Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I fell off a ladder today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Burky126 wrote: »
    I was woken up by a wasp today.

Something needs to be done to address the wasp problem.

Anything.

Try sleeping inside.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

sligojoek wrote: »
    Sorry to hear that Lapin. I broke four ribs in a motorbike crash and two more another time when I was lying on my back on the floor and my, then, two yr old daughter jumped on me from the back of the couch. They get worse before they get better. Hope you're not out of action for too long.

Cheers Joe,

I've broken most bones in my body over the years, but never the ribs.

I've been warned not to cough to heavily, sneeze or laugh for the next three weeks. :(

And now that the painkillers are wearing out, I'm beginning to understand why.

Christ it's sore. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Smidge wrote: »
    Sorry to hear OP
    And people think I'm paranoid about wasps????
    You see?
    I was right about them little bastids

I was right I tells ya!!

I'm with you Bro,

A wasp, give them half a chance, they will kill you and everyone you love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Burky126 wrote: »
    I was woken up by a wasp today.

Something needs to be done to address the wasp problem.

Anything.

Someone's got to ring Joe Duffy. This would never have happened if he was registered with the gutter cleaning quango.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

sligojoek wrote: »
    A mate of mine in Nenagh used to make a tidy few quid cleaning gutters for old folk and people who weren't any good at that sort of thing. When he was done he's sprinkle a bit of topsoil and grass seed in a few strategic places. 6 months later he'd have a bit of repeat business. He used to blame it on birds sh1tt1ng in the gutters.

your mate sound like an ar5e. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,726 ✭✭✭Pretzill

Lapin wrote: »
    Cleaning the gutter on the shed earlier while the weather was fine.

Bastardin wasp turns up.

Panic.

Stung in neck.

Wasp wins and smugly fooks off.

I fall off the friggin ladder.

5 stitches in head. 3 broken ribs. Broken wrist. Eight hours in A&E drinking vending machine coffee.

:(

Go on, laugh ye fúckers.

A wasp in April? Sure it wasn't just a hoverfly?

Seriously though hope you're chillin on some pain relief - smashed ribs is sore!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Chucken wrote: »
    Ok :pac:

Shrrup you. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Wahay!

Join the club. I fell of a ladder few months back, cracked my right side ribs and massively bruised thigh. Just got over it and what do I do last Sunday? Saw into my left hand with a hand saw whilst cutting down a tree. 17 stitches.

Same bloody doctor in the hospital and all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

I'm with you Bro,

A wasp, give them half a chance, they will kill you and everyone you love.

They are the ones in the US with the the big automatic assault guns.
    I think most people know about the WASP's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

your mate sound like an ar5e. :)

You don't know the half of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Right thats it :mad:

I hereby call to order the first meeting of SHOWATANS

*saving humans over wasp as they are nasty swines*

There will be cake.
    Who wants to be treasurer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

you did in your hoop. Unless it was a step ladder on an 18 meter building. 20 meter ladders don't exist. 10m is cack your pants territory.
    10 Meters and youre most likely fcuked is right.

On another note I ended up holding an architects steps recently while a job was being surveyed and the poor man were shaking like a leaf on the second step.
    I ended up shouting measurements down to him.
    It was a 6ft A-frame.

Be careful up there lads.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

10 Meters and youre most likely fcuked is right.

On another note I ended up holding an architects steps recently while a job was being surveyed and the poor man were shaking like a leaf on the second step.
    I ended up shouting measurements down to him.
    It was a 6ft A-frame.

Be careful up there lads.:)

I lolled, but that might be job-specific.. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Id say seannah got his measurements wrong, falling out of a top bunk can be dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

I lolled, but that might be job-specific.. :D

Granted,but he seemed to know what he was doing up to then and volunteered.(no spring chicken either)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I tried

to

laugh but

it's

not

that funny.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

you did in your hoop. Unless it was a step ladder on an 18 meter building. 20 meter ladders don't exist. 10m is cack your pants territory.

Did you read the rest of the post after 20 meters?

I never said the ladder was 20 meters long. It was 20 meters up, it was a rope ladder half way up a tree leading to a zipline in an outdoor activities center in the Dublin mountains. I'd gone over 5 other ziplines before I got to that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭mcgragger

Bastardin wasp turns up.

Panic.

Stung in neck.

5 stitches in head. 3 broken ribs. Broken wrist. Eight hours in A&E drinking vending machine coffee.

Go on, laugh ye fúckers.

3 broken ribs and a broken wrist and they left you in A&E for 8 hours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Bastardin wasp turns up.

Panic.

Stung in neck.

Go on, laugh ye fúckers.

Were you involved in accident that wasn't your fault .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

mcgragger wrote: »
    3 broken ribs and a broken wrist and they left you in A&E for 8 hours?

Thats just how it is now. Brother shattered his arm before. Went to Clonmel.
    "We cant do anything.... Well put a sling on it and give you a note to go to Waterford at 08:00 tomorrow morning."

Went to Waterford.... at f*cking 16:30 we were told there was no chance as Surgery closed at five o clock!!!. Managed to get it done at 16:00 the next day.

This, people, is what we will be paying for the pleasure of if mandatory health insurance goes through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 680 ✭✭✭MS.ing

amateur. have a bee sting you on the lip while youre leaning into (turning) a bend on a bicycle @about 40k/hr down a fookin hill, without so much as flinching (cause if you did youre a gonner in all sorts of pain including the car behind you rolling over you)

that was a hard day :( man up and get your priorities right, bee sting versus possible death/ serious injury

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

Ah, but you didn't get stung!

Nino Brown wrote: »
    Ah, but you didn't get stung!

Might wanna re read that op:D

Haha, missed that. Just a bad day all around for the OP then,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Bastardin wasp turns up.

Panic.

Stung in neck.

Go on, laugh ye fúckers.
    You may have a few piddling broken bones but obviously the wasp has serious anger-management issues. This would be the priority for the HSE to treat. They have to assign an anger-management person to the case. The wasp will be offered a 3-week residential course in the Rutland, (there could be other problems like addiction to drugs, drink or sex).

Get well soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Thats just how it is now. Brother shattered his arm before. Went to Clonmel.
    "We cant do anything.... Well put a sling on it and give you a note to go to Waterford at 08:00 tomorrow morning."

Went to Waterford.... at f*cking 16:30 we were told there was no chance as Surgery closed at five o clock!!!. Managed to get it done at 16:00 the next day.

This, people, is what we will be paying for the pleasure of if mandatory health insurance goes through.

We already do....

There is prsi, then USC (incorporated the old health levy), tax, GP fees, prescription charges - oh and most prsi benefits were removed in previous budget. You pay for A&E unless you have a referral letter (pay GP - tell him you are going to fall of ladder - get letter!) and you will pay for an ambulance if you don't have a medical card. Of course on top of all that you can pay for your own private medical insurance but it will most likley just get you in a bed in a public ward with nothing extra provided....

Basic line is that if you are not lucky enough to have a medical card you can end up paying

USC, prsi & tax with virtually no health benefits
    GP, A&E, full prescriptions charges
    Ambulances charges
    Hospital charges unless you pay
    Private medical insurance as well

And they are going to introduce even more charges for those who are already paying for everything under the new Universal health system ---

Roger_007 wrote: »
    You may have a few piddling broken bones but obviously the wasp has serious anger-management issues. This would be the priority for the HSE to treat. They have to assign an anger-management person to the case. The wasp will be offered a 3-week residential course in the Rutland, (there could be other problems like addiction to drugs, drink or sex).

Nah, it's just their culture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

Wasps are truly evil creatures whose malevolence knows no bounds.

Hope you feel better soon Lapin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I do wish you a speedy recovery

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Poor OP, get well soon. Hope they gave you some decent painkillers to see you through. I saw a guy up a wooden ladder once, the thing split right down the middle and I'll never forget the sound of him hitting the concrete or his screams while he waited for the ambulance to arrive. * I'm shuddering thinking of it.

gozunda wrote: »
    We already do....

There is prsi, then USC (incorporated the old health levy), tax, GP fees, prescription charges - oh and most prsi benefits were removed in previous budget. You pay for A&E unless you have a referral letter (pay GP - tell him you are going to fall of ladder - get letter!) and you will pay for an ambulance if you don't have a medical card. Of course on top of all that you can pay for your own private medical insurance but it will most likley just get you in a bed in a public ward with nothing extra provided....

Basic line is that if you are not lucky enough to have a medical card you can end up paying

USC, prsi & tax with virtually no health benefits
    GP, A&E, full prescriptions charges
    Ambulances charges
    Hospital charges unless you pay
    Private medical insurance as well

And they are going to introduce even more charges for those who are already paying for everything under the new Universal health system ---

I keep saying to myself "Stand your ground, people in this country have had it worse (60 pence in the pound..) just pay up and stay working" but that little voice in the back of my head telling me to f*ck everything and just leave, regardless of cost, gets a little louder every day:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭deise08

I'm so sorry lapin but I did a very laugh out loud there reading that.

God you poor thing!
    Hope you're feeling someway better today :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Well, they do say it's bad luck to fall off a ladder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Go on, laugh ye fúckers.

Well, considering you broke ribs you won't be doing any laughing for a while ;-)

Im also going to wear jeans today for no reason other than to open the buttons as I can to make up for the lack of wristedness on your part.

Get well soon though, sounded nasty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Get well soon Lapin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Sinister Pigeon

Farking wasps.

Just for you Lapin, I'm gonna eat an extra ten today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

Ouch OP. Got away lightly once having fallen of a ladder, still have nightmares the odd time about it. Might sound foolish or inconsiderate but I think having a few broken bones isn't the worst thing, at least you'll never say "jeez I got away with it there".

Speedy recovery!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭deise08

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

well at least you got home...broke my wrist a month ago and they took me to theatre to put k wires in....just wasted three days back and forth to various a and e s as the wretched things slipped inside my wrist.

your post reminded me of this..

http://www.slow-life.co.uk/gerard-hoffnung-the-bricklayers-lament/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭sopretty

Reminds me of a rare humorous tweet from the garda twitter account last year.

Some old dear was complaining about the serious issue of swarms of wasps in the area.

The gaurd tweeted that he'd send out a swat team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

jeezuz christ be careful OP, you're ok so you can joke about it but you mightn't have been so lucky, where was your ladder holder eh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

What height was the ladder?

I hate wasps!

--LOS-- wrote: »
    jeezuz christ be careful OP, you're ok so you can joke about it but you mightn't have been so lucky, where was your ladder holder eh

A ladder holder is not going to do much when you eyeball a wasp!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Jesus how high up were you? I fell off the roof of my mates house a while ago and landed on my car and I didn't break anything.

MadYaker wrote: »
    Jesus how high up were you? I fell off the roof of my mates house a while ago and landed on my car and I didn't break anything.

It depends how you land and what you land on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

You need to break bones in Slovakia. Fell of a horse on the mountain broke 2 ribs and collar bone and was into a+e and home in an hour with a sling and some paracetamol.
    Saw the orthopedic and heart/lung consultants next day with no wait.

You need to break bones in Slovakia. Fell of a horse on the mountain broke 2 ribs and collar bone and was into a+e and home in an hour with a sling and some paracetamol.
    Saw the orthopedic and heart/lung consultants next day with no wait.

Paracetamol for a broken collar bone? Oh the pain!!!!! Have never broken ribs though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

sopretty wrote: »
    Paracetamol for a broken collar bone? Oh the pain!!!!! Have never broken ribs though...

Were both on the same side. Consultant gave me stronger thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I wince when people pronounce ladder as 'lather' - they're the same people who wouldn't be able to make a "th" sound if you paid them in a word that actually requires it.

Turty tree :D

It's one of the nuances of hiberno English. No reflection on our intelligence. :P

Do you think that Japanese people who can't decipher an L from an R are TICK? ;)