Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Dublin West 2014 By-Election Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 6,505 ✭✭✭daymobrew

ciaran76 wrote: »
    Has Coughlan lived in Dublin West for long? Just don't recall anything he has done locally.
    I think that he has lived here for many years. He is the Chairperson of the Metro St Brigids Athletic Club.

Senators generally don't do stuff locally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

daymobrew wrote: »
    I think that he has lived here for many years. He is the Chairperson of the Metro St Brigids Athletic Club.

This is his first ever election campaign as he was appointed to the Seanad by the Taoiseach. I'm not holding that against him, he's been involved in some great causes locally and nationally

• Registered Users Posts: 6,505 ✭✭✭daymobrew

Phoenix FM are broadcasting election specials, interviewing candidates.

First one is tomorrow night, Tuesday 13 in Castlenock Community Centre.
    This was quite interesting. 11 candidates present with some notable absences - Henry Minogue, Mags Murray and Eithne Loftus.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭oblivious

This was quite interesting. 11 candidates present with some notable absences - Henry Minogue, Mags Murray and Eithne Loftus.

Does Mags Murray ever venture out side of castleknock ? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,694 ✭✭✭ciaran76

Saw him this morning running between cars in Littlepace before the N3 slip.

He has wanted to contest a TD seat in D15, its not as if there are no local issues that he could have been seen to be involved in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

oblivious wrote: »
    Does Mags Murray ever venture out side of castleknock ? :pac:

The only email address I can find for her is her old Fingal one which bounced back, is she still alive ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Is that Eithne loftus one running on May 23rd?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭Grudaire

Only in the local elections.

Eamon Coghlan is the FG candidate for the bye-election

athtrasna wrote: »
    The only email address I can find for her is her old Fingal one which bounced back, is she still alive ;)

I bet newbridge silver hope so ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Less than 10 minutes into the Dublin West bye election Vinny B show and the shouting over each other has already started. I won't last the full show.

Edit, didn't even get to make that decision, in the in laws and it was switched off. He really needs to change how he hosts and controls these debates.

Eamonn has made a few blunders so far...!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

Fis Nua all the way so far.

:) Vote Fís Nua for Socialist policies!

The Fis Nua candidate had to be one of the funniest candidates ever, certainly had some stand out moments.

When asked how Fis Nua were different from the Socialist Party, he started talking about how great Ruth Coppinger was and how he hoped his party could be like the Socialists.

Then when asked to give three Fis Nua policies, he could only barely give one something about transparency.

Honestly if you have not seen it, it is well worth trying to catch on the player.

The less said about Coghlan and Mulligan the better, would be shameful if either of them were elected after tonight's performance particularly Coghlan who seems oblivious to the real world.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,517 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Quick hello from the part of Swords dumped into Dublin West. Since Dublin 15 is where it's at I really can't be bothered voting at all. Maybe a lesser spotted candidate will find themselves out this way. Especially the Fis Nua candidate, I want to buy that man a drink...

It's definitely an eye-opener on some of the candidates.

Loraine was not at the races, seemed totally out of her depth..
    Eamonn... nuff said
    Socialist and Shinner did better than expected (although I find their actual policies fanciful)
    Fís Nua... might as well vote socialist
    Lyons - well intentioned but unfortunately no way.

I'll be voting Green, but I'll have to think hard about my second preference

I felt that Vincent went a little easy on the independent candidates (I missed the first few mins, but Hall has lots of links with FF)

dsmythy wrote: »
    Quick hello from the part of Swords dumped into Dublin West. Since Dublin 15 is where it's at I really can't be bothered voting at all. Maybe a lesser spotted candidate will find themselves out this way. Especially the Fis Nua candidate, I want to buy that man a drink...

Ye are unfortunate. There's no long term benefit to heading out your direction since (afaik) you'll be split away again after the next election.

.. mind you Eamonn seemed to be knocking on hundreds of thousand doors, so surprised you haven't seen him :pac:

All I can say is Wow after seeing that from Eamonn on Vincent Browne last night.
    I see its gone viral now too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

will make interesting watching later. Wasnt in for it

no FG have been by my house at all (for the by), Coughlans performance in the videos i have seen have been my only interaction i have had. So thats done him well.

All I can say is Wow after seeing that from Eamonn on Vincent Browne last night.
    I see its gone viral now too.

Was it bad? There is a good bit of heat on FB over one of his postings

• Registered Users Posts: 24,080 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Vinnys shows and TV3s production values over live political stuff generally are abysmal, but the Coghlan bits just took the biscuit. I had to have my toes surgically uncurled.

I genuinely weep for some of the offerings to political office in this country.

oblivious wrote: »
    Was it bad? There is a good bit of heat on FB over one of his postings

It was just bizarre to be honest. I don't know what he was thinking.

It was badly controlled forum to be honest so that didn't help.

It was just bizarre to be honest. I don't know what he was thinking.

It was badly controlled forum to be honest so that didn't help.

He had nothing to say was the problem..

The moral of the story was that when he goes canvassing he really wants to meet people and get to know them... (I think!?)

Grudaire wrote: »
    He had nothing to say was the problem..

The moral of the story was that when he goes canvassing he really wants to meet people and get to know them... (I think!?)

Yeah I didn't know where that story was going.

• Registered Users Posts: 569 ✭✭✭jonnybravo

I just watched it. From my summary of the candicates I have no clue who to vote for. I just know who I've ruled out. From the others left I'm not sure has anyone given me a reason to vote for them. The only one I can think of is the Green Party because they might bring in some sensible policies around house planning in the Dublin area and not further increasing demand like the Governments proposal from yesterday.

Loraine Mulligan (Labour) - wouldn't shut up during the show and didn't make any good points. Came accross as very irritating.

Eamonn Coghlan (Fine Gael) - oh good god - waffled on for ages and made a show of himself.

Ruth Coppinger (Socialist) - I can't vote for a party that will increase taxes on companies or transaction tax on financial transactions - either would lead to mass exist of companies.

David McGuinness (Finna Fail) - I just can't stomach voting for FF - I think the recent scandal over Mary Hanafin and still having a leader so tainted in the past like Michael Martin is going to hurt them alot

Paul Donnelly (Sinn Fein) - I personally can't vote for a party that won't condone the murder of innocent people and never will. I also always find their policies as not practical and just trying to vote grab and if they were ever elected I don't think they'd ever bring them in (similar to a lot of Labour promises before they entered government).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

jonnybravo wrote: »
    I just watched it. From my summary of the candicates I have no clue who to vote for. I just know who I've ruled out. From the others left I'm not sure has anyone given me a reason to vote for them. The only one I can think of is the Green Party because they might bring in some sensible policies around house planning in the Dublin area and not further increasing demand like the Governments proposal from yesterday.

Loraine Mulligan (Labour) - wouldn't shut up during the show and didn't make any good points. Came accross as very irritating.

Eamonn Coghlan (Fine Gael) - oh good god - waffled on for ages and made a show of himself.

Ruth Coppinger (Socialist) - I can't vote for a party that will increase taxes on companies or transaction tax on financial transactions - either would lead to mass exist of companies.

David McGuinness (Finna Fail) - I just can't stomach voting for FF - I think the recent scandal over Mary Hanafin and still having a leader so tainted in the past like Michael Martin is going to hurt them alot

Paul Donnelly (Sinn Fein) - I personally can't vote for a party that won't condone the murder of innocent people and never will. I also always find their policies as not practical and just trying to vote grab and if they were ever elected I don't think they'd ever bring them in (similar to a lot of Labour promises before they entered government).

I understand you completely. I have similar thoughts. Can't ever see myself voting for FF, SF or the socialists.

Voted green before thinking they wouldn't go into coalition with FF and look what happened. Will probably go back to them now they have learned their lesson. Second preference is the hard bit, there is nobody worth a vote. If I leave politics aside I could give it to Coughlan for the memories of the 1983 World Championships and all the indoor mile records.

I am finding it difficult as well.

Would never have voted FG anyway, but Coghlan makes sure I will not be giving them a preference.
    Voted Labour at last General Election, but I learnt my lesson now.
    Would not associate myself with FF either, but McGuinness has a good record in the community so might give him a preference.
    Would have voted Joe Higgins as well in the past but not sure Coppinger is in the same league as him. Her comments about corporation tax are troubling, wish she got pressed more on that issue last night.
    Will probably give Roderic O'Gorman a preference as well, seeing as he has been around a long time.
    Not a SF supporter but Donnelly impressed me last night. He seems to care so will be getting a preference for me.
    I don't like the fact that the media are protecting David Hall, so he will not be getting a vote from me.
    Kidd seemed decent last night as well, will be giving him a preference.
    Do not know enough about Lyons or Boyne to give them a vote.

So I am left with McGuinness, Donnelly, O'Gorman and Kidd for my Number 1. At the moment I am not sure if any of them are deserving of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,517 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Grudaire wrote: »
    Ye are unfortunate. There's no long term benefit to heading out your direction since (afaik) you'll be split away again after the next election.

.. mind you Eamonn seemed to be knocking on hundreds of thousand doors, so surprised you haven't seen him :pac:

Oddly enough Eamonn did find his way out to Swords. Guess the running comes in handy after all!

dsmythy wrote: »
    Oddly enough Eamonn did find his way out to Swords. Guess the running comes in handy after all!

Did he finish his story and actually say what he would do if he was elected? :pac: :D