Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2014 Recruitment!

• Registered Users Posts: 226 ✭✭TDA2

Graciehart wrote: »
    They are actually hiring lol

Do they pay graduates extra? If so not interested!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 380 ✭✭vickmackey

oh this is class!! really, this is how people should react to pompous pricks! good to see it :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 35 Graciehart

TDA2 wrote: »
    Do they pay graduates extra? If so not interested!

Ha ha no I don't think so :)

• Registered Users Posts: 226 ✭✭TDA2

So junior out of curiosity what's your degree in?

• Registered Users Posts: 828 ✭✭✭crinkley

Wow that pay cut is interesting, just strange that the starting salary was given as 23 only last month at the session voluntarily, no one asked the question. It won't stop me applying, too late anyway I already have, but it would mean a drop in salary if I was successful but I have no dependents and not applying for the wage. Can totally understand people in a different position having to rethink their decision. I say those attending the IST could drop although if it wasn't for the boards I wouldn't know, haven't checked the website since I applied

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭19087

TDA2 wrote: »
    Yeah but not if you are joining at the same rank eg constable .

I should have probably worded that better, the navy thing I was talking about was two people both going in as officers, not one commissioned and one not. The pay evens up after a couple of years. I wouldn't ever have expected more pay as a graduate in the psni, I was just saying it wasn't a COMPLETELY ridiculous question to ask. Although with there grief yer man brought on himself it looks like he won't be back, under that username anyway!!

The pay thing is interesting. Although this is the job I've always wanted to do, it would be difficult to decide what to do with kids to feed, a mortgage to pay etc. Makes no odds for young people still living at home but for those 'more mature types' amongst us it could be an issue. I'm just glad (on a selfish note) that I'm starting in the next intake on the higher pay scale! That 4k difference would go a long way towards my childcare costs!!

• Registered Users Posts: 19 junior 1

Mop a top wrote: »
    Sorry I couldn't think if a better phrase since I'm stupid and only have life experience to see me through :-/

It's ok, I'm getting that impression with a lot of you here. Anyway, the IST is tricky enough, I'm sure a fair few of the lesser mortals here will drop off like flies after it. Their standards seem pretty low and the test demands a lot. Factor in the new pay allowance, fitness test, interviews and above all else attitudes, I estimate around 75% of poster here won't make the cut. No surprises there!
    vickmackey wrote: »
    oh this is class!! really, this is how people should react to pompous pricks! good to see it :-)

Lol can't wait to see you fail the induction.
    Dekkers wrote: »
    Something tells me junior won't be applying now that the remuneration package is beneath him/her.

What makes you think I was in it for the money?

I'm no forum mod or anything, nor can I tell anyone else what to do but....

Think it may be best for folk to totally ignore any trolling that may be occurring on this thread!

What is the PSNI's policy with taking your weapon home? I heard it's a mandatory requirement and if so, does this mean it's easier to get a permit for other weapons?

Think I was def correct in my last post!

Anyway, back on topic. For those waiting to get their IST date and haven't done it before, the spelling/grammar test is really easy way to get marks but also a very easy way to lose them...

If you think your grammar might be a little bit poor then it's a good idea to brush up on common mistakes (I'm sure there's something online with commonly misused and misspelled words)

19087 wrote: »
    I'm no forum mod or anything, nor can I tell anyone else what to do but....

Think it may be best for folk to totally ignore any trolling that may be occurring on this thread!
    he/she is a twat....
    i concur- just ignore and karma will do the rest:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭Mop a top

junior 1 wrote: »
    It's ok, I'm getting that impression with a lot of you here. Anyway, the IST is tricky enough, I'm sure a fair few of the lesser mortals here will drop off like flies after it. Their standards seem pretty low and the test demands a lot. Factor in the new pay allowance, fitness test, interviews and above all else attitudes, I estimate around 75% of poster here won't make the cut. No surprises!

Junior jealousy is a terrible trait. Tell you what whenever you've passed your IST, AC, PCA and Medical and SMT and are waiting for THAT call to say you're in, like this dumb cow without a degree, then you can give me s**t, at least then we'll be on an even playing field so for now be a good wee spoilt boy for once and quietly sit on the naughty step. At least there you'll be able to ponder the meanings of the acronyms (the funny words made from initials) that I've used since you clearly have no clue about PSNI (Police Service of Northern Ireland just in case you weren't sure) when you ask dumb ass questions about weapons. I'm fairly certain most people on here know PSNI's ruling on weapons.

We're all tired of your spiteful attitude and as you can see from previous comments you'll just be ignored from now on. A bit of counselling should help with the mummy/daddy issues and I dare say a BA in fine arts would have as much relevance and use in PSNI as chocolate rounds, that's another word for bullets. I'm only assuming the degree is something seriously useless since you haven't shared it with the forum as someone else requested.

A little something that you reminded me about. Thanks junior, gave me a laugh and reminded me that I made the right choice about MY LIFE, not everyone's the same, we're all individuals living our own journey and need to appreciate our differences. Everyone else feel free to listen ;)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0DvDu9mYWGc&sns=em

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭MissJC13

Junior jealousy is a terrible trait. Tell you what whenever you've passed your IST, AC, PCA and Medical and SMT and are waiting for THAT call to say you're in, like this dumb cow without a degree, then you can give me s**t, at least then we'll be on an even playing field so for now be a good wee spoilt boy for once and quietly sit on the naughty step. At least there you'll be able to ponder the meanings of the acronyms (the funny words made from initials) that I've used since you clearly have no clue about PSNI (Police Service of Northern Ireland just in case you weren't sure) when you ask dumb ass questions about weapons. I'm fairly certain most people on here know PSNI's ruling on weapons.

We're all tired of your spiteful attitude and as you can see from previous comments you'll just be ignored from now on. A bit of counselling should help with the mummy/daddy issues and I dare say a BA in fine arts would have as much relevance and use in PSNI as chocolate rounds, that's another word for bullets. I'm only assuming the degree is something seriously useless since you haven't shared it with the forum as someone else requested.

A little something that you reminded me about. Thanks junior, gave me a laugh and reminded me that I made the right choice about MY LIFE, not everyone's the same, we're all individuals living our own journey and need to appreciate our differences. Everyone else feel free to listen ;)

Mop a top, you absolute legend! This gave me a good wee laugh. Legend!

good for you!!
    i'm just ignoring the prick....and they may hope they dont get through to any of our stages as they most definitely would not be welcomed...... would be a very lonely officer if they managed to get in (which is very dangerous).....that's if they are actually applying and not just on this to be an obnoxious wee gob****e....could be anyone on these sites, so no further direct correspondence is the best way forward.- personally I have reported the issue and would strongly encourage others to do so.:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 975 ✭✭✭Dekkers

Sorry for feeding the troll everyone but this is a sad day for me on boards. It's the first time I've ever seen a user use the words 'Can't wait to see you fail' (the induction). It really flies in the face of the entire purpose and values of the forum.

I mean, it's not as sad as someone being under the impression that you can somehow 'fail' the induction, but still.

Sorry for feeding the troll everyone but this is a sad day for me on boards. It's the first time I've ever seen a user use the words 'Can't wait to see you fail' (the induction). It really flies in the face of the entire purpose and values of the forum.

I mean, it's not as sad as someone being under the impression that you can somehow 'fail' the induction, but still.
    :Dexactamundo!! had quite a laugh at that!
    but still wouldnt reply....waste of space!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭Mop a top

MissJC13 wrote: »
    Mop a top, you absolute legend! This gave me a good wee laugh. Legend!

Thanks sweetie!!! Feeling very much like mother hen here and I'll be damned if some little tit is going to get away with wishing ill on potential new colleagues and be so condescending towards others. Arrogant silly boy with no common decency, perhaps mummy and daddy should have paid for etiquette lessons as well as his degree, maybe then Junior would be the kind of person welcomed on the forum. His attitude is worse than that of my kids. Definitely a time out on the step required lol

• Registered Users Posts: 975 ✭✭✭Dekkers

:Dexactamundo!! had quite a laugh at that!
    but still wouldnt reply....waste of space!:rolleyes:

Tbh Vick. Wouldn't mind seeing you fail the induction either. I really don't know what ye would have to do so I'm guessing the entertainment value would be quite high.

Anyway, I am genuinely sorry for rising to the bait. Will leave the rest to the mods!

The funny thing about all of this is that most of you here expect to walk into a job that pays 29,000 euro off the bat with absolutely no formal qualifications. Most graduates would be chuffed to get a salary like that yet some of you expect it.
    And then you have the cheek to ridicule me for raising the topic?

Now that's entitlement.

and.......queue the tumbleweeds.....shhhhhhhh.........ah, silence is golden :-)

Tbh Vick. Wouldn't mind seeing you fail the induction either. I really don't know what ye would have to do so I'm guessing the entertainment value would be quite high.

Anyway, I am genuinely sorry for rising to the bait. Will leave the rest to the mods!
    well, to be fair if i get to the induc...induct....that thingy place ;).... i probably couldnt work out how to get inside :eek:

:D:D:D

well, to be fair if i get to the induc...induct....that thingy place ;).... i probably couldnt work out how to get inside :eek:

:D:D:D

Don't sweat it, I'm sure there are many other jobs that will pay you 29,000 euro a year if you don't make it through......{cue the tumbleweed}.

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭CDizzle

Junior, have you got a job at the minute?

nuts, do we get paid in euro now????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭the411

I am astounded by the comments on this forum in the last few days.

You are expected to conduct yourself with a high degree of professionalism and maturity throughout this process.

If successful in this process, we will be dealing with a wide variety of people who have differing views to ourselves. We cannot berate anyone for their personal viewpoints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭wannabegard

Am i the only lad from the south applying? #feelingalone:(

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭ZeGerman

I'm really curious as to which subject this degree is in and why he should be paid more than others joining at the same rank?. Maybe there's a degree course I haven't heard of that shows you how to manhandle drunk unreasonable 20 stone rugby players out of your place of work or tells you what it's like to be called at 4am to go to your aunts house to clean blood off the walls and ceiling after your selfish so and so cousin cut his wrists to the bone. Reckon there's a module on what a body that's all plump and ripe after 3 days in the water smells like when you find it?. I reckon I'd get a first as I've done all these things and many more in my life. I also have a degree but it's pretty useless outside the subject so I fail to see why I would be paid more than the next person. So go on tell us what the degree mummy and daddy paid for is in, give us all a giggle.

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭MissJC13

junior 1 wrote: »
    The funny thing about all of this is that most of you here expect to walk into a job that pays 29,000 euro off the bat with absolutely no formal qualifications. Most graduates would be chuffed to get a salary like that yet some of you expect it.
    And then you have the cheek to ridicule me for raising the topic?

Now that's entitlement.

What's your degree in junior? Do you have any job at the minute? Or any life experience of any description, that doesn't involve sitting in a classroom?

But sure I shouldn't really having an opinion on formal education. I'm just a 20 year old, self employed individual in a specialist role, with no degree, who will literally be taking a 55% reduction in pay if I get into the police. And I'll enjoy every second of it because money isn't why people want to be in the psni! But there are people here with families, kids to feed, bills to pay - so asking a liveable wage to do that is a risky job is perfectly understandable.

Your username junior really irks me. It gives the impression that you're quite young, probably around my age. And that's really a good way of giving the realist, hard grafting, nice people of our age a bad image. Kindly wind it. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭missyme82

Have to say this is a distraction from the wait if nothing else.

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭missyme82

nuts, do we get paid in euro now????

was thinkin that!! im gonna ask for euros sounds more impressive :) except if he/she is only just applying it'll only be around the 24,000 euros for them