Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ulster Bank. No photo ID, anyone else had this issue?

Options
  • 24-04-2014 10:48am
    Registered Users Posts: 649 ✭✭✭

I'm an existing customer with Ulster Bank and I want to change my account over from a Current Account to a Student Account.

The catch is, I have absolutely no form of photo identification apart from a Garda age card which (unlike everywhere else) Ulster Bank do not accept.

I have an out of date passport (cannot be accepted) and a student card (cannot be used for proof of photo ID but yet can be used as proof that I am a student.....the logic behind that is so messed up).

Ulster Bank have on the list of options that an ML10 form can be obtained from the Garda...yet the Garda have stopped providing ML10 forms altogether.

Has anyone else run into a similar problem? How was it resolved? Do I have any other methods of obtaining acceptable photo id that don't have me buying a driving license or a passport?

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

It's beginning to become ridiculous. We don't have any universal photo ID in Ireland other than passports.

The government keep.passing more and more anti-fraud / money laundering legislation, all of which requires photo ID.

They need to have an optional state issued photo ID card.

I'm totally opposed to the continental ideas of requiring people to carry them all the time but they're very useful for transacting secure business like this or for EU travel.

• Registered Users Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Steviemoyne