Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Las Vegas for €672 return

• 16-04-2014 7:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,877 ✭✭✭

If you're not fussy about when you go, this looks like a really good deal and if I COULD go I so would

http://www.dealrushholidays.ie/holiday/193

Deal includes return flights Dublin - Vegas
    5 nights accommodation in Stratosphere hotel
    For an extra €18 you can have transfer to/from airport.
    Sounds good to me!

(Based on 2 people sharing room only)

• Registered Users Posts: 507 ✭✭✭balfe1990

This is....really good?

Or am I missing something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,877 ✭✭✭purplecow1977

balfe1990 wrote: »
    This is....really good?

Or am I missing something?

Leaves May 7th - May 12th!! Maybe that's why! But as i said, if I could up sticks and go, it looks good. Maybe someone can point out a fault though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭aaronm13

The catch is you stay in the Stratosphere. The place is a bit of a dump and is at the far end of the north strip which is a bit dodgy to say the least.

aaronm13 wrote: »
    The catch is you stay in the Stratosphere. The place is a bit of a dump and is at the far end of the north strip which is a bit dodgy to say the least.

Thanks.
    More 'good' reviews than 'bad' here though
    http://www.tripadvisor.ie/Hotel_Review-g45963-d114898-Reviews-Stratosphere_Hotel_Casino_and_Tower-Las_Vegas_Nevada.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Got 5 nights in Circus Circus (not fussed on where we stay) incl flights for January for €663pp from Expedia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭ccull123

Good spot but whilst I can't comment on the hotel it's location is an ABSOLUTE kip. I def would not stay here. The area is full of junkies / crackheads.
    If u were to stay here I would b getting a taxi to and from the hotel up to the main strip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Stratosphere is good to go see for the tower and the rides on top, but to get to and from the main strip hotels you are going through some very dodgy areas.

Would be better try pay an extra few quid and get one of the better lower cost hotels on the strip such as a MGM etc.

All said, Las Vegas is great place to go and see but 5 nights would be more than enough and 5 nights in the Stratosphere would be tough work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭Vertigo100

Paid 800 for flights and accommodation in the MGM grand for 5 nights and that's the weekend of the mayweather fight. (Which I shall be attending :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Helpneeded86

It wouldnt be classed as a bargain in my books. We have seen flights for €440-€540. That is a bargain for me.

Vegas accommodation is dirt cheap. I would not want to stay in Circus Circus or the Stratosphere. the hotel makes the trip. I would not skimp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

January wrote: »
    Got 5 nights in Circus Circus (not fussed on where we stay) incl flights for January for €663pp from Expedia.
    For January, or in January ? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭jescart

The layovers are bad too. Either 2 stops, or 6 hour layovers. It's a long enough distance to travel without hanging around airports for hours. Like others have said, if you're gonna travel that distance for a holiday at least make it worthwhile - pay the few quid extra and stay in Venetian, Wynn, Palazzo, Bellagio, Aria, Caesars Palace, etc - all good hotels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,478 ✭✭✭✭cson

So much Stratosphere hate... :(

I thought it was class, walked the strip from there every night I was there with no trouble either.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Preset No.3

Ive been going to Vegas every couple of years for the past 20 years. 5 nights? Are you mad!? 3-4 very maximum. Its very full on. Plus I echo the feeling of the Stratosphere. Great for the rides at the top, ages away from the main part of the strip.

jescart wrote: »
    The layovers are bad too. Either 2 stops, or 6 hour layovers. It's a long enough distance to travel without hanging around airports for hours. Like others have said, if you're gonna travel that distance for a holiday at least make it worthwhile - pay the few quid extra and stay in Venetian, Wynn, Palazzo, Bellagio, Aria, Caesars Palace, etc - all good hotels.

You dont even need to go all that high end. There are cheaper hotels than them which are very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

€672 return to Las Vegas, a bargain? What planet do you live on?

This trip would only be a bargain at rates of €350-€500 max. It is actually possible to get as far as California for half that price (€672/€340), however rare the offer.

Couple this with the fact Las Vegas is only a worthwhile destination for the wealthy amongst us, this so-called bargain really should go first-class direct into the dustbin of Bargain Alerts history.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Smarter Vegas is a good site for hotel bargains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

This trip would only be a bargain at rates of €350-€500 max. It is actually possible to get as far as California for half that price (€672/€340), however rare the offer.

Couple this with the fact Las Vegas is only a worthwhile destination for the wealthy amongst us, this so-called bargain really should go first-class direct into the dustbin of Bargain Alerts history.

Take it easy ffs.

If everyone scathed people for trying to make helpful posts, like you just have here, no one would contribute at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Maybe you should look for a Specsavers bargain alert because you clearly missed the fact that the price is for flights and hotel for 5 nights.

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Uncle_moe

I think it's a bit pricey, I got return flights and 5 nights TI for 560 in August by just booking myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Las Vegas is only a worthwhile destination for the wealthy amongst us

Lol. Ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,161 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Firstly - appreciate the post OP :)

Secondly, 12 did ten nights in Vegas two years ago. Every second day we sat out and sunbathed. The alternate days we did some activities. Perfectly enjoyable to stay for more than 3 or 5 days.

Thirdly, as said above, the hotels are the relatively cheap part - especially mid week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭POKERKING

Dont stay in stratsophere under any circumstances!

I go every year usually get a week(i dont buy this 5 day max thing at all) for around 700 staying in decent places depending on the deal i can get.

If you want to go in May for 5/6 days a quick look gives me the following:

Flights May 12th Monday to Sat 17th May €517 each(skyscanner/airtickets.co.uk)

Then the cheapest decent strip accommodation i can see after a quick look is Harrahs is 282€ for a room for those dates(trivago/ebookers). You can obvioulsy pay more and more depending but Harrahs is fine.

So total cost 517 +141(282/2) is 658€ all in.

You dont need transfers, taxi from airport about 25$ from airport and prob 15/20 on way back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Kathnora

Stayed in The Carriage House which is a short walk up a side street from the Strip...at the Harley Davidson Cafe junction...very convenient location. It doesn't do breakfast and is one of those hotels where IF you want a break from the hustle and bustle of the Strip and "in-hotel casinos" this is a very good hotel for that purpose. It has lovely rooms and is really quiet at night in spite of being so near the strip. It may not suit everyone but I had enough of all the noise etc of the strip after a very long day and welcomed the peace and restfulness of this hotel.

P.S. It does have tea/coffee making facilities, a microwave,fridge and sink etc in the room which can be useful.

jescart wrote: »

its one stop via JFK.

as I said I figured there would be a catch and I wouldn't want to stay in a dodge area so that explains it.

Though I don't think flights for around 450 would be the norm but fair play to whoever got them.

<3 Vegas

If its worth 350 then I wouldn't see that as only accessible to the wealthy?
    Several posters have said they got flights for less than 500euro and that accommodation is cheap-I would see that as open to more than just wealthy.

As I said,at first glance it looked like a bargain,but others have pointed out the poor location of the hotel.

And please tell me how I can get to California from Dublin for 340euro return, I would be really interested!

Have to admit,if I was able to go to Vegas, I possibly would even with that in mind!

We have seen flights here for €400ish. I think in and around €500 is still pretty good.

I can see how you would think this is a bargain without knowing the hotel end of things. No harm in posting anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

dodzy wrote: »
    For January, or in January ? :D

Both :D Honeymoon is slowly taking shape.

We have seen flights here for €400ish. I think in and around €500 is still pretty good.

I can see how you would think this is a bargain without knowing the hotel end of things. No harm in posting anyway.

Thanks, I'll know better the next time!!!! First time posting a 'bargain' and it's not even a bargain!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭NewApproach

Stratosphere is a dive.

Only fly to Vegas through Heathrow or Gatwick with BA/Virgin. The American Carriers stopping over in the US makes for an awful trip.

Stratosphere is a dive.

Only fly to Vegas through Heathrow or Gatwick with BA/Virgin. The American Carriers stopping over in the US makes for an awful trip.

Amsterdam is obviously not a bad option either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,257 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Stratosphere is a dive.

We flew with Delta from Dublin to San Fran, and from Vegas back to Dublin, stopping off in Atlanta both times - no issues at all with the trip, compared to flying with BA. Plus the pre-clearance is handy. It was only EUR290 each at the time (5 years ago, I think), which was great value.

Stratosphere is a dive.

its better to go through london but going through US is fine as long as stopover isnt ridiculous(4hrs plus for me). Even if sometimes it is, its not end of world usually some good restaurants and bars to kill the time on the way over if you can get the price right for the flight.

Usually i pay around roughly 500e for a flight, have got it as low as 300e once and the highest ive paid is 600e, just book in advance and be flexible. All at various times of the year.

Stratosphere is a dive.

Why do you say this?
    I had a stop over in JFK before to Los Angeles and found it hassle free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭NewApproach

Reason is becuase the internal US leg tends to be on a cramped plane. Plus stopover is often in excess of four hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭clickhere

Thanks, I'll know better the next time!!!! First time posting a 'bargain' and it's not even a bargain!!!!

Thanks for posting,purplecow. I hope if you come across something you think is a bargain you will post it up here again.

Reason is becuase the internal US leg tends to be on a cramped plane. Plus stopover is often in excess of four hours.

The onboard food with Jet Blue leaves a lot to be desired,considering the treatment you would get on a similar length flight with say Aer Lingus!

Great to hear flights to Vegas can be gotten so cheaply,must keep an eye out although my holidays aren't very flexible so guess I miss out really on those bargains!

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭johnnyvegas22

how much cash would you need for a week lads?

howlong-300x196.gif

Please give us more details of your lifestyle and expectation to receive a decent answer.

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭Callanutd

How long is a piece of string! Ive been to Vegas as a student when I was on J1 and had an amazing time on a tight budget. Equally ive been a few times in the past couple of years with a decent amount of cash in my pocket and had a spectacular time.
    Great deals on Booze and gambling in old vegas, you can have a really great night down there for very little, you just need to get a taxi there and back from the strip. Similarly O'Sheas and Casino Royale on the strip offer cheap drinks and gambling. Some of the buffets offer great value and if you are doing any gambling dont be afraid to be cheeky and ask for buffet comps. I received comps twice, Flamingo and Luxor.

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭johnnyvegas22

anywhere from 500-2000 is my budget

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭SJ.

I really disagree with people who recommend flying via the UK - landing into the US from Ireland has the value of being pre-cleared with customs which can save hours. I certainly recommend shopping around to find flights with decent layovers and decent-size planes (avoid CRJ-200s!) but overall the shortest travel time is generally found by going west first. I also find it miserably unpleasant negotiating Heathrow after an overnight flight from the US - it's much better to land directly in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,440 ✭✭✭califano

I can vouch for the Stratosphere even though its been 17 years since i was last there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

I go every year and generally layover in Philly. I'm trying a new route this time aer lingus to California and then another hours flight to Vegas. Coming in at €507 flights.

califano wrote: »
    I can vouch for the Stratosphere even though its been 17 years since i was last there.

Vouch for it been a dump or good?

As people have said you can do Vegas as cheap or as dear as you want, plenty of ways to cheap it up while still having great time and obv you can spend any amount you wish upwards.

A grand for a week would go a long way inc a show food some shopping a small bit of gambling and moderate drinking.

ANXIOUS wrote: »
    I go every year and generally layover in Philly. I'm trying a new route this time aer lingus to California and then another hours flight to Vegas. Coming in at €507 flights.

What date is that for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

Seems like all the dates in October, Momondo is where it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Don't stay in the Stratosphere FFS. Go pretty much once a year for at least 7 days per trip and wouldn't stay there if you paid me. There's nowhere in the world cheaper to stay in a genuine 5* than in Vegas, it's worth splashing out a little. Go with Hotwire and get a room in the Vdara for about €100/night...

• Registered Users Posts: 31 Srfchoops1901

I always find booking Vegas as a package on ebookers or expedia works out to be the cheapest! Staying in the MGM for 10 nights in september, flying with Delta with ca. 90 mins stopover in Atlanta both ways and it only cost €800 pp. If you shop around long enough in advance there's plenty of value to be found

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

ANXIOUS wrote: »

What site did you get that on.

anywhere from 500-2000 is my budget

I mean that budget is fine but it depends how long you want to stay.

How you want to eat, drink and gamble.

Doing Vegas relatively right means about $50 ticket for a good DJ....$30 to skip a huge line and $10 a drink inside.

A good dinner will be $70+.

There is a cheap side to Vegas aswell so it really is what you make it. You can probably have a very good time over there for a week with $2000 if you dont gamble.

califano wrote: »

I dont think you can cooment on a hotel you have not set foot in with 17 years. You would have no idea of the potential alternatives now. I simply would not stay either side of NYNY or The Wynn.