Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

breaking: Gerry Adams Arrested in connection to McConville - MOD WARNING First Post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

But you were asserting that the IRA were not terrorists. Are you standing over this?

As I said it is a useless term. I apply it to all armies or none.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

The IRA were interested in the propaganda of the deed.......the Brits weren't, ergo the IRA were the terrorists.....

they'd like to think it was an insurgency, but it barely fits the historical definition of such.....in Mao's taxonomy it was a little bit of stage 1, and smidgeon of stage 2....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 354 ✭✭pO1Neil

bumper234 wrote: »
    Warrington

That was not aimed at killing anyone. It was aimed at paralyzing England & bringing home to the British people the disruption that their military presence inflicts on the people of Ireland. It did have horrible, disgusting & unwanted consequences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Show people a picture of a British soldier and an IRA member and ask which one is the terrorist, guarantee the majority will.point at the IRA member.

Quite apt with the day that's in it. (33 years to the day)

Recognised around the world.

• Registered Users Posts: 759 ✭✭✭twowheelsgood

Happyman42 wrote: »
    As I said it is a useless term. I apply it to all armies or none.

And if it is to be none, would you say that the Dublin & Monaghan bombings were not acts of terrorism? Simply an army operation by the UVF (including the BA if you like)?

:confused: That directly contradicts what you said earlier? That the provos knew what was best for the Irish people?

I don't think so.

Irish Free State man : I wonder what the best thing for our people would be.

Provo man : The best thing for them is to decide their future, but a right-wing government in London wont allow that. We'll have to fight for the Irish people's right. The British & even your own media will call us criminals, lunatics & terrorists but it's worth because I love this country & it's people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

And if it is to be none, would you say that the Dublin & Monaghan bombings were not acts of terrorism? Simply an army operation by the UVF (including the BA if you like)?

Could you give me any examples of when Loyalist paramilitaries targeted military targets rather than civilians?

Also, it has been proven time and again that loyalists operated freely with the help and assistance of the British state security forces.

pO1Neil wrote: »
    I don't think so.

Irish Free State man : I wonder what the best thing for our people would be.

Provo man : The best thing for them is to decide their future, but a right-wing government in London wont allow that. We'll have to fight for the Irish people's right. The British & even your own media will call us criminals, lunatics & terrorists but it's worth because I love this country & it's people.

Irish Free State man : Grand. But I won't agree to the use of violence to bring it about?

Provo man : Don't be silly. Mumsy Provo knows best!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,412 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

Terrorism is not necessarily about killing, it is about well, using terror for political gain.

But I guess if you are going to change the meaning of words then any word can mean or not mean anything you like.

But most people would see the 1996 bombings as terrorism.

on this basis any army that engaged in armed conflict is in effect a terrorist organisation.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

That was not aimed at killing anyone.

The bombs that they exploded in the street in Warrington that killed the two children weren't meant to kill anybody???
    Were they not supposed to explode or were the explosives they used supposed to be the non killing, friendly variety?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

That was not aimed at killing anyone. It was aimed at paralyzing England & bringing home to the British people the disruption that their military presence inflicts on the people of Ireland. It did have horrible, disgusting & unwanted consequences.

Two explosive devises hidden in waste bins in the middle of a busy shopping district the Saturday before mothers day and it was not an act that was aimed at killing innocent people?

Could you give me any examples of when Loyalist paramilitaries targeted military targets rather than civilians?

Also, it has been proven time and again that loyalists operated freely with the help and assistance of the British state security forces.

Never proven, alleged, much like it is alleged that Adams was in the 'RA. ;)

Anyway, I'm interested in what HM42 says about this. Cos I sure as Shirley consider the Dublin / Monaghan bombings terrorism.

on this basis any army that engaged in armed conflict is in effect a terrorist organisation.

If they deliberately target civilians (personnel or structures) then yes, they are.

oh, that's already been given an airing elsewhere and been shown in it's true ridiculous light.....

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057159256

• Registered Users Posts: 24 JohnInDublin59

Happyman42 wrote: »
    No it isn't, unless you have comprehension difficulties.

My comprehension is fine, thanks very much.

For example, when Happyman42 writes ‘No it isn't, unless you have comprehension difficulties’ what he means is ‘No it isn't, unless you disagree with the beliefs of Happyman42’.

Which, I am pleased to say, I do.

Jawgap wrote: »
    .....and the quotes I offered from the 1977 edition of the Green Book?

The PIRA may have been less overtly Marxist-Leninist leanings but it doesn't mean they shrugged off the mantle passed from the OIRA - their rhetoric is fairly obviously Marxist in it's tone and definition and if it walks like a duck, and sounds like a duck.......

I agree in part. They didn't abandoning their socialist principles (either have I) but there main reason for being was to let the Irish people choose their own future, this is clearly true because the majority of people in Ireland view the Dublin government as the legit one of Ireland & why the IRA army council accepted the legitimacy of Dublin & no longer regard themselves the government of the all Irish Republic of the 2nd Dail so keeping with the majority of the Irish people.

Give the IRA a break lads they died & struggled on your behalf even if they made horrible mistakes like all sides did during the war.

Two explosive devises hidden in waste bins in the middle of a busy shopping district the Saturday before mothers day and it was not an act that was aimed at killing innocent people?

Well then that was terrorism. But it doesn't fit the IRA's style. Was their a warning given?

5th of May already. RIP Bobby a true Irish hero.

But that was aimed at killing innocent people so it was terrorism. Had they given a warning or just caused a of finical damage then that would be fair game in my book.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Currently there are 3260 deaths been reviewed in NI from the troubles alone ,
    Detectives believe 10% attributed to state killings .

That still leaves 90% of all killings down to terrorist actions on both side 's,

In 1972 there were over 10,000 recorded shooting incidents ,

Now remind us who were the bad guys in all of this ,

But that was aimed at killing innocent people so it was terrorism. Had they given a warning or just caused a of finical damage then that would be fair game in my book.

Your book stinks.
    I honestly didn't this that this kind of neanderthal attitude still existed.

Gatling wrote: »
    Currently there are 3260 deaths been reviewed in NI from the troubles alone ,
    Detectives believe 10% attributed to state killings .

That still leaves 90% of all killings down to terrorist actions on both side 's,

In 1972 there were over 10,000 recorded shooting incidents ,

Now remind us who were the bad guys in all of this ,

By the middle of of 1972 the Brits killed 5 during the Falls Curfew, 11 at the Ballymurphy Massacre, 14 on Bloody Sunday & 7 at the Springhill massacre that's 37 civilians all killed on purpose. How many innocent people did the IRA kill on purpose within in that time?

I agree in part. They didn't abandoning their socialist principles (either have I) but there main reason for being was to let the Irish people choose their own future, this is clearly true because the majority of people in Ireland view the Dublin government as the legit one of Ireland & why the IRA army council accepted the legitimacy of Dublin & no longer regard themselves the government of the all Irish Republic of the 2nd Dail so keeping with the majority of the Irish people.

Give the IRA break lads died & struggled on your behalf even if they made horrible mistakes like all sides did during the war.

Yes, one or two (or maybe more) of those 'lads' nearly got me with one of their 'operations' in Covent Gardens in 1992.....

....they certainly didn't struggle on my behalf.

I will concede, however, that they did serve a purpose in the first few years of the Troubles, defending Catholic communities, but post-Sunningdale, their continued activities (and descent into criminality and thuggishness) were counter-productive in the extreme.

I think people have a very narrow minded view of the IRA war of national liberation & need to see things in the broader context. And that broader context being that they seeked to make the lives of the people on this island better. You have to go through hell before you get to heaven.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭theKillerBite

I think people have a very narrow minded view of the IRA war of national liberation & need to see things in the broader context. And that broader context being that they seeked to make the lives of the people on this island better. You have to go through hell before you get to heaven.

Jaysus...what age are you btw?

He's just trolling - I hope!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Time to unsubscribe from this thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

The worst post in this thread.....and that's saying something!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 656 ✭✭✭NipNip

Time to unsubscribe from this thread

Same as that! Over and out!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Give the IRA a break lads they died & struggled on your behalf even if they made horrible mistakes like all sides did during the war.

Disgusting.