Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Superthread 2014 mod warning #8081

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

TheDoc wrote: »
    Wow some serious wrong understanding how bookies in thebfoitball market operate.

Their odds are reactionary to bets. They provide an initial price to which they calculate of rumour. Bookies have all to no sources in football clubs. At all.

Their odds inflate and deflate based on bets...betting patterns and volumes.

Larson was favourite yesterday for Celtic job. Based on only people betting lots of money. He has said he has no interest. He's not the favourite at all.

Bookies analysts will look at betting patterns and if they see a trend on something that's what adjusts pricing.

If we all took 20 quid and bet on someone 100/1 to sign for United....as we bet the odds would call. That's no indication the player is anywhere near signing...but a pattern being analysed that the bookies say "something going on here ".

As a matter of example...myself and the gang brought down the market on last year's late late toy show. Won't get into specifics...but the colour of jumper had one very clear favourite...we came in betting on something longer odds...but in amounts and quantities that the bookies say " they know something ". By close of betting the colour we had taken at long odds was joint favourite.

wouldn't say that now....didn't paddy power just sign up paul scholes!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

James Mccarthy? James Mc F*cking carthy??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭dor843088

nullzero wrote: »
    So Gervinho is looking for an improved contract too? I'm thinking of telling my boss that man utd are interested in me then I might get a pay rise too.

United are in such need of improvement that I think being linked with anyone could possibly hold some truth making it a nice situation for any player looking for a better contract. Its gonna be a barmy window !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Swap for Cleverley any day of the week,

• Registered Users Posts: 222 ✭✭fitzer1982

Sky have pulled the story now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

I'm not letting it happen.
    I'm not going to believe any bull**** rumours this year.

Swap for Cleverley any day of the week,

thats not here nor there. we need world class signings, not f*cking nobodies like the ones we signed in recent years.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

I don't understand the outrage from some about being linked with McCarthy. It's pretty obvious that Utd need a couple of midfielders, maybe even another if there are midfielders leaving(which Cleverly would be in this case), and they're not all going to be world-class level. McCarthy would certainly be an upgrade on Cleverly, and I'd be happy with him signing as long as there was at least one genuinely top class CM coming in, and another which would probably be a level below. People need to have realistic expectations, if there are 4/5 signings they're not all going to be world-class, as much as we would like that.

Of course if McCarthy is the main target in midfield, I'd also be annoyed and opposed to it, but I very much doubt that. It's gonna be a long summer...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭markcahill1985

Neither here nor there but made me chuckle, read at lunch time that Jordy Clasie has a tattoo dedicated to his father which reads "You mean everyting to me" and he didnt realise it was misspelt until it was pointed out to him!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

Neither here nor there but made me chuckle, read at lunch time that Jordy Clasie has a tattoo dedicated to his father which reads "You mean everyting to me" and he didnt realise it was misspelt until it was pointed out to him!!

Jordy-Clasie.jpg

thats not here nor there. we need world class signings, not f*cking nobodies like the ones we signed in recent years.

And you think he is the only CM we will be linked with? replacing Cleverley with McCarthy is good idea, he's a very under rated player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,247 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Mccarthy and coleman would be two good irish signings for our squad.

Homer calm down lol we need squad players aswell not every player we sign will be world class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

I can't wait until the World Cup starts so the press move onto other stories. It should stop them making up stuff for awhile at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Homer calm down lol we need squad players aswell not every player we sign will be world class.

The last thing we need is squad players.

McCarthy is an decent average player.

The last thing we need is squad players.

McCarthy is an decent average player.

Giggs retired so we are down a CM already, Anderson will be shifted, Carrick is older, Cleverley is just LOL, Fletcher is fecked and Fellaini has been a whole load oh ****e. McCarthy is a step above all of them.

But a step below top four/titles which is what we're aiming for, and Champions League beyond that.

McCarthy wasn't even the best midfielder in his team last year and the guy who was can't get in a top four side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,410 ✭✭✭xtal191

Get in two starting midfielders and then Carrick, Cleverley, Fellaini and Fletcher will be squad players. So yeah we def dont need to be wasting money on squad players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

That would only be one Irish signing. :pac:

do we? we have more squad players than anyother club in the world. what we lack, is world class players.

that part, is not even up for debate. the signings we need this summer need to go straight into the first 11, not on the bench to play against the likes of Stoke and Sunderland.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,691 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

In midfield, we need both. We need world class players, but to upgrade on our squad options as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,781 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

McCarthy is criminally underrated by Irish people.

But a step below top four/titles which is what we're aiming for, and Champions League beyond that.

McCarthy wasn't even the best midfielder in his team last year and the guy who was can't get in a top four side.
    xtal191 wrote: »
    Get in two starting midfielders and then Carrick, Cleverley, Fellaini and Fletcher will be squad players. So yeah we def dont need to be wasting money on squad players.

I'd rather not have Cleverley or Fletcher as squad players.
    do we? we have more squad players than anyother club in the world. what we lack, is world class players.

that part, is not even up for debate. the signings we need this summer need to go straight into the first 11, not on the bench to play against the likes of Stoke and Sunderland.

Em yes we do, if we sign new midfielders they cant play every game, even our superstar signing Fellaini got injured for most of last year, bitch and moan all you like but we need new squad players.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭NoviGlitzko

keane2097 wrote: »
    Why? What exactly does he do apart from distribute reasonably well, decent positional sense, and can tackle? He's like our Michael Carrick except younger.

I'd rather not have Cleverley or Fletcher as squad players.

Em yes we do, if we sign new midfielders they cant play every game, even our superstar signing Fellaini got injured for most of last year, bitch and moan all you like but we need new squad players.

Carrick and Fellaini become our squad players if we have proper first 11 players in there.

Carrick and fellaini will do grand against most teams from 7-20 in the league, theres enough games in there for them. we do however lack quality to beat the first 6 teams.

Which would be Carrick, Fellaini and others. We need two top class midfielders. Simple as.

Liverpool have played the same 3-4 center midfielders all season because they were not in Europe. The same team can play week to week.

As for McCarthy being underrated, I think he's a decent player but he hasn't kicked on like I thought he would. He doesn't dominate games like I thought he would and I've seen a lot of big games bypass him. If you're going to be a central midfield player at the top of the table then you're going to have to dictate, dominate or create in almost every game.

Why? What exactly does he do apart from distribute reasonably well, decent positional sense, and can tackle? He's like our Michael Carrick except younger.

Because "reasonably", and "decent", and "can tackle" at the same time as "like Michael Carrick".

Carrick and Fellaini become our squad players if we have proper first 11 players in there.

Carrick and fellaini will do grand against most teams from 7-20 in the league, theres enough games in there for them. we do however lack quality to beat the first 6 teams.

You're also presuming that if this option was put to Carrick and Fel, they wouldn't say "No, I want first team football or I'm off". Or that as our new manager, LVG might see McCarthy as a better option as a squad player than those two.

Also, reading the article which caused this fuss, it said Everton are trying to open up contract negotiations with McCarthy. In other words, this is more than likely his agent linking him to us to get a contract bump...

Thing is McCarthy is better than our squad players, so would it not be smart to have better squad players :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

They only signed him when we got Fellani, paying £13m. I can't find the contract length but it suggests a long term deal so would be surprised if he is getting a new contract already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,446 ✭✭✭glued

His name isn't exotic enough... NEXT!

James McCarthy>>>>>Ander Herrera

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭aperture_nuig

glued wrote: »

His name isn't exotic enough, but he's much greater than Ander Herrera? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,247 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

That would only be one Irish signing. :pac:

Irish internationals then......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

from Fabregas and Kroos to Clasie and McCarthy in one day. haha. Another agonizing summer in store so it seems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

I rate him quite highly and you will find posts I've made here to back that up. I would have been happy to have him when he was at Wigan as another option but if he's the main target this season I'll be very unimpressed.

Yeah, because we don't rate McCarthy because his name isn't foreign enough. :rolleyes:

I rate him quite highly and you will find posts I've made here to back that up. I would have been happy to have him when he was at Wigan as another option but if he's the main target this season I'll be very unimpressed.

I'd be of a similar mind. I wouldn't have a problem with McCarthy coming in, but only alongside a genuinely top midfielder.

glued wrote: »

The Ander Herrera comparison had crossed my mind a fair bit in the last few hours.

Oh yeah like he's not going to be knocking on the door of the world team of the year next year like, but he'd be a very solid signing with a lot of upside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,053 ✭✭✭Unearthly

McCarthy is a good player but I think Everton got him at the correct price. He would be costing a lot more now I'd imagine

from Fabregas and Kroos to Clasie and McCarthy in one day. haha. Another agonizing summer in store so it seems.

Be grand. Signings will happen. Ultimately, I expect the squad to look like this quality wise next season:

WORLD CLASS

-PREMIER LEAGUE----WORLD CLASS---PREMIER LEAGUE----WORLD CLASS-

CHAMPIONSHIP

-PREMIER LEAGUE
    PREMIER LEAGUE-

WORLD CLASS

WORLD CLASS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=78170379&postcount=2562

There's what I said about McCarthy over 2 years ago and it's word for word exactly the same as my opinion today.

Be grand. Signings will happen. Ultimately, I expect the squad to look like this quality wise next season:

WORLD CLASS

-PREMIER LEAGUE----WORLD CLASS---PREMIER LEAGUE----WORLD CLASS-

CHAMPIONSHIP

-PREMIER LEAGUE
    PREMIER LEAGUE-

WORLD CLASS

WORLD CLASS

I expect something like this:

WORLD CLASS

-INJURED
    PREMIER LEAGUE
    INJURED
    WORLD CLASS-

CHAMPIONSHIP

-PREMIER LEAGUE
    PREMIER LEAGUE-

WORLD CLASS

INJURED

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Maximus & Red, love this new team line up format your using.

RasTa wrote: »
    They only signed him when we got Fellani, paying £13m. I can't find the contract length but it suggests a long term deal so would be surprised if he is getting a new contract already.

Chances are it's not cause it's about to run out but because he feels he can get an improvement. Plenty of contracts get renegotiated after the first season if the player (and his agent) feel he's deserving of a bump.

Maximus & Red, love this new team line up format your using.

Join us :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

I've just realised that there are two seperate posters called Maximus Alexander and Corvus Maximus.

Sorry lads. :)

Al Capwned wrote: »
    I've just realised that there are two seperate posters called Maximus Alexander and Corvus Maximus.

Sorry lads. :)

I feel bad for Corvus now since you've clearly been attributing my ridiculous opinions to him! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

david luiz to psg 50m?!!!!!!! crazy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Yeah, because we don't rate McCarthy because his name isn't foreign enough. :rolleyes:

Makes sense.

Sure we only praise De Gea, Mata, Kagawa and Hernandez because we're all gay for them.

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    Makes sense.

Sure we only praise De Gea, Mata, Kagawa and Hernandez because we're all gay for them.

They're just so pretty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Join us :)

o.k. but you might find this a bit overly ambitious........

WORLD CLASS

INJURED
    INJURED
    INJURED
    INJURED

INJURED
    INJURED
    ---INJURED
    INJURED--

INJURED

INJURED