Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Saturday Night Show: April 19th 2014 9.50pm

• 19-04-2014 1:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭

It's Holy Saturday and Brendan is back with the last show of lent.

Who's in the house? ...

You've gotta know when to hold, know when to fold, know when to walk away ... Former Armagh Footballer and occasional Second Captain-er, Oisín McConville will be discussing the gambling addiction that almost destroyed his life, how he came out the other side to become an Addiction Counsellor and why gambling is something sports organisations need to talk about.

I've been crying, such a long time, reaching out for you, but you're not here, what's another year? ... Former Eurovision winner Shay Healy will be in to talk to Brendan about why life is for living and he will also perform his heartbreaking song “When You Become Stardust Too”

Is she really going out with him? Is she really gonna take him home tonight? Two experts on dating will be telling us how to meet someone and get them to go out with you. Whoopitty do.

Have some more chicken, have some more pie. It doesn't matter if it's boiled or fried - Just eat it American comedian Jim Gaffigan will be giving his unique perspective on food and family

Juliet says, hey Romeo - You nearly gave me a Heart Attack No, not that one but 17 year old Danny Battles will be performing his song “Heart Attack”

It all starts at 9.50pm, and it is followed by an extra long Easter Vigil Mass. RTE are too good to us.

Cute-Pug-Easter-Bunny-puppy-bowl-33877768-528-529.jpg

448930-bigthumbnail.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

What is RTE's fixation with illness, depression and addiction?

Sick of it. Haven't watched either of the weekend chat shows, or listened to John Murray or TalkTaJowww in I don't know how long because of the maudlin and negative approach they seem to have to everything.

I'm all for awareness, but jaysus, it's ridiculous at this stage. Some of the presenters, like Tubridy, actually seem to enjoy it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

What is RTE's fixation with illness, depression and addiction?

Sick of it. Haven't watched either of the weekend chat shows, or listened to John Murray or TalkTaJowww in I don't know how long because of the maudlin and negative approach they seem to have to everything.

I'm all for awareness, but jaysus, it's ridiculous at this stage. Some of the presenters, like Tubridy, actually seem to enjoy it.

And as I've pointed out before, the time given over to these serious issues on the SNS has increased lately... :(

• Registered Users Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Skid X wrote: »
    Who's in the house? ...

I have the very single from Brendan here in the CD rack Skid....:D

I must ask him to autograph it for me!....

:D:D:D

Great OP!......:):):) (as usual!)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

I have the very single from Brendan here in the CD rack Skid....:D

I must ask him to autograph it for me!....

:D:D:D

Great OP!......:):):) (as usual!)...

Thanks, you may go back to another show and get him to sign it. And sing it.

He'd love that :)

Thanks, you may go back to another show and get him to sign it. And sing it.

He'd love that :)

He would............yeah...........;)

I'd say Brendan would rather forget that foray into the "TOTP" scene!!....:D

Anyway, they won't let me back after setting off the door alarm last week trying to break into Andrew Trimble's dressing room....:eek::o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

Brilliant op Skid and super cute kittehs and duckey to boot:):).

Grey what in the name of God did you get up to last weekend, or is it a case of what happens in Donnybrook stays in Donnybrook?;):D:D

cofy wrote: »

Grey what in the name of God did you get up to last weekend, or is it a case of what happens in Donnybrook stays in Donnybrook?;):D:D

;) cofy......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,321 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Evening all!

gallo-summer-red.jpg

A cheeky and fruity little number...and the wine's not bad either :pac:

Is it a bit crowded behind your couch WM tonight??.....:D:D:D

Are you trying to tell us something?:p

Is it a bit crowded behind your couch WM tonight??.....:D:D:D

Are you trying to tell us something?:p

I spent last night in a talking car...he did all the driving though :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I'm checking in! The nephew gone on, happy Chelsea lost singing YNWA, so I'm snuggled up in bed watching TSNS. Sis invited me for lunch tomorrow, and I get steak cos I don't like lamb! Result!

Ive been on the Jameson

Two experts on dating will be telling us how to meet someone and get them to go out with you.

That sounds slightly agressive

I wonder what's their answer - Hypnosis? Bowl her over with talk about your dual frontage?

I spent last night in a talking car...he did all the driving though :D

Ah, sure you'll get a few tips on the chat up tonight apparently!!...

I'm glad you had a nice night though....:pac:

I preferred last week's audience ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Evening all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,675 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Evening folks. What's happenin?

I preferred last week's audience ;)

Rowdy lot.

I heard they drank the place dry....:o

ZING ZING!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Brendan doesnt seem to like doing the jokes any more. Seems like it's a bit of a chore to him, strange given that the comedy is where he started...

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Evening folks. What's happenin?

You get to threaten someone until they go out with you apparently....:eek:

That's what Skid said....:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,516 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Loving this long weekend myself, two more glorious days of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

Uhhh... Easter pig? :confused: :rolleyes: ;)

talk about phoning in the jokes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭emanresu esrever

is this live?

"Any good tips for Fairyhouse, Oisin?"

What is it with GAA players and their demons?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Good evening. What's this, some new talk show? :)

Durdle urdle sitiation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,739 ✭✭✭sudzs

Buzz?? This guy is distinctly lacking in buzz... :(

easily led

Pop goes BBC2 at 10:30 /justsaying

Brendan is not that funny tonight....

Jedward charging money for a chat?....they must be short of a few bob....

Oooooooohhhhh

Brendan would have got a big boo from the grey crowd for that Man U dig....:mad:

M

Wonder how much is the max he ever bet, how much is the max he ever won?

All this "carrying the hopes of the parish into battle" ****e can take it out of you.

• Registered Users Posts: 904 ✭✭✭squadro

dunno but i opened up a pp account recently and ended up betting on a football match in chile at 2 o clock in the morning. beware folks its baaaad.

Gambling addiction is really scary. It's much easier to understand addiction when there's a substance involved.

Good man, Oisin, fair play.

14?.....

That's an early start!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,715 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Online betting is disgraceful. It's ruined lots of families

M

I find the bookies in general smelly kips, betting online is a much easier experience.

GAA players in school were w@nkers

Gambling addiction is really scary. It's much easier to understand addiction when there's a sustance involved.

Good man, Oisin, fair play.

As the Mammy used to say Donie, you fall down when you drink too much, you keep going with gambling...

Im on BBC1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,715 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

He has his hand on his crotch while talking about it. Not a good sign

M

Ally Dick wrote: »
    He has his hand on his crotch while talking about it. Not a good sign

Possibly he has money on himself doing it ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Fair play to Oisín for beating his addiction against the odds.... Unfortunately, given that the odds were so good, he had backed himself not to, and as such he lost a lot of money..

Ally Dick wrote: »
    Online betting is disgraceful. It's ruined lots of families

This business of advertising odds at half time is quite dangerous, I think.

Imagine you were struggling with addiction and you had to watch them tempting you at every ad break during a match?

I find the bookies in general smelly kips, betting online is a much easier experience.

You can't get a free cup of coffee from your laptop though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,739 ✭✭✭sudzs

Gambling addiction is really scary. It's much easier to understand addiction when there's a substance involved.

Not really. There is a difference between substance addiction and psychological addiction. Usually the substance addiction is relatively easy to get over, it's the psychological addiction that is the bigger problem

M

You can't get a free cup of coffee from your laptop though ;)

Or free finger food during some of the bigger events :D