Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

London 2015

• Registered Users Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

Best of luck to all tomorrow.

This is my first marathon, I'm almost sick with nerves, or it could be all the pasta I've eaten!

I'm 9195 hoping to finish within 5hrs - don't put me on any table please. If I do well I'll pop into the Strand and introduce myself, if I do badly or can't walk, I'll slink off to the tube.

Hope we all get the times we hope for and heres hoping all the starters become all the finishers.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,082 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Eat, hydrate and rest well tonight boys and girls - tomorrow brings the celebration of all your hard work - I must say I'm a tad jealous.
    Will be F5'ing a few of you tomorrow :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭rom

In gfa pen 1. How early do I need to be. How big are the pens? Aka will it be congested the first few miles?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

rom wrote: »
    In gfa pen 1. How early do I need to be. How big are the pens? Aka will it be congested the first few miles?

It will be congested for the first couple of miles, but that is the best marathon start line you could possibly be on. There will be nobody with a faster pb than 2:45, or slower than 3:10. All of us are starting in the right place in that pen and going for very similar times so there is very minimal chance to get stuck behind someone slow and out of place.

There are a couple of thousand of us in GFA, but the area we assemble in are all going to be in the same pens so there isn't any issue with getting to the right bit. They will move us all onto the road about 15 minutes before the start I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭rom

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭Jmcmen

I'm going for it, can't wait now, 30435. In GFA1. Have a good one all, and smile. Night night

• Registered Users Posts: 476 ✭✭RunRoryRun

Good luck everyone :)

• Registered Users Posts: 154 ✭✭JohnnyBingo

Waiting on the platform for the train. A seat within eyeshot of the loo methinks.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,851 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Best of luck all.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,433 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

Good luck to all boardsies running this today. I'm recording it because I'll be out pounding the roads myself at 9am.

Hope the morning in London is as nice as it is here in Cork.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Jaysus, on the on screen caption for Steve Cram they had "Marathon PB 2:35". I would have thought "World Champion and former world mile record holder" would have been better.

Nice scalp there for grabs for a few here anyway.

Chivito550 wrote: »
    Jaysus, on the on screen caption for Steve Cram they had "Marathon PB 2:35". I would have thought "World Champion and former world mile record holder" would have been better.

Nice scalp there for grabs for a few here anyway.

Marathon is not for everyone, probably didn't suit him
    What was the world record back then?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Marathon is not for everyone, probably didn't suit him
    What was the world record back then?

I don't know, but my guess would be he only did it at the end of his career and not in a serious manner, like Eamonn Coghlan.

Not sure when he ran that marathon (I'm guessing the 90s). I know the WR in 1984/85 was around 2:07 by Carlos Lopes, or maybe even 2:06.

Chivito550 wrote: »
    I don't know, but my guess would be he only did it at the end of his career and not in a serious manner, like Eamonn Coghlan.

Not sure when he ran that marathon (I'm guessing the 90s). I know the WR in 1984/85 was around 2:07 by Carlos Lopes, or maybe even 2:06.

Yeah agree, used to love watching him run on the track

• Registered Users Posts: 490 ✭✭ClashCityRocker

Hope the morning in London is as nice as it is here in Cork.

I've just been for a run around north London. Ideal conditions, cool but not too cold and little to no wind

• Registered Users Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Here we go !

Good luck everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 4,016 ✭✭✭Itziger

Well TRR is faster than Jenson Button anyway (so far).

Have added the F1 driver to my runners for a bit of fun. Any Boardsies doing it holding hands this year a la Krusty Kiely??

Not by much mind! Button through 5k in 19.50. Same as Eau Rouge who told me he wasn't in massive shape for a marathon. Has been doing shorter stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Do you have a link to a tracker - looked back through the pages but can't seem to find it

UserName|Split|Time|Predicted Finish
    TRR|5k|18:39|2:36:36
    Abhainn|5k|18:42|2:37:44
    OP|5k|21:07|2:58:11
    Robin|5k|19:30|2:44:27
    Meno|5k|21:27|3:00:56

Might be an easy one to add to for those not on the tracker, feel free to add others.

kit3 wrote: »
    Do you have a link to a tracker - looked back through the pages but can't seem to find it

http://results-2015.virginmoneylondonmarathon.com/2015/?pid=tracking

TRR|5k|18:39|2:36:36
    Abhainn|5k|18:42|2:37:44
    Button|5k|19:50|2:47:xx|

TRR|10k|36:43|2:34:54
    Abhainn|10k|37:12|2:36:57
    Button|5k|19:50|2:47:xx
    Radcliffe|10k|35:23|2:29:16|

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭NetwerkErrer

Radcliffe's lost the plot! Be interesting to see how she goes if she keeps the pace up.

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    Button|10k|40:02|2:48:5x
    Eau Rouge through 10k 1 sec behind Jenson!!

This could get messy, so I'll do a master update every 15mins, starting at 11 - will need to drop at 1pm though.

Itziger wrote: »
    Eau Rouge through 10k 1 sec behind Jenson!!

What's his bib and I'll add

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

Radcliffe's lost the plot! Be interesting to see how she goes if she keeps the pace up.

I'd say a few of the lads around her will be in for a difficult time.

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    What's his bib and I'll add

I'm not sure he wants to share it here to be honest. Said he wasn't looking for a fast time, may have been sandbagging! He's gone out fast enough and if he blows up.........

I'll keep ye posted.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,460 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Meno|10k|42:42|3:00:07
    Button|5k|19:50|2:47:xx