Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 - Mod Warning Linked in OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Absolutely, he lost the service of Walcott and Ramsey and had an off form Ozil and an indifferent Wilshire, but yet its been claimed he was getting far better service than Hiquain was.
    I dont understand how people think this, Napoli have a good squad, they have a better squad than they had last year when Cavani scored more goals than Higuain got. If the players mentioned had not gotten injured, Giroud would have got 20 in the league

Hanalei wrote: »
    On a side note, this day 10 years ago we drew 2-2 at White Hart Lane and won the league.

Hopefully confirmation of St Totteringhams day will mark the anniversary :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

For people saying the seria is harder to get goals in, that was a case in the past, its not really anymore.
    Zlatan 25 - Drogba 29
    Di Natale 29 - Tevez 20
    Di Natale 28 - Berbatov 20
    Zlatan 28 - RVP 30
    Cavani 29 - RVP 26

Thats the past top scorers in each country, there isnt much difference with it going slightly towards Seria A at +14

Which will be slightly leveled again this year with Suarez being ahead of Immobile

Its lazy saying seria is defensive

Why don't ya add to the debate instead of making snidy little comments
    It's a ridiculous debate to be having to be perfectly honest. It's like watching creationists claim that their "theory" is as valid as the combined weight of geology, astrophysics and biology. It really is incredible to me.
    I never said Giroud was as good as Higuain, I merely said Giroud is not the problem the lack of options/partner is the problem. And at £10m he was and is a great piece of business and Hiquain at three times that price was over priced imo.

Button, you being negative nah surely not, your a beacon of light even on the darkest of days :rolleyes:
    OK, so we're going with Giroud isn't the problem, the fact that he's our lead striker is the problem. Talk about splitting hairs.
    Giroud cost £12.8 million rather than £10 million and he looks to be worth roughly what was paid for him. He has a place in a team with CL and PL pretensions but that place isn't on the starting XI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Hanalei wrote: »
    Feels like Walcott only signed his current contract yesterday but it expires in June 2016, going to have to start the renegotiation process again this summer. He looked for and eventually got a contract that made him the clubs best player last time so I'm assuming he'll do the same again. And again, the club won't be willing to go with this at first.

2014-15; the season where we are irritated by the latest never ending will he/won't he Theo Walcott contract saga.

Really? Seems like was only few months ago.

Maybe him not playing much has confused me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

OK, so we're going with Giroud isn't the problem, the fact that he's our lead striker is the problem. Talk about splitting hairs.

Its not spliting hairs at all, take Chelseas as an example, Giroud is better than all 3 of their strikers individually at present, but collectively the three of them are better than Giroud and Sonago.

Essientially i think the best way to descibe it is, our strikeforce is the problem not the one actual decent striker we have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Its not spliting hairs at all, take Chelseas as an example, Giroud is better than all 3 of their strikers individually at present, but collectively the three of them are better than Giroud and Sonago.

Don't know about that. Chelseas strikers need a manager who believes in them and doesn't publicly slate them.

Wenger would get the best out of torres and eto, I firmly believe.

Don't know about that. Chelseas strikers need a manager who believes in them and doesn't publicly slate them.

I would definitely take Giroud over either of them tbh, but I do agree Mourinho has handled the whole striker situation terribly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Essientially i think the best way to descibe it is, our strikeforce is the problem not the one actual decent striker we have.

And our inability/failure to replace Walcott in Jan. So wish we'd gone for Remy on loan. I know he was unavailable then but he would have been ideal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Hanalei

Mourinho has made a right mess of this season. Publicly slating his strikers while also stating that his team were not good enough to win the title when they were mathematically in the driving seat a month or so ago. If you keep calling your players and your team not good enough it will eventually rub off on them.

Mind game specialist my arse; has backfired spectacularly this season. And he was so busy trying to wind City and Pellegrini up that it almost appears as though he completely took his eye off Liverpool!

But no, he won't get slated by the press, they all adore him no matter what he does.

Chelsea ain't going to win the league either, which is what they and we are meant to be gunning for. They're much more solid behind the striker and have an embarrassment of midfielders to make up for the lack of a top class striker.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Maire2009

If Chelsea don't win the Champions League (and praise Bergkamp they won't) Mourinho will look at idiot - his specialist in failure comment ha ha

On a side note, so sad to hear of the passing of Tito Vilanova. 45, far too young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

Maire2009 wrote: »
    If Chelsea don't win the Champions League (and praise Bergkamp they won't) Mourinho will look at idiot - his specialist in failure comment ha ha

On a side note, so sad to hear of the passing of Tito Vilanova. 45, far too young.

Thats great :)

not been reading the thread much but just seen that Diaby got injured in the under 21 game during the week. Jayus is my only thought

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

jonny666 wrote: »
    not been reading the thread much but just seen that Diaby got injured in the under 21 game during the week. Jayus is my only thought

It's a small strain. So in Diaby years that is two years out.

HazDanz wrote: »
    It's a small strain. So in Diaby years that is two years out.

He's been at the club 8 years now! Is there any chance of him doing a Van Persie, overcoming the injuries, having a great season and fecking off?

• Registered Users Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Muirshin Durkin

I dont know Diaby personally or anything but he doesnt seem the character to do that, especially all the support Arsenal have given him, Van Persie on the other hand, always seemed a cnut!

BmFh4bUCQAAGJ-M.jpg

Some Nasri quotes, sorry if already posted.

Don't have huge amount of time for him, but he did play for the club up until the last minute, unlike Cesc "My DNA is calling me so I'm going on strike and to the F1 and showing complete disrespect for Arsenal" Fabregas...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Wenger done an interview with bein sport (I think)

And confirmed he will stay on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

Wenger done an interview with bein sport (I think)

And confirmed he will stay on

Least thats put to bed now so, get the players in now and have a good preseason.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭jonneymendoza

Raf32 wrote: »
    Least thats put to bed now so, get the players in now and have a good preseason.

Wenger need to develop a plan B

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,406 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Did he say he's planning to stay or that he's already signed?
    I'm still not convinced he'll stay if we don't lift the cup.

Not til after the World Cup probably. While most players are still on holidays.
    Is there a rule in England preventing "pre-contracts" or post-dated contracts being signed? Someone like Vidic already agreed to leave United and posed for photos, can't recall similar happening with a player moving to England. Would be a nice end to the season to see a couple of players grinning in the boardroom signing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Cop on lads.
    We will be sitting here as usual on the last day of the window waiting for news of a signing.
    Anyone who thinks that Wenger will spend 70 million is deluded.
    Is this the same 70 m we are talking about for years?

Absolutely Jonney. If Wenger is to stay on, he has to change. If he is not willing to adjust to the modern game and fully prepared to continue on as he is doing then Arsenal football club are at absolutely nothing going forward.

Cop on lads.
    We will be sitting here as usual on the last day of the window waiting for news of a signing.

We spent £42m of the £70 on Ozil, so it'll be 42/70m that'll be new :pac:

*too much study making me delusional

agreed, needs to get the team to turn up in the big games and fix injuries too. No better man available though.

Walcott need to sign. give him 120k and a goal and assist bonus and that will spire him on
    we need to give gnabry more chance too

Cop on lads.

I think the fact that we broke our record transfer fee 3 times over last Summer (even if the transfer only went through on the last day) negates your point somewhat.

I think the shackles have been broken and there will be major spending this Summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

greendom wrote: »
    I think the fact that we broke our record transfer fee 3 times over last Summer (even if the transfer only went through on the last day) negates your point somewhat.

I think the shackles have been broken and there will be major spending this Summer

Hope you're right but I have my doubts. I'd love to be wrong.

We had go at hoof ball against West Ham and that went pretty well ;)

Raf32 wrote: »
    agreed, needs to get the team to turn up in the big games and fix injuries too. No better man available though.

let wenger tell his team to pass the ball to death against west ham but aagainst the top teams, defend and counter attack and play direct.

Ah i dunno now greendom. That transfer is pretty much in isolation. And at the end of the day while Ozil is class, he prioritised a midfielder when other parts of the team needed more attention.

let wenger tell his team to pass the ball to death against west ham but aagainst the top teams, defend and counter attack and play direct.

Yup away from home, need to be packing the midfield and playing on the break. We need to get a lot more pace this summer.

Ah i dunno now greendom. That transfer is pretty much in isolation. And at the end of the day while Ozil is class, he prioritised a midfielder when other parts of the team needed more attention.

Yes and we all know the efforts (ultimately futile) that were made to secure a forward. But the point I was making is that he has now shown that the money is there and he is prepared to spend it.

Well whatever about our style of play, if we are finding ourselves putting sixty passes together, passing it into the box only for the striker to pass it back out because he is in isolation with men around him then its a waste of time. We have to vary it around more. We dont stretch the play half enough. We lack urgency and we lack speed.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Once he gets pace in the team I think we will go back to our defensive side

Trust me gnabry and the ox is our solution. On top of Walcott too

Yes and we all know the efforts (ultimately futile) that were made to secure a forward. But the point I was making is that he has now shown that the money is there and he is prepared to spend it.

Ill hold off on my judgment of him in the transfer market for now. I just think though it will be more of the same this summer only we may not actually make a big signing. More freebies and 1m French kids or prospective talent with injury history.

Trust me gnabry and the ox is our solution. On top of Walcott too

When Diaby is fully fit he'll be like a new signing - dont forget that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Y2KBOS86

Why we will never sign Balotelli.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2613556/Roma-2-0-Milan-Mario-Balotelli-throws-strop-boss-Clarence-Seedorf-Miralem-Pjanic-Gervinho-strike-Giallorossi.html

He will never grow up.

Nowhere near as good as he think he is either, Luca Toni is a decade past prime and has 4 goals more than him in the league this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

According to John Cross.. Sagna turned down a 3 year deal. He's a good player but I think we can do a lot better. But I'll be pissed if ends up at City,Liverpool or any english team for that matter.
    It already seems like a saga but now seems certain Bacary Sagna will leave Arsenal. Great shame. Worth noting #afc have offered him 3 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

If he wanted the 100,000 for 3 years, then we had to say no.

It would be pretty horrible to see him going to any of Liverpool, Man City or Man Utd. though.

We have to get Aurier and another right back if he goes.

It would be pretty horrible to see him going to any of Liverpool, Man City or Man Utd. though.

We have to get Aurier and another right back if he goes.

That all said though wasnt Santos reported to be on more than him at one stage?

Why City, Pool, United, even Spurs will pay it.

It will cost us alot more than his wages to replace him.

Anyone decent is going to want at least 80k anyway plus a big transfer fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

Y2KBOS86 wrote: »
    Why we will never sign Balotelli.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2613556/Roma-2-0-Milan-Mario-Balotelli-throws-strop-boss-Clarence-Seedorf-Miralem-Pjanic-Gervinho-strike-Giallorossi.html

He will never grow up.

Nowhere near as good as he think he is either, Luca Toni is a decade past prime and has 4 goals more than him in the league this year.

After that match Balotelli said this.. And he's dead right.
    "You don't understand anything about football. Trust me, you really don't," Balotelli said. "It isn't nice? I don't care. I don't care.

"I never said I'm a top player. I am a perfectly normal player, it will take time to become world class, but the reasons why I am not a top player are not the same reasons you think.

"Every game is different. If I didn't get near the goal once tonight, then there has to be a reason.

"You always talk about me. When Milan win, Mario's great. When Milan lose, it's all Mario's fault. I don't need your criticism, I make my own criticism.

"You always talk and talk, say I'm precious to Italian football, but there's no point to saying these things. No point."

Balotellis last match he carried Milan and got 1 goal and 2 assists.. But we don't see the media praising that? He's a easy target and anything he does slightly wrong gets blown up.

Considering the team he's playing in he's had a decent season. I'd love to have him.

Y2KBOS86 wrote: »
    Why City, Pool, United, even Spurs will pay it.

It will cost us alot more than his wages to replace him.

Anyone decent is going to want at least 80k anyway plus a big transfer fee.

Exactly. It would be better for Sagna to show his replacement the ropes rather than throwing a lad in at the deep end to replace him because he left.

We actually havent actually changed at all as a club. Same aul bullshít with wages and transfers. Surely after Sagna giving 7 years he should be on 100k. Another departure we will be cursing while we watch Jenks and a rookie struggle next season

Mr Blobby wrote: »
    After that match Balotelli said this.. And he's dead right.

Balotellis last match he carried Milan and got 1 goal and 2 assists.. But we don't see the media praising that? He's a easy target and anything he does slightly wrong gets blown up.

Considering the team he's playing in he's had a decent season. I'd love to have him.

Luca Toni ( yes he's still playing ) has 4 more goals and he is with Verona.

I don't know why everyone want's me here, he's not fast, for a guy that's 6'2 he's terrible in the air, his movement isn't great either, he want's the ball to his feet alot.

What's he gonna give ous?

Another departure we will be cursing while we watch Jenks and a rookie struggle next season

Yes the usual.

Starting places are given, not earned here.

Carl your our new RB next season, good luck.