Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Aqua centre rip off!!

• 12-04-2014 6:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭

Just back from a the place, two adults and a under 3year old, who goes free.

Total €33!!!

Aqua centre in Dublin.

Is this value? 67 votes

No
    0% 0 votes
    Yes
    19% 13 votes
    Typical irish rip off
    26% 18 votes
    Great value.
    53% 36 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

It's a disgrace, Joe!

you mean the aqua-dome in Kerry ?

seems fair 16.50 a ahead big place lots of fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,462 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Where is the a place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,647 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

You should pee in the water. That'll learn em

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Ann Landers

Definitely too expensive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

NationalAquaticCentre.ie says of its Aquazone Admission policy:
    Prices and times may change at Management’s discretion

It's the upper case for "management" that does it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,279 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I love these threads. Its a rip off but after they told you the price you still paid it.

What does that make you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,462 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

MadYaker wrote: »
    I love these threads. Its a rip off but after they told you the price you still paid it.

What does that make you?

The rip offee.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

If you don't make the price somewhat restrictive the facility becomes less exclusive and the poor may use it.
    Like the polo grounds these days.

Sent from my iPhone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

so you were told the price and went in and then left after using it to moan on the internet

Lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭robertxxx

What does that make you?

Offended!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Madness, and Rainbow Rapids was only £2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Wouldn't touch the place anyway, the aqua zone part is manky...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

The pool I use is €6 for a student outside of peak times, which is pretty good I'd like to think! Sauna, steamroom and jacuzzi there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,354 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Is it compulsory? If it is, then yes. It's a ripoff. If not, more fool you, op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

If you don't make the price somewhat restrictive the facility becomes less exclusive and the poor may use it.
    Like the polo grounds these days.

Sent from my iPhone.
    Ridiculous comment.

Posted from my Gold IPhone 5S.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Way too expensive. Sports centre up the road from me has some of that aqua centre crap for its "fun swims", it's £5 for the session...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

That's fantastic value

-Manger of Aqua Centre

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭Mr Pseudonym

It's the most popular attraction after Guinness Storehouse and the Zoo :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

What does that make you?

In fairness the OP stated they had a 3 year old with them.

Hardly going to turn at the bloody reception desk after their excitement built up.

OP didn't you check prices online or something beforehand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

How long do you get to stay there for ?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Was water included??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

And if you dont have a swimming hat or swimsuit they charge you premium for it too.

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭jescart

It's good value if you sign up for a year, as a student it's only €280 for the year that includes full access to the gym, all pools, private changing area, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 343 ✭✭FreshKnickers

I was gonna say, he's hardly going to let the little one down. "No ye can't go in, price is shocking altogether. We'll just throw you in the river, same thing."

"But they have slides and waves and stuff!" the young one will say.

Have a little think. "I'll throw ya in from a height, lad. And then a right big aul rock for the waves. Be grand."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Specialun wrote: »
    Was water included??

As an optional extra. Pay per litre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

eamonnq wrote: »
    How long do you get to stay there for ?

As long as you want.

• Registered Users Posts: 167 ✭✭The Master.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    As long as you want.

I can just imagine the kids shivering in the water with skins like prunes saying " i want to go home"
    "NOT TIL WE GET OUR MONIES WORTH"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭oak5548

No idea what the aqua centre in dublin is. But if its that deadly aqua centre in Kerry then its well worth it!

That place was some craic when I was younger. €33 for 3 people would be a steal for there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

ThisRegard wrote: »
    As long as you want.

Is it centrally located?

Might make a good hub for some family on holidays, visiting the city for a few weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Zed Bank

Daylight robbery OP!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Madness. You can swim in the local canal for as long as you like, for free. Yuppy stuff altogether.

I used to bring the kids there (aqua center) every second weekend or so when they were a bit younger. Dear alright, but good pool. They used to love when the wave machine was switched on. Why is it so dear tho?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

A slightly hungover daddy once made a holy show of himself when he tackled the flow rider one Sunday morning:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

jane82 wrote: »
    And if you dont have a swimming hat or swimsuit they charge you premium for it too.

I don't reckon it will be the pool staff who will charge you for that
    *blue lights in the distance*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Is it centrally located?

Might make a good hub for some family on holidays, visiting the city for a few weeks.

It's in Blanchardstown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭gabsdot40

I agree. It's much too expensive. Once we went one evening, myself, hubby and our son who was about 5. We arrived at 6.30 and stayed till around 8 and it cost €42. I actually did complain about the price that day. I live nearby but it's an annual treat, if it was more reasonably priced we would go more often.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

OP, you can swim in your own piss at home for nothing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

It's a disgrace Joe etc... Why don't you all just not go there anymore... stuff is so expensive in Ireland because none of us do anything about it. There's no chance in hell I'd pay that money for my kids to go there, you'd be better off saving for a holiday where they could go to these places every day for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Where's the "/care" option in the poll?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

biko wrote: »

Ohh yeah, ye fancy Galwegians with yer fancy pool on the seafront, and its reasonable prices..typical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,483 ✭✭✭greasepalm

look at it this way with the amount of water they use their water rates are higher so spreading the cost to you,chat is free.:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

greasepalm wrote: »
    look at it this way with the amount of water they use their water rates are higher so spreading the cost to you,chat is free.:D:D
    Not really. They probably just filter the water, it's not like they're refilling the pool every day.

oak5548 wrote: »
    That place was some craic when I was younger. €33 for 3 people would be a steal for there.

€33 for two people as under 3 are free, it would be an extra €12.

€47.50 for two adults and one child over 3 with 3 swimming caps!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Snake

robertxxx wrote: »
    Just back from a the place, two adults and a under 3year old, who goes free.

Total €33!!!

Aqua centre in Dublin.

So... You go in.. Find out the price... and still pay for the facility? Jesus keep away form electrical stores... If the staff tell you the price of a TV and you buy it you might have them closed down complaining online...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

biko wrote: »
    What the heck does that mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Snake

Gongoozler wrote: »
    What the heck does that mean?

I can only guess it means where's the "I don't care" option in the poll above the OP

So... You go in.. Find out the price... and still pay for the facility? Jesus keep away form electrical stores... If the staff tell you the price of a TV and you buy it you might have them closed down complaining online...

What a ridiculous comparison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Surely depends on how long you get. How much per hour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Surely depends on how long you get. How much per hour?

all day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

jescart wrote: »
    It's good value if you sign up for a year, as a student it's only €280 for the year that includes full access to the gym, all pools, private changing area, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, etc.

That is good value.