Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ordering a pint of milk with your lunch/dinner - Unusual?

124»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

awec wrote: »
    Used to come with just a wee foil top on it, and when you opened it there would be little bits of cream floating at the top.

Remember it well as a wee'un. People used to leave a bit of plywood out so the Milkman could put it on top of the bottles to prevent the birds from pecking through the foil to sup the cream that floated to the top. Was it the same down here I wonder?
    Proper full fat milk that tasted better than anything you can buy today.

I'd love to taste it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Karl Stein wrote: »
    Remember it well as a wee'un. People used to leave a bit of plywood out so the Milkman could put it on top of the bottles to prevent the birds from pecking through the foil to sup the cream that floated to the top. Was it the same down here I wonder?

I'd love to taste it again.

I have it every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Ann Landers

Zaph wrote: »
    I always ordered a pint of milk in a particular place I used to regularly go to for lunch. Their menu actually offered the choice of a glass or a pint of milk. And this was in Dublin city centre, as far from culchie territory as you could get.

They might have had a large culchie clientele though.

It's nice with bacon and cabbage and a feed of spuds.

Am, I believe it's spelled 'shpuds' - feckin' hell, get it right. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 680 ✭✭✭MS.ing

Interesting fact:

Semi-skimmed milk has more calcium in it than full fat.

The calcium in milk is in the water not the cream.

abother interesting fact, skimmed milk tastes like horsepiss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

MS.ing wrote: »
    abother interesting fact, skimmed milk tastes like horsepiss

What the hell were you doing tasting horse piss?
    I have it every day.

Can you get it pasteurised but not homogenised?

myshirt wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with a pint of milk with the lunch. But pressing for it when it's not on the menu, that for me is a paddling.

It's milk though, it's not like there's a recipe or ingredients they might not have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

They don't call me Happyman The Calf for nothing. Ice cold milk, yum, where' the fridge?

having too much in your system can lead to health problems so you shouldn't really be drinking milk as a full grown adult.

Huh? Yes, too much calcium can cause health problems, but it doesn't follow tha that means you shouldn't drink glasses of milk as an adult. Too much of anything is bad for you. A few glasses of milk a week plus whatever else you use milk for is not going to cause health problems. Adults do actually need a decent amount of calcium in their diet, especially if they're taking steroids for something or have brittle bones or have low bone density. But even a perfectly healthy adult needs some, and this can be supplied by glasses of milk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Worked in Blighty where a pint of milk with breakfast was very common for building workers. And the Gold Cap left on the doorstep was lovely. Here Benny Hill belts it out: :D

SamAK wrote: »
    MMMMM a pint of cow puss with your dinner..

Delightful.

You do know what pus is, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    It's a culchie thing, they wouldn't understand.
    I used to get pints of milk with chips in burdocks in dublin city years back. It was very popular to get them, nearly all the auld lads did. It goes well with chips but also it was cheap, they and other chippers used to tend to charge the same as a supermarket would back then.

They all started jacking up the price though, I see loads of small milks in chipper fridges and its not on the menu, I guess they might still charge reasonable prices to auld lads who've been going there years.
    kfallon wrote: »
    There is nothing better when you wake up with a hangover than a big glass/cup of really cold milk! You can feel the coldness slipping down through your body, heaven :)
    And then it hits the stomach acid and curdles and starts to stink so bad it makes you sick, lovely cottage cheese looking sick, with a tinge of yellow bile.

G.K. wrote: »
    I was having a curry with some people a few months back, and when one of my mates asked for a glass of milk the waiter literally said "What's wrong with you?"

Ya know, curry is one of the foods it makes the most sense to order milk with, as dairy products cool down the spicy. That's why curries are often served with raita or natural yogurt, and hot wings with blue cheese dressing. So the waiter's reaction was odd in this instance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭Curly Judge

Next... a thread on the availability, price and merits of red lemonade?:D

I was always brought up to believe a glass of (low fat) milk a day was good for you and my friend (who's a dietitian with years of experience and NOT a nutritionist) agrees. I'm not sure about pints and pints of it daily though.

Full-fat is better, you still get lots of calcium. A lot of dietitians seem to be trained in the food pyramid school of thought, sadly, not just nutritionists.

I've had friends from Spain and Italy comment on how weird they think it is that Irish adults will drink a glass of milk with dinner.

I often find Italians to be particularly judgmental about cuisines other than their own. Open your minds, people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I've had friends from Spain and Italy comment on how weird they think it is that Irish adults will drink a glass of milk with dinner.
    I think its weird how people drink that UHT shite regardless of age or gender, I remember being in france & spain dying for non-uht milk as a child. Its weird in this thread that some are singling out males.

There is a fair reason for some not drinking it

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Milk
    In many cultures of the world, especially the Western world, humans continue to consume milk beyond infancy, using the milk of other animals (especially cattle, goats and sheep) as a food product. Initially, the ability to digest milk was limited to children as adults did not produce lactase, an enzyme necessary for digesting the lactose in milk. Milk was therefore converted to curd, cheese and other products to reduce the levels of lactose. Thousands of years ago, a chance mutation spread in human populations in Europe that enabled the production of lactase in adulthood

YOu can see intolerance levels here
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lactase_persistence#Lactase_persistence_in_nonhumans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Putin

I thought it was only children that drank milk with their meals. Apparently its children plus boggers.

On an international scale, there isn't any real sized cities in Ireland. There's a large town call Dublin and the Dubs themselves call it town. I always find it amusing when I read such a post in a tiny country like Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

My girlfriend looks at me like I have two heads when we go out for dinner and I order a pint of milk, it's always my second choice if I didn't fancy Coke or anything fizzy, always more inclined to order milk when eating anything with spuds or something spicy.

Always get a funny look of the waitress's too for saying milk or pint of milk, doesn't matter what it's served in, milk is always an odd choice. I grew up having milk with most meals, I just got used to it. Had coke or diluted stuff the odd day but primarily milk.

Girlfriend always says funnily "Well aren't you a healthy bastard!" when I say milk to restaurant employees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

What the hell were you doing tasting horse piss?

Can you get it pasteurised but not homogenised?

I dunno. I get it straight from the tank.

Putin wrote: »
    On an international scale, there isn't any real sized cities in Ireland. There's a large town call Dublin and the Dubs themselves call it town. I always find it amusing when I read such a post in a tiny country like Ireland.

Dublin is a proper-sized city. No, it's not Tokyo or London or LA but its size is enough for it to be considered a proper city. I wish people would stop trotting out this crap about it not being a proper city. It's not true.

Would you consider Zurich a proper city? It's smaller than Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

I find a pint of Heineken compliments a lunch very nicely.

You're such a sexy lunch! Is that a new suit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭sandmanporto

No. It's filling; nutritious and good for your teeth (neutralises acids etc). So no. It just makes you look more health conscious which portrays a positive image.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭MrWard

Putin wrote: »

I don't know where about these people live in Dublin. I regularly see dubs drink milk with their meal. I'm a dub and I'm partial to a glass of milk with a meal too. It's definitely not unusual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭MrWard

seamus wrote: »
    I don't think the milk in primary school was free :)

It was heavily subsidised and fees were waived for disadvantaged kids. In my school, they got delicous hot crossed buns too. Bastids.

From thefreshmilkclub.ie:
    The school milk programme is EU-subsidised and provides a carton of milk at a very low price to every child registered in participating schools - Montessori, National and Secondary schools alike. The programme is recognised as a valuable way of ensuring that Irish children consume one of their recommended portions of dairy each day. As the milk is delivered by the local dairy, participation also supports local jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

jimgoose wrote: »
    You don't miss the chalky goodness of the Golden Vale until it's gone, biy. :cool:

Milk that lasts 3 weeks before going off means there is something wrong :(

Don't get me started on the butter.

I love this place. But they pride themselves on the diary and sheep industry, but the best is exported, crap stays here. So bad!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Bumped into a guy from school a couple of years ago, when he enrolled on a Fas course I was on. We went for lunch one day and he had 4 pints of milk with his lunch. This guy had a massive cholesterol problem too.
    I did have milk with my lunch years ago. Just not four pints. Any of you current milk drinkers, milk savages like this guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Its very irish but perfectly reasonable imo
    I read somewhere that chinese people and orientals in general eat/drink very little dairy and that as a result we absolutely stink of milk to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Lapin wrote: »
    It's difficult for foreigners to get their heads around because only in Ireland is milk actually drinkable.

The shíte that passes for milk everywhere else wouldn't be let near any shop shelf in Ireland.
    Always thought this until I had milk from a vending machine out the back of a farm yard adjacent to a country road outside a town in the austrian alps. best milk I ever had bar none.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

The Irish are among the most lactose tolerant people in the world. If a Spaniard or Italian was to drink a pint of milk he'd probably end up $hitting his pants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

I'll always have milk with proper spicy food. I'm not talking a curry out of the Chinese spicy. I'm talking proper spicy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Rabies wrote: »
    Milk that lasts 3 weeks before going off means there is something wrong :(

Don't get me started on the butter.

I love this place. But they pride themselves on the diary and sheep industry, but the best is exported, crap stays here. So bad!!

agree wholeheartedly re it not going off for weeks. i mean the ordinary milk not uht. i grew up with sterry as it is called in liverpool so it is a nostalgic taste of childhood.

Bumped into a guy from school a couple of years ago, when he enrolled on a Fas course I was on. We went for lunch one day and he had 4 pints of milk with his lunch. This guy had a massive cholesterol problem too.
    I did have milk with my lunch years ago. Just not four pints. Any of you current milk drinkers, milk savages like this guy.

always drink low fat milk....prefer it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭William F

Milk is only for infants. Humans are the only mammals that drink it into adulthood. That's why it's so bizarre.

awec wrote: »
    I love milk, but it isn't the same now that you can't get it in pint glass bottles from the milk man any more. :(

Used to come with just a wee foil top on it, and when you opened it there would be little bits of cream floating at the top. Proper full fat andmilk that tasted better than anything you can buy today.

and if it was left any time on the doorstep the bluetits would peck the top off and steal the cream. there was silver top , and gold top that was channel island milk.

before that it was cardboard discs you could poke a hole through with a straw when we had free school milk

Nutritionally full fat is better for you though you should probably go easy on it as it's very high calorie.

nah. skimmed has more protein and vitamins and calcium and fewer calories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

It would never occur to me to order milk when out for lunch but now I think of it I wouldn't order it anyway.

I'm a Premier Dairies man and wont drink anything else.

William F wrote: »
    Milk is only for infants. Humans are the only mammals that drink it into adulthood. That's why it's so bizarre.

Well, no, you're supposed to only drink the milk of your own species in childhood. Another species' milk is just another foodstuff.

Can I drink your breast milk if that's the case?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

As far as I am aware, we only lactate when our prolactin levels are high, usually after child-birth. Once you stopped breast-feeding, the milk dries up.

I used to always wonder about that when I was a kid. I was convinced that once I got boobies I would be able to squirt everyone in the face with my milk. Devastated when I found out that we only produce milk for feeding our babies.
    :(

What exactly did you not understand about milk from your own species? You do realise we're the same species, right? :confused: If you don't, then I don't think you should be pontificating to others about what they should and should not ingest.

If you don't, then I don't think you should be pontificating to others about what they should and should not ingest.

So does that mean I can drink it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

I'll always have milk with proper spicy food. I'm not talking a curry out of the Chinese spicy. I'm talking proper spicy.

+1 on this. Works infinitely better than water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭MadMardegan

Sure you couldn't be drinking anything else but an ice cold milk with food!

So does that mean I can drink it?

Either trolololol or mouthbreather. I envy you.

Ok bye bye bye bye bye.

To the guy who saw someone drink 4 pints of milk with his lunch? Feckin' hell, that's 1000+ calories. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,517 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

It depends what I am eating but ice cold milk goes really well with most meals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Funny i'd forgotten we grew up drinking milk with our meals. No sodas in our house.
    My kuds drank water or occasionally dilute squash.
    And no, we werent culchies raised right in the middle of a large town.