Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

BANGERNOMICS CAR OF THE WEEK/DAY

• Registered Users Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

Seweryn wrote: »
    These filter imitations do not stop the fine particles from getting into the combustion chamber as well as a proper filter. The abrasive contaminants like fine dust cause premature wear to the engine.

If they are proper;y oiled ( with proper filter oil) the will work very well indeed. Its the oil that traps particles, not the physical filter.
    Anyway, your engine oil will deal with any very fine material that gets in. Change your oil regularly and it'll be fine.

Anyway, I think we are a bit OT now. Sorry!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,108 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

It dont work like that. Engines dont breathe continously. In a 4 pot, the intake valve of any cylinder will only be open for a max of 180 degrees for each 720 degree cycle. For those 180 degres, the air is moving quickly down the intake into that cylinder. then the valve closes. And the air hits it and stops. This causes the incoming moving air to back up, causing a back pressure ( as a wave moving away from the intake)f That would kill any attempt to get the air moving in one "spiral" mass.

IF the intake manifold branches were routed in a certain way it COULD work.

That's purely theoretical though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Manifolds seem to have a huge effect on B16's too, the one I'm basing this one went through 3 till it was matched with the right one. Got a €2000 bisimoto one and took it off because it put it down on power.
    He got it on sale but he was not happy about that. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

It dont work like that. Engines dont breathe continously. In a 4 pot, the intake valve of any cylinder will only be open for a max of 180 degrees for each 720 degree cycle. For those 180 degres, the air is moving quickly down the intake into that cylinder. then the valve closes. And the air hits it and stops. This causes the incoming moving air to back up, causing a back pressure ( as a wave moving away from the intake)f That would kill any attempt to get the air moving in one "spiral" mass.

Ah yes. Air fuel BANG fart

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/opel-astra-1-7td-98/7823628
    It's got bonnet surfing handles!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Seweryn

If they are proper;y oiled ( with proper filter oil) the will work very well indeed. Its the oil that traps particles, not the physical filter.
    Sure... The thing I don't understand however is why these, obviously cheaper, small filters are not factory fitted. Why do they fit a large, black plastic box with a large filter insert? The whole setup costs a lot more to manufacture.
    Honda engineers, if you are reading this thread you can learn a lot and save some money at the same time, plus all that extra horsepower! It is a no-brainer surely, is it?
    Anyway, your engine oil will deal with any very fine material that gets in.
    Before it settles in the oil filter, it will have to pass the cylinder-piston surface and do some damage.
    Anyway, I think we are a bit OT now. Sorry!:D
    Yeah, a bit :o.

Sure... The thing I don't understand however is why these, obviously cheaper, small filters are not factory fitted. Why do they fit a large, black plastic box with a large filter insert? The whole setup costs a lot more to manufacture.
    It reduces induction noise. The back pressure wave I spoke about above causes the induction roar you notice when you remove the oem kit. Also, paper filters require less care and feeding than oil/cotton filters

Before it settles in the oil filter, it will have to pass the cylinder-piston surface and do some damage.

It doesnt settle in the filter, it remains in suspension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Honda engineers, if you are reading this thread you can learn a lot and save some money at the same time, plus all that extra horsepower! It is a no-brainer surely, is it?

Watch the video I posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Anyone see any bangers today?

We're off tonight Charlie. Its your turn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

this could be a repost. fairly extensive spec list including memory seating. the poor mans lexus gs maybe?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/00-hyundai-xg-n-c-t/8011783

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/hyundai-xg-2-5-n-c-t/8204593

still fancy it for what could well be **** all moneys!

this has to be one of a rare breed of car, where you can turn up as a prospective buyer and offer any sum of money at all and be almost guaranteed acceptance.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2003-mg-zr-nctd/8204272

these are such a looker and despite the naysayers, they are pretty ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,741 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

this has to be one of a rare breed of car, where you can turn up as a prospective buyer and offer any sum of money at all and be almost guaranteed acceptance.

Could be made interesting...

2005040250938.jpg

img_141160_7.jpg

unkel wrote: »
    Still fecking overpriced :p

it's only going one way :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

Why do I think that thing is cool?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭toyotaavensis

I like some of these estates estate
    Estatenomics test only til march though
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-mondo-estate-only-80-000-km/8199648
    volvonomics - like the look of this
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/03-volvo-v40-1-8-petrol-1050-euros-price-to-sell/8189772
    cheap - this could be had for 6 or 650 methinks
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volvo-v40/8149560
    i like this one
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/v70/7943560
    almost for nothing car. I learned to drive in one of these
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-mondeo-estate/8126714

clearly the chrome hub caps... or is it the 2.5 v6 fwd setup that draws you in :P?

i just think it's so endearing, it was hyundai trying so so hard. it's one of their last **** cars, like they gave it a reasonable engine, loaded it with extras, they just forgot to make it pretty.

crazy hilarious how mk1 mondeos are holding better value than mk2s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭toyotaavensis

I have a real softspot for them and a car with a decent amount of test like that red one is going to be worth at least 600 of anyones money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,876 ✭✭✭RayCon

I was trying to think of what it reminded me of ..... then ... boom ...

My old Kojak toy car >

Kojakbuick.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,478 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I saw a Hyundai XG hearse (same model as that) in limerick on Friday

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

colm_mcm wrote: »

You wouldn't see me dead on one of those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,478 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

You wouldn't see me dead on one of those.

Tinted windows?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Tinted windows?

Anyone who buries me in that will get haunted on the toilet for the rest of their life. ;)

The volvo dealer directory worryingly has a desperate couple walking miles in the middle of nowhere looking for one....

35293706.jpeg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

How much would you have to hate your deceased relative to send them off in an XG hearse? Almost as bad as a Passathearse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭highdef

I have a real softspot for them and a car with a decent amount of test like that red one is going to be worth at least 600 of anyones money.

I had a black one with tinted windows for a few years. Looked a bit like a Lincoln Towncar. Loved it. Was so sad to see it go. After I got a company car, I held on to it for another year as I didn't want to let it go. Beautiful to drive, every single extra available (for an early 2000's Korean car) and turned heads......in a good way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭commited

35589601.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volvo-s60-05-low-milage/8209649
    2005 Volvo S60 2.0t, 80k miles, NCT June 15 - €1750
    Looks like a lot of car for the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,876 ✭✭✭RayCon

^ wow ... too good to be true ? ... by the way , the ad says NCT Mar 15 , not June 15.

How much would you have to hate your deceased relative to send them off in an XG hearse? Almost as bad as a Passathearse.

it's weird. not to bring down the bangernomics tune but just thinking back to my fathers funeral 6 months ago i have absolutely no idea what hearse he was in. weird, you couldn't meet 2 bigger car buffs than me or him and i havn't a clue.

i guess, i think i mean an XG hearse is ok, because the people using it's service are so far removed from the situation that they won't notice it's some weird korean yoke :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

it's weird. not to bring down the bangernomics tune but just thinking back to my fathers funeral 6 months ago i have absolutely no idea what hearse he was in. weird, you couldn't meet 2 bigger car buffs than me or him and i havn't a clue.

i guess, i think i mean an XG hearse is ok, because the people using it's service are so far removed from the situation that they won't notice it's some weird korean yoke :pac:

Sorry to hear about your father. The hearse we used for my aul lads funeral back in February was a Mondeo. Think its the only hearse in the town. I remember we were given the option for the womens car, a big miserable Mercedes limo or a silver 2012 S500. Guess what we picked :D

Anyway, bangers

35580506.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/subaru-legacy-2002/8207849

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Sorry to hear about your father man,

You just spurred my memory, we buried my Father 14 years ago, I was 11 - I remember vividly he was brought in a spanking new E Class Hearse, and we were brought in an 89 W126 500 SEL (This was insisted on by myself, even at that age. A family friend owned it)

• Registered Users Posts: 145 ✭✭Dubron

commited wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volvo-s60-05-low-milage/8209649
    2005 Volvo S60 2.0t, 80k miles, NCT June 15 - €1750
    Looks like a lot of car for the money.

Anyone any idea of the realistic MPG on one of those?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Dubron wrote: »
    Anyone any idea of the realistic MPG on one of those?

33 to 35 on a run, 25 in traffic

alias no.9 wrote: »

Pretty much the same as most other large heavy saloons with a 2l petrol engine made 5 years ago or more :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭alias no.9

unkel wrote: »
    Pretty much the same as most other large heavy saloons with a 2l petrol engine made 5 years ago or more :)

Discipline might get you more on a run but no point having a 20v turbo if you're after discipline

Mine will be 14 years old at the end of January and running like clockwork, fantastic bangernomics, highly recommended

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭wiz569

Jeez I don't get much more then that in my 1.4 megane estate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,466 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

wiz569 wrote: »
    Jeez I don't get much more then that in my 1.4 megane estate

Because you end up dodging it just to get moving. Small engines in anything except small cars are not efficient.

mickdw wrote: »
    Because you end up dodging it just to get moving. Small engines in anything except small cars are not efficient.

Very true m8

Double post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭commited

Pretty much what I get out of my 9-3 2.0t!

Oh and less if you boost the turbo too often :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,174 ✭✭✭Top Dog

mickdw wrote: »
    And even in small cars they can be fairly poor depending on the roads you travel. Had a 3.2 diesel Shogun and a 1.25 Zetec Fiesta at the same time about 18 months ago. Over the same commute route to work (about 35 miles each way) the Fiesta only came out at about 4mpg better - and when you took into account the difference in fuel prices then the cost of travelling barely differed between the two ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭W123-80's

Short test - March '15
    Looks an alright lugger.
    Diesel
    Asking €650

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-mondeo-2000/8214486

35612430.jpeg

I dunno.. Could get someone out of a pickle..
    Looks clean and genuine.
    Test Sept '15
    Asking €675

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/opel-astra/8178912

35428403.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

I average 29.7 mpg (9.5l/100kms) combined in an S80 with the same engine.
    Wifey takes the car sometimes and her commute is a city commute. Mine is main roads (~17 miles each way) with some stop start traffic and traffic queing at the place or work.
    It's really not too bad. If, however, you start traffic light GP racing, you will be lucky to see the teens.

Test Jan '16
    One months tax - Dec '14
    Anyone brave enough...
    Asking €1,995

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/lexus-ls-430-2001-new-nct-jan-2016/8197410

35526802.jpeg

Test Nov '15
    Tax Feb '15
    Auto
    Asking €1,500

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-yaris-automatic/8193065

35502249.jpeg

W123-80's wrote: »
    Test Jan '15

Are you psychic? :)

Ad says:

NCT Due Jan 2016

NCT until January 2016

But indeed, it is only valid until 08/01/2015. Owner needs to stop lying!