Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Connacht Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Part II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,668 ✭✭✭Mahatma Geansai

Zzippy wrote: »
    I'm pretty stoked about MM coming, and I hope the branch have done their homework, seen the medical files and know that he's highly probably to recover well from the surgery.

Is there a worry that the necessary medical homework may not have been done? Clarke was a huge coup for this season, but its since transpired that he had medical issues that should have made Connacht wary.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,965 ✭✭✭connachta

Is there a worry that the necessary medical homework may not have been done? Clarke was a huge coup for this season, but its since transpired that he had medical issues that should have made Connacht wary.

He's not that rusty to be so worried, he even scored a beautiful try in february. Elbow injury isn't concussion, hopefully!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I assume the contract is subject to a medical being carried out when MM arrives.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I assume the contract is subject to a medical being carried out when MM arrives.

Nobody makes a signing without a medical.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭FrannoFan

Apparently Aki agent was on to Leinster and Munster but both felt he wasn't worth the wages he was asking for. In step Connacht. now a rumoured 300K for MM. Sounds like a lot of wages could be tied up in two players.

Lam can't be whingeing about other teams players not moving province, if some of this money was spent tempting fringe players you could have 5/6 Leinster/Munster/Ulster reserves involved.

hope it works out but if they are "taking lads from behind the bar to play hooker" as Lam lamented recently this year he only has himself to blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

FrannoFan wrote: »
    Apparently Aki agent was on to Leinster and Munster but both felt he wasn't worth the wages he was asking for. In step Connacht. now a rumoured 300K for MM. Sounds like a lot of wages could be tied up in two players.

Lam can't be whingeing about other teams players not moving province, if some of this money was spent tempting fringe players you could have 5/6 Leinster/Munster/Ulster reserves involved.

hope it works out but if they are "taking lads from behind the bar to play hooker" as Lam lamented recently this year he only has himself to blame.

Can you post a link to where Lam made that statement?

In relation to the hooker issue, there was an injury crisis in that position. You can only have so many hookers (say 4) in a squad, and if 3 of them are injured you have to draft in a club player. It happens at other teams too. Connacht have 4 hookers in the 2013-14 squad - JHW, Henry, Heffernan and Rael. AFAIK Leinster have 3 - Strauss, Cronin and Dundon - when Strauss had heart surgery they were left with 2. Munster have 5, Ulster have 3. That's an average of 3.75 per provincial squad.

Are you trying to say that Connacht should save on big player salaries and run a bigger squad than other provinces in case of an injury crisis?

How would those fringe players get any gametime then, if we had a massive squad?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭ssaye2

In relation to the hooker issue, there was an injury crisis in that position. You can only have so many hookers (say 4) in a squad, and if 3 of them are injured you have to draft in a club player. It happens at other teams too. Connacht have 4 hookers in the 2013-14 squad - JHW, Henry, Heffernan and Rael. AFAIK Leinster have 3 - Strauss, Cronin and Dundon - when Strauss had heart surgery they were left with 2. Munster have 5, Ulster have 3. That's an average of 3.75 per provincial squad.

Are you trying to say that Connacht should save on big player salaries and run a bigger squad than other provinces in case of an injury crisis?

How would those fringe players get any gametime then, if we had a massive squad?

[We did that] because we’ve lost three hookers. Jason Harris-Wright is out on his feet and hasn’t trained all week. So we’ve got number five, who has come out of club rugby, off the bar and sat him down [on the bench]. He came on and played 10 minutes, his first game for Connacht. That’s where we are at.”
    http://thescore.thejournal.ie/pat-lam-connacht-rugby-1427399-Apr2014/

• Registered Users Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

Actually he can whinge about that because if they think they should be on mega bucks to play for Connacht when they are hardly getting game time at other provinces they are clearly misguided. If they don't see the benefits of game time down here that they won't get in Ulster, Munster or Leinster, I can only say they are foolish. Also provinces aren't allowed outbid eachother.

Also we actually did end up having to take Jack Dinnen off the bar as we only had one fit hooker in JHW with Rael, Henry and Heffernan all injured. That type of injury list in one position is just a freak of nature thing.

Connachts playing budget hasn't increased but funds have been released through departures of Wilkinson, Parks, Murphy and Duffy. We've got an extra €350k to our budget but it is to be invested elsewhere.

ssaye2 wrote: »
    [We did that] because we’ve lost three hookers. Jason Harris-Wright is out on his feet and hasn’t trained all week. So we’ve got number five, who has come out of club rugby, off the bar and sat him down [on the bench]. He came on and played 10 minutes, his first game for Connacht. That’s where we are at.”

Cheers. My questions to Frannofran still stand though. Every team has injury crises from time to time, and players have to be drafted in. How does Lam "only have himself to blame"???

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭S12b

CatFromHue wrote: »
    That's good as you'd want him there during pre season and not just for the start of the season.

Well if the Chiefs go well again we probably won't see him or Aki till the end of the summer or September. Clarke didn't play his first match until the end of September.....it all depends on how far the Chiefs go

Cheers. My questions to Frannofran still stand though. Every team has injury crises from time to time, and players have to be drafted in. How does Lam "only have himself to blame"???

Connacht have the smallest budget, everyone know and understands the handicap the IRFU put on Connacht. The right or the wrong of that can be debated elsewhere.
    If you have a smaller budget and you put a huge amount into two players of course you are going to be in a position where you have academy players having to play more often than the other provinces.
    Lam is making that choice. 300K is a massive salary to shell out on a 34 year old regardless of his quality but particularly if you have a smaller budget. Exciting signing, it is going to create a great buzz but there is a big cost to it.

Connacht have the smallest budget, everyone know and understands the handicap the IRFU put on Connacht. The right or the wrong of that can be debated elsewhere.
    If you have a smaller budget and you put a huge amount into two players of course you are going to be in a position where you have academy players having to play more often than the other provinces.
    Lam is making that choice. 300K is a massive salary to shell out on a 34 year old regardless of his quality but particularly if you have a smaller budget. Exciting signing, it is going to create a great buzz but there is a big cost to it.

But in the example you quoted, Connacht already had 4 hookers, and an injury crisis meant a club player being drafted in. How does Lam "only have himself to blame", which is what you said???

On the one hand you're saying spend less on (one) big name player and get more fringe players into the squad, on the other hand you're saying academy players play more often because of spending money on big name players. Which do you see as more preferable, fringe players from other provinces getting some gametime at Connacht, or Connacht academy players getting gametime at Connacht? Bearing in mind that Connacht already have a squad with what are considered adequate numbers, and an academy that is bringing through good young players...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

The IRFU don't 'handicap' Connacht as you put it. Geography and demographics are Connacht's 'handicap'. For a province with the lowest population, smallest urban area, lowest number of players, schools, universities and clubs, a popular competing sport and with a greyhound track for a stadium I would say they are doing very well.

But in the example you quoted, Connacht already had 4 hookers, and an injury crisis meant a club player being drafted in. How does Lam "only have himself to blame", which is what you said???

On the one hand you're saying spend less on (one) big name player and get more fringe players into the squad, on the other hand you're saying academy players play more often because of spending money on big name players. Which do you see as more preferable, fringe players from other provinces getting some gametime at Connacht, or Connacht academy players getting gametime at Connacht? Bearing in mind that Connacht already have a squad with what are considered adequate numbers, and an academy that is bringing through good young players...

that was one example, here is another "connacht down to bare bones" http://thescore.thejournal.ie/connacht-ospreys-injuries-pat-lam-1448199-May2014/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭ouncer

On the indo today it clearly states that Connacht have the same player budget as last year. Coupled with this the irfu have increased the administrative budget for Connacht to allow the club to begin clearing the large deficit. With the exodus of players (in particular parks) including pod, Murphy, tonetti Wilkinson, and others Connacht have the bobs to spare to afford muliana and the new signings. However there must be a question mark as to whether we could afford a big out-half signing. That would seem unlikely and without, as quoted earlier, a quality puppet master, it does leave a gaping hole.

Really looking forward to muliana at Connacht. Can you even begin to think of the excitement it brings to the minds of the young back line having somebody of his reputation playing alongside them. Boggles the mind. I hope he can replicate how Dan encouraged all those around him when he first came to the sportsground. In theory it should lift the team hugely (who in their right minds would not be hopping to play alongside such a legend).

The outhalf and defense coach (maybe muliana can mentor in this area?) are serious concerns

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

that was one example, here is another "connacht down to bare bones" http://thescore.thejournal.ie/connacht-ospreys-injuries-pat-lam-1448199-May2014/

Ulster have a bigger budget and player pool yet have a worse crisis at the moment, so it doesn't definitely follow.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭RobbieRuns

People have to remember that Dan Parks would free up a good bit of money. He was the marquee player for the last few years and on a good wage. I would say that most of his money would be directed towards Muliaina.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭porterbelly

I'd be confident that that 300k for Muliana is pie in the sky

A Daily Mail journo on twitter said it was 500k yesterday, then revised it to 350k and now today its printed elsewhere as 300k.

Look at the debt leak as well. First reported as 300k, then 400k, and then suddenly jumped to 800k.

The debt figure is much lower than reported and has been dealt with afaik. Obviously these journos need to check their sources. Quite clearly there's someone high up leaking dodgy info who has an axe to grind

stephen_n wrote: »
    Ulster have a bigger budget and player pool yet have a worse crisis at the moment, so it doesn't definitely follow.

Of course if definitely doesn't follow but common sense surely dictates if you have a smaller squad, less players in each position, you are more likely to have an injury crisis?
    If you spend a large portion of your budget on two players you also won't be able to have as large a squad.
    People are quoting the players leaving as freeing up the budget. 4 experienced players out, one in.
    is it really that hard to follow that Pat Lam might end up turning around next year and lament the fact he has a smaller squad than the other 3 provinces!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

I'd be confident that that 300k for Muliana is pie in the sky

A Daily Mail journo on twitter said it was 500k yesterday, then revised it to 350k and now today its printed elsewhere as 300k.

Look at the debt leak as well. First reported as 300k, then 400k, and then suddenly jumped to 800k.

The debt figure is much lower than reported and has been dealt with afaik. Obviously these journos need to check their sources. Quite clearly there's someone high up leaking dodgy info who has an axe to grind

300kNZ$ is a reasonable and believable figure given his age and the downward trajectory his career has been on recently. About €180k and probably enough to have him as the highest paid player in the squad.

Yeah maybe in NZ dollars, what was printed today was in euro

A reliable poster re all things Connacht said Mils and Aki combined would probably be 300k which seems reasonable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Yeah maybe in NZ dollars, what was printed today was in euro

A reliable poster re all things Connacht said Mils and Aki combined would probably be 300k which seems reasonable

True but I tend to think that journalists tend to have something right but usually miss the details. So 300k nz would make sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

http://www.connachtrugby.ie/parks-on-his-time-at-connacht/#ConnachtNews

Parksie released a farewell, over the past two years overall his signing has been a success imo, wondering what others think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

I think NZ$300,000 seems about right. The new retainer for top level Super XV players in NZ is NZ$190,000. MM is now at least behind Dagg, Smith and Piutau in a theoretical NZ pecking order, and according to this article the Chiefs wanted to wait on MM's form & fitness before extending his contract, so I'd say he would have been happy with $300,000.

TBH, and IMO, offering MM €300,000 would be paying too much.

Of course if definitely doesn't follow but common sense surely dictates if you have a smaller squad, less players in each position, you are more likely to have an injury crisis?
    If you spend a large portion of your budget on two players you also won't be able to have as large a squad.
    People are quoting the players leaving as freeing up the budget. 4 experienced players out, one in.
    is it really that hard to follow that Pat Lam might end up turning around next year and lament the fact he has a smaller squad than the other 3 provinces!?!

Mostly the other provinces have bigger squads due to the drain of international windows, for the most part not an issue for Connacht. Unless they're really unfortunate with injuries in certain positions, which you can't really legislate for, I doubt having two maybe three 3rd string players would make that much difference, over taking someone on with this sort of experirnce, in what will be a very young backline. The figure of 300k is not credible I don't think, especially considering it's the indo who gave it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

freyners wrote: »

Parksie released a farewell, over the past two years overall his signing has been a success imo, wondering what others think

That's a nice touch and yeah I think overall he was a success. Certainly if he'd never have signed with the's they'd in the squad they'd have been at a loss without him.

300K euro is more than Conor Murray is supposedly on. I think it's been mentioned that Murray is only on 250K euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭d-gal

If you cared to look at the squad you would see we have developed players to replace the guys going out
    Parks - Carty and Ronaldson
    Duffy - Henshaw and Leader
    Wilkinson - Ah You and Buckley (also McCartney coming in)

Connacht have developed better and better players each year. Look at McKeon, Buckley, Henshaw, Leader, Carty, Masterson. Then add the shrewd young signings of Marmion, Healy, McSharry & Heenan. We're developing players and all we need is 1 or 2 signings, not 10 journeymen.

It's no point having 35 average players trying to develop without experience around them. We've a few experience heads (despite being young) but I'd take a centurion All Black over 5 Leinster/Munster fringe lads. It's the right move and it's what we need

Parks has been a huge success. He proved that one player can lift a team. He was respected by the whole back line until he's weaknesses became more obvious. That said his first season was fantastic. He drove the team, congratulated the players, was constantly a source of encouragement. Muliana will likely generate the same respect and the same same forward momentum for Connacht next year.

ouncer wrote: »
    He was respected by the whole back line until he's weaknesses became more obvious

I really don't think you or anyone else are in any position to judge the whole back line to say they lost respect for Parks.

its_phil wrote: »
    I really don't think you or anyone else are in any position to judge the whole back line to say they lost respect for Parks.

Its-phil, I just say that Dan was great encouragement to the back-line but that all flattens out a bit when Dan did and then gradually didn't live up to expectations.

Parks has been a huge success. He proved that one player can lift a team. He was respected by the whole back line until he's weaknesses became more obvious. That said his first season was fantastic. He drove the team, congratulated the players, was constantly a source of encouragement. Muliana will likely generate the same respect and the same same forward momentum for Connacht next year.

Ultimately Muliania is on another level though

100 caps for the All Blacks says it all. You have to be a bit special to do that. I know that the Kiwis in our squad bring alot to the party in terms of professionalism and humility. I know that the likes of Heenan etc will clean the dressing room after training, it's just those core values that are instilled early on. You see his work with Dochas Don Oige, the young offenders lads. He's just a fantastic lad for 21 years of age.

For all the good work Parks did, I think he would have been kept on in a coaching capacity if he had that about him. I don't think he has, I think he is too much one of the lads, not quite coaching material or likely to have that same impact as Muliania.

Any young lad, and I include more established lads like TOH, Buckley, Mckeon etc who aren't bursting themselves to impress this guy come pre season have something wrong with them. And it will also be massive for the likes of Mul, Swifty and the older crew. Having this guy come in, it should raise standards all around knowing he's there, and that's before he can add his imput in a playing and mentoring capacity. Ultimately I think this is what a signing like this can do for us. Hugely excited.

Its-phil, I just say that Dan was great encouragement to the back-line but that all flattens out a bit when Dan did and then gradually didn't live up to expectations.

You said the backline lost respect for Parks. Your being presumptuous and haven't a clue whether it's true.

So annoying. Don't normally get fed up but well fed up with u itsphil. Huge things happening. Very happy with signings. Just want keatley back and boy have we a team.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Really don't understand why ouncer gets the stick he does here. He might have some unpopular opinions but is generally polite and mannerly in how he posts which is more than can be said for many of us.

I think phrasing it as a loss of respect is harsh, he did fade without doubt, he wasn't the focal point any more is also without doubt but I think thats more of thing to do with players who started off as kids like Marmion and Henshaw growing into the team and not needing him to take them by the hand constantly. Griffin also really emerged as a Leader of the backs this season which diminished that further.

So annoying. Don't normally get fed up but well fed up with u itsphil. Huge things happening. Very happy with signings. Just want keatley back and boy have we a team.

Keats won be coming, might wish it but hes well settled into Munster and is finally showing why Munster signed him all those years ago. Your boy Carty could be as good in time, as will ronaldson imo if he sorts his kicking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭Shelflife

Its phil, my reading of what Ouncer was saying is that parks brought them on in leaps and bounds in the first year, then as he struggled with his own form that lessened during the next two seasons .

• Registered Users Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Not Playing Tiddlywinks Vinny

Keats won be coming, might wish it but hes well settled into Munster and is finally showing why Munster signed him all those years ago. Your boy Carty could be as good in time, as will ronaldson imo if he sorts his kicking

Ronaldson picked up a lot of knocks throughout the season, think if he got a good run and some confidence he'd be a gem. Really should at AIL level he'd a swagger about him and was kicking goals for fun with that confidence. Think its all a matter of getting it back

Freyners, honestly hope carty does well. In my opinion he is the way forward at 10, we have to evolve and jack is the player to do this in my opinion. Watched this guy as a kid and I know his weaknesses. I know he is similar to miah in that he can't kick distance goals, but this little guy can play some of the best plays I've seen. Like this guy. Think he is quality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Personally don't mind the OH not having much of a place-kicking game once somebody else in the team can step up to the plate, such as the scrumhalves in France. But don't think anybody else in our best 15 can do that. A good kicking game in open play is vital though. Who's the best for that do ye think? And what are the chances of signing another OH, taking into account the other signings that have been made?

Also, any news on a defence coach?

Ultimately Muliania is on another level though

100 caps for the All Blacks says it all. You have to be a bit special to do that. I know that the Kiwis in our squad bring alot to the party in terms of professionalism and humility. I know that the likes of Heenan etc will clean the dressing room after training, it's just those core values that are instilled early on. You see his work with Dochas Don Oige, the young offenders lads. He's just a fantastic lad for 21 years of age.

For all the good work Parks did, I think he would have been kept on in a coaching capacity if he had that about him. I don't think he has, I think he is too much one of the lads, not quite coaching material or likely to have that same impact as Muliania.

Any young lad, and I include more established lads like TOH, Buckley, Mckeon etc who aren't bursting themselves to impress this guy come pre season have something wrong with them. And it will also be massive for the likes of Mul, Swifty and the older crew. Having this guy come in, it should raise standards all around knowing he's there, and that's before he can add his imput in a playing and mentoring capacity. Ultimately I think this is what a signing like this can do for us. Hugely excited.

Carr, toh, Healy poolman, leader and muliana. Wow. OK I'm hitting middle age but wud I want to be there? :-) without doubt :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭AngeGal

http://www.independent.ie/sport/rugby/muliaina-deal-not-in-best-interests-of-the-game-insists-penney-30250550.html

Penney having a bit of a moan about new signings.

"The frustration is around their ability to fund those new recruits," - What's this about?? Well known that Connacht receive less funding, does he want to dictate how that funding is spent too?

"What's it doing for Irish rugby?" Passing bucketloads of experience on to the likes of Henshaw, Marmion, Leader, etc perhaps Rob? By the same logic, what's Andrew Smith doing for Irish rugby? What's Munster keeping younger guys on the fringes of their squad making a few token appearances a season doing for Irish rugby?

To be clear, I have no issue with it as Munster have an obligation to look after their own needs but Penney in his self righteous comments with faux concern for Irish rugby is a bit hard to stomach. He did a great job with Munster but Ill be glad not to hear from him for a while, hopefully Foley won't come out with crap like "Munster v Ireland". Vomit inducing stuff.

His main gripe is with the number of NIQs Connacht have, one advantage amongst a sea of disadvantages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

AngeGal wrote: »
    http://www.independent.ie/sport/rugby/muliaina-deal-not-in-best-interests-of-the-game-insists-penney-30250550.html

Penney having a bit of a moan about new signings.

"The frustration is around their ability to fund those new recruits," - What's this about?? Well known that Connacht receive less funding, does he want to dictate how that funding is spent too?

"What's it doing for Irish rugby?" Passing bucketloads of experience on to the likes of Henshaw, Marmion, Leader, etc perhaps Rob? By the same logic, what's Andrew Smith doing for Irish rugby? What's Munster keeping younger guys on the fringes of their squad making a few token appearances a season doing for Irish rugby?

To be clear, I have no issue with it as Munster have an obligation to look after their own needs but Penney in his self righteous comments with faux concern for Irish rugby is a bit hard to stomach. He did a great job with Munster but Ill be glad not to hear from him for a while, hopefully Foley won't come out with crap like "Munster v Ireland". Vomit inducing stuff.

His main gripe is with the number of NIQs Connacht have, one advantage amongst a sea of disadvantages.
    Jackass knocks Penney elsewhere but il say it here. Don't see the issue with Penney and his comments and don't see how any of the comments are self righteous. He at least always speaks his mind even if it isn't always best to do so and by doing so can lead to more trouble. Prefer him saying all this now while in the job than just saying it all including past outbursts etc than when he is in Japan away from media hullabaloo which may occur from outburst.
    Not vomit inducing at all to say stuff like Munster v Ireland. Its simple motivational/mind games stuff used in media. Nothing wrong with that.
    I get the point Penney is making in "whats it doing for Irish rugby" and in some ways he has a point though he is missing the biggest advantage of the move in the hopeful improvements in Connacht players through Mulianias coaching etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭AngeGal

Jackass knocks Penney elsewhere but il say it here. Don't see the issue with Penney and his comments and don't see how any of the comments are self righteous. He at least always speaks his mind even if it isn't always best to do so and by doing so can lead to more trouble. Prefer him saying all this now while in the job than just saying it all including past outbursts etc than when he is in Japan away from media hullabaloo which may occur from outburst.
    Not vomit inducing at all to say stuff like Munster v Ireland. Its simple motivational/mind games stuff used in media. Nothing wrong with that.
    I get the point Penney is making in "whats it doing for Irish rugby" and in some ways he has a point though he is missing the biggest advantage of the move in the hopeful improvements in Connacht players through Mulianias coaching etc.

It's self righteous because Penney has no interest in the development of Irish rugby, he's just venting because Munster missed out on Bundee Aki.

The motivational stuff didn't work out too well, only gave Leinster added motivation, he would have been better off keeping it for the dressing room as Kidney/Schmidt did/do.

Not sure that always speaking your mind is a good quality to be honest, it's more interesting to read but ultimately you're best off playing the boring media game of everyone and everything is great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

IRFU giving Connacht an unfair advantage has nice ring to it - loada BS - but has nice ring to it..

If Penny feels worked up about Irish players getting put beind NIQ he should have said it at the Aki signing perhaps, a 1 year deal for Muliania isn't gonna have any determental (sp?) effect on Irish players..

Seems be saying with that 300k could have given couple fringe players a contract? Rather needless comments imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

If these players in other provinces that he speaks of are happy to earn a wage and just play B&I Cup, what else can Connacht do? Not everyone wants to head west and try to further their career in the game. Comes across a bit bitter tbh.

Penney believes Connacht are being given an unfair advantage by the Union
    All the other provinces are obligated to have a limited number of overseas players except Connacht, who have obviously got a bit of a hand-up
    Connacht just seem to get it a little easier

Is he doing a stand up routine at press conferences now? :rolleyes:

Penney isn't a breath of fresh air, he's a self promoting, self appologist. He uses these statements to big up his achievements and minimize any failings, look at what I/we did despite all these things against us, no different than Gatland, good coach but should keep his mouth shut, suggesting his comments are about the betterment of Irish rugby is a joke.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭ssaye2

http://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/irish/2014/0507/615735-connacht/

Haven't read back but JHW out for potentially 6 months