Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The nearest you have come to death

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Shane-KornSpace

For those who have had near death experience and have needed to be resuscitated, did you "see" anything?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

For those who have had near death experience and have needed to be resuscitated, did you "see" anything?

There is something definitely there for sure. Just my quick opinion though, I will not comment on this thread about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Dramatik

@zenno.That's a horrific story, you must have felt totally helpless at the time :(

It really bugs me that things like this can happen under the right circumstances. If you have been accused of a crime and end up in court, if you have no evidence to prove otherwise, then you will be found guity, even if you are innocent. Mistakes do happen and probably happen more often than we know. I was found guilty of a crime I didn't commit years ago, the only evidence I had to prove me innocent was CCTV footage of the event, the gardai who arrested me were incharge of obtaining the footage, they subsequently "forgot" to obtain the footage and by the time they went to get it (3-4 weeks after the incident!), it had been "accidently" taped over. Therefore I was found guilty and charged. I just wanted to give an example of how easily this can happen to anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Jonny Blaze

Nearly got swept out to see one summer's day when I thought it would be a good idea to walk from Bray to Greystones 'the beach way'...

Terrifying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭mrDerek

Lightening struck the exact spot i had been standing 5 seconds prior, you think thunder in the distance sounds terrifying try being beside the point of impact its scary loud. the actual lightening itself isnt loud though

Nearly got swept out to see one summer's day when I thought it would be a good idea to walk from Bray to Greystones 'the beach way'...

Terrifying!

My brother and myself had a similar experience before when we thought the tide was going out, way out, and we were in conversation walking further into the sea on the sand, but then after a long walk we came to the water and the waves looked very high for the edge of the sand dune and when we looked around, the whole sea encompassed us and we were stuck.

My brother panicked and made a run for it, but I was shouting to him that I can't swim. He was gone as it was very dark around 12:30am in the morning and I could barely see the headlights of the car my other mate was flashing trying to warn us of in-coming tide. Well I ran like forest Gump through that water up to my armpits until I made it back to shore.

That was a shock for sure. Never again did that happen. You have to be aware of the way the tide comes in, it can encompass you in minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

CruelCoin wrote: »

3: Scuba diving. Egypt 3 years ago, especially violent currents. Got pinned underneath overhanging rocks, unable to find regulator that had been ripped from my mouth.

Muff Diving last night.

She crossed her legs and nearly choked me to death

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Walking into Copper Face Jacks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭fundi

nearly got hit by a crazy drunk driver in France when I was coming home from work there a few summers ago. The crazy driver hit a wall about 20 meters from where I was walking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Got my right leg tangled up in some seaweed when I was in some not-even-that-deep-but-deep-enough-to-drown-in water with my daughter, who was only 6 and can't swim at all really. I was underwater frantically to kick my leg free, and my daughter was floating above me on one of those inflatable rings, thinking daddy was being hilarious.

It was just deep enough that I couldn't keep my head above water, but I could jump up and get a quick breath before being pulled down again. Me doing this made it even more entertaining for her.

Because I could get some air by jumping, I wasn't panicking too much, but I do remember pushing her, and her inflatable plastic thing, away from me, so that even if things turned very serious, I wouldn't be able to grasp at it and pull her down with me.

Eventually got it untangled obviously, but I don't think I'll ever forget realising that the best thing to do was push her away from me, for her own safety.

Dramatik wrote: »
    @zenno.That's a horrific story, you must have felt totally helpless at the time :(

It really bugs me that things like this can happen under the right circumstances. If you have been accused of a crime and end up in court, if you have no evidence to prove otherwise, then you will be found guity, even if you are innocent. Mistakes do happen and probably happen more often than we know. I was found guilty of a crime I didn't commit years ago, the only evidence I had to prove me innocent was CCTV footage of the event, the gardai who arrested me were incharge of obtaining the footage, they subsequently "forgot" to obtain the footage and by the time they went to get it (3-4 weeks after the incident!), it had been "accidently" taped over. Therefore I was found guilty and charged. I just wanted to give an example of how easily this can happen to anyone.

Some times it can go wrong, badly wrong. But it's rare. There are always a few bad apples in all walks of life and of which in power can be very dangerous. But like I said, it's rare nowadays in Ireland. Especially right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I once touched a dead person, does that count??

CruelCoin wrote: »
    3: Scuba diving. Egypt 3 years ago, especially violent currents. Got pinned underneath overhanging rocks, unable to find regulator that had been ripped from my mouth.

In Madeira on a group dive with a few nationalities as I keeping still to watch a blue marlin wander past, my DB lost the plot and spitting out his reg was grabbing and pulling on me in a total funk. He yanked out my reg flailing and shot us both to the surface with me helpless as he had about an extra 30cm and maybe 30kg on me. Happened very quickly and was a hard lesson about diving with strangers.

After pulling an all-nighter before exams, I lost all sense of speed and depth but thought I was fine, and walked out in front of a truck and if the guy beside me hadn't yanked me back I'd have been a goner. It was so close I still have dreams about the whoosh of air in my face as the truck passed.

I was on a turbulent flight with my parents as a small child when we suddenly massively dumped altitude, everyone started screaming and crying and my mum leaned over and told me she loved me and my dad told me to close my eyes. I don't remember anything else, but obviously the pilots managed to recover control. I don't know how close it was in reality, but it felt baaad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

CathyMoran wrote: »
    Diagnosed with oesophageal cancer in 2006, had the chemo, married and then the surgery a few weeks later. Post surgery I got double pneumonia and mu kidneys ended up failing for a while, was on dialysis and I ended up needing to be ressusitated 3 times. When they told me afterwards that my near death experience was not my imagination but real I was upset for a while but thankfully past the 5 years now and have 2 young children.

You'll have to tell us about your near death experience. What happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

GenieOz wrote: »
    Friend shooting me in the head by mistake would come close.

Are you a mate of Dick Cheney's?

Dramatik wrote: »

What was the outcome? Did you get a conviction? Did you get your name cleared?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

Everytime i drive my motorbike around irish drivers (im irish)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Chara1001

The first time was a hit and run when I was a child when a car drove over me and broke my legs, and the second was in Australia when I almost drowned scuba diving on the great barrier reef.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭NicoleL88

Can't remember how old I was (maybe 5 or 6), but my mam used to hang the washing outside on one of those blue ropes. Anyway, I used to love grabbing it and twisting around so that when I took my feet off the ground I would spin around for a few seconds. I remember one day wondering what it would be like to fly like a bird so I wrapped the rope atound my neck and twisted it.... next thing I knew I was in my mams arms and she was running to the hospital with me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Rolling a Citreon Saxo off the side of a mountain when I was 19. Was the mistiest day I've ever seen and a sharp bend came out of no where. Too late. Car rolled 4 or 5 times and jammed up on it's side against a massive boulder. The boulder was down about 70ft on the mountain side with about another 200 or so ft to go. Only for the boulder I almost certainly wouldn't be typing this. Came away with a few cuts and a broken rib. Car was in shíte though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

nc19 wrote: »
    Everytime i drive ride my motorbike around irish drivers (im irish)
    Fixed that for you ;) :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

newmug wrote: »
    You'll have to tell us about your near death experience. What happened?
    She had a potentially terminal illness. What more do you want? :confused:

Eh, a description of her near death experience?

Wow, so many of these posts are car crashes...

Eh, a description of her near death experience?
    Here, let me highlight it for you:
    CathyMoran wrote: »
    I got double pneumonia and mu kidneys ended up failing for a while, was on dialysis and I ended up needing to be ressusitated 3 times. When they told me afterwards that my near death experience was not my imagination but real I was upset for a while but thankfully past the 5 years now and have 2 young children.
    Her heart stopped 3 times, that's as close as you can get really.

think newmug is really asking about the 'experience' part, not just the circumstances.

Many people claim to have near death experiences where they feel as if they are watching their body from a floating height above it, or to see tunnels of light etc.

I think thats what he means, though correct me if im wrong!

think newmug is really asking about the 'experience' part, not just the circumstances.

Many people claim to have near death experiences where they feel as if they are watching their body from a floating height above it, or to see tunnels of light etc.

I think thats what he means, though correct me if im wrong!
    Then why just ask her? No one else is describing that.

You're dead right Johnny, as Shopaholic well knows.

Actually, I thought you were being sarcastic. :o

Apologies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

I got a spontaneous pneumothorax after bending down to pick up my phone. I spent 3 weeks in hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Chara1001 wrote: »
    The first time was a hit and run when I was a child when a car drove over me and broke my legs, and the second was in Australia when I almost drowned scuba diving on the great barrier reef.
    Fcukin lousy bastard. Hit and run on a child. Did the gardai get whoever done it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Dramatik

What was the outcome? Did you get a conviction? Did you get your name cleared?

Got off by the skin of my teeth, had to pay a fine of €400. Scarest part was being in the holding cell underneath the court, there was some shady looking characters in there.

There was probably 8 or 10 of us in there, it was pretty intimidating and obviously had a really bad atmosphere, you could feel the anger/agression in the air as people were about to be sentenced for their crimes and obviously not in the best of moods. I just stood right beside the gate with my back against the wall, incase something went down and I had to get help although I'm not sure if that would have made much difference as there was long periods of time where there was no garda outside the cell. What amazed me was there was a couple of lads in the corner of the room doing lines off a bench lol! like of all places to be having a cheeky beak! ha ha!

Everything turned out grand in the end though, out of sheer luck the gardai never took my smokes off me when I was going in, so I lit up a smoke and about two mins later one guy came up and asked me for one (he was actually one of the guys snorting the stuff ha ha) so I gave him one and he was asking me what I was in for ect. I really wanted to ask him why he was in but I didn't just incase I offended him in some way. He said I'd be grand and I should get off, he even helped me get a solicitor as the garda said I had to pick one then and there, and I didn't know the names of any.

After that a couple more people came up and asked for smokes so I ended up giving most of the pack away and everyone seemed to appreciate that, they kept them going till the garda dropped a couple of packs down to the cell, I felt a little safer after that as people didn't seem to be as stressed out. There was one point though where some eastern-european lad started goin nuts and kicking and punching stuff because he didn't understand what was going on because he had very little english but he calmed down after a while so it was grand but it was a bit frightening all the same because it looked like he could take out his anger on the person closest to him so I kept a close eye on him. Eventually though I was called up and a bond??? and another court date was set and I was released. Worst day ever and it was only one single day! I can't imagine having to wake up every morning to face that kind of atmosphere, absolute nightmare! I still wonder sometimes what would have happened if I didn't have that pack of smokes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Subarachnoid brain haemorrhage. Very lucky to be alive and even luckier to come out of it with minimal damage.
    I've had a few relatives who had the same condition as yourself but were not so lucky.. Reading you're post fills me with joy because despite the fact it's so prevalent in my family there is hope. I wish you all the best in life:-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Was off sick with a fairly bad chest and throat infection, around 2010/11 when we had a lot of snow. Day 4 and I'm feeling better, so decide to go for a walk, roads are fairly ok but still heavy snow on the verges. Wear a pair of linen summer trousers, light runners and a hoodie for some reason. I live in the wicklow mountains, so when I got to the edge of the village I decided to cut away from the road and go home via the hills. Which were covered in snow anywhere from 1ft to waist deep.
    Halfway up the hill I sit down for a rest cause I feel great, it's warm, everything is so beautiful man! Wake up in the dark, violently shivering, soaked to the skin with my dog biting me and barking.
    Got back to the village, into the first house I come to, pretty sure Mrs Maguire saved my life with hot tea, blankets, dry clothes.

Never felt more stupid in my life.

Edit: Full credit goes to Powder, my westie too!

Wake up in the dark, violently shivering, soaked to the skin with my dog biting me and barking.
    Got back to the village, into the first house I come to, pretty sure Mrs Maguire saved my life with hot tea, blankets, dry clothes.

Fair play to Mrs Maguire, but I think your dog did his/her bit too :)

Was off sick with a fairly bad chest and throat infection, around 2010/11 when we had a lot of snow. Day 4 and I'm feeling better, so decide to go for a walk, roads are fairly ok but still heavy snow on the verges. Wear a pair of linen summer trousers, light runners and a hoodie for some reason. I live in the wicklow mountains, so when I got to the edge of the village I decided to cut away from the road and go home via the hills. Which were covered in snow anywhere from 1ft to waist deep.
    Halfway up the hill I sit down for a rest cause I feel great, it's warm, everything is so beautiful man! Wake up in the dark, violently shivering, soaked to the skin with my dog biting me and barking.

I think your dog did too, good doggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

When I was around 12 I had to go to the hospital to have a troublesome tooth removed. They administered nitrous oxide without checking that I was asthmatic . Not sure if the onus was on me or them to provide this info but my father who was with me said it was touch and go for a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Candie wrote: »
    Fair play to Mrs Maguire, but I think your dog did his/her bit too :)
    bluewolf wrote: »
    I think your dog did too, good doggy
    Definitely, meant to include her in the honour roll of thanks too!

Aidric wrote: »
    When I was around 12 I had to go to the hospital to have a troublesome tooth removed. They administered nitrous oxide without checking that I was asthmatic . Not sure if the onus was on me or them to provide this info but my father who was with me said it was touch and go for a while.

On them, they're the healthcare professionals and should have asked all the questions they need to ascertain the risk.

Shocking, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Two close shaves in transport, touched live mains that were stripped behind a wall while working, badly burned hand as a result. Still here though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭micar

1) When myself and my twin sister were very young (maybe 2) and my mams cousin was saying in our house. She left her container of tablets on the kitchen table. We probably though they were sweets and managed to open them while alone in the room.

Note sure how many we took but we were rushed to hospital to get our stomachs pumped.

2) Cycling a bike down a steep hill with poor brakes in the rain. I went straight in the main Dublin road. Luckily there were no cars coming each way at that particular moment. that was an "Oh ****" moment. I knew going own the hill that I was in big trouble. d

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

MonstaMash wrote: »
    Fixed that for you ;) :P

I was going to type ride but figured the type of people on boards so made it easier for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

when I was fairly young I ran out in front of a different cubicle at a driving range and narrowly missed getting hit in the head by a guys driver. For some reason he then tried to fight my father for letting me run out, when in reality it wasn't my dads fault at all, I just bolted around the corner. Not really near death lying in a hospital being resuscitated, but had I been hit in the head by the club I would have definitely died

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

zenno wrote: »
    Well, many years ago, The nearest I have come to death was being arrested/imprisoned and falsely accused of something I never done.

I was a bit drunk while walking home, and a garda car pulled up beside me, there were three gardai in the car. They dragged me into the car and brought me to the station and put me in the cell for the night (they never at this time told me why I was being arrested). When I awoke the following morning, they handcuffed me first, and then brought me out to the main desk, but one particular garda laughed at me saying that I was arrested for attempting to rob a petrol pump station (a petrol station in my area that was not open at the time and closes very early) which was absolutely ridiculous, as I told him I never was near this so-called petrol station, but he again laughed and said to me that he knows this, but will have me done for it anyway while still laughing.

This particular garda I found out was living around the corner from my abode at this time, and seemed to have a problem with me for some reason. Maybe because I was going through a very rough time, as I was drinking too much and drunk all the time, but I never, not once ever bothered any persons, as it is not in my nature to do so. I always kept to myself and was a quiet person.

I was brought into court that morning handcuffed. My case came up, and this garda went up to the judge talking to him in his ear and then the judge said one week remanded in custody in mountjoy prison, that was it, and I didn't even have the right to reply. I was brought back to the garda station and put in a cell again until the garda van came to bring me to prison.

By the way, this particular garda personally went to my solicitor with my family after my downfall (following later) and told my family and the solicitor that he made it all up to have me imprisoned to teach me a lesson for being a pain and a drunk all of the time, and that a spell in prison might wake me up and teach me a lesson, and that he was very sorry for this. I could never understand this approach from the garda, and I still don't because there were problems I had personally that I was trying to deal with, but got drunk a few times to erase them.

Anyway, I was forwarded to mountjoy prison at 6pm handcuffed to another prisoner in the van. When we got to this destination I was processed and taken into a waiting room with 6 other guys sitting in a large room. I was called up and was told to take off all of my clothes and then stand on a weighing scales as they were taking weight measurements. The prison gaurd then put on a pair of blue gloves and I got seriously nervous because I heard that they might do a cavity search and this really freaked me out, but the prison gaurd put me at ease as they just use the gloves to search through your clothes.

After this I was sent to the shower to wash and then was given a prison uniform and forwarded to the cell-block. It was most definitely a strange experience for me that's for sure. I was put into a cell with this one guy for the evening and night and then tried to relax, as they didn't have a bed in this cell I had to sleep on a mattress. Come lights out while looking at a slop bucket only, no toilet obviously, I tried to sleep, but all of a sudden I heard my cell-mate making noises and I just pretended to be asleep. He was masturbating loudly just beside me and I just said feck this I'll pretend to be asleep, and eventually I fell asleep thankfully.

The next day I was informed that I will be moved to a double cell that already held 3 prisoners and of which has a spare bed, as they couldn't have me sleeping on the ground. At this time things went seriously bad.

When I was sent to the new cell that evening, I was given my bed and was told where I need to shave and use a bucket. The three guys that I was now sharing this cell with seemed ok and didn't bother me at this time. One was in for life for murder, the other guy was in for kidnapping miss Ireland (not sure if that was actually true but it probably was as that was what he told me) and the other third guy was in for armed robbery. So I was basically put into a cell with seriously hardened criminals and I was a bit worried.

Two days went by and this prison gaurd kept coming in and talking and whispering to the other 3 prisoners I shared the cell with all the time but I obviously walked out of the cell and walked around for a while, I came back to the cell a few minutes later and there was a news paper on my bed so I picked it up and read it, after that it was lock-down for a while until we were allowed out again into the main hall to watch a crime film of all things. I picked my seat and watched the movie and then we were sent back to the cell for the night with a cup of tea and a scone-bun.

At this stage while the four of us were in the cell, the guy that was in for murder (he was a british guy) showed me his paintings, they were amazing and artistically excellent but they were of demons and devils of apocalypse, but they were astonishingly painted to perfection, he obviously had a talent. After showing me these paintings the other 2 guys sat down at the table and told me that the screw "as they say" (prison officer) that kept coming in all the time lived in the estate where I was from, and that he wanted them to slice my face with the razor blades he gave them. Well at this stage locked in a cell with this information was unnerving to say the least, I felt I was in a very serious situation at this stage.

They all said that the prison officer had it in for me and wanted them to slash me up good, so things got a bit heated as I was getting really afraid at this stage. They said that they once slashed a prisoner like me to bits in the face before and left him lying in a pool of blood. Now I was bricking it but I'm not sure if they were serious or not in relation to this other guy but It got me going. At this stage I just said to them that I cannot do anything either way so just go ahead and get it over with. Luckily for me when I said this, they said no, they won't mess me up, but I was still really freaked out when lights went out that night.

They were on medication and they fell asleep hours later, my brain was going one thousand percent with paranoid thoughts and I needed to get out of there immediately, I already had a problem before I was sent to this kip and so decided out of extreme panic to rip my white bed-sheets in long strips and make a noose and tie it to the ceiling metal light socket and around my neck, when I managed to do this tight and solid, I jumped off the table I had moved and that was it, all I heard was a crack. I only remember being told what happened after that by the prison officer that saved my life. No-one knows how long I was hanging there for. I was in intensive care for many days and was finally released from hospital 4 weeks later.I do remember waking up for a few seconds and saw two priests sitting on chairs beside my bed and then I lost conciousness, it was strange.

All this over a false imprisonment. Well the lesson was learned the wrong way. I never claimed for wrongful imprisonment, Not after death threats. The prison governor said I should never have been put in there in the first place. The garda that falsely claimed I done wrong acknowledged he made it up to my solicitor and to my family. I got a death threat there-after and so just went on with life and forgot about it.

If you have made it this far readin, then fair play to ye.

Holy **** !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Zed Bank

I once went to a heavy metal gig with a coldplay t-shirt on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,176 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Knocked down on my bike when a car came out of a junction straight into my way as I was travelling at speed down a hill. Was mildly concussed and bruised and cut but the helmet saved me from more series damage as I was knocked over the front bonnet and landed on my head and arms. Also when cycling on another occasion I was told by a fellow riders behind me that a car just cut across behind me and missed me by inches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Ran in front of a car when I was 4, fortunately the driver was in an oul Ford Escort that could barely do 20 mph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

Was in a car accident with two friends driving home after watching a game of football.
    Crashed at a well known black spot.
    Car rolled a few times, Gardai at the scene reckon it rolled about four times.
    The car was an absolute mess and wrote off but we managed to escape relatively unscathed(A broken arm and a few cuts and scratches from broken glass).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I was told I may only have 18 months to live back in 2011 from cancer.

Thankfully procedures and bit of luck went my way and here I am still talking crap on boards.:pac:

Nearly got knocked down going to Ireland v Poland game in Croker about 5 years ago. Girl went through Red lights. I literally saw lights flash through my eyes from here Car. She just waved so calmly :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

Also fell down the stairs three separate times as a toddler.