Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Masters 2014 * Warning Post #19 *

• Registered Users Posts: 7,513 ✭✭✭seanhynes

I'm not sure the limited coverage will encourage future golf fans to bother, goes against the modern media access for youngsters the coverage needs to move into the 21st century

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,983 ✭✭✭Degag

Anyone know why Nick Faldo doesn't play in the Masters anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,444 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Degag wrote: »
    Anyone know why Nick Faldo doesn't play in the Masters anymore?

not good enough any more and getting paid BIG dollars to commentate for CBS

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭BubbaM

Fred Couples going along nicely :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭John Divney

Rikand wrote: »
    not good enough any more and getting paid BIG dollars to commentate for CBS

He has a long term injury, shoulder I think. He played the practice round with his son on Tuesday, so probably just doesn't fancy 4 in a row when totally out of form

Although Woosnam has hardly played since last September ( according to himself), and he's playing very well today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Although Woosnam has hardly played since last September ( according to himself), and he's playing very well today.

I reckon Woosie's just p*ssed with McIlroy's dismissal of his chances during the week!

Fred Couples really is a reliable lad for the Masters.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Jiminez at -3, co leader now. CHeck out his birdie on the 6th on the masters.com website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭John Divney

I reckon Woosie's just p*ssed with McIlroy's dismissal of his chances during the week!

Fred Couples really is a reliable lad for the Masters.

Yep, Freddie can bosh it down with the best of the young lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 742 ✭✭✭ItsChecoTime

Cabrera triple bogeys the 11th to drop back to +6

Calling it now, but Cabrera is not going to feature this year ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Shifty Shellshock

Calling it now, Sandy Lyle is going to feature this year

i hope so! -3 after 4. Come on Sandy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

Is it me or is Augusta National not looking its totally immaculate self this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭sydneybound

It had terrible rain on Tuesday maybe that could be a reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭rockonollie

m r c wrote: »
    Is it me or is Augusta National not looking its totally immaculate self this year.

I was just going to say that the greens seem slower than normal.

But the US is just now getting out of one of the worst winters on record. Even as far south as Georgia, temperatures have only climbed above freezing in the last few weeks. Grass growth is behind schedule, and on top of all that, there was torrential rain late last week that would have stalled any grooming.

I was just going to say that the greens seem slower than normal.

But the US is just now getting out of one of the worst winters on record. Even as far south as Georgia, temperatures have only climbed above freezing in the last few weeks. Grass growth is behind schedule, and on top of all that, there was torrential rain late last week that would have stalled any grooming.

Ya because when they zoom in on the putt as it gets close the greens are just not themselves(on TV anyway)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,386 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

SnowDrifts wrote: »
    2014masters_zpsbca018d3.jpg[/QUOTE

Same hole 8 Weeks ago,

1798842_10151920107921795_1663257703_n.jpg

Might explain why it ain't looking its best

m r c wrote: »

I must check the charter, I bound to have broken some rule here. If ye don't hear from me again I've obviously been given a holiday :-)

PARlance wrote: »

Might explain why it ain't looking its best

UNACCEPTABLE!!!! i expect perfection! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,655 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Is it just me or does Miguel seem to get off to a flying start in a lot if the majors?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭swoody

Is it just me or does Miguel seem to get off to a flying start in a lot if the majors?

he's in the drink now :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

so actual coverage starts at 8pm yeah? i presume sky will be talking for an hour starting at 7

Thanks for the jinx.....I've got Jimenez in my office pool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,655 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Thanks for the jinx.....I've got Jimenez in my office pool

...my bad, he must have read my post & it got to him

Good news is that our pool isn't reliant on 1 player

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭snaphook

I have Dufner, Westwood, Jimenez and Els in the office pool.

snaphook wrote: »
    I have Dufner, Westwood, Jimenez and Els in the office pool.

Jimenez, Snedeker, Couples, McIlroy, Speith, Jason Day, D Clarke and Matt Fitz

Edit: and Duibosson

double bogey for scott at 12

swoody wrote: »
    double bogey for scott at 12

Stevie is gonna have to work hard to bounce back from that one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,067 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Ok lads - what have I missed.

See Jimenez and Couples have had the quick start that normally falters out.

Not a kid in the house washed - wine on the heat.
    Scott and mcilroy in the right place.

See Poulter is gone before it has started.

mcdowell fowler and walker are finishing well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Lennonist

Sandy Lyle 1 under after 10. Amazing how he plays well in these big tournaments still from time to time, he's more or less semi retired for 20 years or so at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

Anyone see Snedeker on the par 5 13th? He had a birdie and the coverage of Amen Corner confirmed yet the scoreboard only has him down for par?

Nice fight back from Donaldson.

Branden Grace in the drink at 12

And hold all cameras - Phil is on the course.

Wouldn't be surprised to see Dufner's wedge flying into the woods before long

Quadruple-bogey.......

oostheizen with a lovely approach shot a 10, has a chance to get to -4 now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,749 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

how good would some live action be...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭Cjs21

Crazy 1st round for some players.

A few big names already played themselves out of the tournament

bjorn with an amazing putt on 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭Cjs21

swoody wrote: »
    bjorn with an amazing putt on 11

Wouldn't class is as a putt but was a great shot all the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,641 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Duffner gone imo do have Reed to keep the interest going for the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭big_drive

Disappointing to see Rose & Donald already well over par. It seems to be a day when anything under par will be pleasing

• Registered Users Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭galwaylad14

Is there highlights from today on bbc or rte tonight lads? And what live coverage do the bbc have? just the weekend is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,749 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

surprised De Laet is so bad

• Registered Users Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭galwaylad14

I have Bubba, the two Johnsons, Bradley and Donaldson. All had fairly solid but unspectacular starts apart from Zach who's out of it.
    Really is amazing the way the same old names seem to at least start decently every year even if ultimately their challenge fizzles out. I'd say Freddie Couples could turn up when he's 70 and he'd still be under par for the first couple of days

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,804 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Great round by Scott.

Phil is having a mare at the minute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

Is there highlights from today on bbc or rte tonight lads? And what live coverage do the bbc have? just the weekend is it?

Setanta showing it live.