Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Saturday Night Show: May 3rd 2014 9.55pm

• 03-05-2014 1:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭

Hello, and welcome once again to the show that never ends. If it was a day later I could do a Star Wars "May the Forth be with you" joke but fate has decreed otherwise. Hey, if it's your Birthday today you share it with James Brown, Bing Crosby, Frankie Vali, Ben Elton and lots of other people http://www.famousbirthdays.com/may3.html

But on with the show ...Let's open Brendan's Big Book of Guests and see what delights he has in store for us this week ...

Keep Scrolling ...

A -List ALERT

Are you sitting down ... seriously, would I lie to you?

On the Saturday Night Show this week, it's only the star of Mandela:Long Walk to Freedom, The Wire and Luther - Idris Elba :eek:

Look, I'm as surprised as you are. It says here he "will be talking about portraying Nelson Mandela on screen, and why he still likes to DJ in Dublin venue Buck's Townhouse" Fair play to him.

Any more A-Listers, I hear you ask?

Eh, no - but if you are a fan of celebrity solicitor Gerald Kean then a) why? and b) he's on the SNS this week. He does a lot of work for charity and all that, I don't know if his on/off/on/off/on/off/on other half is coming too.

Also on board are Fionnbar and Elma Walsh, the parents of the late inspirational teenager Donal Walsh, who will discuss Fionnbar's new book about his son.

Do you remember when the Late Late Show used to do a Fashion Show every year? Well, the SNS has no money for that but they do have the finalists and winner of student fashion competition Junk Kouture in studio. I hear they are very much a la mode, so hot right now, and represent the kind of thing you should be wearing if you want to stay on trend. Or something.

American indie jazz soul band Lake Street Dive come in for an auld chat and a bit of a song. They've been on Ellen's show (although so have Crystal Swing, so that's faint praise)

here they are singing Afternoon Delight.

Sky Rockets in Flight - Whoo! ...

That's about it.

It's the Eurovision next week, so it's your last chance to see Brendan for a fortnight. Don't say you weren't warned.

And now the dog and cat.

2s1mcer.jpg

0191.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Wow!

An A Lister!!!!!!.......:)

And Z list Gerard Keane.......

http://www.irishmirror.ie/showbiz/irish-showbiz/solicitor-gerald-keane-trying-baby-3039098

I hope he doesn't start this guff again.........

Great OP Skid!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

Gerarld Kean like or hate him he is good entertainment, and charity's don't loose with him.

cofy wrote: »
    Gerarld Kean like or hate him he is good entertainment, and charity's don't loose with him.

Well, he is a Man Utd supporter...........:D

I give him that....:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Great OP Skid.
    Might be an okay show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,675 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Outstanding OP Skid!

Jesus, a real famous person! Wow! Was NOT expecting that.

That doggy looks a bit more serious than the regular ones. Wouldn't want to mess with him. It'd be great if he was in studio, and trained to be a sort of guard dog against bad guests. Y'know snarling and growling if they were boring or pillocks or whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

Idris Elba, I just realised where I know him from, he was in The Bill a few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,321 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Great OP, Skid :)

Even Kitteh looks surprised at an A-Lister on the SNS!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

*knocks on door*..

eh, I missed last nite.. Am I allowed back in :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

what does Gerald kean actually talk about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

It turns out Idris Alba has been on the SNS before, in December 2012

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056821100

Nobody on that thread seemed to know who he was, ah well. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Is he the fella that does the ads for sky anytime?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,695 ✭✭✭Lisha

bigpink wrote: »
    what does Gerald kean actually talk about

Himself, Lisa, his daughter, his charity donations, (fair play don't get me wrong),
    How he never bought extra property as he knew it was madness.

And how he loves life. Think he has things pretty Sussed myself

(I actually like Gerald, think he is a lot more astute than his Bon viveur persona shows)

Lisha wrote: »
    Himself, Lisa, his daughter, his charity donations, (fair play don't get me wrong),
    How he never bought extra property as he knew it was madness.

And how he loves life. Think he has things pretty Sussed myself

(I actually like Gerald, think he is a lot more astute than his Bon viveur persona shows)

Yeah, he is not the worst, in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

He may be not the worst but he comes across as an astonishing tool.

Skid X wrote: »
    It turns out Idris Alba has been on the SNS before, in December 2012

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056821100

Nobody on that thread seemed to know who he was, ah well. :D

I'm afraid to say I don't really remember his appearance.....:o

That was a really nice thread to read again though!.....:):):)

I'm afraid to say I don't really remember his appearance.....:o

That was a really nice thread to read again though!.....:):):)

Good stuff, I'm going to have a read of that thread later.

Thanks to the posters who supplied their pet pictures for the OP this week :)

*knocks on door*..

Ah sure, everybody needs a break -as Christy Moore didn't sing yesterday. One of many things he didn't do.

Hey Skid... I read back through some of the thread but it was 3am by the time I got home last nite.... And since I had no beer in the house I just went to bed.. By the posts I did read, Christy Moore was a bit down, and bringing everybody else down with him?

He didn't really say much at all, which wasn't like him. It was a very good segment and Tom Gilmartin's son in particular was very impressive.

Hard to know if Christy wasn't really in the humour for it or he just thought he hadn't much to add to the conversation.

*knocks on door*..

CH From last night's LLS thread below....

Also, I'm working tonight... ... * kicks the cat, (and the puppeh).. *

There will no kicking of the ketteh or puppeh tonight I can tell you.........:eek: :mad:

Btw, no-one told me The Niall McCabe Band were on last week while I was stalking Howard Shore in the NCH....They are pretty good! :) I think they were album of the week in RTE a few weeks ago..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,374 ✭✭✭twirlagig

Great OP Skid! :)

He didn't really say much at all, which wasn't like him. It was a very good segment and Tom Gilmartin's son in particular was very impressive.

Hard to know if Christy wasn't really in the humour for it or he just thought he hadn't much to add to the conversation.

He hadn't really, I thought. Tubridy interrupted the others a couple of times, in order to ask him what he thought. Completely pointless and annoying interruptions, particularly when Tom Gilmartin Jnr was speaking. We had heard all of it from the tribunals, but it was particularly interesting and indeed saddening, to hear the real impact the whole thing had on his parents, and family.

I'd recommend Christy get a check-up and fast. He looked very unhealthy last night. :(

Is he back on the "port and brandy, the vodka and the stag"?

Evening all!

Let's predict the opening gags...

Gerry Adams?
    Election posters?
    Enda Kenny kissing a bride?

Is he back on the "port and brandy, the vodka and the stag"?

Massive red face, looked like his blood pressure was way high....He had a jacket on and it could have been the studio lights, but I'd cart him off to the Doc if he was in my house...

I have blooming shares in Roundup.......

And will someone please stop the grass growing....:(

He looked really unwell.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Evenin all. smile.png

Tonight's tipple......

antibiotics.jpg

Needless to say it's not my tipple of choice.

frown.pngfrown.pngfrown.png

Gerry Adams!

Brendan's jokes are piddle poor tonight....

Feel better soon Lapin :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Evening all. The jokes are as bad as ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

The jokes are as stiff as his quiff.

*facepalm*

How you feeling, Lapin?

How many times has he been on this program?

Please tuck your hanky in a bit, Gerald.

He had a near death experience, but God decided that Heaven wasn't big enough for the both of them.

Lapin should be on the chair there.

We'd have more fun.....

(you know what I mean Lapin... :))

Them mozzies are lethal to the celebs. Poor Cheryl Cole had a similar experience !

Ah jaysus missed the start... 10pm my ar$e, Aertel... !!

I'm gonna have a drink any time he refers to Lisa as "poor little lamb"..

The LLS crew are now arranging an interview with the mosquito.

If he marries her I'll eat my special wedding hat........

I'm not drinking tonight, a nice cup of tea and some M&Ms for me.

Lovely stuff.

Lisa's industrial strength lips probably sucked out all his bad blood.

Gerald and Lisa, stop and think what this is doing to Barry Egan!!

I'm quite partial to M&M's myself Skid!! :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

How you feeling, Lapin?

I'd be feeling a lot better if Everton won or drew today.

Ant that's the first, last and only time you'll ever see me write those words !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,968 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Tell us about Lisas lovely yellow coat, this is what the country needs to hear...