Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ball in garden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Mobile Dj

PM received BenRowe and noted

Thx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Not strictly legal advice, but I have a solution for children and their pesky footballs:

releasethehounds.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

BenRowe wrote: »
    If kids continually kick ball in garden can you refuse to return it ?

We had neighbours on one side of our house when growing up where their would happen. We had our own swing-set & goal-posts out our back.

On one part a fence and trees and on another was a real high wall. The balls would often go over though through-out our playing years. Times the ball would be returned without asking; other times after we went over to politely ask; often then they would just refuse or deliberately burst the balls!

We'd have to ring our Late Loving Dad at work to bring home a new ball with him when he finished at 6pm so we could continue our matches evening-time.

Lookit, I know it can be frustrating but kids being kids, this will happen continuously. You seriously cannot put a price on Good Friendly Neighbours! I am sure you can refuse it as doubt any parent would kick up over the non-return of a ball or 10! but if you see any, just throw them over as found, and let the kids have their playtime.

You never know how a parent will react. Please remember that. To some kids that ball could've been given on a promise, or as a gift, or as a reward for good behaviour.
    Not every child will have parents as I did and may not react like mine did. Some kids may have parents who will react real negatively to this.

Just try and remember what it was like when you were that age having your fun and play-time. Please don't tell me you never done anything wrong or had a toy end up in the wrong place at some point or other.

Thanks,
    kerry4sam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,077 ✭✭✭finnharpsboy

Ball returned = Respect afforded
    No ball returned = Every burst ball we came across was deliberately launched into that garden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,519 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

kerry4sam wrote: »
    Lookit, I know it can be frustrating but kids being kids, this will happen continuously.

No it won't. Happening the odd time is grand, if its continuous they can **** off and buy a new ball and move their game somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

just keep out of it if you cannot answer the question, i do not need you to preach to me

I can see why you started the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭belacqua_

Throw the ball over the wall you silly old ball bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Ball returned = Respect afforded
    No ball returned = Every burst ball we came across was deliberately launched into that garden

what about you respecting your neighbour. works both ways and no excuse for your tactics here,

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 133 ✭✭Sir Chops

You could contact the Gardai about ongoing nuisance or for a more direct course of action stab every ball that comes into your garden - you are most certainly NOT obliged to return it - it is de facto trespass by an object so you would be well within your rights to act.

kerry4sam wrote: »
    We had neighbours on one side of our house when growing up where their would happen. We had our own swing-set & goal-posts out our back.

On one part a fence and trees and on another was a real high wall. The balls would often go over though through-out our playing years. Times the ball would be returned without asking; other times after we went over to politely ask; often then they would just refuse or deliberately burst the balls!

We'd have to ring our Late Loving Dad at work to bring home a new ball with him when he finished at 6pm so we could continue our matches evening-time.

Lookit, I know it can be frustrating but kids being kids, this will happen continuously. You seriously cannot put a price on Good Friendly Neighbours! I am sure you can refuse it as doubt any parent would kick up over the non-return of a ball or 10! but if you see any, just throw them over as found, and let the kids have their playtime.

You never know how a parent will react. Please remember that. To some kids that ball could've been given on a promise, or as a gift, or as a reward for good behaviour.
    Not every child will have parents as I did and may not react like mine did. Some kids may have parents who will react real negatively to this.

Just try and remember what it was like when you were that age having your fun and play-time. Please don't tell me you never done anything wrong or had a toy end up in the wrong place at some point or other.

Thanks,
    kerry4sam

this is why the country is in a mess...laissez faire...i remember playing as a child and we respected neighbours and their gardens. kids need to learn that there are limits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

I would throw back the ball, but sometimes it's difficult to know from which garden the ball came. I used to have a dog. If the dog got to the ball before I did, no more ball.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭rovoagho

When I used to work in my mother's house during the day, I found a direct correlation between ball control and meat skewers.

(Applied to the football. Not the child. That's 35 years I'll never get back.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Get a guard dog OP ;)

35383_2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

just keep out of it if you cannot answer the question, i do not need you to preach to me

I will not comment on your attitude but what I will say is that it is likely to attract more and more importantly deliberate mischief from these kids.
    It may now be an accidental miskick but once they identified you as the grumpy miser on the estate they will tease you most like.
    Seriously if they're not causing any damage, if its a mere nuisance you're better off not getting worked up over this. For your own good, its not healthy.
    If they're causing damage different story but you didn't mention any damage so I must assume you're just in a grumpy estate miser mood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭ProfessorPlum

Graces7 wrote: »
    this is why the country is in a mess...laissez faire...i remember playing as a child and we respected neighbours and their gardens. kids need to learn that there are limits.

The country is in a mess 'cos kids are playing football? Seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

Be careful how you respond in any case. When I was a kid if you showed that having the ball in your garden wound you up, the game quickly went from 'football' to 'let's get a rise out of this guy until he snaps.' We were little sh1ts back then. The best thing to do is just throw it back or let them get it themselves unless they're damaging flowers etc.

The country is in a mess 'cos kids are playing football? Seriously?

eejit. you know what i mean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭ProfessorPlum

eejit. you know what i mean

Emm. It would seem that your respect for others has waned considerably over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

I think MobileDJ's comments were reasonable.

nuac wrote: »
    I think MobileDJ's comments were reasonable.

Thank you, Not bothered in any way by his comments or PM received, life is too short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,290 ✭✭✭bobbyss

This would annoy the hell out of me. A tricky situation.

I am not sure if you stated whether the kids could access you garden without asking you ie jump over the wall and take it themselves. But I would object to anybody jumping over my wall at any time. Who knows what damage they would cause to flowers/shrubs and the time spent in developing a garden. And possible damage/injury to themselves.

The best solution was mentioned already. Always be ultra polite and respectful to children. Tell them it causes you a lot of problems but tell them that they can get their ball back once their parents pop over to collect it. That way the parents will be on full guard that you do not appreciate this situation. Point out to the parents the problems it is causing. This is a responsible and good way of dealing with the problem. The parents will not want to keep coming back so the penny will drop with them. Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭qdawg86

Tell them that you didn't find a ball in the garden.
    they can see it

Tell them they must be mistaken....because that's your ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The auld garden will be there long after you're gone OP.
    Give the kids back their ball and be a sport.
    They will respect you for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭dees99

bobbyss wrote: »
    This would annoy the hell out of me. A tricky situation.

I am not sure if you stated whether the kids could access you garden without asking you ie jump over the wall and take it themselves. But I would object to anybody jumping over my wall at any time. Who knows what damage they would cause to flowers/shrubs and the time spent in developing a garden. And possible damage/injury to themselves.

The best solution was mentioned already. Always be ultra polite and respectful to children. Tell them it causes you a lot of problems but tell them that they can get their ball back once their parents pop over to collect it. That way the parents will be on full guard that you do not appreciate this situation. Point out to the parents the problems it is causing. This is a responsible and good way of dealing with the problem. The parents will not want to keep coming back so the penny will drop with them. Good luck

That is absolutely genius advice bobbyss and advice I might use myself someday. The op should go with.

And wtf are people on about saying its good to see kids playing ball and not on the PlayStation.. they're not the OP's kids why the **** would he care if they're getting exercise or playing game consoles or smoking crack. They're not his kids, its not up to him to facilitate them and they're hobbies.

Brilliant advice from bobby though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Exactly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Boskowski wrote: »
    I will not comment on your attitude but what I will say is that it is likely to attract more and more importantly deliberate mischief from these kids.
    It may now be an accidental miskick but once they identified you as the grumpy miser on the estate they will tease you most like.
    Seriously if they're not causing any damage, if its a mere nuisance you're better off not getting worked up over this. For your own good, its not healthy.
    If they're causing damage different story but you didn't mention any damage so I must assume you're just in a grumpy estate miser mood.

Some people dont like being constantly annoyed by other people's kids. Deal with it. As for suggesting that OP is somehow asking for it by daring to react, please come off it. Lamest excuse ever.

"Thanks for the ball kids...my terrier just loves them. You're so generous to keep leaving them for her. With her teeth she just ploughs through them".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Rochelle

Mobile Dj wrote: »
    Thank you, Not bothered in any way by his comments or PM received, life is too short.

Paste up the PM he sent you for the laugh.

I think we all had miserable grumpy bollix of a neighbour when we were kids, looks like some things never change.

Rochelle wrote: »
    Paste up the PM he sent you for the laugh.

I think we all had miserable grumpy bollix of a neighbour when we were kids, looks like some things never change.

Nope...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

OP have you given the ball back to those poor children yet ? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭BenRowe

Thanks to those who made reasonable suggestions. This can be closed. I have solved the issue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭zoomaway

Thanks to those who made reasonable suggestions. This can be closed. I have solved the issue

Oh, that's a pity ( that the thread is closed because it was oh so funny!)
    Curious about how you solved it though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭zoomaway

zoomaway wrote: »
    Oh, that's a pity ( that the thread is closed because it was oh so funny!)
    Curious about how you solved it though!

PS On a serious note though the ball thing can be very annoying.
    I have had this with my neighbours too seventeen year olds landing the ball in the garden.
    After I got sick of throwing it back one time I held on to it as they didn't know whose garden it had landed in.
    Clearing out my utility room press a few weeks ago I found it.