Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Accept new job opportunity even though emigrating!!

Options
  • 05-04-2014 3:39pm
    Registered Users Posts: 9

Hi folks,

I'm looking a bit of advice about a new job in my place of work. I due to leave Ireland for Canada in 2 months (mid-June) and I've worked in my current position for a year and a half. I have a PhD and am over-qualified for the role I am in at the moment. However, two new (same) positions have been advertised that would be suitable for me. Another reason I want to apply is because it would look great on my CV.

I haven't handed in my notice and my supervisor has talked to me about applying for this position. If I don't apply I will probably have to tell my supervisor that I am leaving, which I don't want to do because my next contract is up a month before I leave and I'm worried if I hand in my notice before then that they would not renew my contract. I should add that this is a large multinational company that aren't very concerned with individual workers on the bottom of the chain (although my supervisor is very nice)

It would have been fantastic if these jobs had of been advertised a few months ago and now I just don't know what to do. There is probably only 5 of us that are qualified for these new jobs and I probably stand a good chance as I'm the only with a PhD. They were initially going to advertise externally and internally but changed their minds against externally (perhaps due to strong internal interest by word of mouth).