Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Masters 2014 * Warning Post #19 *

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,459 ✭✭✭basillarkin

What time Irish time will it be finished Sunday night, baring a plaffoff. I work nights and start at 23:45

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭josie19

Around 11.15 to 11-30. I think the last group goes out at 2pm local 7pm Irish and add 4.15 to 4.30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

josie19 wrote: »
    Around 11.15 to 11-30. I think the last group goes out at 2pm local 7pm Irish and add 4.15 to 4.30

If the last group go round Augusta in 4.15 twill be a miracle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,871 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

Benny Cake wrote: »

I hope someone is holding the pin ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,084 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Benny Cake wrote: »

Yea, them feckers take their time, and walk off after holing out only to leave the last guy putting to replace the flag himself :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭blackwhite

http://www.historyshots.com/augusta/

Some changes in the course over the last 80 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭Loire

blackwhite wrote: »
    http://www.historyshots.com/augusta/

Some changes in the course over the last 80 years.

Brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,432 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

13th is one hole thats pretty much the same.

Great link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,983 ✭✭✭Degag

What time Irish time will it be finished Sunday night, baring a plaffoff. I work nights and start at 23:45

It'll be around 12 I would say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭shane 007

There's a useful app for the tournament called Masters. It has player profiles, live updates, radio, etc.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Nice little historical post on the master's website

http://www.masters.com/en_US/discover/timeline.html?decade=1980

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

And The Masters week is upon us. Augusta awaits...

mastersweek_zpsb4764b54.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 7 Doobs

Does anyone know what sort of red button coverage is on Sky on Thursday? I can't wait till 7 :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭Dbu

Doobs wrote: »
    Does anyone know what sort of red button coverage is on Sky on Thursday? I can't wait till 7 :P

usually amen corner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭Wombatman

Can somebody post the final field?

Wombatman wrote: »
    Can somebody post the final field?

http://www.masters.com/en_US/players/player_list.html

Whats your Favourite hole?

See the 12th will be close, but the 13th for me is best Par 5 in Golf imo.

If I could play any Hole in the world 13th at Augusta would be tops.

• Registered Users Posts: 205 ✭✭hoopyhoopy

Doobs wrote: »

The red button action comes from inside the dressing room where you can get nudey views of phil and the rest of the Jolly boys and see the antics they get up to like last year Miguel Ángel Jiménez chasing Rory mc around the dressing room whipping him with a rolled wet towel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 819 ✭✭✭SEORG

The 11th is my favourite to watch, one of the hardest greens to hit on the course (imo) and then the pin positions are lethal.

The green slopes back to front and if the ball is above the hole a 2 putt par is a great result.

A real test of iron play, I would think every player would bite your hand off if offered a four.

Hopefully not serious
    Shane Bacon ‏@shanebacon 10m
    Bad news for golf fans - source is telling me Fred Couples is having serious back issues. Hasn’t really been practicing or playing at all.

Weather update from Augusta.. "All practice rounds have been suspended and the course is currently closed." Think they are expecting up to 2 inches of rain today. Rest of the week looking good though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Hopefully not serious

Ah nonsense!
    It wouldn't be the Masters without Fred putting in a class first round performance!

I know Scott has his doubters, but at the top end of the field, he's the one I'd most expect to take it. (overlooking the Arnold Palmer of course).

Favourite hole? Really tough one, probably 13.

If I was to play only one hole at Augusta.mmmmmmmm
    maybe 16?
    maybe 12?
    maybe 10?
    maybe 18?
    maybe 13?

decisions decisions!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭Cjs21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭KingdomYid

13 is my fave, it just sticks out in my mind as the hole I always saw as a kid where the real drama happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭who_ru

the masters is live on setanta ireland i hear?

Whats your Favourite hole?

See the 12th will be close, but the 13th for me is best Par 5 in Golf imo.

If I could play any Hole in the world 13th at Augusta would be tops.

I played an exact replica of the 12th on a fantasy course in the US a few years back, all you see from the tee are the bunkers and the thinnest strip of the green, the green itself is effectively blind from the tee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭Barnaboy

One to SkyPlus.... Masters preview programme on at 1.50pm on BBC2 tomorrow. Very odd time to air it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭Barnaboy

My favourite has to be the 16th. The pin placement on Sunday, that Tiger shot...oh the memories!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,067 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Lads - this is a bit sad - But, I admit it , watching junior Drive -Chip - Putt.

The masters , in a way.

• Registered Users Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

For me its won or lost on the 17th green. Brilliant hole and some amazing shots are struck on this hole. The Bear in 1984 being the best.

Bko0wY9IAAAYq4N.jpg:large

It is not bad this DCP.

Well - If i'm being honest , at this stage if they just had a constant loop of a course fly by on Sky - I would watch it at this stage,

Any drugs that can just , make this wait over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

Anyone know are they broadcasting the masters on the sky 3D channel (ch 170)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

jeez Rory really screwed up 2 balls there before he got it going - look at the two at the top of the ridge!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 753 ✭✭✭denishurley

They're actually two balls landing, he hit them just before the other one in the air ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Whats the story with the TV schedule.

RTE, BBC, Sky Sports?????

Review of the 2013 Masters on BBC2 at 13.50 today i.e. half hour from now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,444 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

slave1 wrote: »
    Review of the 2013 Masters on BBC2 at 13.50 today i.e. half hour from now...

Glad I read this, I'm just home and putting it on :)

Pfft, could care less about the Par 3 tournie, lets see some real golf!

Rikand wrote: »
    Pfft, could care less about the Par 3 tournie, lets see some real golf!

It's funny - people are always disappointed after watching the Par 3 comp every year. It's not really taken seriously and yes, you will see kids and partners hitting shots and putts. It's just something to wet the appetite.

Nice write-up here from Gmac about his thoughts on Augusta National.

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/golf/26917121

That was awesome to watch the finish again - Cannot wait for Thursday! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Whats the story with the TV schedule.

RTE, BBC, Sky Sports?????

Sky will have most live coverage, Masters breakfast, review of the day shows, etc.

BBC only has live weekend coverage now I think, since Sky got the deal.

The days of RTE showing any live major golf are long gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭Cjs21

Also on Setanta for the 4 days (If anyone has the channel)

Cjs21 wrote: »
    Also on Setanta for the 4 days (If anyone has the channel)

Setanta Ireland or Setanta 1?

• Registered Users Posts: 529 ✭✭✭VikingG

Setanta Ireland - Not the whole day starts live at 8PM

http://www.setanta.com/ie/tv-listings?date=10-04-2014&time=20

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭TrapperChamonix

Can someone remind me about coverage of the opening 9 holes? In the past there was no coverage of the opening 9 holes, literally for the TV viewer the Masters didn't start till the back nine on Sunday. Am I right in saying that though we get pictures in Ireland / UK the Americans still don't get coverage till the back 9?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

Can someone remind me about coverage of the opening 9 holes? In the past there was no coverage of the opening 9 holes, literally for the TV viewer the Masters didn't start till the back nine on Sunday. Am I right in saying that though we get pictures in Ireland / UK the Americans still don't get coverage till the back 9?

Yes I believe that is true, they don't televise the first few hours of the first and second day (you will see updates floating around on the internet though). When the show goes live in the evening it shows recap highlights of anything significant that happened during the day so you really don't miss a thing.

once the field is cut they show more. they show the entire event on Sunday (6+ hours)

I'l be watching it on Setanta but will keep and eye on the Sky coverage. The ads last year on setanta drove me up the wall. every 5 or 6 minutes there was an ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

stevieob wrote: »
    Setanta Ireland or Setanta 1?

Setanta Ireland (the free one)

http://www.setanta.com/ie/tv-listings/

I hope you like Nevada Bob's adverts :D

SnowDrifts wrote: »
    It's funny - people are always disappointed after watching the Par 3 comp every year. It's not really taken seriously and yes, you will see kids and partners hitting shots and putts. It's just something to wet the appetite.

Nice write-up here from Gmac about his thoughts on Augusta National.

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/golf/26917121

Nice article - I like Graeme's tip at the end
    Graeme's tip: Here's a putting drill that I'll be using to help me this week at Augusta. If you do a putting drill from five feet you can hole those putts at three different speeds. One is thumping the back of the hole, two is dropping in the middle of the hole and speed three is letting it fall in at the front edge. Practise holing out at all three speeds and you will become very aware of how to make a putt at the right speed to suit the greens you are putting on.

Definitely worth having a go at that :D