Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

BANGERNOMICS CAR OF THE WEEK/DAY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

What's with the cockroach avensis?

Even a nuke can't kill 'em :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Even a nuke can't kill 'em :pac:
    That's pretty much it. God only knows how many miles it's actually done. It's body is very rough, clutch judders like hell, it's an old diesel and knocks, bangs and vibrates everywhere it goes, it has rust all around the front and rear screens, roof and arches, smells like a tramps wet foot. It's had a few knocks and scrapes too. It pumps out enough black smoke to give DGT a wet dream at night too.

I bought it 2 years ago for £600 and in that time I've serviced it,fitted a new battery (£50) fitted 4 part worn premium tyres last Saturday for £70 and a reconditioned starter.

Thats it. It starts and goes every time. It just refuses to die.

• Registered Users Posts: 141 ✭✭bambam26

Moneymaker wrote: »
    NCT is bogus on the Bora. Unfortunate.

how can you tell if its a bogus NCT ? im on the look out for a car and and would be good to know how to spot a dodgy one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,741 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

bambam26 wrote: »
    how can you tell if its a bogus NCT ? im on the look out for a car and and would be good to know how to spot a dodgy one

Put in the reg details on the NCT website. This will tell you when the NCT expires (or has expired). In the cas of that Bora, it expired over 4 months ago. The seller seems to have a fake NCT cert.

Anyway the ad is gone which probably means that either someone reported the ad to donedeal and they've nuked it or some poor ignorant fucker bought it :(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

Good spot moneymaker. As they say, if its too good to be true...

Anyway, very basic motoring for pocket money - NCT till next june, 450e

Old skool skoda...

If you are in the galway area, then this has to be worth a look:

2005 Fiat Stilo

850 euro!!
    Although not mentioned in ad ( why???) it has an NCT until January. Ordinarily I would assign this to my fixerupper pile, but.... :pac::pac::pac:

34981088.jpeg

Ah here, this is getting ridiculous....

2000 Fiesta with 5 months tax and NCT for 600e....

35003844.jpeg

Thats the facelifted mark V with the yamaha designed 1.25. If all is in order, then this is a cracking car.

Ah here, this is getting ridiculous....

Ireland 2014 - the cheapest roadworthy cars in the world :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Jaysus that's a rough looking Festy but would you care for 600 quid? I sure as heck wouldn't and they are a nice drive for what they are.

Besides, some people like it rough. :pac:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/97-mazda-323f-5dr-nct-tax-low-miles-875/8091297

35015376.jpeg

I really like these. Claim of tax and NCT but numberplate is hidden so proceed with caution.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/focus-zetec-1-6fresh-nct/8027914

34724566.jpeg

Looks nice. NCT is legit. Good value if it's mechanically sound imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/97-mazda-323f-5dr-nct-tax-low-miles-875/8091297

35015376.jpeg

I really like these. Claim of tax and NCT but numberplate is hidden so proceed with caution.

Nice cars those. They look nice and are well made. Good bangernomics. They way they drive doesn't match the way they look though.

Yeah I wouldn't expect much performance wise. But at 700-800 notes you can't go wrong. It's pretty well specced for the year too imo.

Yeah I wouldn't expect much performance wise. But at 700-800 notes you can't go wrong. It's pretty specced for the year too imo.

Agreed :)

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    Nice cars those. They look nice and are well made. Good bangernomics. They way they drive doesn't match the way they look though.

Never really liked that mazda in the day, but in that silver i have to agree that its a nice car that has aged well lookswise. Interior not bad either, although the dials look like they came from a '70's cortina...

But for the money.... :):)

34981088.jpeg

And its gone.... Didnt last long!:(

Just noticed same car for sale in roscommon for last 70 days at 1500 euros....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,812 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

[...] same car for sale in roscommon for last 70 days at 1500 euros....

Dreamers thread --> that way. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Another 323f in red...linky Nct, 7/15

34743689.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,478 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I tried to buy a 323f like that in 2000. Couldn't get insurance on it because it was too powerful.

Think they're 87bhp.

I got insurance on a lighter 85bhp punto no problem though..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

The only cool thing about those Mazdas are the pillar-less doors.

Really not lookers, are they?

Can't agree. They looked well in the day and haven't aged badly. That said, most are overpriced now for what they are. The above one for about €750 with a years NTC is the exception although it is of course nearly 18 years old. Might be a bit of an issue getting it insured though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,466 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Didn't like this one when it replaced the pop up light model but I think they are a very nice looking car that have aged very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭johndaman66

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I tried to buy a 323f like that in 2000. Couldn't get insurance on it because it was too powerful.

Think they're 87bhp.

I got insurance on a lighter 85bhp punto no problem though..

Its not so much to do with the power of the car. Insurance companies access statistics, frequency and severity of accidents with a particular model and they rate them accordingly. I'm sure you that already colm.

I too was looking at a 98 in 2003/04. Very nearly bought it but in retrospect thankfully I didn't as it was way over priced. It was of a garage and looking back the sales guy was trying to justify the high price in account of the fact they were considerably more expensive than the equivalent corolla/ golf etc day one. Wasn't near as fast as I expected.

The red one above looks a bit tarted up - polished up a bit too much and I dont think he should have bothered putting on them rims if he wasn't going to lower it also as it looks a wee bit silly. I do like the silver one alright though.

Would have to disagree. No doubt a bit bland and dated now but remember the design is 20 years old now if not more. They were a smart looking car in the day parked next to a Golf/ Astra/ Escort etc from the same period they looked smarter and more modern, certainly in their day.

That model came out in 93 iirc. Still looks good today IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Bangernomics Update

I posted a longwinded account of the early overheating woes on my Volvo S60 on a previous bangernomics thread.

Redemption came in the form of an €18 thermostat and it passed the NCT first go almost a year ago to the day.

Apart from oil and filters it got two new tyres on the front to prep for winter, briefly considered part worns but took a look at the stock one guy had and decided a pair of €75 Hankooks made much more sense.

Ran it through the NCT Thursday evening and it failed on one exhaust mount, the repair kit felt a bit pricey at nearly €50 from Koping for something that was more like a €20 part, but that was balanced out by the fact that the tester put it down as a free retest when it technically might have needed a lift and I was able to fit it in minutes on the drive way, didn't even need to jack it up, so labour at bangernomics rates :), the alternative might have involved welding.

It's now tested till the end of January 2016 and it's likely to see the test center again in my ownership. I sometimes wonder if the original owner paid more to spec it with a car phone, yes car phone not car kit, than what I paid to buy it?

Edit: one slightly related thing of note, NCTS now print the mileage when tested on the disc :-o the haircut specialists may be very upset by this

alias no.9 wrote: »
    Bangernomics Update

Great story!
    Its a pity more people dont take the time for a bangernomics revisited style update on their cars ( apart from the poor misfurtune who had his merc stuck into a wall by his 'mate' :()

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

Great story!
    Its a pity more people dont take the time for a bangernomics revisited style update on their cars ( apart from the poor misfurtune who had his merc stuck into a wall by his 'mate' :()

That was unfortunate alright, bags out and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭zurbfoundation

alias no.9 wrote: »
    Edit: one slightly related thing of note, NCTS now print the mileage when tested on the disc :-o the haircut specialists may be very upset by this

i have it in my head that they used to do this years ago - when they started the NCT service. Then it stopped when they started selling the data to cartell i presume

It's always been on the report, I don't think it was ever on the cert and never on the disc. Reports are rarely kept (I always keep mine), certs sometimes get lost but discs stay with the car.

Hate Merivas, but this is newish and has plenty test
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2006-opel-meriva-1-4-16v-quick-sale/7752727

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

colm_mcm wrote: »

Work done included timing chain replaced, 5w30 fully synthetic oil, oil filter, air filter, coolant, front brake pads, brake fluid changed, brake pipes replaced, front drop link, track rod ends, reconditioned steering rack fitted
    Yellow light came on in dash yesterday – Garage told me it needs a camshaft sensor for engine
    Genuine reason for sale
    I take it that the genuine reason for sale is that he is sick of it.

Oops. Didn't see that bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

I hate Merivas too.

Whatever about the other things he listed which are consumables I wonder why it needed a new steering rack, brake lines replaced and timing belt replaced. A car of that age/ mileage shouldn't be needing all them things replaced. I'd be wanting rid of it too if I were him - must be cursed or something...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

That sentence plus the number plate hiding would put me off it.
    I'm sure there is a genuine reason and maybe if we had the numberplate, we would know what that was...

Whatever about the other things he listed which are consumables I wonder why it needed a new steering rack, brake lines replaced and timing belt replaced. A car of that age/ mileage shouldn't be needing all them things replaced. I'd be wanting rid of it too if I were him - must be cursed or something...

Its 8 years old and almost 100K miles. Anything can happen. As for the timing chain, they are fast becoming a consumable on modern engines.

I'd say the sensor is a wiring issue, probably knocked about with all the messing thats been going on under that poor meriva's bonnet lately. :rolleyes:

Its 8 years old and almost 100K miles. Anything can happen. As for the timing chain, they are fast becoming a consumable on modern engines.

I'd say the sensor is a wiring issue, probably knocked about with all the messing thats been going on under that poor meriva's bonnet lately. :rolleyes:

Really? I'd personally consider steering rack failure in a car with that mileage or lower to be very very unlucky and unlikely to happen. The car doesn't appear to have being abused to be fair but I suppose some of the poor roads in Sligo may not have done it any favours.

Assuming the brake lines needed to be replaced in account of corrosion again that pretty unfortunate in a car of that age as you wouldn't expect it normally.

The timing chain I know can be a consumable but I wouldn't have thought they'd be so much of an issue in petrol Opels thought.

Not saying these faults are unheard of at that mileage. He put down in the ad they were replaced so no doubt they happened. Point I was moreso trying to make was he was unfortunate the way it worked out as the chances of having that p!ss poor luck and all 3 needing replacing are pretty slim on a car of that age/mileage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

this could be a repost. fairly extensive spec list including memory seating. the poor mans lexus gs maybe?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/00-hyundai-xg-n-c-t/8011783

Really? I'd personally consider steering rack failure in a car with that mileage or lower to be very very unlucky and unlikely to happen. The car doesn't appear to have being abused to be fair but I suppose some of the poor roads in Sligo may not have done it any favours.

Assuming the brake lines needed to be replaced in account of corrosion again that pretty unfortunate in a car of that age as you wouldn't expect it normally.

The timing chain I know can be a consumable but I wouldn't have thought they'd be so much of an issue in petrol Opels thought.

Not saying these faults are unheard of at that mileage. He put down in the ad they were replaced so no doubt they happened. Point I was moreso trying to make was he was unfortunate the way it worked out as the chances of having that p!ss poor luck and all 3 needing replacing are pretty slim on a car of that age/mileage
    Timing chains and steering racks definitely aren't unheard of where Opel's are concerned. Brake pipes can corrode due to a number of factors, I don't see it as a big deal that they have been replaced as long as there is no corrosion elsewhere underneath, eg the chassis

All im saying is that at 8 years and 100k miles anything *can* need replacing. brake lines are a common enough nct issue these days, especially on uk imports. Look at the number of ads for 8-10 year old bmw or discoveries that quote new brake lines. All you need is one pinhole to need a whole line replaced. As for the steering rack, it could have been a damaged boot that wasnt replaced in time and led to it needing a rebuilt rack. Without knowing the service history you cant really say.

Im afraid its just a reality with cars at this end of the market. Lots of cars probably have had this work and more done in their lifetime, its just that sellers dont always highlight the fact.

All im saying is that at 8 years and 100k miles anything *can* need replacing. brake lines are a common enough nct issue these days, especially on uk imports. Look at the number of ads for 8-10 year old bmw or discoveries that quote new brake lines. All you need is one pinhole to need a whole line replaced. As for the steering rack, it could have been a damaged boot that wasnt replaced in time and led to it needing a rebuilt rack. Without knowing the service history you cant really say.

Im afraid its just a reality with cars at this end of the market. Lots of cars probably have had this work and more done in their lifetime, its just that sellers dont always highlight the fact.

Sorry if I come across as being pedantic here, I genuinely am not trying to pick pinholes in your post :p but this is incorrect.

this could be a repost. fairly extensive spec list including memory seating. the poor mans lexus gs maybe?

Poor baštards Lexus GS more like, may as well go for the real deal

€1,150 for that? Wrong thread so :p

If seller woke up from his dreams he'd realise he'd be very lucky to get more than €500...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

unkel wrote: »
    €1,150 for that? Wrong thread so :p

If seller woke up from his dreams he'd realise he'd be very lucky to get more than €500...

i admit it's probably on the wrong side of a grand, but i'd say they'l get 8-900.

if it was rear wheel drive it could be ironically cool somehow but the fwd makes it a bit shonky, or does that make it cooler again? maybe. maybe it's so weird and ****, yet so well spec'd that it's actually hit rock bottom and starting getting cooler again. at least that's what it's done in my head. weird.

That Hyundai is strangely alluring...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Into The Blue

That Hyundai is strangely alluring...

I can't get that focus St out of my head