Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny Stag in May

• 28-03-2014 4:35pm
    Registered Users Posts: 5

I've been tasked with organising a Stag in Kilkenny in May.

Seems like the last thread relating to Stags there is a year old.

Does anyone have any advice, tips or recommendations on clubs, bars, activities and accommodation?

Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 mrssnuffy

Hey,

Depends on what you want to do really. In terms of bars and clubs, Friday nights the best crowd would be The Left Bank and then onto Morrissons. Saturday night there are loads of good pubs like Matt the Millars, Biddey Earlys and then onto Langtons for a club. Some nice pubs like Tynans and Paris Texas if its a quieter night you are after. Ryans on Phriary Street normally have good live music on Saturday night.For day activities there is go karting in a Kiltorcan Raceways which is about 25 minutes outside the city great craic for a bunch of people! There are a few hostels around the city like Rafter Dempseys but there are loads of hotels that are reasonable enough, the Springhill have offers on at the moment about a five minute taxi to town. The Pembroke hotel is right in town and is a lovely boutique hotel and then there is always Langtons hotel to stay also. Hope this helps!

• Registered Users Posts: 572 ✭✭✭linny

http://www.kilkennyactivitycentre.ie/

is great for paintball or try Kilkenny airsoft

http://www.kilkennyairsoft.ie/

• Registered Users Posts: 5 BobTheCorkDwarf

The Stag is next weekend. Any update on nightlife in Kilkenny?

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭Silverscott

The Stag is next weekend. Any update on nightlife in Kilkenny?

Update ? Nothing has changed lots of pubs, late bars, and nightlife in Kilkenny. :D

Do the usual and break up the group for entry to The left Bank, Morrissons etc

• Registered Users Posts: 5 BobTheCorkDwarf

Would a group of 6 need to split up?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭fran17

The prostitutes are in the apartments on William Street.just saying ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Speak Now

The brewery corner on Parliment street would be worth a visit if any of the gang enjoy craft beers.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭Musicman2000

Update ? Nothing has changed lots of pubs, late bars, and nightlife in Kilkenny. :D

Do the usual and break up the group for entry to The left Bank, Morrissons etc

Why break up the group? They don't ask the hen nights to break up. its one place thats way over rated in kk

• Registered Users Posts: 40 nidge123

Karting in kiltorcan, normally need to book it in advance

Would a group of 6 need to split up?
    6 should be no bothers provided ye look decent

Why break up the group? They don't ask the hen nights to break up. its one place thats way over rated in kk

Because some doormen will stop stag groups depending on the look of the group.

• Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭momec

We stayed in The Kilford Arms recently (not on a stag). Very happy with it. Matt the Thresher just up the road has music from 6pm until all hours. A short walk and you are in the center of everything. Can't advise on clubs (too old and set in our ways)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,888 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Because some doormen will stop stag groups depending on the look of the group.

6 people in reasonable shape early on will have no problem

for nightclubs later on it shouldn't matter either unless you are causing a scene!

Riskymove wrote: »
    6 people in reasonable shape early on will have no problem

for nightclubs later on it shouldn't matter either unless you are causing a scene!

Its also the look. If you look like trouble you wont get in. Has anyone in group a black eye, Studs in the nose, runners on etc all excuses to refuse people.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 im your man

Hey there bob, (and any1 else for that matter) how did your weekend go? Heading down to Kilkenny with a semi big but civil group of lads and was wondering what you would suggest? Looking to do a small pub crawl. Maybe four or 5 bars on each night (with the bars being close to each other that we dont have to jump in and out of taxis) and ending up in a nightclub on the Saturday night. Cheers for any info

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

Hey there bob, (and any1 else for that matter) how did your weekend go? Heading down to Kilkenny with a semi big but civil group of lads and was wondering what you would suggest? Looking to do a small pub crawl. Maybe four or 5 bars on each night (with the bars being close to each other that we dont have to jump in and out of taxis) and ending up in a nightclub on the Saturday night. Cheers for any info

Howdy,

The advice posted by other individuals here is sound enough. I grew up quite close to KK so I know the place fairly well.

I was involved in a large stag - 25 lads - late last year in KK and we had no probs and a great time. KK is small compared to the bigger cities; taxis certainly shouldn't be required. Our age profile was older but we took in a wide scope of bars. Tynan's is a great spot for earlier in the day and most other bars are within 5-10 mins of that. All other recommended bars are fine although a few get a bit touristy with folk/Irish music later, so avoid if that's not your thing.

You'll probably end up in The Left Bank both nights as it's the busiest and has the most females, you may have a problem getting some of your men to leave!! Morrissons - 2 mins away - is likely for Fri night but age profile would be younger than Langtons, which is the busiest spot on Sat night. Again, depending on age, large late bar at front of Langtons covers very wide age range whilst club at back is geared for much younger profile.

You will need to split a large group up before entry to most places; bouncers are all in touch with each other so any trouble in any spot will lead to problems later.

Enjoy.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Dineen

Heading to Kilkenny in April with a few of the lads. Were would the best spots be for a group of us in our early/mid 30s

• Registered Users Posts: 927 ✭✭✭bertie4evr

I've heard good things about Kilkenny Concierge. I went on a Stag they organised before and it all went smooth.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

Dineen wrote: »
    Heading to Kilkenny in April with a few of the lads. Were would the best spots be for a group of us in our early/mid 30s

Highly recommend Castlecomer!

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭Virtual

I see that nightclubs have been mentioned several times in this thread, but what about trying your hand in the casino? It's next to the brewery on Parliament St.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Dineen

Lads in their 30s on the pull. Langtons or Morrisons?