Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Masters 2014 * Warning Post #19 *

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭Ahoy Ahoy

Can't wait.

Mayhan
    Walker
    McIlroy

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,197 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Poulter
    Woods
    Bradley

• Registered Users Posts: 256 ✭✭leonards

Rory
    Kuch
    Phil N

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,424 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

slave1 wrote: »
    Poulter
    Woods
    Bradley

You dont read all the posts in the thread or was the Tiger Woods withdrawal announcement an April Fool ? :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,197 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Rikand wrote: »
    You dont read all the posts in the thread or was the Tiger Woods withdrawal announcement an April Fool ? :)

Sh1t, was posting via the phone, well you went for Garcia :D:confused:

Poulter
    McIlroy
    Bradley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,001 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Lads this is the golf forum.

New rule
    This is the age of the Internet and all that - so spelling is irrelevant. But if you get a golfers name wrong you are disqualified. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Danny dyers double

Scott
    Rose
    Stenson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

Scott
    Rose
    Stenson

I'd be shocked if Stenson made the cut TBH.

To be honest - it is very hard to get them right.
    There is sort of 30 to 40 players who can go well.

The last major I got right was Darren Clarke. That was a lucky punt.
    Look at below - can't see how too many of these were predictable -
    maybe people would say Phil and Rory.

2013 Australia Adam Scott, England Justin Rose, United States Phil Mickelson (5/5), United States Jason Dufner,
    2012 United States Bubba Watson, United States Webb Simpson, South Africa Ernie Els (4/4), Northern Ireland Rory McIlroy (2/2),
    2011 South Africa Charl Schwartzel, Northern Ireland Rory McIlroy (1/2), Northern Ireland Darren Clarke, United States Keegan Bradley,
    2010 United States Phil Mickelson (4/5), Northern Ireland Graeme McDowell, South Africa Louis Oosthuizen, Germany Martin Kaymer,
    2009 Argentina Ángel Cabrera (2/2), United States Lucas Glover, United States Stewart Cink, South Korea Yang Yong-eun,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Rory
    Dustin
    Speith

• Registered Users Posts: 630 ✭✭✭gman127

Lads this is the golf forum.

New rule
    This is the age of the Internet and all that - so spelling is irrelevant. But if you get a golfers name wrong you are disqualified. :D

Well then in that case I'll go for:

Oosthoose
    Sczwatzer
    Coalsart

forget it....

gman127 wrote: »
    Well then in that case I'll go for:

Oosthoose
    Sczwatzer
    Coalsart

forget it....

Only joking man - but that is funny **** - all 3 wrong. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,345 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Every,
    Day,
    I'm shuff... Huh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

Speith
    Gmac
    Couples

scrubber72 wrote: »
    Speith
    Gmac
    Couples

I love the charitable Couples Scrub - ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

PARlance wrote: »
    Every,
    Day,
    I'm shuff... Huh

Lynn :pac:

Lynn :pac:

Sorry lads - lost at last bit.

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭josie19

I was enjoying this thread until Fix turned it into a stupid prediction thread - pointless.

Where's the unsubscribe button :rolleyes:

Take predictions to the bookies

josie19 wrote: »
    I was enjoying this thread until Fix turned it into a stupid prediction thread - pointless.

Where's the unsubscribe button :rolleyes:

Take predictions to the bookies

I think the predictions will pass - take your point.
    But there is a week to go. It is relevant who do we think will win. Most will say anyway.

By the way - some are interested in the bookies too - but that is banned to talk about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Sergio
    Kuchar
    Rory

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Feck that's basically ruining the Masters for me now. Don't really care about any of the others. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,498 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

....oh and Peter Alliss

And that absolute pain.....Hazell Irvine...

Jaysus , she drives me mad....Even thinking about it now drives me mad....Jaysus

And Shane O Donoghue...The Garth Crooks of Golf....How one man can ask the most long winded convoluted questions is beyond me

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,253 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

alxmorgan wrote: »
    So you are saying that the Open is sullied by Todd Hamilton winning it for example ?

I think it exposes the slight "lottery" aspect to links golf for sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭SaveOurLyric

Boy, this thread got dull.
    Is anyone really interested in reading long lists of three golfers? Eyes glazing over etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭peepee

I think it exposes the slight "lottery" aspect to links golf for sure.

Tied after 4 days at Royal Troon and wins a four hole playoff against Ernie Els? Can you be 'that' lucky?

Is anyone really interested in reading long lists of three golfers? Eyes glazing over etc

Me,

Would you post something then ? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭Loire

Tiger being out sort of ruins it for me. Not that he has won it or anything recently, but there was always the chance that he'd do something special on the last day and make a charge. Having said that though, we're gonna see a whole lot more golf!

I fancy DJ as an each-way, apart from that anyone really, possible Scott for the double!

Loire.

I didnt mention any golfers...:D

peepee wrote: »
    Tied after 4 days at Royal Troon and wins a four hole playoff against Ernie Els? Can you be 'that' lucky?

You dont think there is an element of luck in links golf?

anyway, off topic, bold GreeBo.

Loire wrote: »
    Tiger being out sort of ruins it for me. Not that he has won it or anything recently, but there was always the chance that he'd do something special on the last day and make a charge. Having said that though, we're gonna see a whole lot more golf!

I fancy DJ as an each-way, apart from that anyone really, possible Scott for the double!

Loire.

Yes bad news,

Sadly - I think Tiger is going to feel the years and years of swinging so fast. He is 38 now. Once the back acts up very hard to get rid of it.

GreeBo wrote: »

anyway, off topic, bold GreeBo.

There is luck in every golf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭peepee

Sure do! But on a shot here and there. Over 76 holes I think a guys deserves it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

You need a bit of luck in any round of golf be it Parkland or Links.

I once got 2nd in weekend competition with 42 points from hitting a hook into trees but rebounded onto the fairway about 20 yards further down then I could ever hit it at time.

You need a bit of luck in any round of golf be it Parkland or Links.

I think it's fair to say that there are more vagaries in links golf though- more bump & runs played due to undulating fairways etc and where a good shot can be (unfairly perhaps) penalised and poor shots rewarded. The fact that it can happen in the final holes(s) makes it looks like some got (un)lucky, but over 72 holes it probably balances out.

Anyway, back to Magnolia Drive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

For me this is on topic. Topic is invitational nature of Augusta meaning we don't have someone winning it who will devalue it.
    I completely disagree with that.
    I too want the big names winning it as it is more interesting but the best player over the 4 days wins it fair and square. Big name or not.

And taking it away from links....what about Shaun Micheel in the PGA. Sullied ?

I've always liked The Telegraph

(Although maybe those golf-lovers of Ireland will be minded to empty their wallets. The four majors Woods has not attended have all been won by Irishmen).

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/golf/tigerwoods/10738093/Tiger-Woodss-dream-of-beating-Jack-Nicklauss-major-total-seems-over-after-he-is-ruled-out-of-the-Masters.html

Loire.

For me this is on topic. Topic is invitational nature of Augusta meaning we don't have someone winning it who will devalue it.
    I completely disagree with that.
    I too want the big names winning it as it is more interesting but the best player over the 4 days wins it fair and square. Big name or not.

And taking it away from links....what about Shaun Micheel in the PGA. Sullied ?

Who?!

Who?!

2003 PGA championship winner.

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭josie19

2003 PGA championship winner.

I thought Greebo was joking

josie19 wrote: »
    I thought Greebo was joking

I guess he probably was but I am trying to get into the meat of his original stance. Seems elitist to me.

As Harvey Penick used to say

"You have got to give the ball a chance for luck to take over"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,424 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

As Harvey Penick used to say

"You have got to give the ball a chance for luck to take over"

Darren Clarke certainly applied this on every hole at the Open

but anyways.

The Masters!

I guess he probably was but I am trying to get into the meat of his original stance. Seems elitist to me.

It is elitest, the elite players; thats who we are talking about.
    Not some nobody who never featured (before or since) and has vanished into obscurity.

Aint nobody growing up wanting to be another Shaun Micheel.
    YEAR	EVENTS 1ST	2ND	3RD	TOP 10	TOP 25	MADE CUT	CUT	WD	MONEY	POINTS	STANDING
    2013	5	--	--	--	--	--	--	5	--	--	--	--
    2012	12	--	--	--	--	--	6	6	--	$103,559	100	193
    2011	27	--	--	--	--	1	12	13	2	$206,450	160	179
    2010	21	--	--	--	3	5	14	7	--	$1,025,500	595	64
    2009	16	--	--	--	--	2	9	7	--	$257,590	201	169
    2008	16	--	--	--	--	1	6	10	--	$157,828	641	196
    2007	29	--	--	--	3	7	17	11	1	$948,195	3,263	94
    2006	29	--	1	--	2	8	19	10	--	$1,632,842	--	--
    2005	29	--	--	--	2	3	12	16	1	$487,402	--	--
    2004	27	--	--	--	1	8	20	7	--	$949,919	--	--
    2003	28	1	--	--	4	7	21	6	1	$1,827,000	--	--
    2002	30	--	--	1	2	8	21	8	1	$641,450	--	--
    2001	34	--	--	--	--	3	18	15	1	$351,095	--	--
    2000	31	--	--	--	3	4	15	15	1	$467,431	--	--
    1999	1	--	--	--	--	--	--	1	--	--	--	--
    1998	2	--	--	--	--	--	2	--	--	$8,918	--	--
    1997	21	--	--	--	--	--	5	16	--	$14,519	--	--
    1996	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	--
    1995	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	--
    1994	19	--	--	--	--	--	4	15	--	$12,252	--	--
    1993	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	--
    1991	1	--	--	--	--	--	--	1	--	--	--	--
    1990	1	--	--	--	--	--	--	1	--	--	--	--
    1989	1	--	--	--	--	--	--	1	--	--	--	--

It is elitest, the elite players; thats who we are talking about.
    Not some nobody who never featured (before or since) and has vanished into obscurity.

Aint nobody growing up wanting to be another Shaun Micheel.

True but you only know that in retrospect. He could have kicked on. He didn't and so be it. But to say it sullies the tournament to have him win it is ridiculous. If that's the case then the 18 handicapper winning the captains prize sullies it. Nobody grows up wanting to be an 18 handicapper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

A lot of talk on twitter about lower viewing figures as a result of Tiger's absence. Such a shame he won't be there.

Have a look at this shot below. Pause the video at 1 min to see where the flag is between the trees and look at the amount of hook required. You know, every now and then amateurs can play great shots like the pros... maybe an ace, maybe holing out from 100 yards. Shots like below, we simply can't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Really love the Sunday of the Masters

Anyway my top 20 are as follows

Rory Mc
    Scott
    Johnson
    Reid
    D Johnson
    The G Mac
    Bubba
    Sergio
    Fowler
    Day
    Stadler
    Kuchar
    Z Johnson
    English
    W Simpson
    Donaldson
    R Moore
    Howell 3
    Poulter
    Dufner

I bet I'll change my mind before the end of the day...so hard to predict...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

SnowDrifts wrote: »
    A lot of talk on twitter about lower viewing figures as a result of Tiger's absence. Such a shame he won't be there.

Have a look at this shot below. Pause the video at 1 min to see where the flag is between the tress and look at the amount of hook required. You know, every now and then amateurs can play great shots like the pros... maybe an ace, maybe holing out from 100 yards. Shots like below, we simply can't.

I reckon I could do that alright but the problem I wouldn't be confident I'd pull it off everytime whereas Tiger would. Although if I had the time to practice as much as he does than maybe I'd become like that...

True but you only know that in retrospect. He could have kicked on. He didn't and so be it. But to say it sullies the tournament to have him win it is ridiculous. If that's the case then the 18 handicapper winning the captains prize sullies it. Nobody grows up wanting to be an 18 handicapper.
    You cant compare amateur golf with pro golf, even at the peak of amateur level its vastly different.
    Indeed if he had of kicked on we would be talking about him as one of the good ones...but he didnt...he vanished.
    You dont really see that at Augusta.

Maybe it doest sully the tournament so much as it elevates certain other tournaments.
    SnowDrifts wrote: »

Have a look at this shot below. Pause the video at 1 min to see where the flag is between the tress and look at the amount of hook required. You know, every now and then amateurs can play great shots like the pros... maybe an ace, maybe holing out from 100 yards. Shots like below, we simply can't.

I've hooked a ball that far (on purpose) I guess the difference is that I've tried it 25 times, 2 times it has worked perfectly, maybe 10 its kinda ok and all th others I probably got a duff or a double cross OB!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

DellyBelly wrote: »
    I reckon I could do that alright but the problem I wouldn't be confident I'd pull it off everytime whereas Tiger would. Although if I had the time to practice as much as he does than maybe I'd become like that...

lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

DellyBelly wrote: »

Oh really... I beg to differ.