Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

how stupid can you get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭AlwaysAnyTime

GarIT wrote: »
    No, just no, not at all in any way, behaviour is 0% genetic. Fact.

[citation needed]

Like I said I am open to correction, I enjoy learning about this kinda stuff. But I would find it difficult to believe that all behavior is 0% down to genetics. Which is what you are saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

[citation needed]

Like I said I am open to correction, I enjoy learning about this kinda stuff. But I would find it difficult to believe that all behavior is 0% down to genetics. Which is what you are saying.

I'm not going digging up articles at 5 past 12 in the morning for some discussion, whether people take selfies or not has no genetic basis. Behaviour is all learned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

lukesmom wrote: »
    A woman is dead, she is somebody's daughter, somebody's sister have some respect.

She didn't have any respect for other road users, so why should we have respect for her?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭obplayer

I'm not going digging up articles at 5 past 12 in the morning for some discussion, whether people take selfies or not has no genetic basis. Behaviour is all learned.

I must admit I am curious also, where did you find the scientific studies that show behaviour is all learned?

Well, I'm not getting into a heated argument at this hour either. But there is substantial research being done into this area (I just did a quick google, and found this - can't post links because I'm a newbie but google the title and you'll find it)
    Study connects dots between genes, human behavior
    from the Salk Institute for Biological Studies.

To just come out with a sweeping statement like "behaviour is 0% genetic. Fact." and then backing down when you are pulled up on it says a lot to me.

Just to clarify, I am not disagreeing with you - it could be discovered that behavior is 0% genetic but from what I've seen not enough research has been done in the area, and not enough is known about neuroscience to fully understand the issue or draw conclusions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,048 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    There but for the grace of God go an awful lot of people.
    I really think this bears repeating.

Who hasn't done something stupid behind the wheel that could (and sometimes should) have ended in disaster? I know I have.

Turtwig wrote: »
    Even if she took my own relatives and survived herself. I'd still be empathetic towards her. She's been punished for a mistake in the cruelest way possible. Unless she was some cold blood evil psycho who preplanned the suffering of others, I'd always have sympathy. Especially when mistakes happen due to naivety or carelessness. If she just avoided hitting them I'd be annoyed. I'd be even more annoyed if she continued to repeat the habit after a close call. But nobody deserves to die or accidentally kill or maim another person. It's a horrid experience. One which anger never helps either party recover from.

/That's how I'd like to react anyway. How I react may be totally different. Such is being human.

The rest of the world are extremely lucky that she only killed herself, that type of behavior could easily have caused a serious crash with multiple fatalities. If it was a car, and not a truck that she crashed into, occupants of the car would most likely have died too. Would you think differently if she killed a close relative? All it takes is one act of stupidity from someone else to wipe out your life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Behaviour is all learned.

Not quite true. Lots of behaviours are instinctual (swimming babies, suckling, grip-reflex etc).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

At least she died Happy !
    Too soon? I don't think it is. I think it is an appropriate time to take the pi$$ out of the flippin eejit for being the first one to bring a sad connotation to what was one of the most positive, happy pieces of humanity this millenium (Thanks again Pharrell). Thanks a friggin million for taking it too far #theresalwaysone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Tragic but hell, that was a stupid thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭cabledude

there's this one, which is worse than that girl. guy, drunk, driving like mad tweeting YOLO about it, before he crashed and kills himself

http://newsfeed.time.com/2012/09/19/aspiring-rapper-drunk-tweets-yolo-just-before-fatal-car-crash/
    YOLO - You only live once.
    YODO - You only DIE once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Karl Stein wrote: »
    Not quite true. Lots of behaviours are instinctual (swimming babies, suckling, grip-reflex etc).

Lots more that that. Twin studies of monozygotic twins show strong correlations in belief systems and behaviour even when brought up in separate environments. Closer than siblings brought up together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

I was on the M4 a few months back. I was in the overtaking lane and there was a line of cars on the inside lane. A few hundred yards up the road i could see a car stopped in the hard shoulder (which is dangerous on its own account).
    Anyhow, as we are approaching the parked car, the vehicle at the top of the queue on the inside lane starts drifting over into the hard shoulder.
    I'm thinking 'WTF!, does he not see the parked car!'
    I start to ease off.
    The guy on the inside lane has both his inner wheels inside the hard shoulder and thunders past the guy who is parked. I literally wince at how close he has come to hitting him - there seems to be only bare inches between the two cars when they pass.

A few hundred yards up the road I overtake the guy. I glance over and he has his phone propped up on the steering wheel in landscape mode and is merrily tapping away on it.

Doesn't even realise how close he's come to killing himself, the parked guy and probably a few other people as well.

Wise I'd taken his reg. number and called the Guards (on handsfree).

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

A selfie of herself? Thanks, Irish Independent from Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Do you know what grinds my gears? People calling photos not taken by one of the subjects of same a "selfie"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

endacl wrote: »
    Wreckless? That's not what the story said!

Thats because no cúnt ever died, She was discoing out in her car while taking pics of herself and posting on facebook while driving. She was 32 and should of known better.
    thus wreckless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Oh look I'm doing something, I lack the intelligence or self awareness to understand that my fascination with me isn't universal so I'll take a photo of myself doing something banal & run of the mill to show to as many people as I can.

Me me me me whap crash bang. The herd is thinned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭SnakePlissken

Thats because no cúnt ever died, She was discoing out in her car while taking pics of herself and posting on facebook while driving. She was 32 and should of known better.
    thus wreckless.

Reckless, it's reckless my good man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

A selfie of herself? Thanks, Irish Independent from Ireland.

For morons the word 'selfie' is now interchangeable with the word 'photograph'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    For morons the word 'selfie' is now interchangeable with the word 'photograph'

No it's not it's you taking a picture of yourself not another person taking it. Hence Self....
    NOUN (plural selfies)

• informal
    A photograph that one has taken of oneself, typically one taken with a smartphone or webcam and uploaded to a social media website:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

No it's not it's you taking a picture of yourself not another person taking it. Hence Self....

If you follow the reply chain back then you can see that's not what is being discussed. Any photograph shared on social media is called a selfie these days. And even if you take one of more that one person it's called a selfie. Like the oscars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

erm... he did say it was for morons...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Jonny Blaze

Karl Stein wrote: »
    It's weird that she felt she had to take a picture of herself being happy and upload it to Facepuke to validate her happiness.

Sure ye can't be happy today without pictorial evidence to prove it!

Sad sad thing to happen though, even if she should have known better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Skeleton XIII

I think you that read wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

It was a stupid thing to do but she paid the ultimate price which she didn't deserve. RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Go back and read what I was referencing... The paper said she was taking a selfie of herself. As per its definition a selfie has to be of oneself so I put out the idea that for stupid people the word selfie was now interchangeable with the word photograph.

A selfie meant something entirely different when I was growing up..