Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 - Mod Warning Linked in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,751 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

I think that'll go down as one of the great cup finals. From Hull's amazing start to Cazorla's stunning free kick and a beautiful goal to win the game in extra time from Ramsey. Great stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Was hoping Fabianski would stay but cant blame him for leaving. He deserves to be playing every week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,665 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Sagna said that to the BBC apparently but I can't find a direct link to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Well they had a mental actually a monumental fcuk up in the first 10 mins.

No arguments there but they had the mental strength to turn it round. They could have crumbled with the weight of expectation on top of the goal deficit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,492 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

greendom wrote: »
    No arguments there but they had the mental strength to turn it round. They could have crumbled with the weight of expectation on top of the goal deficit.

And they didn't crumble because as I said Hull are no Pool, City or Chelsea.
    We did crumble against them.
    We have to start to focus from the get go. Lucky we didn't go 3 down today.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭wawaman

I started watching the match on itv but turned off because of Andy Townsends hard on because we were losing, turned on bt only to hear Owen and Warnock complain about every decision we got and every thing that went against hull. Owen really is one of, if not the worst commentator there is. But f..k em all, we won the cup!! Shove ur 9 years up ur ARSENAL!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,492 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

wawaman wrote: »
    I started watching the match on itv but turned off because of Andy Townsends hard on because we were losing, turned on bt only to hear Owen and Warnock complain about every decision we got and every thing that went against hull. Owen really is one of, if not the worst commentator there is. But f..k em all, we won the cup!! Shove ur 9 years up ur ARSENAL!!!

Owen is ex Pool.
    They can't get '89 out of their system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭gebbel

gebbel wrote: »
    I will go to mass every Sunday for a year if we turn this around....

Soups123 wrote: »
    See you tomorrow sir

Bless me father for I have sinned! Thanks for the win but the beer was making the promises. I won't be seeing you tomorrow...

EC8976F0-5A7B-466A-802E-6EEB252E3E44.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

Bn3TrIqIIAAdtOe.png

"Have I played my last game for Arsenal? I don't know. We are going to try and find the solution."

That's just a classy picture. That's what Arsenal is about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,665 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Tyldesley was as bad...at one stage he called Huddlestone one of the best "technicians" there is. Had to laugh at that stage...bunch of clowns!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

Tyldesley was as bad...at one stage he called Huddlestone one of the best "technicians" there is. Had to laugh at that stage...bunch of clowns!

Caught that myself, did huddlestone even get a shot on target today???

Great match though, I was only 8 the last time we won a trophy, had a bit of a cry when the final whistle blew.

Aaron Ramsey you are a hero

• Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Topbike77

After that second goal I thought it would be about 6-0 to hull

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭robertxxx

Did the ref give hull any yellow cards? Ref was poor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭robertxxx

Ronan14 wrote: »
    After that second goal I thought it would be about 6-0 to hull

If it was a top 4 team, yes we would of being battered.
    They were lifeless at the start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven

24z95bs.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

I guess Mourinho was right.. We are specialists in failure.

WE FAILED AT FAILING! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

24z95bs.png

noyphh_1_.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭jonneymendoza

robertxxx wrote: »
    If it was a top 4 team, yes we would of being battered.
    They were lifeless at the start

umm hull scored two flukey goals

• Registered Users Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Spanish Johnny

So happy so happy!! Will maybe blurb more tomorrow. I love this club. I am beyond delighted for Arsene Wenger. What a man, what a club! So so happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

AltruisticClutteredBushbaby.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MonsterCookie

So I started supporting arsenal when I was 6 or 7 and the first trophy we won that I recall was the 79cup final...3 2 to Arsenal v man utd. Watched it with my dad and granddad.

Today I sat with my young son, 8 years of age, witnessing his first trophy as a gooner..it was special. He's tucked up in bed now with a huge smile on his face.

COYG!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Loved the way Podolski ran over to Wenger the minute the final whistle went just goes to show the respect he holds for the boss even tho he may not play as much as he would like.

ARSENE this is for you, a true Arsenal hero and legend forever and always!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Raf32 wrote: »
    AltruisticClutteredBushbaby.gif

If Messi or Ronaldo did that back heel everybody would be raving about it. Giroud is capable of moments of pure genius, amazing vision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭dinorebel

@Yayasanogoal22
    Follow

Last tweet bfore history, who would have guess we wld be in this position 1 month ago ? So José how much trophy did you get this year ? #AFC
    3:54 PM - 17 May 2014

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Will lads, that was heart attack inducing.

Managed to catch the first half in Heathrow airport, the bar was no craic whatsoever, but while there wasn't many gunners there, there was plenty of Irish people.

Half time blew, and I thought that I could saunter over to the gate. Soon as I got through the second security gate, I heard my name being called, and have to leg it!

I'd really like to apologise to the man in Heathrow airport that I creamed while desperately running for the gate. I tried to apologise when I did it, but unfortunately having to run at full speed while carrying a heavy suit case very quickly knocks the breath out of you.

Managed to make it, and then proceeded to sweat all over this poor granny who had the misfortune to be sitting beside me. Sorry to you too.

Finally got into Ireland, phone picks up a text from my brother, it ended 2-2 and it is now in the middle of extra time. At this stage all reason left me, I was wandering around terminal 2 not knowing where to turn, with only 50c worth of data to get the rest of the bbc coverage.

Finally got the win we deserve, so glad for all the players and the manager!

COYG!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Well done! Didn't see the match but heard about it afterwards. Happy for ye. Now that ye have tasted blood again no reason ye can't go for the title or Champo League next season :D congrats!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Started supporting us in 1989.
    I remember watching videos of old F.A. Cup finals and the one image that always stuck with me was Charlie George hitting that ball and then doing this.

307472.jpg

When Rambo did that today I almost lost it...

307473.jpg

In fact I did. It's been far too long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Up breakfast roll then off to Heuston to get 8am train home! What a day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭Looper007

dinorebel wrote: »
    @Yayasanogoal22
    Follow

Last tweet bfore history, who would have guess we wld be in this position 1 month ago ? So José how much trophy did you get this year ? #AFC
    3:54 PM - 17 May 2014

It is amazing how Jose is getting a easy ride of it from the pundits and sport writers, he's spent millions, has world class talent in his squad, insults other managers and teams even his own players and didn't win a damn thing but yet is treated like a hero. Wenger spends little, drags his team too top 4 football, goes about it in an old school way and wins his first trophy in 9 years but is treated like the villain. Amazing stuff.

Any ex Liverpool player hates Arsenal is a common fact. Owen is an awful pundit, we should have two clear cut penos, I bet they didn't mention that.

And they didn't crumble because as I said Hull are no Pool, City or Chelsea.
    We did crumble against them.
    We have to start to focus from the get go. Lucky we didn't go 3 down today.

will you ever stop moaning and just ****ing enjoy it for once :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭G1032

Looper007 wrote: »

Hear hear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

I'm actually with Tayto on this one. Tried to post this last night but my drunken fingers wouldn't work.

We really need to sort this bottling thing out.
    Hull would have made **** of us today if Long and Jelly were in.

I do think the first goal was just luck but then we just lost the plot for 10 mins.

We were calm and composed from the 15th min on and credit is due for that. But we have to stop trying to loose big games as quick as we can.

Hopefully yesterday exorcised some demons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Great day.

Want to say thanks to the whole crew who organised the mercantile! Twas great crack, definitely gonna try get in for more games next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭G1032

gosplan wrote: »
    I'm actually with Tayto on this one. Tried to post this last night but my drunken fingers wouldn't work.

We really need to sort this bottling thing out.
    Hull would have made **** of us today if Long and Jelly were in.

I do think the first goal was just luck but then we just lost the plot for 10 mins.

We were calm and composed from the 15th min on and credit is due for that. But we have to stop trying to loose big games as quick as we can.

Hopefully yesterday exorcised some demons.

But they weren't in and they didn't destroy us. Can ye not just enjoy the win without looking for negatives. We've waited long enough for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Great day.

Want to say thanks to the whole crew who organised the mercantile! Twas great crack, definitely gonna try get in for more games next season.

Yeah fair play! It was brilliant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Btw, sagna has to stay, still the best rb in the league.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

The open top bus is being streamed live at 11 on Arsenal.com incase anyone wants to see it!

G1032 wrote: »
    But they weren't in and they didn't destroy us. Can ye not just enjoy the win without looking for negatives. We've waited long enough for it.

I'm absolutely enjoying the positives and anyone here will tell you I' an optimist.

But Hull were the perfect team to play yesterday because we got away with our bottly start.

Like I say, hopefully the result will go some way towards removing whatever pressures are making our team fold in big games.

I don't want to harp on about it. I'm not looking for negatives and don't want to bring people down but we were in amazing form. Rambo was back, we hadn't conceded in a month. Then that's all out the window and we let in 2 in ten mins.

The team did really well to steady themselves and just play on from there without panic.

But Gibbs doesn't clear that ball off the line and I think there's a very good chance we have a different manager next year.

I find it hard to ignore that, despite the huge positives.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭wawaman

Any ex Liverpool player hates Arsenal is a common fact. Owen is an awful pundit, we should have two clear cut penos, I bet they didn't mention that.

Santi went down easily according to the BT brain trust !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,121 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I think something which has been conveniently overlooked and hasn't been mentioned at all on any channel is that we were denied 4 clear cut penalties.

Santi went down easily according to the BT brain trust !!

Was there 2 or 3 pennos?

I thought Giroud and Caz defo. Then wasn't someone just pushed in the back?

Not that it matters now but it's a disgrace.

Hope the WC final is decided on a shocking decision. Something might happen then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,179 ✭✭✭Irish Aris

I'm absolutely enjoying the positives and anyone here will tell you I' an optimist.

But Hull were the perfect team to play yesterday because we got away with our bottly start.

Like I say, hopefully the result will go some way towards removing whatever pressures are making our team fold in big games.

I don't want to harp on about it. I'm not looking for negatives and don't want to bring people down but we were in amazing form. Rambo was back, we hadn't conceded in a month. Then that's all out the window and we let in 2 in ten mins.

The team did really well to steady themselves and just play on from there without panic.

But Gibbs doesn't clear that ball off the line and I think there's a very good chance we have a different manager next year.

I find it hard to ignore that, despite the huge positives.

Many people will agree with you.
    The point is that we have all summer to discuss these things.
    Right now, we can do without them and talk about our 11th FA Cup!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,179 ✭✭✭Irish Aris

Quazzie wrote: »
    I think something which has been conveniently overlooked and hasn't been mentioned at all on any channel is that we were denied 4 clear cut penalties.

Well maybe not 4, but definitely 2.
    And I am not talking about the Santi incidents. For me the hand on Giroud's neck and the handball were far clearer penalties.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭cathalio11

I don't agree. (With Hull being the perfect team to play; I do agree you're an optimist on here).

We may have beaten them routinely on both occasions this season but any team who can defend well and pose a threat on every set-piece isn't a perfect team for us to play against.

On defending set plays, we had shaky and nervous defenders going up against animals on the Hull team and it could have cost us dearly.

Cardiff would have been the perfect team to play against :o

Irish Aris wrote: »
    Well maybe not 4, but definitely 2.
    And I am not talking about the Santi incidents. For me the hand on Giroud's neck and the handball were far clearer penalties.

Hand on Giroud's neck was definitely a penalty.
    The hand ball was definitely a penalty.

The push on Santi's back looked like a penalty but you're right, not as clear cut.

Santi being tripped in the box was a stone-waller. It doesn't matter that the Hull player touched the ball because after his touch, Santi had beaten him and was about to take it past him but he made further contact to bring him down.

Irish Aris wrote: »
    Many people will agree with you.
    The point is that we have all summer to discuss these things.
    Right now, we can do without them and talk about our 11th FA Cup!!!!

Very true.

Sadly it's apparently 'meaningless' these days. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

Strongly linked with bony today. Not the top class striker i hoped we would be linked with.
    Sanchis for 12m would be a great deal i reckon and suit our style too.

Also, Ramsey wanted by Bayern but he going nowhere. Feck off guardiola. Different club - same poaching by unsettling players.

TUBBY wrote: »
    Also, Ramsey wanted by Bayern but he going nowhere. Feck off guardiola. Different club - same poaching by unsettling players.

Only difference is Guardiola poaches off the big teams and Arsene poach of Auxerre and Lorient. :rolleyes: