Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Animal Cruelty.

• 01-05-2014 10:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,999 ✭✭✭✭

My Mum (67) rang me in a state to say she witnessed a group of passing Scumbags set their dogs loose on a neighbourhood cat and tear it assunder.

These scumbags patrol the area with a group of lurchers, terriers, looking for to kill foxes, badgers, rabbits. They happened to be passing through, saw the cat and set the dogs loose. They opened the gate of where the cat was sitting and let the dogs fleece the cat. My Mum saw them go off with the cat dangling from the lurchers mouth.

She was in an awful state. I dont live with my Mum. I phoned the Gardai, who said they would send someone but never turned up. Can I take this further as I fear for peoples pets.

She has phoned me to say the neighbours plants are all in disarray and the front garden is littered with the cats fur where the dogs tore it to pieces. It is very upsetting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭anniehoo

anewme wrote: »
    Can I take this further as I fear for peoples pets.

OP there's 2 numbers you can ring.

Animal Cruelty Helpline 1890 515 515

and

1850 211 990

Continue to ring both until you get someone to investigate further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Tranceypoo

Oh jesus, I felt sick just reading that, your poor mother must be in a right state, that poor cat, probably somebodys pet and those disgusting scumbags. Please do ring the animal helpline even just to log the event as there's probably not much they can do now, not surprised the guards didn't even show up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,524 ✭✭✭Zapperzy

Every time I start questioning myself whether keeping my cats inside is the right thing to do I see a story like this. Little scumbags in the making. Used to regularly walk through an area with a significant number of these little a**holes and always got stared at and shouted at sometimes too, they thought they owned the area and would tell people likewise. You'd see them walking lurchers too, seriously doubt they were bringing their pet for a leisurely stroll for the good of their health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

My Mum (67) rang me in a state to say she witnessed a group of passing Scumbags set their dogs loose on a neighbourhood cat and tear it assunder.

These scumbags patrol the area with a group of lurchers, terriers, looking for to kill foxes, badgers, rabbits. They happened to be passing through, saw the cat and set the dogs loose. They opened the gate of where the cat was sitting and let the dogs fleece the cat. My Mum saw them go off with the cat dangling from the lurchers mouth.

She was in an awful state. I dont live with my Mum. I phoned the Gardai, who said they would send someone but never turned up. Can I take this further as I fear for peoples pets.

She has phoned me to say the neighbours plants are all in disarray and the front garden is littered with the cats fur where the dogs tore it to pieces. It is very upsetting.

Good Lord. Whereabouts did this happen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

Zapperzy wrote: »
    Every time I start questioning myself whether keeping my cats inside is the right thing to do I see a story like this. Little scumbags in the making. Used to regularly walk through an area with a significant number of these little a**holes and always got stared at and shouted at sometimes too, they thought they owned the area and would tell people likewise. You'd see them walking lurchers too, seriously doubt they were bringing their pet for a leisurely stroll for the good of their health.

I'm the same. my two cats are 1 and have only recently been given extremely supervised visits to the garden. Too afraid to let them out when I hear stories like this so often :( actually felt sick reading that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,999 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Sorry guys, did not mean to upset anyone. It is such a horrible story. My poor Mum (who lives alone) is in a bad way over this did not sleep a wink. She is afraid they will come back and break into the house to get her 2 little dogs, so she is bringing them upstairs from now on with their baskets in her room. She is even afraid to bring her dogs for a walk in case these scumbags turn up, because they could just as easily savage a little dog.

She blames herself, because she used to feed the cat, who used to lie outside her front door, waiting for his tea, before he went off. If we came in, the cat would not run from my Mum's 2 dogs, because they did not go for the cat and took it as part of the furniture. I said to my Mum last week when we came back from walking her dogs "you should not have that cat there like that, it wont run from other dogs because it's used to yours" and less than a week later, this happens. Its not the kind of area where dogs are let run loose, so she thought the cat would be fine. Cue, scumbags from next postcode!!!

The minute mum phoned, I knew which scumbags they were......I have no idea who they are, they are not from the area, but I know them from sight and I hate seeing them going around. They are going around years, going about some kind of horrible business........pure skangers. I reckon the Gardai would know them by sight too.

I dont want to give the exact location, but it's west Dublin. Please please mind your pets. Do not let them out. The cat loved my Mum and it was a harmless thing, had been coming there years for his bit of grub.....my poor Mum is really heartbroken.

I am going to make sure this is reported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭anniehoo

, but it's west Dublin.
    Can you PM me please as I live in West Dublin thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 947 ✭✭✭zef

Hi this is really sickening. One f my cats was missing for 2 hours today-she turned up in a press!!! but i was in a panic looking for her. I am in west dublin also.
    Do you know the neighour who owns the cat or has your mum told them what she witnessed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Zapperzy wrote: »

when i lived anywhere near other people i kept my cats in. too many dangers. living in the middle of a field gives greater freedom, but yes, too many risks. my two now are country wise and plenty of trees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Sickening news. There are old threads on Boards about it happening around Corkagh Park so it is not a once off.

Link to one of the old threads

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=72742122

It is not the next door neighbour who owned the cat. We don' t know who owened the cat, but someone did, he was healthy, shiny coat and well socialised.

You know what cats are like, they own you, and he had adopted my mum as she was good to him, came on his daily visit and then went home to where ever for the evening

In trying to escape from the dogs, he went into the neighbours garden where he was cornered. The worst bit is that the scumbags deliberately opened the gate and set the dogs on him. Really Big Men!

My Mum did tell the neighbour and she was upset. They all knew the cat to see it sitting in their front gardens, harming no one. The whole road are upset over it. These are all elderly ppl in a close community in their 60's and 70's and are not able for this.

My Mum said yesterday, if she had come around the corner and saw the cat lying dead on the road after being hit with a car, she would have prefer that, at least it would be an accident.

I'm glad that I posted this thread, even if I have upset people. I am comforted to read that some people out there love their pets and think this is a disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭boomerang

Oh god, it's any cat owner's worst nightmare.

I'm the same, terrified to let them out except under strict supervision for half an hour in the middle of the day.

I just had to post the update to this. My poor Mum has been so upset since this incident and kept looking out the front where the cat used to sit.

She said everything she comes out she keeps picturing the poor old cat being carried off lifelessly dangling from the greyhound jaws and the scumbags walking off. When my Mum and a neighbour went out though, they sped up.

Anyway last night she heard meowing from the back of her house and from the top of the shed. She looked out and there was the cat!!! It was dark and she could not really see, but she threw some food up on the top of the shed. On her way to bed, she said she could see cats eyes shining through the front door (where the cat used to sit) She rang me, and I told her, no way is it him, it must be another cat.

Anyway, I was visiting today and who appeared on the shed! It's the cat. It's definitely him. He's been through the wars, poor old thing, and has scrapes on his face and looks a bit bedraggled and when I went out, he legged it as he's weary of people now. But my Mum put out the food and we are just going to leave it out for him.

It's been about 10 days since he went, but the poor old thing has made his way back. He's definitely used up more than one of his 9 lives! I dont know how it's happened, or how he escaped, where he's been or why it took so long for him to get back, but he's back!

It's made my Mum's weekend!

Good prevails sometimes!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Tranceypoo

Blimey that's extraordinary if it's the same cat!

Is there any way you can catch him at all, he probably could do with seeing a vet!

Tranceypoo wrote: »
    Blimey that's extraordinary if it's the same cat!

Is there any way you can catch him at all, he probably could do with seeing a vet!

It is definitely him, or his twin:) as he was quite distinctive (tiger markings) and very distinctive green eyes. Yes, reckon poor old sod could do with the vet allright as it's clear he's been in the wars, but going to be hard to catch him.

Mum's just trying to try to gain his trust again, but he knew where to come back to for the food. So we will start there. It's actually quite extraordinary and it might sound a bit crappy, as it's not even our cat but I'm definitely made up over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Capercaille

Get a loan of a cat trap from your local vet to catch him. He probably needs treatment asap.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭ziggy23

Ah was in tears reading this thread please keep us updated

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭jimeryan22

Scum scum scum... Nothing worse than ill treatment of defenceless animals.. Poor moggys often the butt of this type of crap.. Hope you manage to catch kitty an patch him up..
    <snip>
    Do not advocate cruelty to ANY species on this forum.
    Thanks,
    DBB

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭jimeryan22

jimeryan22 wrote: »
    Scum scum scum... Nothing worse than ill treatment of defenceless animals.. Poor moggys often the butt of this type of crap.. Hope you manage to catch kitty an patch him up..
    <snip>
    Do not advocate cruelty to ANY species on this forum.
    Thanks,
    DBB

Sorry... Your dead right dude..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

Nice outcome OP, considering the circumstances that is.

Reminds me of when we were young, I was watching TV with one of my brothers when my mum and my other brother came home in tears. They said the found our cat Ginger on the side of the road, and that she must have been hit by a car. We buried her, and were all really upset so my mum brought us to the shop to get some sweets. When we got home, there was Ginger on our windowsill waiting to be let inside.

Obviously we just mistook this cat we found for her - I don't think any of us studied the cat too hard as it's not something you want to look at. But part of me still believes in the zombie/Jesus cat story! :)