Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

BANGERNOMICS CAR OF THE WEEK/DAY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

unkel wrote: »
    There's no point being worried or not worried. First hook up a €5 OBD2 interface and it will tell you what's wrong. Then decide if you should be worried or not :)

This is true but they are tough beasts.
    Highly under stressed in this car too which is a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

CianRyan wrote: »
    This is true but they are tough beasts.
    Highly under stressed in this car too which is a good thing.

The engines were hardly the biggest issue in Renaults of that era though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭highdef

Well there will be a 2l petrol turbo Vel Satis going up for sale soon due acquisition of a company car. Not a car that I want to sell but it's not needed now....it'll have a long NCT and maybe a bit of tax as well. Will be sorry to see her go :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

highdef wrote: »
    Well there will be a 2l petrol turbo Vel Satis going up for sale soon due acquisition of a company car. Not a car that I want to sell but it's not needed now....it'll have a long NCT and maybe a bit of tax as well. Will be sorry to see her go :(

I admire your optimism...

• Registered Users Posts: 592 ✭✭✭wotswattage

jca wrote: »
    It sure is ugly though....

Beauty sure is in the eye of the beholder with them. I'm not mad about the styling but could easily sit in one of the armchairs all day :D
    renault__vel_satis_2_2_dci150_privilege_ba_2007_11_lgw.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,257 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Beauty is in the eye of the beer holder beholder. I personally hate the Nissan Puke or the new Citroen MPV with the lights below the badge grill but there we are they are on the road.

Anyway, needs a bit of haggle work to get into Bangernomics territory but with FSH claimed it might be worth a look.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-tt/7504885

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Finnt

flazio wrote: »
    Beauty is in the eye of the beer holder beholder. I personally hate the Nissan Puke or the new Citroen MPV with the lights below the badge grill but there we are they are on the road.

Anyway, needs a bit of haggle work to get into Bangernomics territory but with FSH claimed it might be worth a look.

She's for sale a good while now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,825 ✭✭✭✭bear1

flazio wrote: »

Words fail me how people can think that those are good pictures when selling a car.

• Registered Users Posts: 345 ✭✭DAZP93

Hi All,

Looking for a modeo type car with at least 3 months NCT for less than a grand. Not really looking for something older than 2002, and petrol or diesel as I'm doing very little mileage.

Looking to find something by the weekend if you can help out.

Thanks,
    Darren

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭toyotaavensis

DAZP93 wrote: »
    Hi All,

Looking for a modeo type car with at least 3 months NCT for less than a grand. Not really looking for something older than 2002, and petrol or diesel as I'm doing very little mileage.

Thanks,
    Darren
    Look at the estate I posted yesterday or the day before a mondeo advertised for 1250 probably cost about 1100 for cash.

Cheers, thinking of going to view at the weekend ! Going to be a bit cheeky and offer €1000

Be cheeky. If it was down my side of the country (Cork) - I would be tempted.

Thats my only issue - I'm in Cork aswell!

PM me where you are based and i might be able to give you some advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Hi All,

Thanks,
    Darren

here are a few that might suit. All close enough to Cork assuming you're willing to travel a little!

This would be a great option if it does pass its NCT on Friday

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/vw-passat-1-6-comfortline/7817042

33728085.jpeg

This isn't a 4 door so that probably rules it out. Lovely looking cars though and a nice interior. NCT until march. Unusual to take hoots of a car towing when trying to sell it though...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/406-hdi-coupe-se/7816523

33726013.jpeg

This is probably a bit smaller than you really want but it's cheap

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/rover-45-1-4-nct-02-15-tax-10-14/7761032

33467224.jpeg

This is probably th best buy you could get. Super spec! heavyish on tax though..

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/02-bmw-520i-leather-new-nct-08-15/7707319

33195603.jpeg

My personal favorite

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/nissan-maxima-automatic-2-0-se/7732476

33323904.jpeg

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    here are a few that might suit. All close enough to Cork assuming you're willing to travel a little!

This would be a great option if it does pass its NCT on Friday

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/vw-passat-1-6-comfortline/7817042

33728085.jpeg

This isn't a 4 door so that probably rules it out. Lovely looking cars though and a nice interior. NCT until march. Unusual to take hoots of a car towing when trying to sell it though...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/406-hdi-coupe-se/7816523

33726013.jpeg

This is probably a bit smaller than you really want but it's cheap

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/rover-45-1-4-nct-02-15-tax-10-14/7761032

33467224.jpeg

This is probably th best buy you could get. Super spec! heavyish on tax though..

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/02-bmw-520i-leather-new-nct-08-15/7707319

33195603.jpeg

My personal favorite

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/nissan-maxima-automatic-2-0-se/7732476

33323904.jpeg

Really love the look of that Passat, going to give the owner a bell later, I'd be very keen if it passes.

I'm really only looking to keep the car for 6 months or so and dont really have to much interest in doing any work to it - I'm a lazy b**tar*!

Thanks for all of your help biggrin.png

Really love the look of that Passat, going to give the owner a bell later, I'd be very keen if it passes.

I'm really only looking to keep the car for 6 months or so and dont really have to much interest in doing any work to it - I'm a lazy b**tar*!

Thanks for all of your help biggrin.png

If you like the Passats then how about these 3?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/vw-passat-1-8t-150bhp-nct-tax/7738474

Nice spec not like the one posted above :p

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/vw-passat-2002/7798306

NCT'd 03/15

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/passat/7814772

Or a 03 with an NCT till 02/15

bear1 wrote: »
    If you like the Passats then how about these 3?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/vw-passat-1-8t-150bhp-nct-tax/7738474

Nice spec not like the one posted above :p

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/vw-passat-2002/7798306

NCT'd 03/15

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/passat/7814772

Or a 03 with an NCT till 02/15

Unreal - lots of milling over to do. I'll make a few calls after work. Cheers

Personally I'd be going for the turbo version. Driven sensibly you'd probably get near enough the same mpg as the 1.6 and the tax is only slightly more expensive.
    Plus heated seats and climate control are always worth the extra.

Personally I'd be going for the turbo version. Driven sensibly you'd probably get near enough the same mpg as the 1.6 and the tax is only slightly more expensive.
    Plus heated seats and climate control are always worth the extra.

Your right - thats the one I'd be tempted to have a look at - bit far away though.

Do all of the models with climate control have heated seats, doesnt seem to mention it in the add?

Your right - thats the one I'd be tempted to have a look at - bit far away though.

Do all of the models with climate control have heated seats, doesnt seem to mention it in the add?

Not all of them do but you can find many on DD with heated seats. Many more though that just have the aircon but no heated seats.
    If you want to know if the car has heated seats then look on the left and right hand side of the centre console.
    They will be the middle button - in this case on the right you can see it just under the hazards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,413 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

I didn't quite go down the luxobarge route, but got my own bangernomics sorted on Friday, an '02 525i SE E39 with 9 months of NCT for €1150.

It's driving well and looks fabulous but a few issues - it needs a €200 brake line and another €900-1300 if I want to sort the problems in the Msport suspension. I need to figure out if it's full on bangernomics (ignore the suspension issues) or a keeper.

Trojan wrote: »
    I didn't quite go down the luxobarge route, but got my own bangernomics sorted on Friday, an '02 525i SE E39 with 9 months of NCT for €1150.

It's driving well and looks fabulous but a few issues - it needs a €200 brake line and another €900-1300 if I want to sort the problems in the Msport suspension. I need to figure out if it's full on bangernomics (ignore the suspension issues) or a keeper.

So the car needs max 1500e worth of repairs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Hey folks, hope yee'r all keeping well.

Just returned to lovely Ireland the other day, I'm looking for something to get around in for a few months: the cheaper and nastier the better, make/model/size doesn't really matter, all I need is nct till about 01/15 (if it was in good nick and didnt have nct I wouldn't be shedding tears tbh) a bit of tax would be a huge bonus as i'm skint, diesel would be nice as I have access to the odd sup from a fuel card but not a necessity.

What have ye for me? :pac:

Thanks in advance :)

Yep, that's what the inspection revealed.

There are other potential issues with an E39 that I'm aware of - cooling system (radiator and/or water pump), ABS module, oil leaks from rocker gasket - any of these could be an issue and cost €200-700ish to fix. Right now, none of those seem to be a problem, so fingers crossed :)

Yep, that's what the inspection revealed.

There are other potential issues with an E39 that I'm aware of - cooling system (radiator and/or water pump), ABS module, oil leaks from rocker gasket - any of these could be an issue and cost €200-700ish to fix. Right now, none of those seem to be a problem, so fingers crossed :)

1500e to repair a car is quite a lot, what is wrong with the suspension that costs that much? Collapsing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,741 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

€1,150 + €1,500 = €2,650 spent on a car that will barely be worth more than €1,500 after fixing it...

If you love the car and will keep it for a long time, sure go for it. Bangernomics it ain't though.

well wear Trojan

edit - sorry I got your name wrong

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Hey folks, hope yee'r all keeping well.

Just returned to lovely Ireland the other day, I'm looking for something to get around in for a few months: the cheaper and nastier the better, make/model/size doesn't really matter, all I need is nct till about 01/15 (if it was in good nick and didnt have nct I wouldn't be shedding tears tbh) a bit of tax would be a huge bonus as i'm skint, diesel would be nice as I have access to the odd sup from a fuel card but not a necessity.

What have ye for me? :pac:

Thanks in advance :)

Can't get more boring than this

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/daewoo-lanos/7731511

well wear Cheensbo

He hasn't bought anything yet :pac:

fixed now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

No offense, but I wouldn't consider that driving well.

It's a fairly desirable spec but that's an awful lot of money to pump into something that will be hard to shift on, to say the least.

Paid 1400 for a 525i(not an M-Sport granted) for the aul lad and the only thing its needed since buying in March is a drop of oil.

Keep it if you're prepared to spend the money.

Moneymaker wrote: »
    No offense, but I wouldn't consider that driving well.

It's a fairly desirable spec but that's an awful lot of money to pump into something that will be hard to shift on, to say the least.

Paid 1400 for a 525i(not an M-Sport granted) for the aul lad and the only thing its needed since buying in March is a drop of oil.

Keep it if you're prepared to spend the money.

I'd second this.
    If you just want a couple of months motoring out of it then I'd be sticking it on DD quite soon.
    If you are going to keep for a while then you will have to get the work done.
    I mean if you think about it, the cost of the repairs are more than the car is worth.

Cheers for the post, but, Jaysus, if only it was beige. and about a quarter of the price :P

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Cheers for the post, but, Jaysus, if only it was beige. and about a quarter of the price :P

Have you thought about a Leap Card? :D

Think I've found the "perfect" car for you

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/opel-corsa-1-2-petrol-5-dr/7797908

Seriously though, if you have a budget of ~300e then surely you won't be able to afford keeping it on the road? Insurance/tax/fuel.
    I would just use public transport if I'm honest.

Have you thought about a Leap Card? :D

Ah I live in the sticks unfortunately, a leap card would be grand if it worked on frogs. :pac:

Engine size doesnt bother me a whole lot once its below 2.0, and id nearly prefer something thats as rough as a bag of hammers, purely for hilarity factor if you get me. Im coming back from driving 6.0 v8's and stuff so a clean looking daewoo 1.3 would be far too depressing :p

Edit*, the running costs etc wont be too much of an issue as i'll have an income shortly, but just right now i've not got much for the actual purchase of a vehicle, no public transport where I am, so a car is a necessity.

I might give a call about that corsa for the craic, at least its not a 3 banger one!

The €1500 is a €200 brake line replacement - absolutely required - and a €1300 Msport suspension overhaul (40:60 parts to labour), which takes it out of Bangernomics if I do the whole thing. It is actually driving quite well and it's certainly not collapsed.

It sounds like you intend to keep the car for a while, then you may as well repair it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Good to have you back Cheensbo!

The Fixerupper thread might be better suited to your needs. This might fit the bill though! It's actually nearly nice:D

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-mondeo/7665113

32991163.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

...This might fit the bill though! It's actually nearly nice:D...

A white, automatic 1600LX Mk. II Mondo with no NCT. That's so shít it's cool. Is that a leather interior??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭alias no.9

jimgoose wrote: »
    A white, automatic 1600LX Mk. II Mondo with no NCT. That's so shít it's cool. Is that a leather interior??

Ex Minicab from the UK

This might fit the bill though!

Asking €200, taking offers and for sale for 24 days already?

That car is scrap :p

'04 Rover 75 2l V6 (these don't have HG issues), auto, high spec, NCT 05/15, asking €1,200. Surely he will take a grand...

33693022.jpeg

Linky

And no, that is NOT a BMW V6 engine :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭highdef

jimgoose wrote: »

Unfortunately the seller is telling porkies. It is in fact a 2 litre petrol so the tax is actually over 700 quid a year. Plus it's a Ghia, not an LX

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

No mention of tax, but one years test.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-a6/7542315

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭jcon1913

W123-80's wrote: »
    A fierce ugly Passat for €900..:pac:
    Test Jan '15
    I dunno, maybe someone might be interested..
    One owner.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/94-volkswagon-passat/7768159

33497223.jpeg
    The bodywork on the passats was bombproof ( for the era ) I believe the forerunner the Mk1 Passat was the first to use galvinised steel => rustproofed. This would be some car if the mileage is correct.

I might even throw in a "be de hokey" in a Bill Cullen accent. Or a Frank Kelly / Eamon Morrisey "deres wan a dem black lads on de winshield. Did ya ever see de like?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭jcon1913

colm_mcm wrote: »

Dodgy colour - check
    "One lady owner" claim - check
    Owner emigrating - check
    Borderline illegal reg plates - check
    "Running well apart from knocking noise"" Lol

Having said that I always had a shine for that particular car..... But I can resist this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

jcon1913 wrote: »
    Dodgy colour - check
    "One lady owner" claim - check
    Owner emigrating - check
    Borderline illegal reg plates - check
    "Running well apart from knocking noise"" Lol

Having said that I always had a shine for that particular car..... But I can resist this one.

Ah, you forgot the best bit:

Owner emigrating.

Will swap.

I could write everything I know about car sales on a leaf, but that sounds dodgy as hell.