Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are Cork people weird ?

Never ate tripe and drisheen. I'd say that's more of an old person, really old-skool clichéd Frank O'Connor/the bells of Shandon kinda thing.

A friend of mine from the UK came to visit me in October and I took him where the bells of Shandon are - it was my first time ever being up there!
    We didn't actually go upstairs to the bells though 'cause we weren't sure if the place was open or not and were too awkward to check, so I just sorta pointed at the church and went "erm..that's it". Also having been mugged by being in the wrong part of Shandon at the wrong time before, I was pretty eager to leave and head elsewhere!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Lapin wrote: »

(Mayo take note)

Ah, now. Everyone knows Mayo people cant read or write!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Never ate tripe and drisheen. I'd say that's more of an old person, really old-skool clichéd Frank O'Connor/the bells of Shandon kinda thing.

It's old school alright. Funnily enough Saturday Kitchen featured a segment by the late great Keith Floyd recently from Cork. Tripe was featured and undoubtedly looked shoite but the enthusiasm from the ubiquitously semi pissed Keith allowed me overlook it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

Aidric wrote: »
    It's old school alright. Funnily enough Saturday Kitchen featured a segment by the late great Keith Floyd recently from Cork. Tripe was featured and undoubtedly looked shoite but the enthusiasm from the ubiquitously semi pissed Keith allowed me overlook it.

Ah, Keith. He was some legend alright :)

Also, Cork people are wonderful. Although I'm coming around to yous mad Dubs, bleedin nuts yiz are :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭karaokeman

I've seen better topics than this in The Sun.

But seriously, speaking as a guy who is currently travelling, Cork people are no different from other Irish natives, and people in general some sound, some not so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭zetalambda

We're too busy drinking espresso, getting stoned on cheap gear and writing bad poetry.

Galwegians are just Culchies with notions about themselves. :pac: I was up there once and it was one of the most boring shiteholes I've ever visited. The main shopping street, ingeniously named Shop street is like a side street you'd find off Grafton street in Dublin or Patrick street in Cork.
    Obviously all that cheap gear has gone to your head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

zetalambda wrote: »
    Galwegians are just Culchies with notions about themselves. :pac: I was up there once and it was one of the most boring shiteholes I've ever visited. The main shopping street, ingeniously named Shop street is like a side street you'd find off Grafton street in Dublin or Patrick street in Cork.
    Take that back. Galway is awesome!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Tilly wrote: »
    Take that back. Galway is awesome!

Yeah, Galway's a great town.

smcgiff wrote: »
    Yeah, Galway's a great town.

A mediocre town. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

The main shopping street, ingeniously named Shop street is like a side street you'd find off Grafton street in Dublin or Patrick street in Cork.

Hark at Carrie Bradsaw with her shoe filled shopping bags............

"Oh tootles the shopping was horrendous".

What's next?

zetalambda: [voiceover whilst typing] Year after year, twenty-something women come to Galway in search of the two L's: labels and love.

mikom wrote: »
    Hark at Carrie Bradsaw with her shoe filled shopping bags............

"Oh tootles the shopping was horrendous".

What's next?

zetalambda: [voiceover whilst typing] Year after year, twenty-something women come to Galway in search of the two L's: labels and love.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

A mediocre town. :D

As a Cork person, you can say whatever you want about Cork, but leave Galway out of this! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Ah.

Well we don't compare our streets to those boring ones in Dublin and Cork.

Streets in Galway are for busking on and turning empty shops into art galleries and places to eat & drink.

We look at Grafton St in Dublin and Patrick St in Cork and ask, 'What's the difference between this place and Swindon or Luton?'.

Not a pinch of life in either once Dunne's and Pennys shut.

Our streets in Galway have more character than anywhere else in the world :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Our streets in Galway have more character than anywhere else in the world :)

If by character you mean mountain/sea men in hairy jumpers with dogs on a piece of string, then yeah... :D

Our streets in Galway have more character than anywhere in the third world :)

There, fixed your post. :D

If by character you mean mountain/sea men in hairy jumpers with dogs on a piece of string, then yeah... :D
    There, fixed your post. :D

Ah, the hilarity.

I fully acknowledge that people across the world are envious of Galway.

In fairness it's perfectly understandable.

Everybody loves Galway.

Those of us lucky enough to reside here are used to the odd jealous remark but we take it all in our stride.

Because we're such decent chaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Everybody loves Galway.

Not really. Full of obnoxious heroin addicts wishing they had access to better gear.

Aidric wrote: »
    Not really. Full of obnoxious heroin addicts wishing they had access to better gear.

Speak for yourself !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Important thing to keep in mind is Galway is a great town, its a pretty piss poor excuse for a city though.

(lived there for a couple of years and loved it but it starts to feel small fast)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

beaner92 wrote: »
    I literally arrived in cork last night for the first time . So far not very weird lol

Welcome! A piece of advice for a fellow non-Cork resident...don't look them directly in the eye for more than 5 seconds, they will smell "outsider" and attack.

Other than that, enjoy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

I thought it was pretty much accepted that Cork is a pretty cool place. Nice people, loads of characters and good fun for a weekend of partying. I always enjoy going to Cork, it's like a breath of fresh air. Galways grand too, but I prefer Cork. It's kinda sharper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,950 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Trolls are weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Nah they're a grand bunch really. You'll have the good, the bad and the ugly in every county! I remember walking to the Luas after we beat the in the All Ireland with a few Cork lads, they were sound out :)

Important thing to keep in mind is Galway is a great town, its a pretty piss poor excuse for a city though.

(lived there for a couple of years and loved it but it starts to feel small fast)

Every 'so called' city in Ireland is a small town really, when compared to yonder.
    Even Dublin.

We in Galway are far too chilled out to give a toss about town or city status. Feck all that shít.

Let Limerick folk freak out over that nonsense.

We're happy that the place is not too big and not too small. It's just right. That's why the whole world is jealous of Galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Galway and Dublin are nicer cities in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

In America, the land of one of the biggest cities in the world, along with other big cities, there are urban centres with populations of 5,000 that are known as cities. It's a generic term for an urban centre; it doesn't just mean big metropolis.
    Given Ireland's population, obviously its cities are going to be small.
    At the same time though, it does feel weird calling any Irish city smaller than Cork (and I acknowledge it's small) a city.
    A friend of mine from the UK came to visit me in October and I took him where the bells of Shandon are - it was my first time ever being up there!
    We didn't actually go upstairs to the bells though 'cause we weren't sure if the place was open or not and were too awkward to check, so I just sorta pointed at the church and went "erm..that's it". Also having been mugged by being in the wrong part of Shandon at the wrong time before, I was pretty eager to leave and head elsewhere!
    The view of it is so pretty from the end of my road, but the area itself is fair gritty all right. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Aquagakka

I have visited Cork City regularly, as a Derry City follower. I have yet to be in a place more welcoming.

I always stay overnight as its a bit of a long run, so I meet people outside football.

A nice and generous people and I look forward to visiting again.

I go out with one so I have to say "yes". And I studied there for 5 years. They are weird because they are unique. And I love them for it.

Ask me again later when there is not a gun against my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Xaime

It's usually a combination of the above criteria though. Cork doesn't answer any of them.

I agree. In fact the only city that answers the criteria of a capital around this part of the world and was your capital for quite a long time is London. :p

In America, the land of one of the biggest cities in the world, along with other big cities, there are urban centres with populations of 5,000 that are known as cities. It's a generic term for an urban centre; it doesn't just mean big metropolis.
    Given Ireland's population, obviously its cities are going to be small.
    At the same time though, it does feel weird calling any Irish city smaller than Cork (and I acknowledge it's small) a city.

The view of it is so pretty from the end of my road, but the area itself is fair gritty all right. :pac:

Could you give us just 1 example of this please?
    There's a radio documentary on in the background here about the Queen's visit to the English Market in Cork a couple of years ago.

Lots of Cork people being interviewed obviously, but all they do is talk about food that no one would dream of eating. Stuff called drisheen and crubeens and other assorted bags of fat.

A posh woman (not the queen) goes there to buy 'bread with tomatoes in it'.

Someone else claimed the best corned beef in the universe is made there. (Well maybe he didn't, but that's what I took from his accent. He could have said 'your hamster is on fire for all I know)'.

Another fella known as the 'mouth of the south' said feckall. Brilliant radio that !

Cork people - A weird bunch of lads.

By the way. Before the green flag brigade arrive asking what queen?
    It's the Enslish/British/UK one.

Looks like the thread didn't exactly go the way you wanted it to OP. Better luck next time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ely,_Nevada

BAM!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vergennes,_Vermont

My apologies for assuming that you were talking bollocks. :D
    Funny old bunch, those Americans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Freddie Dodge

I go out with one so I have to say "yes". And I studied there for 5 years. They are weird because they are unique. And I love them for it.

I too have felt the cold barrel of that gun. I understand your fear brother.

Ya know the way that they say that Cork people feel superior and almost pitying of anyone not from there?
    I used to think that this was just something people say. Several relationships with Cork women have convinced me though that buried deep down, its actually true.

Sound gang in general, especially their gaa fans, but their version of pisstaking has more of an edge to it than the dub version, and as a Kerryman, ive been on the receiving end of both.

I've found that its easier to do business with Limerick people than in Cork, less of an attitude and snobbery. This may be a result of the size and image differences though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,363 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

You have a gun against your head..... and your partner from there forced you to say "yes" to the OP title?

What does this mean? They are weird? They are not? They want you to think they are weird.....even though they are not? Or they want us to think they are weird because they think that we think they are not so they are using this thread as a way in?

CRAP I can not take this stress.... do they want to be seen as weird or not!!!!! :) Give us a yes or no and take the bullet dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

It's a big foodie place.

If you showed me a good amount of Cork people going around with webbed feet who liked riding their cousins and rode donkeys around the town square every Sunday afternoon then maybe I'd think they're weird, but so far there's little evidence to prove this is the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

You would have gotten a much greater response OP if the thread was titled 'Are Dublin people weird?'.

It's a big foodie place.
    I've gotta say we have ****ing savage restaurants and cafés here IMO.

Nice to have something to be proud of and be able to highlight as a unique characteristic of a city... eveyr city has it's positives and negatives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,802 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

If you showed me a good amount of Cork people going around with webbed feet who liked riding their cousins and rode donkeys around the town square every Sunday afternoon then maybe I'd think they're weird, but so far there's little evidence to prove this is the case.

You ever ventured to Macroom?

Nope looks nice though!

Looks like the thread didn't exactly go the way you wanted it to OP. Better luck next time.

I see you're newish around these parts.

The thread has ecolved nicely.

Weird Cork folk. Superior Galway people. And all other gobshítes in between.

Welcome to boards :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭bockeys jollocks

The one thing I always noticed about cork, is that Ireland's beautiful women live there, being From dublin, I have travelled to cork on a number of occasions and I will never get over how good looking cork women are.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,365 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

My wife's from Cork. She married me, so yep, Cork people are definitely weird.

Where ???? :confused:

Zaph wrote: »
    My wife's from Cork. She married me, so yep, Cork people are definitely weird.

OK

This man needs help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Reindeer

As an American, I have seen far stranger things and have heard far more ridiculous accents in Dublin than I ever did in Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭usersame

Cork people are weirder than Dubs or less weird, really depending on what the Dubs claim, but we're defiantly better than the Dubs, unless of course the Dubs claim to be worse than us - in which case we are way worse

Reindeer wrote: »
    As an American, I have seen far stranger things and have heard far more ridiculous accents in Dublin than I ever did in Cork.

I've often heard skangers communicating in Dublin city center and thought to myself there's no way someone from outside of Ireland would understand that or even think it's English. It even takes me a few second to decipher what exactly it was they said. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,697 ✭✭✭Lisha

Where ???? :confused:

Ahhh Macroom the town of people who are named using initials ie M.J., J.J., etc.