Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 - Mod Warning Linked in OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

Ya I guess I should give him more time but I dont quite think he will live up to expectations for some reason.

Hes tenacious yes but not quite got the tackling/defensive skills to be a dm.
    He likes going forward but is often easily dispossesed and lacks the vision and shooting skills to be a great creative midfielder.
    As another poster suggested I think he needs to adapt his game because he often looks a bit lost out there in my opinion.

We all remember his game against barca yes and those 2 goals in the champions league last season but to be honest I dont remember a whole lot else to praise him on since.

I suppose, he only scored Goal of the Season this year, what would we want with someone like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭Looper007

Soups123 wrote: »
    No way has he peaked and barring a disastrous season he shouldn't be anywhere near sell him level.

No issues with being dropped but he has a lot to offer the squad, I still think he has a huge future for us

I think cause Aaron Ramsey stepped it up big time, many are getting on Wilshire's back. then that article with Scholes saying he's not progressed with Arsenal has added more fuel to the fire.

I think a great World Cup with him shining and one injury free season where he truly shines will certainly put the doubters in their place. I think him and Ramsey and Ox will be a awesome that's for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

I think we should get the great cesc back and sell wilshere to chelski.......:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭Underground

What really annoys me about the whole Cesc situation is how Barca have treated him.

After all of that tapping up,a different Barca player in the papers everyday talking about Cesc and his Barca DNA,years of persistence. Then they finally get him and 3 years into his first contract with him they want him gone.

This is a decision they have made after selling Thiago to Bayern, Xavi in the twilight of his career and Iniesta the wrong side of 30. As was mentioned earlier, logic is not always a part of football.

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    I think we should get the great cesc back and sell wilshere to chelski.......:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

:pac: I won't say anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Hmmm now apparently Jose isn't interested in Cesc.

Nice how all these guys keep the good folk of the tabloid media up to date with their thoughts, isn't it.

So what's that 10 million ad clicks later and we're back where we started.

gosplan wrote: »
    Hmmm now apparently Jose isn't interested in Cesc.

Nice how all these guys keep the good folk of the tabloid media up to date with their thoughts, isn't it.

So what's that 10 million ad clicks later and we're back where we started.

I'm surprised that they wanted him seen as they sold of Mata who's the same kind of player. I think it's between Utd and Arsenal. City don't need him.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Spanish Johnny

Felt from the start he will end up with United. They will swoop late on when we have our business done and that gives both Wenger and Cesc the get out clause they both need.

Hope I am wrong but thats my feeling on it.

Felt from the start he will end up with United. They will swoop late on when we have our business done and that gives both Wenger and Cesc the get out clause they both need.

Hope I am wrong but thats my feeling on it.

I hear even Untied aren't too keen either. I wouldn't be surprised if he stayed at Barca to fight for his place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Barca would be nuts to let him go before getting someone in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

Cesc to Munich?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Fooker

Think Utd. need defensive midfielders and Mata, Kagawa play a similar position. With Rooney and Van Persie they have to play a front 6 of:

Mata CM CM Kagawa

Rooney Van Persie

Then add in Januzaj, not sure Fabregas would be suited as the CM, they need a Fernandinho - Touré axis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

Raf32 wrote: »
    Cesc to Munich?

They've Gotze and Thiago already.

Cesc to Munich?

Once again I don't think they are calling out for that type of midfielder.

Liverpool are but I don't think Cesc missus would be to into that.

gosplan wrote: »
    Barca would be nuts to let him go before getting someone in.

They are going for one of the A.Madrid midfielders (thinks it's Konke) players as a replacement and see how they are in debt I think they could get him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Ox looking lively for England.

should be starting for us on the left next season with theo on the right.

Doing well on the right though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,043 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Any interest in a World Cup sweepstakes lads? Just for the craic? Copy the list below, add your usernam and once it's full I'll do a random draw here and post up the results.

1: L'prof
    2:
    3:
    4:
    5:
    6:
    7:
    8:
    9:
    10:
    11:
    12:
    13:
    14:
    15:
    16:
    17:
    18:
    19:
    20:
    21:
    22:
    23:
    24:
    25:
    26:
    27:
    28:
    29:
    30:
    31:
    32:

Doing well on the right though.

Yup agreed, two footed though so easily could make it on the left and interchange with Theo during matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Sure, I'm in.

2: Skylinehead
    3:
    4:
    5:
    6:
    7:
    8:
    9:
    10:
    11:
    12:
    13:
    14:
    15:
    16:
    17:
    18:
    19:
    20:
    21:
    22:
    23:
    24:
    25:
    26:
    27:
    28:
    29:
    30:
    31:
    32:

3: Raf32
    4:
    5:
    6:
    7:
    8:
    9:
    10:
    11:
    12:
    13:
    14:
    15:
    16:
    17:
    18:
    19:
    20:
    21:
    22:
    23:
    24:
    25:
    26:
    27:
    28:
    29:
    30:
    31:
    32:

Yup agreed, two footed though so easily could make it on the left and interchange with Theo during matches.

Is he two footed?

Interesting.

best player on the pitch.
    Wilshire' playing well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,119 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

4: Quazzie
    5:
    6:
    7:
    8:
    9:
    10:
    11:
    12:
    13:
    14:
    15:
    16:
    17:
    18:
    19:
    20:
    21:
    22:
    23:
    24:
    25:
    26:
    27:
    28:
    29:
    30:
    31:
    32:

4:
    5:Jacksparrow
    6:
    7:
    8:
    9:
    10:
    11:
    12:
    13:
    14:
    15:
    16:
    17:
    18:
    19:
    20:
    21:
    22:
    23:
    24:
    25:
    26:
    27:
    28:
    29:
    30:
    31:
    32:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,119 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

4:
    5:Jacksparrow
    6:
    7:
    8:
    9:
    10:
    11:
    12:
    13:
    14:
    15:
    16:
    17:
    18:
    19:
    20:
    21:
    22:
    23:
    24:
    25:
    26:
    27:
    28:
    29:
    30:
    31:
    32:
    Have ya got me on ignore :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

5: Jacksparrow
    6: dorgasm
    7:
    8:
    9:
    10:
    11:
    12:
    13:
    14:
    15:
    16:
    17:
    18:
    19:
    20:
    21:
    22:
    23:
    24:
    25:
    26:
    27:
    28:
    29:
    30:
    31:
    32:

He wants to be a centre midfielder doesn't he. I really think he's going to be a top class player.

Looper007 wrote: »
    He wants to be a centre midfielder doesn't he. I really think he's going to be a top class player.

Me too, i really think he could go down as our best ever. I think he is best off out the wing, no room in the middle for him.

Quazzie wrote: »
    Have ya got me on ignore :pac:

Haha not at all, I made a bolox of it!

Me too, i really think he could go down as our best ever. I think he is best off out the wing, no room in the middle for him.

With Theo being turned into a striker eventually, I say he be playing out the wing for a few wings, I doubt he complain as long as he's playing.

• Registered Users Posts: 506 ✭✭✭D_turbo

7: D_turbo
    8:
    9:
    10:
    11:
    12:
    13:
    14:
    15:
    16:
    17:
    18:
    19:
    20:
    21:
    22:
    23:
    24:
    25:
    26:
    27:
    28:
    29:
    30:
    31:
    32:

With Theo being turned into a striker eventually, I say he be playing out the wing for a few wings, I doubt he complain as long as he's playing.

Agreed, lad is too talented not to be starting next year. Ramsey Ozil Theo and Ox should be 4 certs out of 6 for midfield and up top.

Ox has been very good and Wilshire has played well. Good to see them get some game time.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭omega man

8: omega man
    9:
    10:
    11:
    12:
    13:
    14:
    15:
    16:
    17:
    18:
    19:
    20:
    21:
    22:
    23:
    24:
    25:
    26:
    27:
    28:
    29:
    30:
    31:
    32:

• Registered Users Posts: 438 ✭✭Omeceron

9: Omeceron
    10:
    11:
    12:
    13:
    14:
    15:
    16:
    17:
    18:
    19:
    20:
    21:
    22:
    23:
    24:
    25:
    26:
    27:
    28:
    29:
    30:
    31:
    32:

Agreed, lad is too talented not to be starting next year. Ramsey Ozil Theo and Ox should be 4 certs out of 6 for midfield and up top.

that be some attack, get a Matic/Toure type there too and we be on too a winner.

Would you take Schneiderlin? Think he would be perfect and cheap.

Oh yeah like the look of him and he's young, he could get better with a group of great players around him. 15 million would do it. Is he a French International?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

Been saying him for months!
    He's young,cheap and from France.

Yup he is an international but havent seen him get a run out for them yet. Allows us to blow 50 million on a Cavani type striker then.

Yep plus a right back and GK for a cheap price.

He's played well in big games for the saints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

1. L'prof
    10:Greendom
    11:
    12:
    13:
    14:
    15:
    16:
    17:
    18:
    19:
    20:
    21:
    22:
    23:
    24:
    25:
    26:
    27:
    28:
    29:
    30:
    31:
    32:[/quote]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Who's [/quote] :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

Jaysus, Ox got some kick in the back of the ankle there. Physio's on, hope it's nothing big.

edit: He's just been taken off.

The Ox really is looking good. saying that he's looking like he's injured :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,751 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Absolute moron rolling about the place has injured Ox

dorgasm wrote: »
    Jaysus, Ox got some kick in the back of the ankle there. Physio's on, hope it's nothing big.

edit: He's just been taken off.

it wasn't even a free kick either. I think they are been cautious.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭wawaman

greendom wrote: »
    1. L'prof
    10:Greendom