Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Continuous Alfa 156 build thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I'll go with a 28? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

YbFocus wrote: »

I think it's a case of that is what it really is but with a different badge on the back LOL :P :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

I hoped you'd see this! It's not a 728i....it's a small bit bigger...:D

VoHUon.jpg

It's a 5.4 V12 750i...

166man wrote: »
    VoHUon.jpg

It's a 5.4 V12 750i...

I wept with joy :)

Did you just quote a photo..? :pac:

Gah I miss having the banter around here..! But yes, it's the real deal, a few small things to deal with but Cian Ryan and Quad have had a spin in it so I'm sure they'll make their opinion known..:D

It's a completely mad car, 80km/h and it's sitting in 5th gear pulling 1k rpm...:cool:

Gah I miss having the banter around here..! But yes, it's the real deal, a few small things to deal with but Cian Ryan and Quad have had a spin in it so I'm sure they'll make their opinion known..:D

It's a completely mad car, 80km/h and it's sitting in 5th gear pulling 1k rpm...:cool:
    :mad:

CHP is left out of this spin - not happy so I amn't! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I want a V12.

CianRyan wrote: »
    I want a V12.

Sold the mx5 yet?
    I say sell it and use the proceeds to buy a v12 :P

No, I've decided it's mine. :p
    May rob a V12 and stick it in there all the same. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

I wish I hadn't told you about the feckin think. The original owner must have ticked everything on the spec list.
    Yes I will have a tv in my car

Fantastic, two wonderful cars you have :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Looking well 166Man.

I never thought you'd go for something so big given the V6 was so expensive to run. I forgot you'd bought the 156 back however :)

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Looking well 166Man.

I never thought you'd go for something so big given the V6 was so expensive to run. I forgot you'd bought the 156 back however :)

Thanks Augeo!

I lost your number BA or I would have told you about it..!

It's a weekend car only and not a daily so it's not bad, fuel and tax are a joke but I have done my sums and a recent promotion in work means this is feasible. You only live once and these cars are getting thin on the ground.

It's got it's share of issues but I'll sort them :D

Brave on any car, never mind a 750i. :p

750i gone away for a few days to get a new coolant pipe and a full service done along with a bit of prep for it's NCT. Its a good sign when the mechanic rings specifically to tell you what a good car it is and how straight and clean it is underneath...:D

Should have it back by next week and then test it and tax it.

That's great news to hear man :)

I must get a look at that machine at some stage!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Just like my one so :P :pac:

Your a funny man :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Your a funny man :)

Ah im kidding sure y'know i loves ye :D

Ah definitely, I should have it back tomorrow or Monday so she will be taxed then and on the road..! The road presence is ridiculous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Should this be renamed to Continuous BMW Build? :pac:

Not a whole heap to add to the project thread except hoping to have the 750 back from having it's service and some cooling pipes fitted by the end of the week.

Oh and in the unlikely event Shadowhearth will see this, congrats on the new job...:D Glad to see things are moving in the right direction!

Small update in here. V12 needed a new water pump on top of the cooling pipe. Decided to do it all at once along with the service so she should be ready for her NCT. I'm confident it should pass! Looking forward to getting it back, too many 4 bangers in the drive...! :pac:

Away with work all next week so mechanic will take the 750 for the week and drive it to make absolutely sure there's no more issues so happy days there.

After yesterday, I can finally justify my username on the site too...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Away with work all next week so mechanic will take the 750 for the week and drive it to make absolutely sure there's no more issues so happy days there.

After yesterday, I can finally justify my username on the site too...;)

if you ever need this service again, I have a track record in making sure e38's work well

Pm sent.

Finally nearly 4 years later I have a car worthy of my username....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

That looks great!

Thanks man, appreciate it. I sold my BMW 750i to fund the purchase of this car and the subsequent rebuild it's getting this week.

Some may call it crazy, but when you wanted one of these for 10 years + and you get that giddy feeling when you start and drive it, it's worth it entirely.

One more pic just because....:D

Thanks man, appreciate it. I sold my BMW 750i to fund the purchase of this car and the subsequent rebuild it's getting this week.

Some may call it crazy, but when you wanted one of these for 10 years + and you get that giddy feeling when you start and drive it, it's worth it entirely.

One more pic just because....:D

All may call it crazy.
    Well, all of us that don't have 166 in our name!

That looks a wonderful motor, is it a v6?

Augeo wrote: »
    That looks a wonderful motor, is it a v6?

It is indeed, fantastic car. Was in decent shape when I bought it, so mainly I'm doing quite a bit of preventative maintenance, suspension and cooling parts, as well as tyres brakes and servicing.

Only 94k miles on it and it's an original Irish car from new too.

Car is being worked on this week by a fantastic Alfa specialist in Enfield. I have parts coming in from all over Europe for this car this week. Work being done listed below..

List of work for 166

- new lower wishbones TRW
    - new upper wishbones TRW
    - new drop link
    - new bushes in the rear suspension
    - oil and filter Millers Trident
    - air and pollen filter
    -,wiper blades
    - cam timing check
    -diagnostics check
    - fit wooden steering wheel :D
    - STR button
    - New front brake pads
    - New rear discs and pads
    - new air pipe from air box to throttle body
    - 2 x front CV boots
    -clutch squeak pedal
    - radiator
    - associated coolant pipes
    - full coolant flush
    - car mats
    - new front and rear badges
    -pressed metal plates
    - new expansion tank
    - 4 x Goodyear Eagle F1's also being delivered this week.

The list might look like the car is a poor one, it's not, most of this work isn't needed right now, the cooling system is actually fine, but nonetheless, no chances are being taken, I want to do this right.

The tyres on it and brakes and also grand and would go another while but "grand" isn't good enough for me on this car. It needs to be the best I can have it!

Think, for all the money that you're spending on this you could have either kept the 750 or bought a Alfa 75 3.0v6... :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 theredx19

I knew that 156 looked familiar so the wooden wheel looks well in her.... very smart looking car and love the wheels

theredx19 wrote: »
    I knew that 156 looked familiar so the wooden wheel looks well in her.... very smart looking car and love the wheels

156 is going great actually. 7k miles since November. With the steering wheel in the 166 too, I'll have two wooden ones! :D

Tyres and radiator arrived today along with something from Parcel Motel. Have to go to Dublin tonight to collect.

Should have the 166 back this weekend. Make a start then on rejuvenating the leather inside. :pac:

Got the 166 back there on Saturday. She's definitely driving better..!

List of work done includes

- new front lower wishbones
    - new rear lower arms
    - new drop links front
    - new bushes in the rear suspension
    - oil and filter
    - air and pollen filter
    -,wiper blades
    - cam timing check
    -diagnostics check
    - fit steering wheel
    - STR button
    - Loose front seats
    - 2 x Goodyear front tyres
    - 2 x front CV boots
    -clutch squeak pedal
    - new radiator
    - associated coolant pipes
    - full coolant flush
    - new badge

In the next two weeks I still have to do rear discs and pads, front pads, new upper wishbones, two new TRW track rod ends, two more GoodYear tyres on the rear, 4 wheel alignment, replace air pipe, new coolant expansion tank.

NCT is this Thursday, most of the above work will have to wait until after, it should pass anyway though.

Once that's all done, again in the next few weeks, I need to replace the arm rest with a grey leather one, clean all the leather seats, wet vac all the carpets and then put in new floor mats.

FINALLY I'm hoping to send the car to one of the detailers in Dublin for a full machine polish correction.

Then I'll be happy....maybe... :D

This thread is devoid of pics also so I'll get a few up next week when I'm back in Dublin..

166 is in with Ian in Elite Auto Clean currently all week. She's having extensive paintwork correction as well as having the leathers insider treated etc... After this week I'll be 5 times as much into the car as I originally paid for it.....:o

Sneak teaser attached....

166 is in with Ian in Elite Auto Clean currently all week. She's having extensive paintwork correction as well as having the leathers insider treated etc... After this week I'll be 5 times as much into the car as I originally paid for it.....:o

Sneak teaser attached....

That teaser doesn't really show much tbh, enough of the timporary photos, give us some finished shots! :)

Cars not back until Saturday...!:D

Ah fair enough. Guess I'll have to wait for the new Chevy Cavalier shots till then.

Plenty of time for a big mac,he mouse have said then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Into The Blue

How much do elite charge for the polish?

Close to 4 figures but every job is different.

Car returned there on Monday after a long week with Ian. Absolutely delighted with the results. Spent all day driving it yesterday and it was so enjoyable.

Finally I have my 166 to be proud of. It's been a long time coming. :)

lTXpAw.jpg

hK6BgV.jpg

QU1hrg.jpg

Nicer picture here than the others, shows the proper lines of the car.

I realise that due to the past, few read this thread or even take much notice but for myself, I like having it, and hopefully contribute to it in the future.

Enjoy.

GBiETj.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Only seeing this thread now. Well wear on the new car 166man it's great to see you finally got one after all the years of waiting. As for the work you've done so far it's unbelievable it really will be perfect by the time your finished working on it. Also the colour looks really nice and unusual too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

i've been following, just not saying much :)

although i'm not an alfa fan, i can clearly see why you love it and you have to tip your hat to any man who doesn't mind pumping far more money into a car than it's actually worth. there is only a select few (myself included) who are that committed and stupid.

do you ever feel the need to wear corduroy trousers while driving it? they would be very fitting :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,660 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Fantastic work, it looks great, always liked the 166.