Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Champions V Hull City - 06/05/14 - 19:45

• Registered Users Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Is Rooney definitely out of the squad lads? My Fantasy Football life could depend on it!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭Chagan

The cup final isn't for another 11 days. If I was Bruce I would play a regular line up but just encourage them not to be reckless.

I remember Fergie rested a load of players before one of the CL finals (the league game was actually against Hull if I'm remembering it correctly). I think he said it actually did more harm than good because the players went into the final cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Chagan wrote: »
    The cup final isn't for another 11 days. If I was Bruce I would play a regular line up but just encourage them not to be reckless.

I remember Fergie rested a load of players before one of the CL finals (the league game was actually against Hull if I'm remembering it correctly). I think he said it actually did more harm than good because the players went into the final cold.

Gibson scored a screamer that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭bennyl10

"The Champions" bahahahahahaha

Yes. Champions. Maybe time has made you forget the meaning, heres a picture to help you remember what champions look like..
    No tears there anyay.. :p.now back to yer own thread to winge and moan all ye want

On to the topic at hand, think 2-1 united.. we always concede but should have enoght tonight.. said that enough times this season though..

Vidas last home appearence, be nice to see him grab one..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

"The Champions" bahahahahahaha

The Champions of England to be precise

• Site Banned Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭BMMachine

wouldnt mind seeing Giggs come out for one last hurrah. when was the last time a player/manager played a match in the PL ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    Is Rooney definitely out of the squad lads? My Fantasy Football life could depend on it!!

https://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/news/football-rooney-miss-hull-clash-175614740--sow.html
    Wayne Rooney will miss Manchester United's final home game of the season as he is still struggling to overcome a groin injury.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Whatever dude, we already beat them this season, at worst we will come out with the same amount of points v Hull home and away as yourselves :pac:

Same you couldn't match our results in all the other games, might not be mid-table then. :pac:

Can somebody hazard a guess at a lineup or score prediction or something remotely match related???

I'm gonna go with a narrow home win, although not overly confident...

Ill stick to my thread prediction

DDG
    Jones Rio Vida Evra
    Valencia Carrick Giggs Young
    Welbeck Hernandez

I reckon it will be 22-0 in Uniteds favour with Giggs scoring 21 of them and DDG getting the other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

BMMachine wrote: »
    wouldnt mind seeing Giggs come out for one last hurrah. when was the last time a player/manager played a match in the PL ?

Vialli?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

3-3 ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Same you couldn't match our results in all the other games, might not be mid-table then. :pac:

Yes, we would be joint top.

syngindub wrote: »
    3-3 ?

Too soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭mrsoundie

Hi, I am a Liverpool fan and I may be back later on, hope nobody minds. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Some lads desperately hoping for a united loss to ease their pain.

I'll say 3-1 to United.
    They were very poor at the weekend and should react to that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Yes, we would be joint top.

Well no utd lost to liverpool home and away.

mrsoundie wrote: »

I won't mind at all. If we lose sure I'll be gone meself. I'm not an idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,366 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Vialli?

I think it actually was! My immediate guess would have been Gary Monk but he hasn't played himself for Swansea this season and actually withdrew from the 25-man squad so I'm not sure if he qualifies as a player/manager anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

bad2dabone wrote: »
    Some lads desperately hoping for a united loss to ease their pain.

I'll say 3-1 to United.
    They were very poor at the weekend and should react to that

I don't think so. A hull victory would just be a hull victory really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

bennyl10 wrote: »
    Yes. Champions. Maybe time has made you forget the meaning, heres a picture to help you remember what champions look like..
    No tears there anyay.. :p.now back to yer own thread to winge and moan all ye want

On to the topic at hand, think 2-1 united.. we always concede but should have enoght tonight.. said that enough times this season though..

Vidas last home appearence, be nice to see him grab one..

Moan about what? Being in the driving seat for the league title...having CL next year? Having the best squad in the league? Hmmmmm....I guess that FFP thing is a bit of a buzz killington

niallo27 wrote: »
    Well no utd lost to liverpool home and away.

We have to share. 1 win each. If we are matching all your results it's only fair we match a win against us with a win against yous.
    That would leave City top though so joint second :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

niallo27 wrote: »
    I don't think so. A hull victory would just be a hull victory really.

Then why so much interest from Liverpool fans in what is essentially a dead rubber tie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭mrsoundie

I won't mind at all. If we lose sure I'll be gone meself. I'm not an idiot.

I understand, I legged it myself from a thread last night. Just had a look and was very delighted with my decision.

Perhaps, it would be nice if everyone introduced themselves to threads, that way, the orneriness might be lessened. Just a thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

You're doing it wrong

What fun is it if we'll be laughing as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

8-10 wrote: »
    I think it actually was! My immediate guess would have been Gary Monk but he hasn't played himself for Swansea this season and actually withdrew from the 25-man squad so I'm not sure if he qualifies as a player/manager anymore?

It was Vialli, Gareth Southgate was a player manager too but never actually fielded himself so Vialli last manager and get minutes on pitch I reckon.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I'm actually glad this isn't televised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Yanks are showing it so I'll be watching as always.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

RasTa wrote: »
    Yanks are showing it so I'll be watching as always.

Lots of channels are covering it so there will be no shortage of places to watch it!

I will welcome you with open arms, regardless of the result.

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭Ryu Hayabusa

The thread title is misleading, thought "the Champions" refers to Man City

No, you're just confused is all.

Thread title is perfectly correct

You can have it for August, gotta earn it first though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Hull

Jakupovic, Rosenior, Figueroa, Bruce, Davies, Meyler, Koren, Boyd, Quinn, Elmohamady, Long #hcafc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

It'll be a park the bus job tonight so, too much quality in that Hull team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

mike65 wrote: »
    Hull

Jakupovic, Rosenior, Figueroa, Bruce, Davies, Meyler, Koren, Boyd, Quinn, Elmohamady, Long #hcafc

I take it Jelavic dropped after his horror show the weekend assumed he'd be playing their remaining games given he can't feature in F.A. Cup.

Giggs and Vidic on bench

de Gea

Valencia
    Jones
    Smalling
    Buttner

Januzaj
    Carrick
    Fellaini
    Kagawa

Lawrence
    Wilson

Amos, Vidic, Keane, Mata, Giggs, Young, van Persie.

So no Welbeck or Hernandez

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,949 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

manutdreserves: United line up; De Gea, Valencia, Jones, Smalling, Buttner, Januzaj, Carrick, Kagawa, Fellaini, Lawrence, Wilson

Lawrence and Wilson! Interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Giggs is on the bench.

• Mars Bar wrote: »
    manutdreserves: United line up; De Gea, Valencia, Jones, Smalling, Buttner, Januzaj, Carrick, Kagawa, Fellaini, Lawrence, Wilson
    Defiantly a chance for some of them to shine for the looming Van Gahl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,205 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

I can't wait till Giggs term as manager is over ,all 3 lineups he's selected have been shocking.

This game just got more interesting. Good to see the young lads being given a shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,011 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

Love seeing less well known names in a line up, reminds me of better times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Last time I checked United were still the Champions. Nobody else has won anything yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭miralize

Lucas Hood wrote: »
    I can't wait till Giggs term as manager is over ,all 3 lineups he's selected have been shocking.

Is it hurting anyone? Good chance for youngsters and a nice way to send of Vidic & Giggs, along side the future of the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,592 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Who the fukk is Lawrence Wilson

KevIRL wrote: »

A true supporter! He plays for the U21s, had a good game against Liverpool in the play off semi final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,592 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

mike65 wrote: »
    A true supporter! He plays for the U21s, had a good game against Liverpool in the play off semi final

woooosh.

There's 2 of them btw.

KevIRL wrote: »

Tom Lawrence and James Wilson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,205 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

miralize wrote: »
    Is it hurting anyone? Good chance for youngsters and a nice way to send of Vidic & Giggs, along side the future of the club.

It's hurting the people who've paid their money to see the games, I just want United to select their best possible team for every game.

I don't mind giving these lads time just not from the start.