Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

December 2014 Babies Club

• Registered Users Posts: 199 ✭✭SarB89

Whispered wrote: »
    I know in the coombe they have a set of reasons for testing. I got tested as I have PCOS, another reason might be a high bmi when you get pregnant and when I was being tested they had a girl in who had fainted so her consultant wanted to rule it out. I'm sure there are other reasons too. But I don't think they do everybody.

I've been getting a weird popping sensation and pain in my pelvis when I'm in bed and go to roll over. And when I first get out of bed it's sore to stand straight, walk, lift one leg off the floor etc It's pretty ok otherwise, but it's really effecting my sleep.

Sounds like pelvic girdle pain, I suffer the same thing :)

• Registered Users Posts: 20 wex83

Lashes28 wrote: »
    Do they glucose test everyone?? My sis in law is due same day as me but has been tested ages ago and I haven't been told anything bout it? Same hospital too? Weird,

Back pain is ridiculous now most evenings I'm on all fours on the floor feels like it relieves it.
    And Dolbert just wrote near the same sentence in January thread seen until 615 then up at 7. Sugar and caffeine was my best friend today

Think there's usually a reason for testing. This is my second baby and because my first baby was bigger than 10 lb I had to be tested as I was at risk of gestational diabetes. Everything was fine though.

• Registered Users Posts: 38 mimihand

wex83 wrote: »
    Think there's usually a reason for testing. This is my second baby and because my first baby was bigger than 10 lb I had to be tested as I was at risk of gestational diabetes. Everything was fine though.

Yes I think they have to a have a reason to test.
    I got tested because I have other autoimmune diseases, and 2 of my cousins have diabetes. Results in tomorrow. I would imagine all is ok thou as I fell fine - fingers crossed!

wex83 wrote: »

Yes I think they have to a have a reason to test.
    I got tested because I have other autoimmune diseases, and 2 of my cousins have diabetes. Results in tomorrow. I would imagine all is ok thou as I feel fine - fingers crossed!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

SarB89 wrote: »
    Sounds like pelvic girdle pain, I suffer the same thing :)

It seems to come and go without much relation to what I've done the previous day. I woke up crying in pain this morning, my hips feeling like id slept on a rock. I did nothing strenuous at all yesterday. A small bit of walking, although I was wearing low heels.

A few days ago I was out walking the dogs and it was more strenuous than I had expected, I ended up having to climb up a 4ft wall and over a fence. I was expecting to be sore afterwards but not at all. I wish I could figure out what triggers it!

• Registered Users Posts: 673 ✭✭✭mrsWhippy

It seems to come and go without much relation to what I've done the previous day. I woke up crying in pain this morning, my hips feeling like id slept on a rock. I did nothing strenuous at all yesterday. A small bit of walking, although I was wearing low heels.

A few days ago I was out walking the dogs and it was more strenuous than I had expected, I ended up having to climb up a 4ft wall and over a fence. I was expecting to be sore afterwards but not at all. I wish I could figure out what triggers it!

It's hormone related! It can get worse at certain phases during your pregnancy, depending on when relaxin is released. I get something similar and did during my last pregnancy too. Bear in mind that you can take paracetamol safely for those bad days.

Can also help to see a (good) physio if it does get chronic ... I feel your pain though, it's really awful :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭Plek Trum

Definitely have a chat with your GP at next check up - sounds like pelvic pain or possible SPD. I had pain and got a referral for physio - very informative, realised that lying on the couch with my legs UP was actually making things worse, given exercises on a ball to improve things etc. The actual physio was sore but so worth it and I've been flying since - partner is able to give a hand with massaging / kneading the area correctly if needed. Dont suffer on - not worth it when it can be easily improved, x

How is everyone doing today? I haven't been in here too much of late - had an unexpected few days in CUMH last week.

I noticed a change in baby's movement patterns and was sent in for assessment. To cut a very long story short, it seems that Baby is great for movement in the morning and late evenings and likes to rest very deeply during the day - which is exactly the time when they run scans for visual assessment. Little rascal refused to budge much (if at all) during the scans. Wasn't too concerned at first but was getting worries when I was there for 4 days and eventually saw a perinatal specialist.

Thankfully all is perfect though - great to leave with good news. Baby is either extremely chilled (or extremely stubborn - BOTH traits of mine!)

I cant praise highly enough the impeccable levels of care, attention and professional of all the staff I met at Cork University Maternity Hospital. Has given me complete reassurance with everything and I am (almost) looking forward to my return in December for the birth!

I have been attending pregnancy fitness classes (run my female PT's) since week 9 and they have spoke about SPD/pelvic pain. They do recommend to do what little movement you can for as long as you can, using the gym ball etc....its suppose to help with this condition. I don't have it myself so I cannot give you any personal experience. My advice to you would be go to see a PT as soon as you can who specialises in women's health. If you see them early they may give you exercises and tactics to help manage and prevent your pain getting any worse. good luck.

Plek Trum wrote: »
    I noticed a change in baby's movement patterns and was sent in for assessment. To cut a very long story short, it seems that Baby is great for movement in the morning and late evenings and likes to rest very deeply during the day - which is exactly the time when they run scans for visual assessment. Little rascal refused to budge much (if at all) during the scans. Wasn't too concerned at first but was getting worries when I was there for 4 days and eventually saw a perinatal specialist.

Thankfully all is perfect though - great to leave with good news. Baby is either extremely chilled (or extremely stubborn - BOTH traits of mine!)

I cant praise highly enough the impeccable levels of care, attention and professional of all the staff I met at Cork University Maternity Hospital. Has given me complete reassurance with everything and I am (almost) looking forward to my return in December for the birth!

I'd say you got an awful fright! Glad to hear you were well looked after and that you're so comfortable with your hospital!

I folded a duvet under a tight sheet on my bed last night and had the best night sleep I've had in months.

Woke up with no pain at all. Highly recommend it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

Oh God I am hormental at the moment! I've never even had bad PMT so this is brand new to me. This morning my husband had to drive me to an appointment because I couldn't stop crying. The reason? The kitchen was untidy and I couldn't find my glasses :o Baby y u do dis?

Uh ho - hopefully a one off Dolbert!

I kept saying in between sobs 'I don't know why', he was very worried God bless him! We laughed about it afterwards :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 47 Daisy Dalzer

Dolbert wrote: »
    I kept saying in between sobs 'I don't know why', he was very worried God bless him! We laughed about it afterwards :pac:

Ive felt quite emotional on a few occasions at work.. My job is quite pressurised at the moment and I'm finding that I'm not as well able to handle it as I am normally... so I've had a few cries in the bathroom- after which I feel much better.
    I do love my job - and I don't actually feel stressed out by it.. just when things get really hectic i need to release the tension.. No one has seen or heard me thank god!!

Lucky you! I get told I'm over reacting.

He complained about dinner being too spicy the other day and I got so so so upset. Rather than apologise he pretended it wasn't happening then when he said something else in a less than loving tone of voice I had a total meltdown (still upset over dinner-gate). I was told it was hormones and I was over reacting, which really helped the situation.........

Sometimes a bit of understanding wouldn't go astray. Especially since I've been having a pretty easy pregnancy - it's only recently I've been in any way more sensitive then normal.

Also can I just say - if you call a dinner too spicy and your very pregnant wife can happily eat it without heartburn or any sort of upset, then you are a wimp!

Hungry all.the.time.

Constantly.

Bowl of pasta half an hour ago - now I really want a hot choc and a biscuit. I'm gonna end up huge!

• Registered Users Posts: 287 ✭✭er1983

Hungry all.the.time.

Constantly.

Bowl of pasta half an hour ago - now I really want a hot choc and a biscuit. I'm gonna end up huge!

Oh god thought it was just me, I'm like that every day for about the past 3-4 weeks, am 28 weeks since yesterday

Ah jaysus. I've been pretty gung-ho on my gestational diabetes diet since my diagnosis and thought I was doing super. Today I had ketones in my urine sample for the first time, probably from not eating enough carbs. This is a tough balance to get right :/

• Registered Users Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

Ah jaysus. I've been pretty gung-ho on my gestational diabetes diet since my diagnosis and thought I was doing super. Today I had ketones in my urine sample for the first time, probably from not eating enough carbs. This is a tough balance to get right :/

Did you check your blood pressure as well just to be sure?

Yeah, that was all normal apparently. I'm back in tomorrow for the GD breakfast clinic so I'll have a chat with them then.

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭nuttykat

Yeah, that was all normal apparently. I'm back in tomorrow for the GD breakfast clinic so I'll have a chat with them then.

Hope you got ok in clinic today..

Thanks, I went in and mentioned the ketones and they suggested increasing my carb intake a bit. They were supposed to ring this afternoon with the results of today's glucose bloods but never did, maybe I'll ring them tomorrow. Be nice to know either way.

In other news I'm in quite a bit of discomfort today. All of a sudden have a stitch-like pain at the bottom of the bump, also it feels like baby has moved into a less comfortable position. Just 10 more weeks...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

My girlfriend's bump girth is growing about half an inch every 2-3 days. We were laughing about it earlier, she's going to be visible from Venus at term. Apart from that, she's having a very easy time of it. Now if only the birth can go this easily.

Still in agony with this pulled muscle in my lower abdomen. What I wouldn't give for some Nurofen plus right now :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭Lashes28

Have you mentioned it to your doctor Dolbert?? Isn't there some kind of support strap you can get for you bump.
    Hope your feeling better soon, my back is in agony these days no matter what I do, 11 weeks for me to go

Lashes28 wrote: »
    Have you mentioned it to your doctor Dolbert?? Isn't there some kind of support strap you can get for you bump.
    Hope your feeling better soon, my back is in agony these days no matter what I do, 11 weeks for me to go

I rang the hospital on Friday morning for reassurance and they said it happens commonly enough on a first pregnancy. They advised me to rest, take paracetemol, have warm baths and take time off if I needed it. It's frustrating because I actually want to go into work tomorrow but I don't want to make it worse either... will see how I feel. Yeah I do have a support strap, I'll be wearing it from now on I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Thumpette

I tried to get a warm bath last night to help with the acheyness- haven't had one in years! Was all grand until I tried to get out! Man that was a struggle!
    11 weeks tomorrow!

When are ye all finishing up? I'm planning to work up till 2.5 weeks before due date but I'm getting achey-er and more wrecked by the day. Having a week off to relax the week after next- going to both cork and Donegal but apart from the travel should be great!

Trying to arrange a cleaner too that I'd hope to get for a couple of hours a week to keep on top of everything- anyone have any tips on what to ask them to focus on?

• Registered Users Posts: 22 pinkshoes2012

Hi Ladies,
    How is everyone getting on. 34 weeks this week can't believe only four weeks left in work. Let's hope the next few weeks go by just as fast. Have a day long anti natal class tomorrow, not quiet sure what to expect at it but hopefully it will be beneficial. Ordered our buggy last week decided to go with the uppa baby vista. Have most things now for baby just need to get mattress for moses basket and a baby bath. Have ye started packing your bags yet. I have everything out on the bed just need to get a bag for them now. Started washing the babies clothes at the weekend going to do more this weekend. How are the bodies my side is a little sore some evening think its to do with way I sit in work.

31 weeks this Thursday...god how much the bump has grown in the last few weeks. Apparently I'm still 'neat' but god I don't feel it - and still have 8-9 weeks to go!

pinkshoes2012 - I haven't bag packed yet, like you I have a lot of stuff bought but its all in the spare room, must get it arranged and put into suit case. There is a good few bits to bring, isn't there!? Are you washing all the baby stuff before using it?

Thumpette - I intend to work up to 2 weeks before due date. I may need a section so not sure how much sooner they would take me in, so I may have less that 2 weeks off work before baba arrives!

Cant believe how fast the weeks have went in!! Hope everyone is keeping good.