Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

chainsaw to buy

• Registered Users Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭sandydan

Feck it. Just saw Arthur Daly's post now.

15" Oregon Prolite bar and two chains should be had for about 50 quid

is this for real, 2 quoted me €70 for bar and one chain ,another will ring Tuesday,said its time of year for discount deals around ploughing match time,
    is there different grade bars

• Registered Users Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

sandydan wrote: »
    is this for real, 2 quoted me €70 for bar and one chain ,another will ring Tuesday,said its time of year for discount deals around ploughing match time,
    Lots of different grade bars, Prolite are a good bar.
    See if you can get Stihl chain online, I buy .325 1.5mm Stihl chain and it works really well.
    I wonder if the chain you have is the wrong gauge?
    1.3, 1.5 and 1.6 mm width of drive link. (0.50, 0.58, 0.63 inch measure)

CJhaughey wrote: »
    Lots of different grade bars, Prolite are a good bar.
    See if you can get Stihl chain online, I buy .325 1.5mm Stihl chain and it works really well.
    I wonder if the chain you have is the wrong gauge?
    1.3, 1.5 and 1.6 mm width of drive link. (0.50, 0.58, 0.63 inch measure)
    as iv said im no expert and i have loads to learn about chainsaws, its an oregan chain ive been using , know nothing about bars or gauges other than the bar i have is an ama bar whatever grade that complies with, was even offered one yesterday but decided to wait.
    have Stihl their own bar and chain as opposed to oregan.
    if so ,what grades are in oregan and Stihl brands and what are those standards, if you follow me .
    met fella last night, he and neighbour decided on a whim to buy Lidl saws priced at €99 on basis of them being advertised with oregan bar and chain, said they would/could put on another saw after , best saws they ever bought, cut all sort of stuff with them still going fine.anyone can be lucky i guess

• Registered Users Posts: 11,210 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

All manufactures make several grades of saw, home owner, farmer and then professional , Stihl, Husky , Jonsered all do this.etc. Generally Stihl with a white plastic rear handle are higher grade ones. Stihl make their own bars and chains , Oreagon are a well known make, don't know if they are trading in their reputation or not.

I have both Oregon LP21 and Stihl RSC and I find that the Stihl cuts better, the LP21 has a bumper link in front of the cutter and I think its not as aggressive as the Oregon on my 262XP.
    That said the Oregon cuts well for general usage crosscutting etc but for felling the Stihl is hard to beat.
    Thats the only Stihl product I use BTW:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭BreadnBuddha

On mobile again but a quick look even on eBay turned up the following to suit a husky for example:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/111470984237
    That's €51 and €3.50 for parcel motel. It's the Double Guard bar and 2 chains, 14".

Have a look around and you'll find 15" for about the same money, but 14" might do you just fine.

sorry for being complete dumbo on this, how do you know what chain size your chainsaw sprocket is capable of driving,i assume this governs everything, thanks for help, i got a lot of learning to catch up on

i presume when using AMA, range is limited afaik the sprocket is part of clutch drum, i haven't dismantled it ,yet

On mobile so pain to look at earlier posts lads, but has anyone said anything about the sprocket? If the sprocket's dry which it could well be on a cheap bar if chain oil isn't reaching the bearing or if the bars bent at all near the nose, a bit of heat could easy cause the chain to drag, clutch to start slipping and overgeating and the saw

I bet the sprocket oil/grease-way is blocked and that's causing the grief. Get a bar grease pump and lube the sprocket every time you fill the saw with chain oil.
    didn't realize until i tried looking for one online that i had one, use it for greasing mf 4wd universal joints, what grease do you recommend for saw

well got new bar and 2 chains for €55 , while in there dealer asked me aobut chain oil brand i used, he ran saw and pointed to oil in ground, grand big line of oil or so i thought, he then started another and did same beside oil line from my saw only this was sprayed thinly on ground , anyway he advised me to buy new oil in blue container and reconed that was half my problem. said he saw it a few times that oil was being flung off chain instead of lubricating and as well advised me to grease sprocket as one of you suggested (thanks BreadnBuddha). bought saw file and guide €7 . used it on chain already and it makes big lumps of sawdust not fine ,he recons electric disc destroys chains

Good man. That's a decent price too for the bar and chains from a bricks and mortar shop. It's great to be able to deal with someone like that too as a good dealer will always give you a pointer on a problem. Once you get the hang of using the file with the guide you'll be flying. Took a good while to get handy with it, paying lots of attention to the guide and all that, but flying now though. Try to always give the chain a lick of the file when you're putting the saw away. Makes it much easier to grab the saw and get on with the work instead of thinking about having to sharpen the chain first which would half put ye off sometimes! ;)

Sorry, for grease for the sprocket, I just use a Lithium CV grease.

it was a microlite bar and matching chain 15" he supplied,got a fair bit of use from it so far and edged it at least 10 times since ,im cutting tree roots and there seems to be clay or pebbles in some as well youd see sparks fly even out of the timber.
    anyways its looking like its the oil used is problem, fella working with him was stuck for oil or forgot it maybe and bought same brand as i was using from local store where he was cutting trees and had similar crack as i had,so ill try the other bar and chain again for the fun of it.the 15" inch is doing my job but stops up if i lean hard enough on it so im wondering if clutch is problem or starting to go as engine is keeping up revs with chain at standstill even,suppose ill have big bang one of these days :rolleyes:

it was a microlite bar and matching chain 15" he supplied,got a fair bit of use from it so far and edged it at least 10 times since ,im cutting tree roots and there seems to be clay or pebbles in some as well youd see sparks fly even out of the timber.
    anyways its looking like its the oil used is problem, fella working with him was stuck for oil or forgot it maybe and bought same brand as i was using from local store where he was cutting trees and had similar crack as i had,so ill try the other bar and chain again for the fun of it.the 15" inch is doing my job but stops up if i lean hard enough on it so im wondering if clutch is problem or starting to go as engine is keeping up revs with chain at standstill even,suppose ill have big bang one of these days :rolleyes:
    Check under the chainbrake, if the clutch has been slipping there will be a lot of black sooty looking dust.
    Maybe get a can of brake clean spray and clean the shoes and drum and check spring tension while you are in there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

the 15" inch is doing my job but stops up if i lean hard enough on it so im wondering if clutch is problem or starting to go as engine is keeping up revs with chain at standstill even,suppose ill have big bang one of these days :rolleyes:

The saw just does not have the power, If clutch springs were weak the chain would be running on at idle, opposite of what people normally think.

CJhaughey wrote: »
    Check under the chainbrake, if the clutch has been slipping there will be a lot of black sooty looking dust.
    Maybe get a can of brake clean spray and clean the shoes and drum and check spring tension while you are in there.

will do that thanks ,

The saw just does not have the power, If clutch springs were weak the chain would be running on at idle, opposite of what people normally think.

my saw chain is stopping when idle. thanks for that info i didn't know that, but then there's a heap i don't know about lots of things and when starting on this thread i was complete dumbo on chainsaws.
    btw i thought motor should stop under pressure , mine doesn't, keeps on revving but you'd know it was under strain.
    thanks everyone of you who advised and made suggestions as well as commenting on other brands.watched a lot of u-tube videos too but leaves a lot of gaps you guys helped to clear up thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Roadtoad

Has anyone any Hyundai chainsaw experience?
    Chadwicks have a sale soon, I'm tempted. Its a once-off job for 80 m of old Leylandii. When the job is done, its done. They offer Oregon bar and blade. Appreciate opinions.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

Roadtoad wrote: »
    Chadwicks have a sale soon, I'm tempted. Its a once-off job for 80 m of old Leylandii. When the job is done, its done. They offer Oregon bar and blade. Appreciate opinions.

Would you not rent a saw?

• Registered Users Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Roadtoad

I bought the Chadwicks Hyundai. After the Christmas hols I'll give some feedback. A 2-year guarantee on a 1-winter job convinced me.

Renting (ref Jonon9 above) can be dodgy for me. I tend to be too mean and stay at it too long (= dangerous). Smarter to do a few hours and come back fresh for another few hours the next day.

jonon9 wrote: »
    Would you not rent a saw?
    chainsaw dealer told me he expect that in next few years, saw purchase without permits will be banned and as lots of his business is with periodic users of saws he will be quitting as it will curtail his business to such and extent that it wont be worthwhile

• Registered Users Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭zetecescort

chainsaw dealer told me he expect that in next few years, saw purchase without permits will be banned and as lots of his business is with periodic users of saws he will be quitting as it will curtail his business to such and extent that it wont be worthwhile

I'd be in favour of some sort of training requirements. I know somebody that works in the Coop store and were selling saws to people after the storm in Feb and the customers needing to be told about oil for the chain being different to the 2 stroke oil. shop workers not trained to show correct operation of the saw either.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

I got a 'cheap and cheerful' saw called Pro Plus from Aurivo. It is great, nice and light but plenty of power. Worked it for the first time this week and very pleased.
    I had a heavy Stihl and used to be wreaked after a couple of hours, hated the thing! Also, spent the price of the new one in getting bits fixed on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

have had aldi 18" saw for last 4 years.. okay for first 2 years .. nothing but touble the last 2 seasons, its on its 3rd Chinese pull chord system (spring broke inside of tonight on me) it was plastic pawls before that went on it

ive had being buying bits and 20/30 euro here and there for local lad to fix it

have 3 x 18" chains that I hope would fit a new saw.. im thinking stihl .. where are doing good deals? Amazon or up north or where is best at the moment for a good deal and what model would ye recommend.. I heard the MS261 is super but E866 in place in Baileboro cavan

thanks in advance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Brass Tag

Roadtoad wrote: »

Got flyer in the door today from Heiton Buckley. Hyundai 46cc chainsaw with 18 inch Oregon bar for €199 inc VAT!

I'm really tempted. My 20 year old Oleo Mac is past it.
    Just for plenty of occasional use around the farm plus maybe the equivalent of two good days work cutting firewood.

Hyundai make serious cars, heavy excavators and a whole range of super CNC machine tools. They are a top class manufacturer of complex equipment.
    Can't imagine their chainsaws are that far behind European brands!!

Brass Tag wrote: »
    Got flyer in the door today from Heiton Buckley. Hyundai 46cc chainsaw with 18 inch Oregon bar for €199 inc VAT!

I'm really tempted. My 20 year old Oleo Mac is past it.
    Just for plenty of occasional use around the farm plus maybe the equivalent of two good days work cutting firewood.

Hyundai make serious cars, heavy excavators and a whole range of super CNC machine tools. They are a top class manufacturer of complex equipment.
    Can't imagine their chainsaws are that far behind European brands!!

Walbro carb and Oregon bar and chain on those, but everything else about them is as Chinese as it gets. The company that imports them is Genpower in the UK, and they're distributed under the Hyundai Power Equipment brand. That name is Licensed, no other involvement in any way from Hyundai. There's some godawful sheite sold now with Hyundai and even Kawasaki branding on power tools.

If you want a saw to do a week or two of work and be ready for the skip afterwards, fire away. Don't expect it to do much more than that and you probably won't be disappointed. It'll never come close to what your old Mac would have done for you though.

Would you have a look at one of the McCulloch CS models? Nicely made and I think just perfect for occasional use. I've never had a bother getting bits and pieces for my older and cheaper Mac338.

Walbro carb and Oregon bar and chain on those, but everything else about them is as Chinese as it gets. The company that imports them is Genpower in the UK, and they're distributed under the Hyundai Power Equipment brand. That name is Licensed, no other involvement in any way from Hyundai. There's some godawful sheite sold now with Hyundai and even Kawasaki branding on power tools.

If you want a saw to do a week or two of work and be ready for the skip afterwards, fire away. Don't expect it to do much more than that and you probably won't be disappointed. It'll never come close to what your old Mac would have done for you though.

Would you have a look at one of the McCulloch CS models? Nicely made and I think just perfect for occasional use. I've never had a bother getting bits and pieces for my older and cheaper Mac338.

I looked at the Hyundai and its exactly the same pull chord and set up as gardenline aldi one im chucking out except E100 dearer

Bodacious wrote: »
    I looked at the Hyundai and its exactly the same pull chord and set up as gardenline aldi one im chucking out except E100 dearer

All coming out of the one factory in schezen china, they are building saws quicker there than rats breeding in new york.

bar the ploughing.. where is best value in stihl in Ireland!? or online

What do you mean bar the ploughing?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

have had aldi 18" saw for last 4 years.. okay for first 2 years .. nothing but touble the last 2 seasons, its on its 3rd Chinese pull chord system (spring broke inside of tonight on me) it was plastic pawls before that went on it

ive had being buying bits and 20/30 euro here and there for local lad to fix it

have 3 x 18" chains that I hope would fit a new saw.. im thinking stihl .. where are doing good deals? Amazon or up north or where is best at the moment for a good deal and what model would ye recommend.. I heard the MS261 is super but E866 in place in Baileboro cavan

thanks in advance

€866 for a 261 sounds kinda high, I recently brought a 362 for €875

Some dealers have deals going on at the moment like here in Clare, Pat Hogans is selling the Stihl ms 271 for 600 quid