isn't enough stars - not to mention , the ones we have are not at the top of the leaderboard.

Golf coverage in general has gone to the dogs,too many ads,shots of scoreboards and too few groups shown.
    Added to that the sound of the crowd is completely blocked out ,its boring.
    Only the last few hours on Sunday night is worth watching nowadays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭SaveOurLyric

PARlance wrote: »
    Is Paddy still exempt for the US Open?

Does anyone care ? Why watch PH struggle to make the cut, hoping the cut moves out a shot or two and that he can birdie the 18th, but instead he double bogeys it.....when you can watch the second Tiger Slam ?

Does anyone care ? Why watch PH struggle to make the cut, hoping the cut moves out a shot or two and that he can birdie the 18th, but instead double bogey it.....when you can watch the second Tiger Slam ?

Ohhhh you were talking about Tiger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,749 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Spieth has some future

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭SaveOurLyric

Ohhhh you were talking about Tiger

PH only has 8 years to go though until he (can try anyway) to qualify for the US Seniors Open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

irishgeo wrote: »
    +4 and better plus 10 shot rule in force.
    Not watching it at the moment so don't know what they're saying but I don't think it's going to go to +5.

+5 is T53rd at the moment.
    It needs 3 lads to drop out from above
    The lads on +4 have all finished so they're not moving.
    There are 3 playing that are at +3, and a few at +2 but they're all nearing the end of round.

I doubt 3 will go to +5 so I reckon it's staying at +4

Ten shot rule won't be coming into it.

Apolagies, but what is the 10 shot rule?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,067 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Jaysus - didn't see much today -

McDowell - useless too.

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Apolagies, but what is the 10 shot rule?

Anyone within 10 shots of the leader makes the cut.
    It overrides the Top 50 marking the cut.

So, for eg. If the whole field were to be within 10 shots of the leader then the whole field make the cut.

+3 is the within 10 shots of the leader mark. There are currently 45 players within this.
    So it reverts to anyone tied 50 or better now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,444 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

How does that not go in for Sneds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

Reed (Mr Top 5) showing his ass there.

PH only has 8 years to go though until he (can try anyway) to qualify for the US Seniors Open.

He'll get an exemption for his first year so no need to qualify (or try to qualify).

• Registered Users Posts: 7,513 ✭✭✭seanhynes

Mcilroy in big bother now he could miss this

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭swoody

i hope fitzpatrick birdies the last to keep the amateur competition alive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

How Big Bird can even see the ball at address is astounding.

Cut is +4 unless one of the lads on -3 drops 8 shots

Amazing shot, hope he sinks it

excellent shot from Fitzpatrick hope he can birdie this

Reed and a few other top players in the world on cut line.

Rory at about the same level as this kid.

you were the future once Rory.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,804 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Gutted for Fitzpatrick.

Jordan Spieth is something else

Is he blaming caddy ?

Feck , me tricky 2 putt.

needs to two putt here Rory,very dodgy cant believe that ball didnt come down nearer to the hole for him

Rory may be about to be dragged shopping tomorrow.

jaysus - is he going to miss cut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭The Premier Man

well yes or no???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Hasn't made a putt today so I think he will miss this

he will

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

Holes it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

Never doubted him.

well done Rory

was sort of a good - 2 putt in end.

But he pushed wedge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

In by the skin of his teeth!!!!

Rory needs to stop feeling sorry for himself so early in rounds like today.

The difference between his and Scott's round who was +3 after the first few holes says it all

This masters needs a bubba blow up big time tomorrow. All we're missing from it so far is Loopers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

the thing is with the masters anyone that makes the cut is usually in with a shout. you just never know in this tournament!

scott will be very happy to go in at evens id fancy him to retain it after that, I think Bubba is liable to explode at any time

just seen bubba's highlights.....he had some class putts today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

Has anyone in their career who has had a long stretch (multpiple years) in the world top 5 ever played as inconsistently as McIlroy? Crazy stuff.

Total amateurish by Rory.

If he doesn't get rid of this head dropping - his career is going nowhere.

It is about grinding out results.

Feeling , sorry for himself , head dropping , looking at caddy, shoulders into neck.

He should be ashamed of himself when you see that young fella of 19 with more composure.

Rory is turning into the Moyes of golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭Dingaan

You got to love the direct style of Monty's analysis. Pure box office.

Bubba was very impressive there,

But a blow up on the way - I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,444 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Is he blaming caddy ?

You mean JP actually talks to him ?

NufcNavan wrote: »
    Has anyone in their career who has had a long stretch (multpiple years) in the world top 5 ever played as inconsistently as McIlroy? Crazy stuff.

Inconsistent?
    What do you mean by that in terms of his results/career?

He was in a big dip last year and is gradually showing signs of getting his game back.
    A fairly terrible 12 months (win in Oz aside) in 2013
    Before that he was awesome.

Turned Pro 2007 @ 17
    2007-2009 European tour mainly, still a teenager, learning the Tour game as a hot prospect
    2010-2012 becomes one of the best in the world, 2 majors and 7 or 8 other wins.
    2013: a write off bar Oz.

Plenty of the Top 5/All golfers can have major dips in form.
    He, at 24 has had 3 years as a kid making a name for himself with good golf. The next 3 years were he was super. And 1 crap year last year.
    Not exactly inconsistent.
    6 years Up followed by 1 Down.

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭josie19

I think the problem now with the Masters is they want to make it tough like the US Open by pin placement. So now we've seen two days of very tough scoring except for bubba magic from 12-16. Take Bubba out and it's wide open even down to the +2s. Guaranteed easy pins tomorrow to bring the field back in but it's all contrived sh!te. Hopefully back 9 Sunday will get us all up for it and we'll forget these two days (I know I have already). Let the winning score be -16 who cares? Obviously the committee don't want low scores anymore.

It's a terrible pity - we want birdies and eagles at Augusta - leave the mundane par scoring for the US Open.

Have to say (despite the charter) Monty's ridiculous comment about Bubba. "I've no confidence In Bubba after seeing that last pulled 8 Iron on 18". Bubba had just played sublime golf on the back 9 and made one mistake on 18 like most of the field (very few good shots today on 18 (well except J Speith)), and Monty picks on that as a weakness cos he was 4 shots clear. Give me a break from the man !!

• Registered Users Posts: 747 ✭✭✭getoffthepot

It is about grinding out results.

Feeling , sorry for himself , head dropping , looking at caddy, shoulders into neck.

He should be ashamed of himself when you see that young fella of 19 with more composure.

Rory is turning into the Moyes of golf.

Wouldn't it be the Torres of golf !

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭BubbaM

To be fair, Mcilroy didn't have much luck in the round either; hitting the sprinkler head on 13; 3 lip outs (I think) on 15,16,17 and then that wedge staying up on 18.. Felt sorry for Matt Fitzpatrick not making that birdie on 18, shame.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,804 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Saturday pairings. Rory on his own!

Bk-10AvIMAASbjx.jpg#twimg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Goldenjohn

Saturday pairings. Rory on his own!

Bk-10AvIMAASbjx.jpg#twimg

I'm available to be marker!! But looks like the job is gone....

@IrishGolfDesk: Augusta member Jeff Knox is the usual marker. Played with Stadler in 02 and Kraft in 12. Course record holder off members’ tees (61). #Rory?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭peepee

Yes its disappointing but to give him credit before this year he wouldn't have made the cut. From what I saw on back nine he played well bar his putter. He had no confidence in it, thats scary in Augusta. Played the last 4 very well in fairness.

Expect a course record or a big number today. In his favour he will have the softest conditions of the day. I hope there is a camera on him.