Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Post a picture of your car here Part 4 (quote a picture, get a 24h ban!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

GvidoR wrote: »
    I've had only 9 cars. :(

Ah yeah but I'd say a good 60% of the stuff I've owned has been boring stuff that I don't even remember; I've had like 4 6n Polos, load of Mk2 Clios etc. Lot bought to sell on too. In the last 12/18 months its just been cool stuff that I like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

I've driven a 6N Polo. Quite liked it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

same here had so many mundane cars - bought and sold a few for profit but lost plenty of cash too- doubt i even broke even tbh

wouldnt mind picking up a cheap classic in the summer now i have a small enginged daily:D duke

a few of the highlights gvidor off the top of my head dont want to clutter the pic thread with my bull:pac:
    2x alfa 75s 2l ts
    2 alfa 164s black over graphite
    2 alfa 155s 2lts
    88 sierra cosworth 2wd sapphire mercury grey.
    1992 gen 1 legacy rs turbo jdm,
    1996 silver supra tt 6 speed, tiny inside even with the hatchback:pac:
    1993 Prelude 2.2 si vetc jdm,
    1994 saab 900 coupe fpt.
    1992 saab 9000 2.3 fpt running insane boost- fastest car i ever owned:cool:
    1998 mr2 tbar rev5 na purple
    1998 civic sir ek4
    1990 golf gti 16v black 3dr big bumer
    1988 golf gti 16v red small bumper
    1988 white original irish small bumper 8v gti 3dr i turned it into a track car:(
    1984 golf van mk1 diesel na
    1978 mk2 escort 4dr blue 1300
    1990 lhd vectra gt purple :D and lhd 1992 corsa sri with ronal teddies:cool:
    1990 vw sirocco gt2
    2 reno 5 gtt tungsten grey:cool:
    1990 e30 318is is apline white
    2x 1992 crx sir
    1994 golf gti 16v mk3
    2000 fiat coupe 20v 5cyl turbo inky black..
    1996 cincquento sporting broom yellow.
    3 seicento sportings
    about 15 e30s, e36s and e34s combined
    merc c200 1990
    1992 nissan 200sx ca18det faded pink wagon
    1996 volvo 850 t5 manual estate
    1992 opel senator 2.6 manual loved that one too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

LgMIGd.jpg

Recent picture taken in better weather. She's going for a full timing belt service next week also, once I have her back she will be ready for another wash!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,301 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Davy ya mad yoke

stunning colour 166 man:cool::D

11272266_969455989755329_679237694_n.jpg?oh=0e12238f073ff6cc7e233dbf3597811b&oe=556E5B11

Sad music for sad wet car left in carpark as i drive off in NPR :p

looks abandonded with no front plate;)

better hope the council dont lift her for recycling :D

also why you driving an izuzu npr? work truck?

davycc wrote: »
    looks abandonded with no front plate;)

better hope the council dont lift her for recycling :D

also why you driving an izuzu npr? work truck?

Yea, great yokes tbh, like a mountain goat and tiny turning circle for a 3.5T

yea got to drive one regular with a flatbed on the back in a previous job lovely :) little things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

166man wrote: »
    Life's too short to spend €10k on a 79bhp diesel Megane either....! :D

I have been driving for three years now and have had 12 cars I think...? :v

I really don't get why a car seems to have to be 150-200bhp before it becomes interesting and sure if it's under a 100bhp then is some kind of a lethal death trap slow.

To me how fast a car goes is a certain amount of the whole package but there has to be more to it than that. Is my megane fast no it's not but is still enjoyable to drive it's 89bhp 12 seconds to 100kmh and just over 180kmh top speed. However if you floor it and drive hard up through the gears does progress fast yes. Will it break every irish speed limit in third gear yes. So to me it's plenty fast.

You seem to have this image of me crawling away from a roundabout having to pull into the hardshoulder to let people pass me and I can assure you it's a hell of a long way of that. I think it's kind of sad that someone would need a serious amount of bhp under the bonnet before they enjoy a car to me every car has its pros and cons the points you like and don't like so much more than how fast can I get to 60 and what's it's top speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Bpmull wrote: »
    I really don't get why a car seems to have to be 150-200bhp before it becomes interesting and sure if it's under a 100bhp then is some kind of a lethal death trap slow.

Weight of car plays an important factor. My e39's 150bhp in a much lighter car would be a rocket but sadly it weighs 1,500kg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Bpmull wrote:

I know it's nice to have poke and what not. I do overhear some of the young fellas on about remapping golfs or whatever upto 150/60 whatever bhp. It'll be quicker off the mark, and get to 100k maybe 3/4 seconds faster than a lower powered car, but then what, sure you have to stay at the limit? Quicker to overtake, fine, that's about all though.

The whole fascination with mad power has me dumbfounded, if it's a track car, then that's fine, but for day to day driving I don't really get it.

Obviously there is dangerously slow, which wouldn't pull you out of bed, but leaving them aside.

I hope I don't get slated for this.....

My mate actually has a non-turbo diesel Renault 19 called Dangerously Slow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I know it's nice to have poke and what not. I do overhear some of the young fellas on about remapping golfs or whatever upto 150/60 whatever bhp. It'll be quicker off the mark, and get to 100k maybe 3/4 seconds faster than a lower powered car, but then what, sure you have to stay at the limit? Quicker to overtake, fine, that's about all though.

The whole fascination with mad power has me dumbfounded, if it's a track car, then that's fine, but for day to day driving I don't really get it.

Obviously there is dangerously slow, which wouldn't pull you out of bed, but leaving them aside.

I hope I don't get slated for this.....

Power is good for a few reasons, overtaking being the main one but for me, actually being able to join a Motorway/Dual Carriageway at the proper speed to merge was a big thing for me when changing.

I have a tremendous fear of being late for things

So i need all the horsepowers and infact all of the torques too.

So there.

PUNCTUALITY FOR ALL

There is nothing like having the ability to overtake 5 or 6 cars safely in a few seconds. Power is everything. The more the better.

What about too much power? Or is there such a thing?

Some gombeen and plenty of power can't and usually won't end well.

+1 there is a american 1980s saab advert i was trying to embed but basically it says:

saab 9000 turbo , overtaking ability of a v8 with the economy of a 4:cool:

What about too much power? Or is there such a thing?

Some gombeen and plenty of power can't and usually won't end well.

No such thing if you're not a gombeen.

"With great power, comes great fuel costs"

- Supergurrier 2015

No such thing if you're not a gombeen.

Didn't mean to come across blunt in that previous post, kind of read that way :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

I really don't get why a car seems to have to be 150-200bhp before it becomes interesting.........

To me how fast a car goes is a certain amount of the whole package but there has to be more to it than that........

Have to say I agree with Bp! I'm a car nut, always have and always will be. I've over 500 diecast model cars and have had my own cars for 15 years now. I've sales brochures and dozens of hard back books on cars.

But I don't like supercars. Pointless to me. I go to the Classic Car show in the NEC nearly every year, regularly go to Goodwood Festival of Speed etc. Classic car shows. I enjoy seeing looked after family cars from the 80's/90's. Sure I'm doing up a '97 Laguna FFS!! I have no supercars in my diecast collection, I mainly collect BMW (have at least one model of every BMW made), Renault and Ford models. And everyone that looks at them relates more to them than if I'd supercars as most people wouldn't have any connection with them. My dream car is a Citroen C6 of all things!

To me it's all about the freedom having your own wheels gives you. My first car was an 18 month old Micra that cost £3,500 to insure and I drove it everywhere. All over Ireland and even England. Go where I want when I want. Couldn't give a crap how long it takes I just enjoy driving and exploring.

Didn't mean to come across blunt in that previous post, kind of read that way :)

Jaysus not at all. I know where you were coming from too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

renofan wrote: »
    Have to say I agree with Bp! I'm a car nut, always have and always will be. I've over 500 diecast model cars and have had my own cars for 15 years now. I've sales brochures and dozens of hard back books on cars.

But I don't like supercars. Pointless to me. I go to the Classic Car show in the NEC nearly every year, regularly go to Goodwood Festival of Speed etc. Classic car shows. I enjoy seeing looked after family cars from the 80's/90's. Sure I'm doing up a '97 Laguna FFS!! I have no supercars in my diecast collection, I mainly collect BMW (have at least one model of every BMW made), Renault and Ford models. And everyone that looks at them relates more to them than if I'd supercars as most people wouldn't have any connection with them. My dream car is a Citroen C6 of all things!

To me it's all about the freedom having your own wheels gives you. My first car was an 18 month old Micra that cost £3,500 to insure and I drove it everywhere. All over Ireland and even England. Go where I want when I want. Couldn't give a crap how long it takes I just enjoy driving and exploring.

Great post man, it sure is about the freedom it gives you!
    I don't like supercars either, I'd like a gt3 rs or a granturismo at some point but that'd be it. Neither of them super cars.

But power definitely comes into it, the feeling of just tootling along in the e36 and coming out onto a straight with nobody and going "yeah feck it".
    Dropping it two gears and hearing that 6cyl sound. The thrill of the speed. Our when not going hard but just pushing on a twisty road, feeling the balance of the car etc. There's the thrill.

I wouldn't even count my car quick to be fair, it's only 180bhp or so which these days is becoming normal.

I totally agree with everything you said, but you cannot get the same thrills from driving a dacia etc.

All you get is factory built in understeer, no feel and no thrill whatsoever. When in college i had passats and golfs and stuff for eco reasons.
    They were great and reliable but they were boring.

I don't blame you for wanting a c6 either. I'd love an xm!

To me how fast a car goes is a certain amount of the whole package but there has to be more to it than that. Is my megane fast no it's not but is still enjoyable to drive it's 89bhp 12 seconds to 100kmh and just over 180kmh top speed. However if you floor it and drive hard up through the gears does progress fast yes. Will it break every irish speed limit in third gear yes. So to me it's plenty fast.

You seem to have this image of me crawling away from a roundabout having to pull into the hardshoulder to let people pass me and I can assure you it's a hell of a long way of that. I think it's kind of sad that someone would need a serious amount of bhp under the bonnet before they enjoy a car to me every car has its pros and cons the points you like and don't like so much more than how fast can I get to 60 and what's it's top speed.

I think you have taken me up wrong on what I was saying. The fact that it's only 89bhp isn't the only reason I wouldn't spend €10k on one personally. Remember you're talking to a chap here who drives a 120bhp 156 which weighs 1400kg....

The thing with speed/power is its all relative. If I was driving a 50bhp Polo all my life and then got into my 1.6 156 it'd feel like a rocket but it's not a quick car. It's the same with your Megane, if you got into that after driving a 1980's straight diesel pick up truck it would feel fast, but in reality it is not a fast car. To suggest a 1.5 is "plenty fast" just isn't true. Go out and drive some other cars!

Not all cars under 100bhp are death traps obviously, but many of them are. Much of this comes down to the gearing as well as the lack of power. I notice this especially in more modern diesels, all the "power" is between 1500rpm and 2500rpm, meaning that for overtaking you have to be in the right gear, if you get it wrong, you get a flat spot and it's plain dangerous.

I'm not having a go at you nor do I have some "image" of you, merely stating a fact that an 89bhp Megane diesel is not a quick car, nor will it ever be, you will realise this when you drive other cars. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Around Sandy Mount, traffic was crap so decided to park up for a while until it cleared.
    350753.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Needs a touch more low I think Chris :)

YbFocus wrote: »
    Needs a touch more low I think Chris :)

oh, I know that, trust me. Its on normal springs right now and the rear is ridiculous, at least I can use the muti-story in work now. Will be a while before I get new coilovers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

at least I can use the muti-story in work now
    Love that car Chris, but I'll never understand lowering an everyday driver until it scrapes in everyday situations!! :p Please don't make it look like a VAG that has been hauling too many bags of fertiliser from the co-op!

It wont be going too low, I just want to get rid of the gap at the top of the arches a little bit, when it was low before going into the multistory was fine but coming out and going down hill some times the front bumper would scrap when I reached the flat again, not a nice sound and as you say it is a daily.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,152 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Spent 3 hours washing the outside of my car today. Took all the wheels off, washed under the arches and gave the wheels a good scrub on both sides. Whilst it's not perfect, it wasn't this clean since I bought it. Finally replaced the center caps, and put on new nut covers too. Fitted new mats aswell. Plan on getting a terraclean done next month hopefully, and getting the ariel replaced too.

E1FD1862215B4BFDBA159A0C3C03CB5C-0000324795-0003767036-00800L-05B0EC4E4BE3492E9931AEEC97FB901E.jpg

E97384359B6547CCB444802DDF3D5C8F-0000324795-0003767038-00800L-4FB0E9106D8C454BB3EA33770B1CAD25.jpg

E42125DE54254B759B28235A43AE5A7D-0000324795-0003767037-00800L-7D9A49499B5A446E94745425DE045952.jpg

Looks very nice and clean, beertons. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Managed to get out early Saturday and went at the 350..

Was washed, De-tared, Clayed, Polished with the DA and waxed. All in all about 7 hours.. To be honest the paintwork was not bad at all.

And about 10 minutes after taking the picture it pissed rain so was unable to get some good pictures.. Next time!!

350t2yw.jpg

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,152 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Probably went a bit ott taking the wheels off, but they got a good clean anyway. The pads have a bit to go yet thankfully. All for a road trip to Galway on Friday, I hope the lads appreciate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭hi_im_fil

4FE8841B-1C87-4503-A2A5-EB8CE6F38B21.jpg

77A016A6-74F6-4FB1-B5E1-012BA550F110.jpg

All about power:weight ratio. Some may go the low & slow route and that's fine too.

I have an odd choice for my next car. Fairly low on power but very light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

Get rid of that hard top!! You never know when that one sunny day will come and you dont wanna miss it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭hi_im_fil

It'll be coming off soon don't worry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,297 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Some of my previous cars:

dcV3.jpg

Xm9eZ.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,826 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Had the car hydro waxed again today. Pics are crap but ill get some better ones soon.

None of these were mine but I grew up around them and some of them even got my interest going in cars and sure you can never have enough car pictures here :) . This is literally only a fraction of the cars my parents had in fairly recent year.

C3BD0ABE-4B23-4CD7-9356-1DE7956785D8_zpsttsfdmfx.jpg

17AD26F1-1089-4EA5-8792-ECE13E27F42A_zpsw8ajnywa.jpg

A059CA7E-8C5E-4AE4-A394-F20ACF736B71_zpsiyum9bts.jpg

D0F2EB5E-EBA8-4DA5-878C-859F07D41A9B_zpsyoejomaf.jpg

EF4CC4B6-FAC4-4CA9-9809-C98F08F131B4_zpsjngnmw2t.jpg

DD7BC143-A39A-4E71-91D2-61FA470572E0_zpsgymbyaf5.jpg

Last but certainly not least where it all began for me the very first vehicle I ever drove on a public road on my 17th birthday oh loved this yoke so many memories in that Megane.
    2353F429-11B8-44D3-8134-6DDAD0FAE959_zpst68rgvh8.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Did you ever drive the MG?
    They on my list of cars to live with at some point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭RyanMGF

Ahhh, that's a lovely MGF! They're one of my favorite cars ever, when I have more space I will be buying another one or two to keep mine company.

Said it before and I'll say it again, someone needs to buy a few up because they really are thinning out.

Wish I had the space to keep mine

Ah I love those MGF's nearly bought one instead of the Mercedes we bought they are mid engine RWD aren't they I'd say they were some amount of fun to drive

I like those Jeep Grand Cherokee too love the looks of them think they come with the Mercedes Diesel engine too but I'd say they're heavy on diesel though ah well sure look :cool:

I absolutely loved that mg so did my dad it was the 1.8vvc 145bhp engine lovely car very original only 50k miles on it we had it 4-5 years it was used as a summer weekend car such a lovely yoke killed him to sell it but lack of use and space meant it needed to go. He spent many and evening thinkering with bits on it. He done a great job on the inside must find a picture cream leather interior.

@cianryan I drove it alright it was a lovely yoke Id love an mf tf 160 trophy at some stage they can all be bought so cheap to.

166man wrote: »
    Ah I love those MGF's nearly bought one instead of the Mercedes we bought they are mid engine RWD aren't they I'd say they were some amount of fun to drive

I like those Jeep Grand Cherokee too love the looks of them think they come with the Mercedes Diesel engine too but I'd say they're heavy on diesel though ah well sure look :cool:

Grand Cherokee was a 225bhp v6 mercedes engine and gearbox some hum of that engine some serious yoke that was probably his favourite he bought it new top spec one too so it was unreal inside. Some serious yoke to tow he used to use it to tow a trailer with 2.4 ton on it a lot you wouldn't know it was behind it. Mpg 30mpg forget about getting anymore than that out of it.

Really like those Jeeps myself too. Something about them

He had one of the first new model navaras that came to Ireland before that one but it didn't even come close that model grand Cherokee were a very under rated jeep.