Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chelsea v Sunderland, 5:30 k/o, SS1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Thus endeth Mourinho record at the Bridge, and the title but gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

As bad as the penalty decision was, Chelsea were truly shocking, deserved very little from that match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

6mins added time played and still couldnt hit a barn door today thankfully!

well played Poyets army:D how bitter do those salty tears taste now JT and Jose:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Well played by Sunderland today, Chelsea were shocking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

Congrats to Sunderland, delighted for Poyet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Mourinho= Specialist in failure :D

Isn't he just.

Porto (2002–2004)
    Primeira Liga (2): 2002–03, 2003–04
    Taça de Portugal (1): 2002–03
    Supertaça Cândido de Oliveira (1): 2003
    UEFA Champions League (1): 2003–04
    UEFA Cup (1): 2002–03

Chelsea (2004–2007)
    Premier League (2): 2004–05, 2005–06
    FA Cup (1): 2006–07
    Football League Cup (2): 2004–05, 2006–07
    FA Community Shield (1): 2005

Internazionale (2008–2010)
    Serie A (2): 2008–09, 2009–10
    Coppa Italia (1): 2009–10
    Supercoppa Italiana (1): 2008
    UEFA Champions League (1): 2009–10

Real Madrid (2010–2013)
    La Liga (1): 2011–12
    Copa del Rey (1): 2010–11
    Supercopa de España (1): 2012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Sunderland won't hold on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,829 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

And that is our title challenge officially dead and buried.
    Well done to Sunderland, bringing down a 77 game Jose at Home unbeaten run to an end.

Well played Sunderland, hope ye stay up, definently deserve it with recent results.
    davycc wrote: »
    6mins added time played and still couldnt hit a barn door today thankfully!

well played Poyets army:D how bitter do those salty tears taste now JT and Jose:D:D

Why would they be crying they have a champions league semi final midweek.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Isn't he just.

Porto (2002–2004)

Chelsea (2004–2007)

Real Madrid (2010–2013)

Wenger also has a fine cv, but yet the classless 1 still called him a failure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭KingdomYid

I thought it was a pen, and even the defenders reaction was one of a player who knew he fouled the forward.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭LightningBlue

Sunderland have had a huge impact on the title race in the last few weeks:

Liverpool nicked a 2-1 at home with pressure late on - Liverpool 3 points
    City could only scrape a 2-2 at home with help of Mannone's brain fart City 1 point
    Chelsea lose 2-1 through complete and utter profligacy up front and Sunderland taking their chances expertly. Chelsea 0 points

It all comes down to small margins like this over 38 games.
    Small swings against teams at the bottom the table fighting for their lives from March on make the difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Well done Sunderland.

That was a totally deserved 3 points.

Has also won Sunderland a special place in my LFC heart!

Hope you stay up, 4 points this week is amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,829 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Wenger also has a fine cv, but yet the classless 1 still called him a failure.

Jesus man, would ya ever just give it a rest and congratulate Sunderland on a pretty massive win.

Paully D (I think!) if you're reading, congrats on today. Massive 3 points.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

Personally I thought the turning point came when the referee entirely ignored the shove on Ramires when he has an open goal, it's as stone wall as it gets, literally anywhere else on the pitch and it's a bread and butter foul, it denies a penalty and a straight red card. That's only compounded by the incorrect decision to award a penalty to Sunderland. That's how it goes though and that's all but put an end to the Chelsea title challenge.

In terms of the big picture, as much as I dislike Liverpool, them winning the title does pose less of a long term threat than Man City winning the title, given their resources and the squad they already have in place.

For now it's onto the Champions League semi finals where we will have to be more decisive in front of goal. In the long term, the need for a striker is clearly desperate, stick Diego Costa in that team, get Eden Hazard back in the side and the potential of what they side can do over the next few years is undeniable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

You can't go jumping in in the penalty box and get no where near the ball. It was a penalty for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Sunderland won't hold on here.

This made me chuckle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Jose is a bit ingracious there.

Nothing to do with a bad team performance or the sending off, all to do with refs.

Spot on there by Hoddle, always deflects the blame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Fudge You

I hate Jose.
    Jamie and Glenn are right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

niallo27 wrote: »
    You can't go jumping in in the penalty box and get no where near the ball. It was a penalty for me.

Ah now. It clearly wasnt a penalty. You can jump wherever you like in the box, you cant do much about the Sunderland player standing on you and winning a penalty.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 68,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

Well done Sunderland......Liverpool's title for sure now!

He really is a bad bad loser, never his fault of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Mourinho disgraceful there.

I thought he was going to say "Congratulations Liverpool" too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,887 ✭✭✭✭klose

That was so embaressing there, cringy stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Nope, saw it again, never a pen.

Jamie Redknapp is a terrible human being.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

lol Redknapp trying to say that was a peno when it's clear as day on the big tv behind him it wasn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Isn't he just.

Porto (2002–2004)

Chelsea (2004–2007)

Real Madrid (2010–2013)

I'll take pep and Carlo any day.
    Mourinho's comments were unsurprising and that says a lot.

Every manager is entitled to the odd crazy comment. Mou, is just predictable and that's what so sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Jamie has lost the rag.

bur wrote: »
    Nah, Hoddle was almost praising him for it.

Redknapp has it spot on. An embarrassment.

Redknapp is unbearable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Wasn't a peno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

KingdomYid wrote: »
    He really is a bad bad loser

He's just not that used to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Crackle

Really poor performance throughout, but the last 30 minutes were especially poor. Just resorting to long balls, most of which went straight to Sunderland players. With Oscar's loss of form, Hazard being injured and others not doing enough, the selling of Mata looks to be biting us in the rear.

The unbeaten home run had to end sometime, just a pity it had to be now at this stage of the season. Congratulations to Sunderland, fighting for their lives and picked up 4 good points this week.

I'd normally defend most of what Jose does, but that interview was embarrassing.

lol Redknapp trying to say that was a peno when it's clear as day on the big tv behind him it wasn't
    He's talking about the defender panicking. I assume if he hears about someone getting beaten up walking home from the pub it's their fault for not getting a taxi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

Peno every day of the week.

Essien wrote: »
    He's just not that used to it.

True enough in England, but in Spain whenever Barca beat him he was never gracious in defeat if I remember correctly.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Missed the interview, what did he say? Referee's fault I suppose? Its never Jose's.

keano_afc wrote: »
    Missed the interview, what did he say? Referee's fault I suppose? Its never Jose's.

I don't think Jose gave the penalty did he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Fudge You

efb wrote: »
    Wasn't a peno.

As Gary Neville and Jamie Carragher say it. The defender and goalkeeper should not go flying in, and give the attacker an opportunity to go down. Its makes the refs decision easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭garra

Have to say Sunderland deserved the win for having the bottle to defend properly and the fight to keep attacking today, fair play to them.
    As for the home performance - long balls and generally turgid possession of the ball around the sunderland area, no ideas, no inspiration, no main-man striker.. And the little horse falls over, tired, battered, flat and crestfallen. :D

Also Sky completely chickened out of criticising the referee after the match. There was a replay angle before the penalty was taken that showed the referee had an absolutely perfect view of what happened. They didn't mention that and didn't show it after the match.

They have a tendency to do that...

Maybe they are afraid of a FA fine too :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,612 ✭✭✭eigrod

The sooner Mourinho fecks off out of the game, the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

I'd like to see Mourinho's interview if anyone sees a video of it around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭bur

Mourinho being shrewd according to Hoddle. Ugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,747 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Personally I thought the turning point came when the referee entirely ignored the shove on Ramires when he has an open goal, it's as stone wall as it gets, literally anywhere else on the pitch and it's a bread and butter foul, it denies a penalty and a straight red card. That's only compounded by the incorrect decision to award a penalty to Sunderland. That's how it goes though and that's all but put an end to the Chelsea title challenge.

In terms of the big picture, as much as I dislike Liverpool, them winning the title does pose less of a long term threat than Man City winning the title, given their resources and the squad they already have in place.

For now it's onto the Champions League semi finals where we will have to be more decisive in front of goal. In the long term, the need for a striker is clearly desperate, stick Diego Costa in that team, get Eden Hazard back in the side and the potential of what they side can do over the next few years is undeniable.
    Conveniently ignoring the Ramires red which wasn't given.

eigrod wrote: »
    The sooner Mourinho fecks off out of the game, the better.

Yes I can't wait until one of the games greatest ever tacticians and fantastically charismatic characters who has given football some absolutely priceless moments leaves the game, feck it, lets have him walk the plank, the scoundrel!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭ShoulderChip

keano_afc wrote: »

no he congratulated the ref.
    I assume despite that you will still have a problem with it.

AdamD wrote: »
    Conveniently ignoring the Ramires red which wasn't given.

That's the Sky Sports method of analysis, take an incident out of context and analyse it as though it were a crime scene. If the referee gets the first decision correct then Larsson is no longer on the pitch, Chelsea are a goal ahead, Sunderland take tip off and it sets into action an entirely different course of events. You should check out The Butterfly Effect for more on this topic.