Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Superthread 2014 mod warning #8081

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

beno619 wrote: »
    It's very likely LVG will convert Valencia into a CM after the world cup. He plays there's for Columbia and has apparently been very impressive, a leader.

That is possibly one midfield option solved if he can operate at a decent level.

He doesnt even play for Columbia.... Never mind the rest of your post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,356 ✭✭✭NeVeR

NeVeR wrote: »
    Anyone interested in a World Cup Sweeps ?

I will arrange one if we get 32 interested players.

We could do €5 or €10 in sent via paypal ( as a gift so I don't get charged )

I will then use random.org to assign teams to the players. I will video the whole event :D

We should do something like this

( Example of a €10 game = €320 in pot )

World Cup winner €150
    Runner Up €70

1st Yellow Card €20
    1st Red Card €20
    1st OG €20
    1st Peno €20
    Worst goal difference in group stages. €20

Something like that

( quoting main post so people know whats going on )

Right Lads we are nearly at the 32 so get your name in quick if you want to play.

Anyone that asks to join after the 32 have been signed up will go onto a standby list, If people don't send the money before X date the standby can take there place.

Once we get the 32 we will select dates and confirm prizes etc.

Players In
    1: NeVeR
    2: Gadge
    3: keane2097
    4: Donnielighto
    5: LightOfTruth
    6: Vertigo100
    7: s.welstead
    8: duffman13
    9: irishfeen
    10: bucketybuck
    11: astradave
    12: RasTa
    13: ManofStraw
    14: LostBoy101
    15: glued
    16: Thepoet85
    17: Timmyctc
    18: KevIRL
    19: scudzilla
    20: collie0708
    21: Liam O
    22: markc1184
    23: Blatter
    24: bennyl10
    25: Timmyctc
    26: stankratz
    27: Thatsfootball
    28:
    29:
    30:
    31:
    32:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

beno619 wrote: »
    It's very likely LVG will convert Valencia into a CM after the world cup. He plays there's for Columbia and has apparently been very impressive, a leader.

That is possibly one midfield option solved if he can operate at a decent level.

Wrong Valencia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Right Lads we are nearly at the 32 so get your name in quick if you want to play.

Anyone that asks to join after the 32 have been signed up will go onto a standby list, If people don't send the money before X date the standby can take there place.

Players In
    28:
    29:
    30:
    31:
    32:

Just realised I'm there twice :p

Timmyctc wrote: »
    Just realised I'm there twice :p

haha.. you must have asked to join twice. As i just went through the post looking for people asking to join.. I'll remove you :D

Players In

25: stankratz
    26: Thatsfootball
    27:
    28:
    29:
    30:
    31:
    32:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

haha.. you must have asked to join twice. As i just went through the post looking for people asking to join.. I'll remove you :D

Players In

27:
    28:
    29:
    30:
    31:
    32:

Stick me down please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,031 ✭✭✭bren2001

Players In

27:
    28:
    29:
    30:
    31:
    32:

Sure stick me down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,603 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Players In
    28:
    29:
    30:
    31:
    32:

I'm not a gambling man.. so put me down for this instead :)

Scrap the cap!

Players In

27: Iago
    28: bren2001
    29:
    30:
    31:
    32:

4 Spots left. After that there will be a substitutes list

oh make that 3 spots left

ninja900 added - i'll update the list once we get 3 more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

I'm in NeVer!

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Saucy McKetchup

oh make that 3 spots left

ninja900 added - i'll update the list once we get 3 more.

What's it for?

World Cup Sweeps... Read back over my last few posts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Saucy McKetchup

World Cup Sweeps... Read back over my last few posts

Sign me up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Last spot for me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Brien

Does anyone believe that United and kroos are waiting for his contact to wind down because bayern simply wouldn't sell?

Anyone interested in a World Cup Sweeps ?

I will arrange one if we get 32 interested players.

We could do €5 or €10 in sent via paypal ( as a gift so I don't get charged )

I will then use random.org to assign teams to the players. I will video the whole event :D

We should do something like this

( Example of a €10 game = €320 in pot )

World Cup winner €150
    Runner Up €70

1st Yellow Card €20
    1st Red Card €20
    1st OG €20
    1st Peno €20
    Worst goal difference in group stages. €20

Something like that

Players In
    29: ninja900
    30: yermandan
    31: Saucy McKetchup
    32: Will I Amnt

And we have 32.

Anyone else joining will be added to a wait list in case someone drops out.

I'll post more details soon about payments and deadlines.. and when the draw will take place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,205 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

Brien wrote: »
    Does anyone believe that United and kroos are waiting for his contact to wind down because bayern simply wouldn't sell?
    It's a possibility yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,396 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Brien wrote: »

No - I think either Kroos eventually decided not to sign for us, or LVG decided not to sign him.

Reports in Spain that we are trying to sign Miranda off Atletico.

http://www.insidespanishfootball.com/110287/barcelona-and-manchester-united-reportedly-negotiating-with-atletico-madrids-miranda/

Not sure on him myself, has been impressive for Atletico this season, but don't know if it simply the right team/style for him. Not sure how he would do in the more attacking side LVG is reported to want in comparison to the defensive and direct Atletico side. Also 30million for a 29 year old CB is a lot of money, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Kevin Palmer from the Sunday world tweeted this

Real Madrid chief Florentino Perez on radio today: "Ferguson called Ancelotti to be his successor, but he had promised to come here" #MUFC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,064 ✭✭✭BKtje

You can add me to the bench NeVer :)
    I'll be sure to keep it warm.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

No - I think either Kroos eventually decided not to sign for us, or LVG decided not to sign him.

Reports in Spain that we are trying to sign Miranda off Atletico.

http://www.insidespanishfootball.com/110287/barcelona-and-manchester-united-reportedly-negotiating-with-atletico-madrids-miranda/

Not sure on him myself, has been impressive for Atletico this season, but don't know if it simply the right team/style for him. Not sure how he would do in the more attacking side LVG is reported to want in comparison to the defensive and direct Atletico side. Also 30million for a 29 year old CB is a lot of money, imo.

Ya if Utd pay that for a CB turning 30 in September then they are morons.

Players In
    29: ninja900
    30: yermandan
    31: Saucy McKetchup
    32: Will I Amnt

And we have 32.

Anyone else joining will be added to a wait list in case someone drops out.

I'll post more details soon about payments and deadlines.. and when the draw will take place.

Ok Lads

The deadline for payments is Tuesday 3rd June - If I get all 32 payments by midnight 3rd June i will do the Draw on the Wednesday. If I don't get them all I will remove the non payers and contact any Subs' we might have.

If I need to contact Subs I will give them until the Saturday 7th June to make payment and the draw will follow on the Sunday 8th June.

So all in all we will all know out teams by the 8th June.

I will record the team selections so everyone can see it's done fairly.

Payments

Please send all payments via paypal to david@davidstokes.com
    Please send €10 as a Gift - or €11 the normal way ... Why i hear you ask... if you send €10 normal way ( not a gift ) it will become €9 something when it hits my account. When you send as a gift you can pay the paypal fees and I won't be left with 32 payments of €9 and have to make up all the extra :D

You can of course pay €11 the normal way which will turn into about €10.10 / €10.20

If you have any questions please reply here or PM me.

Total prize pool will be €320

Note: If it comes to the point where we don't have 32 players after subs etc I will open it up for people to buy a second team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,659 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

LOL bye bye money :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

A dutch journo From twitter says "reliable Dutch magazine VI reports Manchester United is interested in PSV's Memphis Depay."
    20mill the fee and LVG is a big fan of his. Plays on left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Stick me on the subs bench please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,704 ✭✭✭Corvo

Honestly, the negativity around the team we all support on this forum is mental. I could understand it last season, because believe me, anyone who was optimistic at that time needed their head examined.

But the board have appointed an extremely experienced manager who has shown that he has the capabilities to both win trophies and leave a lasting and succesful foundation upon his departure. Its by far the most positive thing the board have done in a year.

Next up is constant negativity with regards the transfer budget. How do we know how much the club has sanctioned to allow the manager to rebuild? Ferguson was often allowed significant funds in order to purchase players, but it was poorly spent (£20m approx on Phil Jones for example was extortionate and they also splashed on Ashley Young).

Factor in the fact that the club is likely to move certain players out the door and the normal transfer budget and wage bill is far more flexible. The Nike/Sponsorship deal with surely be tied up soon - the Wall Street Journal is reporting that the deal with be worth in excess of £600m. This will also be put towards the budget.

Yes, the club still have to go and get the right players but the furore to have a chunk of our transfer business done before the World Cup is ridiculous. The window has not even opened and no clubs have really done much.

The simple fact of the matter is that the club must get back into the Champions League and a short term large investment will make sense to the Glazers in order to gain a long term advantage of the extra revenue.

I think we could all be pleasantly surprised come September at both our playing style and our first eleven.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

A dutch journo From twitter says "reliable Dutch magazine VI reports Manchester United is interested in PSV's Memphis Depay."
    20mill the fee and LVG is a big fan of his. Plays on left.

I would be happy with that, he has a lot of potential. Move might be a bit early for him, might take him a bit of time, but I think he could be a super player in the coming years.

Looking forward to the world cup now, the little interest I had in transfer speculation has pretty much completely disappeared, also looking forward to the usual Women of the World Cup thread :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭upstairs for coffee

• Corvo wrote: »
    Honestly, the negativity around the team we all support on this forum is mental. I could understand it last season, because believe me, anyone who was optimistic at that time needed their head examined.

But the board have appointed an extremely experienced manager who has shown that he has the capabilities to both win trophies and leave a lasting and succesful foundation upon his departure. Its by far the most positive thing the board have done in a year.

Next up is constant negativity with regards the transfer budget. How do we know how much the club has sanctioned to allow the manager to rebuild? Ferguson was often allowed significant funds in order to purchase players, but it was poorly spent (£20m approx on Phil Jones for example was extortionate and they also splashed on Ashley Young).

Factor in the fact that the club is likely to move certain players out the door and the normal transfer budget and wage bill is far more flexible. The Nike/Sponsorship deal with surely be tied up soon - the Wall Street Journal is reporting that the deal with be worth in excess of £600m. This will also be put towards the budget.

Yes, the club still have to go and get the right players but the furore to have a chunk of our transfer business done before the World Cup is ridiculous. The window has not even opened and no clubs have really done much.

The simple fact of the matter is that the club must get back into the Champions League and a short term large investment will make sense to the Glazers in order to gain a long term advantage of the extra revenue.

I think we could all be pleasantly surprised come September at both our playing style and our first eleven.

I think some have still been left burned from last summer and are struggling to let it go and move on. The bleak discussion can be exhausting at times.

This is pretty relevant to the lie you just posted
    It must be noted that Marca reckon Miranda is in talks with Barcelona and two big stories coming out at the same time would suggest an agent at work. Plus, €30m would make the player vastly overpriced.

kryogen wrote: »

"
    Atletico star searching for schools after agreeing Manchester United move"

"Atletico Madrid defender Miranda is looking for schools for his children in Manchester after agreeing a deal to move to Old Trafford. Spanish newspaper AS say the transfer is worth €30m"

Yeah lie. Why would I provide a link if I was lying? Grow up. Last time I'll post in this incestuous thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Corvo wrote: »
    but the furore to have a chunk of our transfer business done before the World Cup is ridiculous. The window has not even opened and no clubs have really done much.

Its not at all ridiculous, this window is critical and United should have been planning for it since last summer. Eight months of legwork should have ensured that we had deals lined up and ready to go, and at the very least we should have had one signing already announced in order to lift the air of negativity and announce to other potential signings that we meant business.

There is a furore to have a chunk of our transfer business done before the World Cup because in fact our transfer business should have been done before the world cup.

Instead we have nothing but the same sort of bullshit as last summer. Rumors and hearsay and a whole load of nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

"

"Atletico Madrid defender Miranda is looking for schools for his children in Manchester after agreeing a deal to move to Old Trafford. Spanish newspaper AS say the transfer is worth €30m"

Yeah lie. Why would I provide a link if I was lying? Grow up. Last time I'll post in this incestuous thread.

K, thanks bye.

I could go on but it would be pointless, do you believe every link you read?

Corvo wrote: »

My negitivity is due to having no faith at all in Woodward to get the job done.

LVG is a great appointment, but he has said he doesn't get involved in transfers - he leaves it to the club (ie. Woodward) and I simply don't trust woodward has the ability to sign the players we need to sign. I'm still expecting to see that we have fecked up the Shaw deal.

I'll not give Woodward blind trust on transfers, and nothing he has done so far has shown that he is up to getting the 5 or so players we need tied up before the season starts. When he starts proving himself, I will start trusting him/the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭2moreMinutes

What's this obsession some seem to have with trying to turn Valencia into a midfielder?

Seems like a stupid notion at worst and very very lazy at best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

If it means one less person linking to some stupid internet forum as if it was a serious report then this is a good thing.

Yeah, nothing there negates anything regarding the part I posted about your bull****.
    "

Yeah, lie, like this

Stating United spent 30mil on Miranda

Proving that by linking to an article that speaks of him looking at houses in Manchester, while also being int talks with Barcelona

Easier to understand why the statement, "Utd spend 30 million on Miranda" is a lie now?

Incestuous thread eh? Brilliant!

RasTa wrote: »
    K, thanks bye.

I could go on but it would be pointless, do you believe every link you read?
    So every other person is allowed to post a tranfer rumour but me? Someone a minute ago posted a Memphis Daley rumour and no one has a go off them.

Why I wonder? Oh yeah, because you think I'm a Liverpool fan on the wum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Ok Lads

The deadline for payments is Tuesday 3rd June - If I get all 32 payments by midnight 3rd June i will do the Draw on the Wednesday. If I don't get them all I will remove the non payers and contact any Subs' we might have.

If I need to contact Subs I will give them until the Saturday 7th June to make payment and the draw will follow on the Sunday 8th June.

Payments

Please send €10 as a Gift - or €11 the normal way ... Why i hear you ask... if you send €10 normal way ( not a gift ) it will become €9 something when it hits my account. When you send as a gift you can pay the paypal fees and I won't be left with 32 payments of €9 and have to make up all the extra :D

You can of course pay €11 the normal way which will turn into about €10.10 / €10.20

Note: If it comes to the point where we don't have 32 players after subs etc I will open it up for people to buy a second team.

I know it's obvious but make sure to put usernames in the message box so you know who has paid, there's always one...

What's this obsession some seem to have with trying to turn Valencia into a midfielder?

Seems like a stupid notion at worst and very very lazy at best.

Its because he has played quite often through the middle for his country, but not as a CM as seems to be the assumption, he has played as the attacking midfielder alright

He is wayyyyyyyy too one footed to be an option in the centre of the field, which is a shame cause I genuinely think he could be alright other then that, a Ramires type midfielder maybe, could do a job, but should still never be first choice or anything

Tony the Tiger should be nowhere near the United centre midfield though

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Its not at all ridiculous, this window is critical and United should have been planning for it since last summer.

But how could we have been planning for life under LVG for that time given that up until two months ago, we didn't even know he'd be our manager next season? By some accounts, some deals were lined up and then when LVG took over, they were cancelled cause he has his own targets.

So do you think we should have said "Nah, Moyes had these targets and they are who you are getting"? Do you think LVG shouldn't be the one making the decisions with regards transfers?

As soon as Moyes went, so to did the notion of getting deals done quickly. And again I say, there's no bonus points for speed; better to let the manager actually work out the targets he wants than to thrust them upon him, especially given LVG's history.

Yeah, nothing there negates anything regarding the part I posted about your bull****.

Yeah, lie, like this

Stating United spent 30mil on Miranda

Proving that by linking to an article that speaks of him looking at houses in Manchester, while also being int talks with Barcelona

Easier to understand why the statement, "Utd spend 30 million on Miranda" is a lie now?

Incestuous thread eh? Brilliant!
    Ok my delicate little flower I put a "to" in between Utd and spend just for you. Are you ok now? Good boy.

So every other person is allowed to post a tranfer rumour but me? Someone a minute ago posted a Memphis Daley rumour and no one has a go off them.

I thought you were gone?

Are you sticking around? The difference between your post and the one that speculated on the Depay thing is a bit obvious surely? Even for someone looking to be offended like yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Thought you were a United fan tbh, you posted your rumour as fact then tried to back it up with "why would I post the link if I was lying"

That's miles away from a Daley rumour which that poster acknowledged.

Its not at all ridiculous, this window is critical and United should have been planning for it since last summer.

But how could we have been planning for life under LVG for that time given that up until two months ago, we didn't even know he'd be our manager next season? By some accounts, some deals were lined up and then when LVG took over, they were cancelled cause he has his own targets.

So do you think we should have said "Nah, Moyes had these targets and they are who you are getting"? Do you think LVG shouldn't be the one making the decisions with regards transfers?

As soon as Moyes went, so to did the notion of getting deals done quickly. And again I say, there's no bonus points for speed; better to let the manager actually work out the targets he wants than to thrust them upon him, especially given LVG's history.

United started speaking to LVG in April. Transfer targets should have been a priority discussion, so that we could have been working on them, rather than seemingly only starting them now or in a few weeks.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Or maybe it's cause your post implied it was done and offical, not a rumour to be discussed ;)

Ok my delicate little flower I put a "to" in between Utd and spend just for you. Are you ok now? Good boy.

Well it would make what you said less of a lie, but hey, don't concern yourself with using your words correctly or anything, given how quick you went to incest maybe there is a reason for your difficulty with it.

Cute.

A Utd thread for Utd fans only. I've got the picture.

Ok Lads

Payments

I know it's obvious but make sure to put usernames in the message box so you know who has paid, there's always one...

yes was just about to post that.. I got 1 payment and the name was there :D

Make sure you all add your Boards.ie username to the message.

thanks.