Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Issue with Soccer Forum

• Registered Users Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

I think it's quite surprising to be honest that the "in joke" only got explained (for many at least) when I asked outright what it was all about several pages into a feedback thread. Perhaps if when the issue arose in the superthread (the one people do seem to have an issue with the mod action related to gifs, although yep its not the gifs but the ignoring the warning people got warned over) someone had pmd the mod in question and explained the issue he could have re-evaluated his position.

Not saying he would or even should but surely you should try a dialogue with the mods before the situation escalates no matter what the situation.

I think we can all certainly learn from it, and put it behind us and move on. We'd just like to establish that we are free to post gifs in our own thread, that may on occasion include a panda (although that fad has already sailed, really), and that we can still refer to ourselves as match thread saps (C'mon, you have to laugh at someone asking for permission to call themselves a sap).

The issue that we touched on whereby if a mod doesn't like something, they can then put it in bold, and then anything referring to that gets carded under the "Not following mod instructions" concept, even when the content itself doesn't warrant a card, is perhaps something we can look at in the main Feedback thread in the Summer.

That's a toughie really, and I don't think any solid rules can be made for it. It'll be discretion and common sense that we'll all have to rely on, which is fair, providing some of our points earlier are taken on board.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

rarnes1 wrote: »
    I think I'm even more confused after reading dfx's replies.

Can we post gifs if we choose to in the superthread?

It's something I might do every so often so I'd like to know if I'll get sanctioned for it.

Yes you can, until a moderator specifically says not to. I will leave it to T4TF to talk about his in-thread note.
    jaykay74 wrote: »
    humour gifs (pandas, cats, wwe etc) for the humour thread imo. gifs related to football such as goals, skill etc for the regular football threads.

I would tend to agree, but I think some leeway should be given - and is given - to Superthreads.
    djPSB wrote: »
    But sure if you go into the Manchester United thread, last night there was a load of Bubba Watson images.

Pandas are just as relevant as Bubba Watson in a soccer forum if you ask me.

Not every thread is going to 100% on topic all of the time.

I haven't had the chance to look at any thread well enough since yesterday. I don't disagree. As I said, leeway should be given to Superthreads.
    LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Great post Sacksian. I agree that the forum is well modded overall.

I would find it acceptable for:

- TRTF to confirm that the warning from last night does not mean panda gifs (or whatever images people find humorous) are out of bounds within the superthread;
    - with the usual caveat that those images cannot be NSFW or constitute abuse of a poster or player in such a way that it contravenes those sections of the charter;

And we can move on problem solved.

And for gifs or images that could be considered trolling, baiting or threadspoiling? Gifs or images that flood a thread and disrupt debate?

There was a reported post yesterday from a non-Liverpool fan complaining about the fact that both replies (by the same user) to him making a comment in the thread was an image of a panda and the other a comment that his original point was more irrelevant and off topic than panda stuff. I won't name the posters, but the post is still there. Is this behaviour ok?
    Pro. F wrote: »
    I think Lloyd was right to concentrate this thread on the Panda .gifs, that ruling is far more obviously unreasonable because it has been brought directly into the team super thread and the panda .gifs are so clearly harmless.

As outlined above, how about when it impacts upon non-Liverpool fans or new fans from posting in the Liverpool thread.
    K-9 wrote: »
    Oh the Sap thing seems very harsh, hell its a joke taking the piss out of us sad baxtards who post in match threads while watching the match! If we can't take the piss out of ourselves it doesn't say much for the oft quoted "banter" in the soccer forum.

I included the saps thing in the matchthread as another in-joke example from the Liverpool thread as that is where I have seen it mentioned most. I had no problem with it in the Superthread.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,482 ✭✭✭✭Bobeagleburger

Thanks for the update dfx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

dfx- wrote: »

There was a reported post yesterday from a non-Liverpool fan complaining about the fact that both replies (by the same user) to him making a comment in the thread was an image of a panda and the other a comment that his original point was more irrelevant and off topic than panda stuff. I won't name the posters, but the post is still there. Is this behaviour ok?

As outlined above, how about when it impacts upon non-Liverpool fans or new fans from posting in the Liverpool thread.

That sounds like me, I went back and had a look but the response is gone.

Strange example to use though, pretty obvious that user was taking the piss. Hopefully it wasn't just deleted and he was told to cop himself on.

RasTa wrote: »
    That sounds like me, I went back and had a look but the response is gone.

Strange example to use though, pretty obvious that user was taking the piss. Hopefully it wasn't just deleted and he was told to cop himself on.

I actually had a post ultimately responding to the original non Liverpool's fan post, but whereby I also stated that I thought the relevancy post was a little harsh.

Was a case of someone getting uptight at a United fan mentioning fergie in our thread, IIRC.

Don't see how you could call for a card on it, that stuff happens all the time, in every thread.

Knex. wrote: »
    I actually had a post ultimately responding to the original non Liverpool's fan post, but whereby I also stated that I thought the relevancy post was a little harsh.

Was a case of someone getting uptight at a United fan mentioning fergie in our thread, IIRC.

Don't see how you could call for a card on it, that stuff happens all the time, in every thread.

That's a post most deserving of a card imo due to the build up.
    2 game ban for cursing in front of a camera please :D

I have accepted that Liverpool are going to win the league, pretty remarkable it happens the season after Fergie retires.
    This is more irrelevant and off topic than dancing panda gifs .
    How so?

Then he responds with a panda image and nothing else. Irritates the hell out of me. I also disagree that users respond with images when asked to back up any points made, rarely happens.

Then he responds with a panda image and nothing else. Irritates the hell out of me. Disagree that users respond with images when asked to back up any points made, rarely happens.

Hadn't spotted the second part following you asking how so. Think that would irritate anyone, and probably gets a tick on the being a dick rule, alright;

Unless previous history is against him, still think more than a warning is harsh there. This was prior to any mod action in the superthread.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Then he responds with a panda image and nothing else. Irritates the hell out of me. I also disagree that users respond with images when asked to back up any points made, rarely happens.

If things like that are carded then the world has gone truly mad.

5starpool wrote: »
    If things like that are carded then the world has gone truly mad.

Never, you can't make a statement and then when asked to back it up post some stupid meme image as the response.

It's the online equivalent of sticking your hand up and saying talk to the hand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Never, you can't make a statement and then when asked to back it up post some stupid meme image as the response.

Except it was talk to the Panda on this occasion :P

You are a man famed for your dislike of Liverpool thoguh, so I can understand people not engaging with you in there much like there are certain posters that wouldn't be given straight answers in the utd thread.

Stop playing the wounded innocent, I know you better than that.

And you'd call the guards for that, would ya? Get HR involved at work?

Annoying, but harmless. Can't see how more than a warning could ever be warranted. How offended could it possibly make you?

5starpool wrote: »
    You are a man famed for your dislike of Liverpool thoguh, so I can understand people not engaging with you in there much like there are certain posters that wouldn't be given straight answers in the utd thread.

Stop playing the wounded innocent, I know you better than that.

I'm not playing anything, you're going off some previous history and forming the same opinion. I have no idea who that poster is and I'm sure he is the same with me as I barely have made 10 posts in your superthread this season.

I'm surprised you're not more objective when it comes to your fellow posters.
    And you'd call the guards for that, would ya? Get HR involved at work?

Annoying, but harmless. Can't see how more than a warning could ever be warranted. How offended could it possibly make you?

What on earth are you waffling about? I said he needs to be told to cop himself on, simples.

You said it absolutely warranted an infraction, and borderline demanded one.

A bit beyond, "cop yourself on".

. Hopefully it wasn't just deleted and he was told to cop himself on.
    You said it absolutely warranted an infraction, and borderline demanded one.

A bit beyond, "cop yourself on".

Oh yeah?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,556 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

so can I call myself a sap in a match thread from now on? In fairness there could not have been many posts that had the reference in the match thread at the weekend?
    Usually it's only one post that features some sort of assembling going on or a call to arms and that's it really.

I'm not playing anything, you're going off some previous history and forming the same opinion. I have no idea who that poster is and I'm sure he is the same with me as I barely have made 10 posts in your superthread this season.

I'm surprised you're not more objective when it comes to your fellow posters.

A lot of things annoy me about Liverpool fans in the soccer forum, chef among them being the few who constantly go into Utd/Arsenal/Spurs or any of those threads and post deliberately inflammatory comments (and the same obv applies to others posting the same in the Liverpool threads).

However, while the reply you got was hardly conducive to a discussion, it was nothing more than a minor irritation at most imo. I'm not particularly familiar with that poster either though i have to say, but in general I'd be of the opinion to clamp down hard on the bigger problems like I mention in the first paragraph than treating little things in a bigger manner than they deserve.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭101001

On the RasTa thing. That post actually stuck out to me at the time. The Fergie thing he posed was actually an interesting one and for me came across more as a musing (thats not a typo) than anything else. I thought the panda response really was a bit of a dick move. The Panda thing was way to demean and seclude someone.

It was in danger of becoming a tool of bullying, using people's lack of knowledge of the cool to alienate them. People were getting annoyed about not understanding it (which tbf added to the hilarity, did for me anyway)

And I am a Liverpool fan, a regular reader and once regular poster who would know RasTa's allegiance's. Just in case folks need some poster context

• Registered Users Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Why is it only Liverpool fans who seem to be unhappy with the mods at the moment?

I know certain United fans are unhappy with certain Liverpool fans coming into superthreads to gloat but on most occasions the mods sort it out.

I'm guessing you were spamming pandas?

Mods have being great this season, kudos.

Stop will you, the same thing was happening for years in the Liverpool thread with manu posters coming in. The only problem this time is ye can give it but can't take it.

Majority of United posters are grand, though and a few have even said they hope we win the league.

• Registered Users Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

We are unable to question moderating decisions on thread and I am aware of some unfruitful PM conversations that have seen some users banned so, as such, I am raising the issue here.

Some of the Liverpool regulars have taken to posting Panda .gifs out of excitement at an unbelievable turn of fortunes in the football world. .gifs that are not strictly on topic get posted from time to time. While images that are NSFW should obviously be prohibited, why exactly are long term poster being infracted and banned because they want to make some lighthearted jokes?

As I say, we cannot discuss the matter on the forum so I'm hoping we can get some explanation here.

I'm just going back to LL's issue here with regards to this.

Yesterday was a very busy day in the forum with a huge match on which resulted in about 2,700 posts.

As you can imagine, with volunteer Mods/CMods somethings slip through the net regarding reports and the likes, not an excuse, just an explanation, even with 9 Mods its tough to keep track and act on every thing in such a fast moving environment, any Mods looking can vouch for that.

I discussed it with Beasty and the other Mods have had there say too and the .gifs rule is opened to some interpretation and that we're going to look at it at year end during the SF feedback thread. Now, ideally, any in jokes are just that, jokes but not everyone is privy to the joke. We now know that it derives from what ye were saying was the Sad Panda pic/gif.

The only problem with the pic/gif being used in a match thread is unless yere in on the joke its going to either look madly off-topic or trolling/winding people up, depending on the text present in the pic or nature of the gif.

What I will say is to continue using whatever pics/gifs ye want in yere superthread, within reason, no porn, NSFW stuff and of course nothing that abuses people to the letter of the charter and in the mean time we will revise the gifs rule as it was brought in as some of ye might know as people were posting the Homer Simpson with popcorn pic or MJ with popcorn gif when something intentionally controversial was said on the forum, we introduced that to make sure posts werent dragged off topic and to try and stop the childishness of A) the pic/gif and B) to ty and nip silly posts/threads in the bud. Ye all know its better to report than to react or post something that will fan the flames so please just report going forward.

We as a mod team remain dependent on reports, I personally only glance at most teams newest page for info and news so I wouldnt see things from hours ago unless its reported. A classic case was on the Friday before the Liverpool v City thread when it was closed down and cards dished out left right and center and warnings handed out and of course dfx posted his in thread OP warning.

I know its a long, probably silly post but to sum it up below.

TL;DR :
    1) Gifs/Pics no problem in a teams Superthread(within charter reason)
    2) Match threads, use your brain, if its going to wind people up, its best not to post a pic/gif, especially if its abuse or aimed at a user or group.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

I've no problem with the gifs if they're used properly. The match thread was a farce on Friday with all the little in jokes clogging up the thread. Also, starting a match thread two days before the game is ridiculous.

I don't mind the banter with Liverpool fans, but when it gets to the stage where my username is been called out constantly by the same two or three 'Pool fans then it starts getting personal and nasty. That's not my style.

Ten minutes after the game ended yesterday I received a very nasty PM from a regular poster who had signed up with a new username. I was called all sorts. Thankfully, it seems that poster has been banned.

Admittedly, I'm no fan of Liverpool. I'd go as far as to say I despise them and all they stand for. But I never get personal. Never.

As for the Mike thing on AH. Someone commented that "he must talk an awful lot of shite to get to that amount of posts" and I replied "yes, he's a Liverpool fan". Pretty harmless stuff.

Go to any United match thread this season where we've lost (plenty to choose from) and you will see the 'Pool heads goading and baiting.

Double standards.

• Registered Users Posts: 36,350 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

GavRedKing wrote: »
    I'm just going back to LL's issue here with regards to this.

Yesterday was a very busy day in the forum with a huge match on which resulted in about 2,700 posts.

As you can imagine, with volunteer Mods/CMods somethings slip through the net regarding reports and the likes, not an excuse, just an explanation, even with 9 Mods its tough to keep track and act on every thing in such a fast moving environment, any Mods looking can vouch for that.

I discussed it with Beasty and the other Mods have had there say too and the .gifs rule is opened to some interpretation and that we're going to look at it at year end during the SF feedback thread. Now, ideally, any in jokes are just that, jokes but not everyone is privy to the joke. We now know that it derives from what ye were saying was the Sad Panda pic/gif.

The only problem with the pic/gif being used in a match thread is unless yere in on the joke its going to either look madly off-topic or trolling/winding people up, depending on the text present in the pic or nature of the gif.

What I will say is to continue using whatever pics/gifs ye want in yere superthread, within reason, no porn, NSFW stuff and of course nothing that abuses people to the letter of the charter and in the mean time we will revise the gifs rule as it was brought in as some of ye might know as people were posting the Homer Simpson with popcorn pic or MJ with popcorn gif when something intentionally controversial was said on the forum, we introduced that to make sure posts werent dragged off topic and to try and stop the childishness of A) the pic/gif and B) to ty and nip silly posts/threads in the bud. Ye all know its better to report than to react or post something that will fan the flames so please just report going forward.

We as a mod team remain dependent on reports, I personally only glance at most teams newest page for info and news so I wouldnt see things from hours ago unless its reported. A classic case was on the Friday before the Liverpool v City thread when it was closed down and cards dished out left right and center and warnings handed out and of course dfx posted his in thread OP warning.

I know its a long, probably silly post but to sum it up below.

TL;DR :
    2) Match threads, use your brain, if its going to wind people up, its best not to post a pic/gif, especially if its abuse or aimed at a user or group.

Thanks for your time in sorting this Gav, much appreciated.

• Registered Users Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Thanks for your time in sorting this Gav, much appreciated.

Any other problems post um here or alternatively PM me if ya like.

Also keep tabs on what ye ALL want to bring up in our own SF feedback thread which will be along in about 5/6 weeks hopefully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

K-9 wrote: »
    Obviously as a Liverpool fan (sorry for the in joke) I'm a bit biased...

So I'm guessing that in-joke is at my expense due to something I said in another thread???

Personally, I couldn't care less, fire away for all I care but would that not be against the spirit of the forum?

It's also close to something else that I want to get off my chest but I suppose that should wait until the SF feedback thread.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

That is a bit rich coming from you tbh.

Two weeks ago on the Utd thread in a discussion about the Moyes banner fly-by you claimed that anybody that mentions
    planes and Utd knows what they are doing
    ' and I asked if that meant anyone who posted about the flyby at Old Trafford (and the funny thread that developed) was mocking Munich, and you replied.....
    Yes,Now go away
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=89713767&postcount=6422

On 5 separate occasions I asked you are you accusing me of mocking Munich?

Here:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=89713789&postcount=6423

Here:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=89713949&postcount=6429

And here;
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=89713949&postcount=6429

I even offered to take it PM with you but you decided to continue to ignored me, so I asked a mod to get involved, which Gav kindly did.

I am still awaiting your response, or did you just decide to give the
    online equivalent of sticking your hand up and saying talk to the hand
    that frustrates you so much?

at least the other poster replied to you with a Panda gif, as it is more than the respect you showed me after accusing me of mocking Munich which was obviously not the case.

and now you wonder why you don't get the replies you deserve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Don't think this is the place for little tiffs. It's how these threads get locked.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

BNMC wrote: »
    I've no problem with the gifs if they're used properly. The match thread was a farce on Friday with all the little in jokes clogging up the thread. Also, starting a match thread two days before the game is ridiculous.

I don't mind the banter with Liverpool fans, but when it gets to the stage where my username is been called out constantly by the same two or three 'Pool fans then it starts getting personal and nasty. That's not my style.

Ten minutes after the game ended yesterday I received a very nasty PM from a regular poster who had signed up with a new username. I was called all sorts. Thankfully, it seems that poster has been banned.

Admittedly, I'm no fan of Liverpool. I'd go as far as to say I despise them and all they stand for. But I never get personal. Never.

As for the Mike thing on AH. Someone commented that "he must talk an awful lot of shite to get to that amount of posts" and I replied "yes, he's a Liverpool fan". Pretty harmless stuff.

Go to any United match thread this season where we've lost (plenty to choose from) and you will see the 'Pool heads goading and baiting.

Double standards.

What do you add to the soccer forum in all honesty that is in anyway constructive posting? Heaven forbid it was me who had actually gone and done some of the petty crap you've done, ie: for me to go into all the Manchester United match threads and thank every single negative comment in turn knowing full well I was provoking Manchester United posters, while on the very, very odd occasion I'll post something negatively about them myself. That's your style. Nothing more. Nothing less. It's a shame some of my fellow Liverpool supporters have picked up warnings and infractions, if not worse for replying to you far more swiftly than you deservedly should have been dealt with IMO as you've been the catalyst with your woeful attempts at crap stirring.

Oh, and you know full well what you were thanking in the humour thread a couple of nights ago, you attempts to play dumb don't fook anyone, well, the Liverpool regulars anyway. I don't can't answer for what the mods thought. You just got lucky the source proved to be not under the same umbrella as Murdoch's media.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

Don't think this is the place for little tiffs. It's how these threads get locked.

might be a 'little tiff' to you but it's not to me....especially with the accusation in hand.

but again youre right and my offer still stands to take it to PM, but I'd be silly to hold my breath as I've been waiting over two weeks now.

more just a case now of hypocrisy and irony, and highlighting same.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Since I feel like all my comments are being ignored here by the higher ups as evidenced by everyone else who has asked a question or made a remark more or less being replied to in some form be it by CMod or mods, I'll ask this once (even though I've queried about this via PM yesterday and was more or less going in around in circles wasting my time).

Is calling a footballer, be it from the club you support or an opposing either of the following words below allowed and if not, is it always going to be a yellow card offense from here on in like was awarded for me?

Stupid
    Idiot
    Prat
    Eejit

Definition of prat - an incompetent or stupid person; an idiot. The above are the same thing in my eyes, but by all means educate me if I am wrong.

GavRedKing wrote: »
    TL;DR :

Thanks Gav. Like Lloyd said, we appreciate the time you put in here to get up to speed with the situation and help us out in clarifying some matters.

Must say, the tone in which you did so was hugely appreciated as well. I doubt I'd be the only one who thinks that too.