Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Legends House

• 18-04-2014 12:00am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭

Starts tonight on the Network. Gene Okerlund, Hacksaw Jim Duggan, Hillbilly Jim, Howard Finkel, Jimmy Hart, Roddy Piper, Pat Patterson and Tony Atlas living in a gaff and getting up to whatever.

Edit: it's already up on the Network.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,216 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

No Sheiky-baby no watchy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,397 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Just watching legends house. It's not bad so far.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

Didn't think legends house was great to be honest.

Disengaging ****e to be honest.

rovert wrote: »

That is a better description :P

I can see why no network picked it up.

• Registered Users Posts: 838 ✭✭✭A Rogue Hobo

rovert wrote: »

I actually loved it in a real guilty pleasure way. It's so contrived, so set up, poorly acted. Sort of like a car crash, it's horrible, I know I shouldn't watch it but I can't keep tear my eyes away from it. Just watching Roddy Piper howl at the moon, wrestlecrap unfolding before my very eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Blue_Dabadee

I was not impressed with the first episode.

Sheik would make this show a billion times better if he was on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

Moved some posts from the WWE Network thread to here.

Thoughts:
    • They're just all old men who want to sit around! Most are present for Old School RAWs so it's not novel seeing them. What's the draw here?
    • Crazy Sheik or Flair going naitchin' would be many times better. What about Marty or Sid? Or Garvin!
    • Risky having this finished for 2 years but only showing it now - these guys are getting quite on in age.
    • Atlas is always eating. He'll eat while hugging. Also thought a gong is from "the Dong show" which is funny.
    • The neighbours kids are scared of Piper (who's trying to be friendly) - hilarious.
    • Pat Patterson asking the deli counter guy if he likes playing with meat, and then has some random dude stretch his hamstrings.
    • Roddy brings up a great point that their neighbour Gary Busey is known as an actor, whilst wrestlers are always known as their character (and can't escape it).

It's alright, but in it's current form I can't see much potential or many paying this show any more than just a passing interest. Hope I'm wrong about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

I expected the "guilty pleasure" thing with this show but no. Honestly this show was really, really bad. To make it work, it would have needed genuine stars likes Flair, Hogan, Mick Foley Austin, Sheik (he's a star on Twitter); guys who are recognisable but who probably wouldn't have done the show. None of the guys on the show are big stars anymore.

Because it's contrived; there isn't much in the way of a bunch of guys hanging around telling stores; which could have saved it.

• Registered Users Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Reebrock

I found it boring. Great concept, poor execution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭jmolloy

I'm not as willing to write it off based on the first episode but admittedly it wasn't fantastic. Piper is no doubt going to be the star of the show and there was some shining moments for him here. Let's see where this goes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I might check this out just for sheer morbid curiosity, if they did a show of legends just sitting around yakking about the good old days it'd be much better. I really hope they do more roundtable type shows on the network thats the kind of stuff I'd get it for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ape Lincoln

• Registered Users Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Tramps Like Us

"Holy Balls!"

Highlight (or lowlight) of last night was confussion over what they were cooking for dinner because all the meat was frozen. Mean Gene says feck it, why not go to a steakhouse.

Who's the girl that comes to the house from time to time?

Is she signed to WWE?

Ashley Roberts

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,618 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

mxph3 wrote: »
    Ashley Roberts

The Pussycat doll? Have a massive crush on her so might check out if true :P

Omg it is. SOLD

• Registered Users Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭Hashtag_HEEL

The Pussycat doll? Have a massive crush on her so might check out if true :P

Omg it is. SOLD

One of the best reasons for watching ant and dec by times!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,618 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Does this mean we have an excuse to post pictures of her in the "Divas" thread? Cause there's some fun pictures of her in the Jungle :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

Does this mean we have an excuse to post pictures of her in the "Divas" thread? Cause there's some fun pictures of her in the Jungle :P

I think his makes perfect sense! She IS now a female on WWE's payroll, ergo she is a WWE Diva! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭Hashtag_HEEL

I think his makes perfect sense! She IS now a female on WWE's payroll, ergo she is a WWE Diva! :D

Saints be praised!

• Registered Users Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Pingi

I love when Pat Patterson drinks wine and gets sausy. Needs more of that.

I'd say it counts... go for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

How was episode 2?

jaykhunter wrote: »
    How was episode 2?

As good/bad as the first. The aul boys got a bit sleazy when they went to a gym for sole exercise thingy called Zumba where there were women. Mean Gene quipped how he hated contrived TV shows which was the biggest laugh - he is the most entertaining.

just caught up on episode 2, enjoyed it. as a show it seems to be one of those we know we look ridiculous but we're essentially all decent types. i like most of them, atlas is one strange cat

Why am I still watching this :(

I hope Piper or someone will kick Atlas's ass

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,890 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Why am I still watching this :(

I guess that means ep3 is available as honestly I know ill watch it but this is what ive thought about both the episodes so far, They have sucked balls!

Obviously its a simple enough and workable premise that could be good with some tweaks and there are some individual little bits can be taken out of an episode as positives / humorous but generally its just meh, and whether its ageist or what I dunno but a lot of the time its just a load of auld farts doing feck all. (Ashley is hot but they instantly seem like a group of dirty old men once she appears) I'd swear it took about 20mins of episode 2 for a discussion on if someone will cook dinner, or what should they do now that its not cooked before someone said maybe call delivery and they treated him like he had just invented the wheel with that idea before he spent another 10mins failing to do so...

now that ive said that off I go to watch ep 3 :pac:

Its pretty bad but it has potential with better people.

Here's my fantasy lineup:

Ric Flair
    Scott Steiner
    Iron Sheik
    Honky Tonk Man
    Jim Cornette
    Vince Russo
    Kevin nash
    New Jack

Ric Flair
    Scott Steiner
    Iron Sheik
    Honky Tonk Man
    Jim Cornette
    Vince Russo
    Kevin nash
    New Jack

for some reason that lineup = someone will be killed for me... maybe thats just the inclusion of New Jack and how everyone loves Russo though.

Steiner & Sheiky baby would be definites. Flair woulda been a few years ago now I worry for the guy a little. Wouldnt mind if they mixed up the ages a little bit too even though its legends house and got in one or two relatively young guys in there and hell why not a woman or two, give them a ring also and see what happens or just some BB style tasks for the week that could lead to people being put up for elimination, then have a WWE AP / Network vote they promote on Raw each week (actually scratch that this was filmed ages ago but in a future series it could work).

Obviously its a simple enough and workable premise that could be good with some tweaks and there are some individual little bits can be taken out of an episode as positives / humorous but generally its just meh, and whether its ageist or what I dunno but a lot of the time its just a load of auld farts doing feck all.

It appears that WWE produced the show themselves whereas Total Divas has a productioj company working on it who specialising in making fake reality shows.

thats the way to go, edit the sh!t out of that stuff

just watched episode 3, not great but still mildly amusing at points.
    some thoughts
    -pat Patterson is really not likeable and he turns everything into a double entendre
    -Piper's probably against all odds one of the sanest guy's in the thing
    -Ashley seems to be having a ball but there really is nothing to her role that couldn't have been done by a wwe diva

I like Ashley but yeah still wondering why they didnt just get a Diva or even a string of them (different one each week or something) to do the show instead of paying someone from outside the company unless perhaps they thought she would attract some extra attension to the show.

EP3 was slightly better for me but I think thats just cos I like the Celeb apprentice and this just seemed like the WWE Legends house version of that (considering Busey's cameo previously im guessing whoever is the main man behind this is a fan too)

Ric Flair
    Scott Steiner
    Iron Sheik
    Honky Tonk Man
    Jim Cornette
    Vince Russo
    Kevin nash
    New Jack

Vince
    Bret
    Shawn
    HHH
    Undertaker
    Hogan
    Austin
    Goldberg

I would pay big money for this one. And watch it forever on loop.

Found myself questioning my life during the latest episode.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

Scott Steiner

I'm pretty sure you could get a whole season out of just Steiner by himself.

Imagine what he'd say to Ashley lol

Still have no idea why i watch this show each week.

edit: Ashley in a bikini in this weeks episode.