Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Masters 2014 * Warning Post #19 *

• Registered Users Posts: 256 ✭✭leonards

I'm hoping for Ricky and kucher 1-2. Then I'm going to treat myself to a nice new putter :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭galwaylad14

According to someone on BBC last night they said bubba was no 1 on tour in lag putting stats (proximity outside 30ft or something like that?)

Well I think coming into the masters he had gone almost 300 holes without a 3 putt. And then he went the first 2 rounds without a 3 putt aswell. He's a very good putter, confidence just deserted him yesterday, could happen to anyone, we'll have to wait and see if it has recovered today

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭josie19

So putting only counts when it suits ?

I bet Bubba ends up in deep **** tonight with driving.
    An 8 on the way.

Never said that Fix. Driving as long as Bubba is a huge advantage where he is hitting significantly shorter irons into the green than others. When Rory blew up in 2011 his putting was only average but his long game kept leaving him short irons which created more birdie opportunities. He got some but missed as many. I'd say if Rory had putted well for 3 days at the Masters in 2011 he would have had a 10 shot lead on Sunday.

Stats can be very misleading. If two players are 50% for 7-8 footers - one guy might have had 20 birdie putts from that range and the other only 10 birdie putts from that range - approach play is what creates the birdie chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭big_drive

Even the lads in studio take the piss outta Monty! Butch caught him a good one there saying he can ask Jiminez for a free copy of his fitness DVD as he'd be too mean to buy one

• Registered Users Posts: 6,328 ✭✭✭sunbabe08

jack Nicklaus is the king, love listening to his voice.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭manafana

sunbabe08 wrote: »
    jack Nicklaus is the king, love listening to his voice.

soothing voice hasn't he, still find mcginley most insightful as he is very in tune with current game both sides of the pond. Jack isn;t too clued in one european players at times.

Quiet enjoy the guys on masters breakfast.

i know his knowledge of the european tour is not great, but when he can talk about the olden days and playing with sam snead and bobby jones, then i'll leave him off. i got all giddy when he started talking about bobby jones :D:D:D that folks is history right there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭John Cherry

Hope Bubba wins it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Fred Couples is such an elegant golfer.

Paully D wrote: »
    Fred Couples is such an elegant golfer.

I'm in love with his game. :D:D it makes me feel giddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,749 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Freddie Couples - way to go baby cakes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,444 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Come on Freddie!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭me89

If only Lee could hole a few putts.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

Westwoods putting is terrible. 3-putt from 10-ish feet!

westwood doing a westwood

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭swoody

well played jordan spieth

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭swoody

wow kuuuch wow

Freddy!!! What a man:pac:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,804 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Rory really is brilliant to watch in full flow. Hope he can get to -2 or -3

What a silly bogey from bubba

That 4th hole is brutal

• Registered Users Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

The greens are making the players look silly.

Not so good kuch

Amazing that mcilroy is now into the top 10 and actually ahead of the likes of westwood

big_drive wrote: »
    Amazing that mcilroy is now into the top 10 and actually ahead of the likes of westwood

cream always comes to the top!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,386 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Atta boy

That ken brown analysis on the 9th hole was excellent

Boom!! What a shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Unbelievable from Spieth.

JORDAN!!!!

John Deer all over again, hopefully.

love the masters website leaderboard :D

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Really hope Spieth holds his nerve. As someone who has backed in him in near 75% of events this season on the PGA Tour (ref gambling thread), he's usually put in 3 good rounds before imploding in one of them.

Great shot from him there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,067 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Rory has had 5 Birdies today.

He really should have bloody won this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

Just to make everyone feel a little older...

The first time we all saw Matt Kuchar at the Masters as an amateur, Jordan Speith was 4.

I still like to think Kuchar is about 25.

Beginning to look like the winner will be from top 4 now. -4 and up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Dealerz

Good example of taking correct penalties by poulter...you gotta keep the hazard between you and the flag

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭LinksLad

What chance now Speith or Watson finishing the day -4 for the par 3s? Maybe both?

Yes hard to win this unless you get to -6 or lower. Spieth when he gets his chances, he is knocking them close.

bbc show a lot of Poults!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭SaveOurLyric

Dr. Bre wrote: »

And Jamie Donaldson.

Which is great.

McIlroy was two fairly unlucky holes away from posting a clubhouse lead that would have put on some pressure.

Great display from him this werkend

Jaysus - this lad Jordan is guaranteed a British Open .

He has played about 4 punches and all perfect.

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭josie19

Jordan to do a Rory (2011) on the back 9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Nice to be off on this Monday morning so I can watch the back 9 on masters Sunday. There is nothing like it in golf. Always drama.

Great stuff from Speith so far. Genuine superstar in the making. Massive test for him coming up on this back 9 to hold his nerve.
    Personally hoping for kuchar to get the win due to my money being on him. Solid so far and hopefully he pushes on when he gets into the back 9.

Some great stuff from McElroy today. If only those bogeys at 13 and 15 were birdies he would be setting a competitive clubhouse lead.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

What a putt, Rickie!

fowler!!!!!!!! ftw!!!!!!!:P

Dr. Bre wrote: »

Ive furyk backed at 70/1 and they've shown a grand total of 2 of his shots since they came on air.

haven't seen furyk at all yet on sky sports

sunbabe08 wrote: »
    haven't seen furyk at all yet on sky sports

It's mad, if he was well off the pace i'd understand, but he's two strokes off 3rd spot.