Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Teen Fears Execution in Egypt

• Registered Users Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

Karl Stein wrote: »
    Hey Nostradamus, while you're peering into the future could you get me next weekend's lotto numbers? Good man.

Well, his dad is the Imam of the Islamic Cultural Centre of Ireland and heavily linked with the Muslim Brotherhood and look what happened there. The family went to Egypt on holidays and ended up leading a Muslim Brotherhood rally that was attended by tens of thousands.

Yet you lads want people to believe that he was an innocent bystander that got caught up in it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

I am more for Britain, If you want to go fight for your "Nation" go ahead, but dont comeback here looking for all your social rights/privileges such as social welfare, housing, health care, police protection, education and training. The EU is funding arms to resist ISIS/Muslim brotherhood you cant have your cake and eat it. Once you go you should stay out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

You dont have a right to it if you were forewarned by the DoFF, used great efforts to get there and then put yourself in the way of danger and got caught.

They left before warnings were issued.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,085 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

You dont have a right to it if you were forewarned by the DoFF, used great efforts to get there and then put yourself in the way of danger and got caught.

you do have a right to it. no matter what. thats the end of it
    Its not the Irish Governments Job to sort out every idiots problem.

as they are irish citizens, then it is
    I also make reference to the two dopes in Peru who were working as Porridge Sales Reps

they are entitled to assistence also, and got it

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

Is there some sort of booklet that says this or are you making it up as you go along?

https://www.dfa.ie/travel/travel-advice/a-z-list-of-countries/egypt/

Which part are you not clear on?

Well, his dad is the Imam of the Islamic Cultural Centre of Ireland and heavily linked with the Muslim Brotherhood and look what happened there. The family went to Egypt on holidays and ended up leading a Muslim Brotherhood rally that was attended by tens of thousands.

Yet you lads want people to believe that he was an innocent bystander that got caught up in it all.
    the same Muslim Brotherhood who were democratically elected by the people and overthrown by a corrupt military? yeah

I am more for Britain, If you want to go fight for your "Nation" go ahead, but dont comeback here looking for all your social rights/privileges such as social welfare, housing, health care, police protection, education and training. The EU is funding arms to resist ISIS/Muslim brotherhood you cant have your cake and eat it. Once you go you should stay out there.
    yeah. like that load of old rabel rabel bull**** is ever going to happen. these people will be coming back to britain as britain will be forced to take responsibility for its citizens whether it wants to or not, and they will be able to do nothing about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

the same Muslim Brotherhood who were democratically elected by the people and overthrown by a corrupt military? yeah

The people wanted the Muslim brotherhood gone, did you miss the mass protests

"Your safety is your responsibility
    You are wholly responsible for making decisions about your own travel.

We can’t be held responsible for any injury or loss you may suffer as a result of relying on our travel advice. "

DoFA travel advice ...... https://www.dfa.ie/travel/travel-advice/

I am not sure they were going to the World Teddy bear Picnic Jamboree in Egypt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 762 ✭✭✭PeteFalk78

This is a democratic establishment?
    Muslim Brotherhood leader Walid Khatab says “The streets would sink in blood and the police and army are of no value to us
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tm887hVNM-A
    A Morsi supporter threatenes to burn the country after being arrested at Al Nahda sit in
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6g49VlsGtd0
    Muslims Brotherhood resisting police during the disengagement of the sit in at Rab3a al Adaweya
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GO3Rh3OdDOg
    Weapons that have been seized during the disengagement of the sit in at Al Nahda
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=owIS8IqiRek
    Security found a coffin filled with ammunition, pistols, cartridges at Al Nahda sit in
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kIAX41kLkdY
    Brotherhood burning tents and belongings before Disengagement their sit-in
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xdkb0XfYrJ0
    Violence and attacks of government installations in Egypt
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RkGn7h_eeuY
    A fire set on in a church in Minya
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KRNq3KCSmhw
    More than 20 dead bodies found under Rab3a Al Adaweya platform
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1paxyysbOBc
    Brotherhood elements ignite fires in Cairo
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=REZv5E4bFvk
    Muslims Brotherhood cut Game3et Al Dewal Street and the masked men fire shots
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TTTTNpgsRKY
    Muslims Brotherhood cut Game3et Al Dewal Street and the masked men fire shots
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6JdL9lPU9mw
    Police seized a large quantity of weapons and live ammunition at Al Nahda sit in
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lROCtr2hyNU
    Scenes of the killing os Kerdasa Department officers by members of the Muslim Brotherhood
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ljuk2WH3iYE
    Dragging and killing of a taxi driver by supporters of the outsed president in Alexandria
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4VYsU9goF74
    Protesters setting fire at Rabaa Al Adaweya mosque before departure
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZsLd6GOI7yg&feature=share
    Field execution chamber and the gallows at the hospital at Rabaa Al Adaweya
    http://videoyoum7.com/?p=218865
    Worldwide scandal broadcasted by the Egyptian television of the Muslim Brotherhood and watch what they did
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yfoWLuro-X8&feature=share
    Muslims Brotherhood tried to kill photographers while being filmed using their gunshttps:
    https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=544233678957492

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Which part are you not clear on?

Below you say:
    Originally Posted by skooterblue2 View Post
    You dont have a right to it if you were forewarned by the DoFF

Is there a particular clause that says your rights/entitlements as an Irish citizen are withdrawn in the event of travelling to a nation that the DoFF has issued an advisory on?

you do have a right to it. no matter what. thats the end of it

as they are irish citizens, then it is

they are entitled to assistence also, and got it

yu have the right to some assistance ... not to the Army Ranger wing and Cochrane coming to bust you out.

The last time I heard of that was that Irish girl who was an Aid worker in the Sudan with an NGO. They sent the Ransom money to get her out about 6 years ago (time is open to correction).

• Registered Users Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Being Irish,y'see,our young adventurers were far more familiar with our way of justice.

Confident that the Egyptian Gardai would be stern but fair and after a good stern telling off,and maybe,as a worst-case scenario,recieve the "Benefit of the Probation Acts" from a cranky oul judge,these youths suddenly realized that they had underestimated reality.

Plus,I suspect,they just ain't happy that Hosni Mubarak flew out of court a wee bit free'r than he flew in ;)

However,I'd also suggest that there may well be a Christmas Amnesty in the offing,with Eamo Gilmore recalled to do the honours at the homecoming ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

PeteFalk78 wrote: »
    This is a democratic establishment?
    the brotherhood were democratically elected. i don't like it either, but thats what happened. all your links, well no different to what the military have been getting up to over there.

"Your safety is your responsibility
    You are wholly responsible for making decisions about your own travel.

We can’t be held responsible for any injury or loss you may suffer as a result of relying on our travel advice. "

DoFA travel advice ...... https://www.dfa.ie/travel/travel-advice/

I am not sure they were going to the World Teddy bear Picnic Jamboree in Egypt.

They were in Egypt before those warnings were issued.

Is there a particular clause that says your rights/entitlements as an Irish citizen are withdrawn in the event of travelling to a nation that the DoFF has issued an advisory on?

Not that I know of but I think there are 350 Irish citizens prisoners world wide. The local Ambassador might say "We can recommend a good lawyer, you were caught red handed and really we wish you all the best while we are all concerned".
    Like that goose from Donegal who mooned the local governer residence after a feed of drink for a dare. This was in South east asia and he got thrown into the local prison for 4 months.

On the other hand if you were caught "Bird watching" in South America and there was massive support at home and your passports were slightly forged ..... well then there might be a different story.

If you are outside the EU and you start acting the maggot. You are guilty till proven innocent and all the usual privileges you have here do not necessarily apply. Their country their rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Not that I know of

There ya go.

No matter how much some want these folks to be cut loose and left to the mercy of the Egyptian authorities the fact remains that they are fully Irish Citizens by law and are therefore entitled to consular assistance from the Irish State.

Isn't it great that we're all agreed?

Yay! \o/

Nodin wrote: »
    They were in Egypt before those warnings were issued.

Doesnt Matter.... they were well aware of what was going on before they traveled. Possibly better informed than the DoFA as heads of the Irish Islamic Cultural center. All the privileges you have here in Ireland (right to remain silent, speedy trail, jury of your peers, presumption of innocence, a counsel for defence, etc) may not apply in these countries.

I somehow dont think based on the video evidence that they were over for cricket. They were over to protest, just they didnt get the outcome they wanted. Irish Citizenship (not passports) for the last 20 years has been handed out freely without careful consideration who it was handed out to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

There ya go.

No matter how much some want these folks to be cut loose and left to the mercy of the Egyptian authorities the fact remains that they are fully Irish Citizens by law and are therefore entitled to consular assistance from the Irish State.

Isn't it great that we're all agreed?

Yay! \o/

which he got and rejected.

Sounds to me like they're looking for a cause celebre with the view of recruiting popular support here - unsurprisingly people are not as easily taken in as they once were. ;)

Was he shot?
    Ibrahim was shot in his hand when the security forces stormed the building

http://www.amnesty.ie/content/egypt-court-try-494-people-over-protests

Amnesty claimed that he was. The Irish authorities have visited him 19 times. Did they ever confirm this?

Doesnt Matter.....

Then why were you making a big deal out of it?

Nodin wrote: »
    Then why were you making a big deal out of it?

Lets tell it like it is. These chumps left their "own" country to go to another country to subvert the state. When you take a position like that if it goes wrong you have no protection. They arent even in the EU. what they can expect has gone right out the door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 762 ✭✭✭PeteFalk78

the brotherhood were democratically elected. i don't like it either, but thats what happened. all your links, well no different to what the military have been getting up to over there.

Kagame, Mugabe, Jammeh and Deby. Just a handful of "democratically" elected presidents on the African continent. Democratically elected through the suppression of opposition, press and free speech. Not to mention murders, genocides and violent coups.

yeah. like that load of old rabel rabel bull**** is ever going to happen. these people will be coming back to britain as britain will be forced to take responsibility for its citizens whether it wants to or not, and they will be able to do nothing about it.

Oh, but it is happening and there is plenty that the British and ourselves can do about it.
    Justice Minister Frances Fitzgerald has already held discussions on the threats posed by the jihadi fighters with the British Home Secretary, Theresa May and other EU counterparts.

The move comes as the immigration authorities here begin incorporating the collection of biometrics in a tightening up of the visa application process.

The system is being rolled out on a phased basis and has been introduced initially with applicants from Pakistan, who are now required to give fingerprints with their requests.
    Radical measures such as the cancellation of passports for up to two years are being put into action by British Prime Minister David Cameron.

He is bringing in a temporary exclusion order, which will allow police to cancel the passports but it will not revoke the citizenship of any jihadi suspects.

Suspected fighters, who want to return to the UK, will be subject to monitoring. They could also be required to attend de-radicalisation courses.

The Department of Justice said Mrs Fitzgerald was considering the UK proposals and would assess whether any such changes might be appropriate, useful and possible within our legal and constitutional framework.

An official said: "In the event of information being brought to the attention of the minister, which would raise doubts about the good character of any naturalised citizen, the minister can use the statutory process, which is in place for consideration of revoking citizenship.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/passports-of-jihadis-may-be-cancelled-for-two-years-30786824.html?utm_source=indoshare&utm_medium=socialoremail&utm_campaign=indoshare

PeteFalk78 wrote: »
    Kagame, Mugabe, Jammeh and Deby. Just a handful of "democratically" elected presidents on the African continent. Democratically elected through the suppression of opposition, press and free speech. Not to mention murders, genocides and violent coups.

Muslim Brotherhood or Military establishment? there isnt much of a much. like any tin pot dictatorship, they will use any method to get stuff done. Now normally I will advocate as Ireland was not a colonial superpower, it is not our responsibility to sort this out. How ever any time an Arab sneezes the price of oil shoots up. There are few more critical non oil producing countries linked to the price of Oil other than Egypt. That is why it is important. I am fully behind you on being tough on these cowboys. If they are travelling on Irish passports to warzones.

The last thing we need is our own "citizens" going out to sort out the problem. I am also referencing this clown as well should get a few laughs. http://gubu-world.blogspot.ie/2010/08/khalid-kelly-returns.html I have been following him for a few years after he got a whole spread in the the Irish Times Weekend spot a few years ago. A few more like him and we may need to be questioning our own sovereignty.

An Egyptian judge sentenced 188 Muslim Brotherhood supporters to death Tuesday after 11 policemen were killed in an attack last August during one of the most violent crushing of protest camps in Egypt’s modern history.

The ruling will however allow those who have been sentenced to participate in an appeals process.

The court decision comes after all charges were dropped against Hosni Mubarak, fourth President of Egypt from 1981 to 2011, who was initially charged for the death of 239 protesters – a fraction of the 850 people activists believe died in the 2011 uprising that ended the 30-year rule.

Those who were sentenced had been protesting and demanding that Islamist President Mohammed Morsi be reinstated after his ousting at the beginning of July 2013.

They were charged with killing 11 police in Kerdasa, a town west of Cairo In August last year, and attempts to kill ten more in an ambitious assault on Egyptian security forces.

Egyptian security forces on the same day cleared two pro- Brotherhood protest camps. Hundreds of people were killed.

A final verdict will be issued by Egypt’s top religious authority in January.

Since Morsi was removed from office, 22,000 people have been arrested, including several senior Muslim Brotherhood figures.

Army chief Abdel Fattah al-Sisi who oversaw his ouster won a presidential election in May.

In June, a Egyptian court sentenced to death some 183 Islamists, including Muslim Brotherhood leader Mohamed Badie. They are currently standing retrial.

http://rt.com/news/210871-egypt-court-death-police/

My understanding of the Irish passport is that it is from a neutral country and cannot be questioned like a British, American German french or Russian Passport as it a first world country without being a superpower ... something close to the value of a Swiss or Canadian passport. These guys are travelling under the guise of a neutral country to a Warzone to cause civil unrest. Strip them of their passports. Dont say it cant be done because if you lose your passport more than twice the DoFA arent obliged to reissue with one

• Registered Users Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Icepick

The video of them speaking on behalf of the Brotherhood at the rally, posted a couple of pages ago...
    They say they went to Egypt to protest in that video?

I asked a factual question without stating my opinion and several people jumped on me presuming I am here to support a certain view. Faulty logic, mates.

Icepick wrote: »
    They say they went to Egypt to protest in that video?

I asked a factual question without stating my opinion and several people jumped on me presuming I am here to support a certain view. Faulty logic, mates.
    My name is Omaima Halawa and I came from Ireland to stand with my people, with my brothers and sisters.

Other siblings claimed to be there a month beforehand before deciding to get involved. With Somaia Halawa talking about "the blood that will run tonight" and that the "victory of Allah will come soon".

• Registered Users Posts: 10,182 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

Can anyone tell me what exactly you want the Irish Embassy to do? As an Irish national living in the Middle East, my expectations of their abilities to assist me are very low. I would like to think that they might keep my family advised about what is happening to me, however if i break the law of my host country, i expect to pay the consequences in accordance with the laws of the host country, i.e. death for drug smuggling !

We wouldn't accept the Egyptian government getting involved in the Irish legal system, so why is there an expectation that Ireland should get involved in the Egyptian system?