Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

BANGERNOMICS CAR OF THE WEEK/DAY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,883 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

The advertiser has requested not to received any more comments from you. Your comment wasn't added.

:( pls roamin I just want 2 know if ur car will make chips then run on chip oil for my enterprise idea for transition year please reply asap

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭B00056718

Tidy Fiesta. 850€
    NCT 01/2016

http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/9613775
    00 Ford Fiesta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭Libertewhite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

mu hu ha ha sport indeed:D

sure it has xr2i alloys so it must be a sports car:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭tinofapples

davycc wrote: »
    his reply below-he also says the nct is in 2mths time-
    cant get his story straight

@bear1 because its me selling the car... ;)
    Guys car is 100% so please dont ask stupid questions.

Yes car had fake NCT
    Milage is on picture
    No NCT but its booked
    Window switch needs replacing

Donedeal really is awash with chancers, came across this myself today:

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-rav4-02-black-nct-and-tax/9749184
    This cars sale because have new cars

It only changed ownership on 14/06/15 !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Long Time Lurker

If only the tax was just a touch lower.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/9752274

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

What an absolute bargain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

What an absolute bargain

It's probably good value but my god is it hideous...

166man wrote: »

Maybe this is a bit better then...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/car/9754828?offset=12
    43304098.jpeg

Years test 900 quid. I had no idea this shape Lancer was out this early

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Maybe this is a bit better then...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/car/9754828?offset=12
    43304098.jpeg

Years test 900 quid. I had no idea this shape Lancer was out this early

Jap import, was a much later arrival in showrooms here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Furzy

Decent 05 diesel alternative to that other Saab:

42300860.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/saab-95/9547943

.... and it's the earlier, better, more Saab like model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

Could be had for bangernomics money, looks nice any issues with these? Nct is genuine. No tax.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/vauxhall-astra/9603242?offset=26

... And an 03 Vector spec:

42953540.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/saab-9-5-vector-md-2-0-lpi/9683579

.... I was tempted by this but when I asked about service history I got the "I'm not sure I'm selling for a friend" story. Motortax website says transferred to dealer about 4 weeks ago so decided it wasn't worth the trek to Castlebar - even though it was just what I was looking for. Worth a look if you're not too far from Castlebar though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

166man wrote: »

I've seen worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

The country was full of them at one stage, something about the VAT being paid back after a few months ? Cheap insurance as well made it a first new car for many people. No back seats was an advantage for having a squeeze with some young wan in the car park of the local nightclub and then pile another 4 or 5 into the back for the trip home. Simpler times indeed.

For that reason it's nearly worth preserving. :pac:

406 diesel estate for €950, NCT 02/16. Great workhorse these.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/peugeot-406-diesel-estate-nct-2-16/9741080?offset=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Furzy wrote: »
    ... And an 03 Vector spec:

42953540.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/saab-9-5-vector-md-2-0-lpi/9683579

.... I was tempted by this but when I asked about service history I got the "I'm not sure I'm selling for a friend" story. Motortax website says transferred to dealer about 4 weeks ago so decided it wasn't worth the trek to Castlebar - even though it was just what I was looking for. Worth a look if you're not too far from Castlebar though.
    What would you need to be looking out for on this? T/Belt, Sump Issue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭ifeelstupid

Any opinions on this one please - still on the hunt for bangernomics car for young lad, he will only be named driver for now.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/skoda-octavia-tested-03-16/9603367

Sleepy wrote: »
    What would you need to be looking out for on this? T/Belt, Sump Issue?

It has a timing chain and these can last for over 200k miles but do listen for any rattles. Yes - this engine is prone to the sludge issue (pre 04) which is why a good service history is important. If fully synthetic oil was used from outset then you shouldn't have any problems (oil change every 6k miles was recommended). Fully synthetic oil will also prolong the life of the turbo. Check the SID (electronic display unit) - can u read it ok or are there pixels missing - if its bad you may need to replace it (known problem for these years). No other issues. At this mileage you may need to replace the direct ignition cassette sometime soon - may cost c €200 - you might pick one up cheaply from a breakers yard - always good to have a spare. After 3 Saabs I'd forgotten about the problems and niggles that you have with other cars but am content again now having sold my Citroen and bought a Bangernomics 04 9-5 Vector a couple of days ago. If you check DoneDeals you'll find 20 or more 9-5s with over 150k miles and at least 6 with over 250k so if you do buy, chances are that it'll keep going for a long time!

.... that Castlebar 03 is a non UK import Vector spec which is quite unusual. If someone was prepared to pay the new car premium for the Vector spec I would expect them to have taken good care of it but no guarantees without documented service history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Have a chance to buy this beauty for €900:D

353260.jpg

353261.jpg

Yay or Nay? Nct'd for a year. Some rusty spots around front arch and boot lock. Would you go for it?

Will try to sell my 00 Scenic for €500, with nct until 05/16 and tax until 08/15 shouldn't be a problem I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Furzy wrote: »
    It has a timing chain and these can last for over 200k miles but do listen for any rattles. Yes - this engine is prone to the sludge issue (pre 04) which is why a good service history is important. If fully synthetic oil was used from outset then you shouldn't have any problems (oil change every 6k miles was recommended). Fully synthetic oil will also prolong the life of the turbo. Check the SID (electronic display unit) - can u read it ok or are there pixels missing - if its bad you may need to replace it (known problem for these years). No other issues. At this mileage you may need to replace the direct ignition cassette sometime soon - may cost c €200 - you might pick one up cheaply from a breakers yard - always good to have a spare. After 3 Saabs I'd forgotten about the problems and niggles that you have with other cars but am content again now having sold my Citroen and bought a Bangernomics 04 9-5 Vector a couple of days ago. If you check DoneDeals you'll find 20 or more 9-5s with over 150k miles and at least 6 with over 250k so if you do buy, chances are that it'll keep going for a long time!

.... that Castlebar 03 is a non UK import Vector spec which is quite unusual. If someone was prepared to pay the new car premium for the Vector spec I would expect them to have taken good care of it but no guarantees without documented service history.
    Have never had an auto before but that has me tempted to try one out... love the Vector spec on the 95's. Anyone around Castlebar fancy taking a look for me? ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭jharr100

Have never had an auto before but that has me tempted to try one out... love the Vector spec on the 95's. Anyone around Castlebar fancy taking a look for me? ;)

I've had two 95's ..
    Both auto and I've driven manuals,
    Auto is definitely a nicer drive, very smooth and refined especially with the 5 speed auto which I think was introduced in 2002. It was 4 speed prior to that. Sports mode gives plenty of kick and the Winter mode is there if you need more traction in snow.
    I got my current 95 for under 2k last July, 2004 with 63K miles on the clock , now I have 78k done and it hasnt missed a beat, just regular 5W30 Fully synth oil changes and some pads and discs is all I've spent (Neo Bros are great for parts, front genuine pads and discs were 55 quid )
    At one point I thought the DI Coil was failing but some silicone grease on the rubbers was all that was needed.
    Great cars in my opinion ..

Have never had an auto before but that has me tempted to try one out......)

(From personal experience) ... your biggest problem with trying an auto, especially if you do a fair amount of city driving, is that you'll never go back to a manual and therby will seriously limit your choice with future car changes. Also lower mpg but a price well worth paying.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

Nice Stilo, 2006 with only 112k KMs, NCT until Nov 2016 - a bit of neck should see you get plenty of change from the asking 2 grand.

43273750.jpeg

This is a late model, which had the earlier electrical gremlins sorted, and has the very nice 1.4 16v, far better than the under-powered 1.2

Has nice alloys, air con and sub woofer in boot. Wear on drivers seat should be questioned. (mine has 267,000kms and its better than that) Could be just a short driver.

But worth a look.

jharr100 wrote: »
    I've had two 95's ..
    I got my current 95 for under 2k last July, 2004 with 63K miles on the clock , now I have 78k done and it hasnt missed a beat

Well that's taken the wind out of my sails - thought I had done well picking up an 04 with 78k miles for €1600 and it'll need several hundreds to get it as good looking as yours :mad:
    jharr100 wrote: »
    At one point I thought the DI Coil was failing but some silicone grease on the rubbers was all that was needed..

Thanks for that tip - just had a check engine code p1334 show up today - possible DIC problem ... can apparently show up also with low fuel and reserve light was on when I picked it up. Have cleared it and hoping it won't reappear but will get working with the grease if it does.

Nice Stilo, 2006 with only 112k KMs, NCT until Nov 2016 - a bit of neck should see you get plenty of change from the asking 2 grand.

43273750.jpeg

I like how he's tried so hard to block out the plate and then the very first picture he forgot to hide it:rolleyes:

Motor Tax says he bought it from a dealer and he's had it less than 3 weeks.
    Purchased by a Dealer on : 08/06/2015

Notified on : 09/06/2015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭RyanMGF

This thread isn't helping my horn for another Saab :o Miss my 9000 & 9-5 Aero...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,883 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Odd because the picture of the dash is from the 26th of may

Yeah I noticed that, too. I just put it down to someone couldn't be arsed with the correct date.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

Yeah I noticed that, too. I just put it down to someone couldn't be arsed with the correct date.

Thought it was just for sale for a while. its either a trader trying to moonlight it privately, or an owner punting it on quickly.

Either way, not good.

Red Kev wrote: »
    The country was full of them at one stage, something about the VAT being paid back after a few months ?

Yep. If you took out the back seats and window glass you could register it as a commercial vehicle.
    That loophole got closed pretty quickly. Simpler times, indeed.

Yumny. Looks a good honest car too.

http://www.adverts.ie/7138037

Yumny. Looks a good honest car too.

http://www.adverts.ie/7138037

Nice find. Can't believe it's been up on Adverts for 5m without any offers. Surely seller will accept €1.5k at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭toyotaavensis

I can't decide whether I'm gutted or relieved that this wasn't put up before my purchase a couple of days ago. It's too small, too old, too many miles but ooooh I don't think I could have resisted the temptation. (Actually I think I've decided on gutted). :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,504 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

http://www.adverts.ie/7978606

Opinions on this 3 series lads? Quite cheap for the money but owner saying slight rattle on start up, possibly chain...or vanos seals. Anyone care to shed some light on this? Looking for a BMW tourer and this is right up there, ideally I'd like the auto version but for the money...this looks good to me, but I know feck all about them. Had an 02 2.5l automatic one as a company car before and LOVED it...

http://www.adverts.ie/7978606

Opinions on this 3 series lads? Quite cheap for the money but owner saying slight rattle on start up, possibly chain...or vanos seals. Anyone care to shed some light on this? Looking for a BMW tourer and this is right up there, ideally I'd like the auto version but for the money...this looks good to me, but I know feck all about them. Had an 02 2.5l automatic one as a company car before and LOVED it...
    Timing Chain will need to be changed,hence price ..but is driving well

The fact that he is still driving it would scare me off anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 212 ✭✭dbrunson

Plus after driving the 6cyc one driving the 2.0 would be like eating a mars bar with the wrapper on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Nice car. Fun, family orientated and reliable. All things relative, and given their reliability, I think it's cheap too. Knick a few qyud off asking and its a bargain.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/9482985

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Red Kev wrote: »

Those cars are pure quality. Nice find.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

Nice car. Fun, family orientated and reliable. All things relative, and given their reliability, I think it's cheap too. Knick a few qyud off asking and its a bargain.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/9482985

That looks very nice. I love the "watch innards" instruments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

jca wrote: »
    That looks very nice. I love the "watch innards" instruments.

yea just like a cronograph watch:cool:

Diesel Merc 190. New NCT. Rough in spots but should do for a couple of years with a bit of TLC. Cheap and easy to fix either way.

For sale by a boardsie.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mercedes-190-d-new-n-c-t-to-day-/9512867?offset=5

42130796.jpeg

E200 estate. NCT 04/16. €1500. Auto box which suits it the best. 2000 model so most of the issues of the earlier models have been ironed out.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-e-class-estate/9665476?offset=8

42869488.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-80/9781687?offset=14
    43429624.jpeg

Won't win any beauty contests but a good stretch of test for 500 beans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip