Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Island - Bear Grylls

• Registered Users Posts: 13,845 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

It is really tiresome at this stage. pity it rained that time it might be over now

Plenty of energy for ones that have had feck all to eat, I don't believe it

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Unless a crate full of McDonalds washes up on the beach pretty soon I can't see the women's group lasting, they're an absolute disaster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Plenty of energy for ones that have had feck all to eat, I don't believe it

I'm starting to agree. They can't be surving just on the little bit of rainwater.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭BettePorter

I would say that the crew who came to rescue the collapsed girl furnished them with at least water. But the way the 'luckily' found the other group was a bit unbelievable. ' oh I'm just gonna stand up here on these rocks ..... oh look.... there they are!'

But then I suppose leaving them to their own devices the entire 6 week show would have consisted of them hacking through undergrowth looking for eachother.

I would say that the crew who came to rescue the collapsed girl furnished them with at least water. But the way the 'luckily' found the other group was a bit unbelievable. ' oh I'm just gonna stand up here on these rocks ..... oh look.... there they are!'

But then I suppose leaving them to their own devices the entire 6 week show would have consisted of them hacking through undergrowth looking for eachother.

They had to, otherwise the rescuers would have needed a shotgun escort.

At the end of the day its just a tv programme but I suspect that the production crew are giving more assistance, supplies and direction than we are privvy to.

Shame, but then no one wants to see anyone come to any harm. Though at times it reminds me of that classic "Ice Road Truckers" with all of its false drama. Probably dangerous enough but the tv has to first make it safe and then make it appear more dangerous.

We all know that tv shows are edited to within an inch of their lives and probably portray a very different picture to what actually happened to increase ratings but labelling this as "an experiment" I feel puts it in a different category.
    If the experiment fails after 4 days because people couldn't cope then so be it....stop interfering or stop calling it an experiment, am starting to believe the BGT "talking dog" more than this show now

I dunno, I'm not how much assistance they actually get, but I'd imagine the reason they sent them there during the rainy season was to ensure that at the very least they'd have water. Ironically, it's the rainy weather that seems to depress them the most.

There was a bit that I thought was strange the other night, but I could be wrong about it. When they caught the iguana there was only two of them but there seemed to be another person filming it?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I'd imagine they are given daily rations as their basic portions, similar in a way to I'm a Celeb.
    I also think if you pass out to dehydration that's you out of the running and removed from the island. You could argue the same for the lad stung by the Scorpion but his medical attention was over the radio rather than a visit from the support team.

The girls appear to kill that pig, which to me is completely gratuitous but I've mentioned that before so won't bang on, so they appear to keep getting stronger.
    The lads have those two nasty injuries to come (fall from the overhang, from a few feet and the deep gash on the arm).

Watching the women was incredibly frustrating, especially the circles, if you're going to walk in circles why not loop the island by the beaches.

There was a scene last night where the women had a load of crabs under some sort of pot and were racing them for fun.

I don't know if they're edible (if I'd any interest in doing something similar be sure I'd have swotted up) but why not eat them even boiled up in sea water. :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,253 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

There was a scene last night where the women had a load of crabs under some sort of pot and were racing them for fun.

I don't know if they're edible (if I'd any interest in doing something similar be sure I'd have swotted up) but why not eat them even boiled up in sea water. :confused:
    Sure on the first night on the island, one of the women was going nuts at a crab crawling on a tree near her.
    Even when food walks right up to them they still seem to have no idea what to do.

And what was with the "camp group" just waiting around doing nothing.
    Why weren't they all having a go at trying to light a fire or finding food or building a shelter.
    It was like some of them had given up and were waiting around to die.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

when the two lads got washed off the rocks and lost their cameras, how did they get the footage they filmed immediately beforehand? :eek:

I never get the concept of people wanting to leave these type of challenges after a day or two. I'd be of the opinion that I would try my best to get through it and if it defeated me, so be it. I would give it a hell of a lot longer than a few days! They do know what they are signing up for beforehand.

It's a good show all the same. Myself and mrs seafields tuning in every week and a few people in work watching it too. These types shows do prove popular. RTE take note....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭Addle

SeaFields wrote: »
    RTE take note....

Maybe an rte show was the original inspiration?
    Lambo....

I never get the concept of people wanting to leave these type of challenges after a day or two. I'd be of the opinion that I would try my best to get through it and if it defeated me, so be it. I would give it a hell of a lot longer than a few days! They do know what they are signing up for beforehand.

I'm sure there was a fair bit of engineering by the production team. They didn't want people that could survive so much as those that would make interesting Tele.

I'm sure you could pick 14 people off of here at random and they would make a better fist of it. Probably be great to do - not so great to watch though :).

I'm enjoying it too. It beats the usual rubbish.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,931 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

when the two lads got washed off the rocks and lost their cameras, how did they get the footage they filmed immediately beforehand? :eek:

It's a good show all the same. Myself and mrs seafields tuning in every week and a few people in work watching it too. These types shows do prove popular. RTE take note....
    Cameras like those wont be from Argos or PwerCity, they'll probably cost about 50-100k and be fully waterproof with GPS beacons so they can float away and be retrieved later.

Funniest bit of the week had to be when the expedition team were running through the bush all excited because they thought they recognised the terrain around the original campsite then they realised they were back on Coconut Beach for the 4th time and a couple of them started bawling crying, absolutely brilliant :D

They must be getting a food ration though, as has been said there is no way they would be functioning like this the way they've been behaving for the past few days.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭BettePorter

does anyone recog Vic from a reality show in early to mid noughties .... about a cleaning company he owned with the wife?? maybe I'm just thinking I remember him but the fact hes a cleaning facilities manager now was a bit coincidental.

Bette, I don't, but I wouldn't be in the least surprised. I've seen similar instances of someone appearing on "This Morning" The BB audience and some doc about wife-swapping all in a couple of months.

I've long held the view that the majority of the people on these types of show are not Joe and Jane Soap but are trawled from casting agents and will be whatever the producers want. There will be a few ordinary types but the rest are there for the story.

Poorly edited tonight, when they complained the 2nd time about Kyle they showed the footage from the morning of him brushing his teeth again.

Seems like there could be trouble too as the Caiman may not have been been the species they thought it was and it was actually on an endangered species list.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

The wife has a great eye for those sort of things and says she recognises him but cant pin point from where.

Good episode tonight although I have to say the editing was poor as well. Before the net was found I could have swore I saw the net in the background of one of the shots. And I did notice the kept showing Kyle brushing his teething / giving himself a pedicure.

Tonight should be interesting. Can the women kill the pigs?!

For some weird reason I'd have found it much harder to kill the pig than the alligator, maybe due to the noises they make.
    Seems they get specialist training though "for the kill" judging by where the lads knew to go for.

Clips should the girls lining up to slit the throat of a piglet, surely there's a better way than that?

The wife has a great eye for those sort of things and says she recognises him but cant pin point from where.

Good episode tonight although I have to say the editing was poor as well. Before the net was found I could have swore I saw the net in the background of one of the shots. And I did notice the kept showing Kyle brushing his teething / giving himself a pedicure.

Tonight should be interesting. Can the women kill the pigs?!
    The net was definitely in the background of a few shots before he dug it up, when I first saw it I was wondering why they didnt have it in the water and when they were celebrating finding it I was thinking they had a nicer one back at camp :confused:

I feel sorry for those poor animals tbh, its pretty obvious they're just being pulled out of a crate and dumped there a few minutes before the survivors arrive. No way in hell did these amateurs build a trap that actually worked like that.

Thargor wrote: »
    I feel sorry for those poor animals tbh, its pretty obvious they're just being pulled out of a crate and dumped there a few minutes before the survivors arrive. No way in hell did these amateurs build a trap that actually worked like that.
    That doesn't add up though, especially if they are being accused of killing an endangered animal. Although judging by these comments, the crocs were native to the Island.
    A Channel 4 spokesperson has commented on the unfortunate incident, telling The Sun: “This was a genuine and regrettable error. Prior to filming experts were consulted to ascertain species on both islands and the American crocodile was not known to be in the area or on the island.

“The relevant national environment agency are aware of the incident and have granted a licence to replace the animal which has now been done.”

Ah interesting thanks, pretty good achievement for the men then, pity it was endangered.

Thargor wrote: »
    Ah interesting thanks, pretty good achievement for the men then, pity it was endangered.

it's even more endangered now

• Registered Users Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭RoryMurphyJnr

Good show, watched it last year.
    Both groups proving to be equally useless.

Said it last year my Cub Scouts would do a better job of surviving :)

it's even more endangered now
    Only technically endangered in parts of a range that stretches from Brazil to the US and all over Cuba and the other islands and heavily protected for most of that, its not going extinct any time soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭Trond

Anyone else think the women are been given a helping hand at this stage?

The arrival of those pigs seems a tad suspicious given they never came across them in 2 full days of wandering aimlessly through the jungle.

Has to be fake but then again I thought that about the mens meal last night, 2 little piglets no sign of the mother? They didnt look like feral pigs either which are next to impossible to catch bare handed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

I liked the first series not so convinced about the second series to be honest.

The first series was more set up than this one, and that's by their own admission.