Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Superthread 2014 mod warning #8081

• Registered Users Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭Hococop

irishfeen wrote: »
    I think that red United shirt would be very nice...

Reminds me too much of Bayern Munich's shirt

• Registered Users Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Hococop wrote: »
    Reminds me too much of Bayern Munich's shirt
    Ha I like the Bayern kit too ... that kit would do nicely, Nike have gone to the dogs lately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

What's going on? Why has he not been unveiled? Remember the press were wrong about Redknapp.

no the press wanted redknapp and so did the public....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

I'm slightly worried that the equaliser may have gotten a sniff that Pep is available. If that's the case I'd be worried this would turn into the managerial version of the Fabregas affair last summer and we'll end up hiring Alan Pardew on the last day of the transfer window!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭irishfeen

I'm slightly worried that the equaliser may have gotten a sniff that Pep is available. If that's the case I'd be worried this would turn into the managerial version of the Fabregas affair last summer and we'll end up hiring Alan Pardew on the last day of the transfer window!
    Na I think the LVG deal is all but announced - the big smiley heads on RVP and LVG himself was telling... if it goes past Monday I will start getting slightly worried alright but at the minute everything seems good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

i think the main reasons for delaying this is -
    1. dont want to over shadow Giggs...once Sunday is done, it will be announced.
    2. season ticket renewal period - normally the vast majority of season tickets are renewed between last game and end of May...this period is now approaching and no better time to announce something big than this. traditioanlly over the last 5 years apart from last year, we have our signings done also to coincide with renewal date or when the club are trying to sign up new season tickets.

if i am wrong and we let this go on for weeks and weeks, then we are in deep s*it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

Liam O wrote: »
    Lallana is more than a solid player. He's technically the best English player I've seen since a young Wayne Rooney. I don't know what argument you're trying to make with regards their age, Lallana is far more proven than Pogba. Lallana is underhyped if anything really, a really good player who impresses against the best and worst teams in the league. Maybe it's Southampton's system contributing to it and he'll struggle elsewhere, there's always that risk, I don't think it's the case at all though. With Pogba I was comparing the risk of him not turning out as expected, purely based on the fact of his nationality, hardly a rolleyes worthy statement with people bringing up a players nationality to base how good he is. But go on.

Seriously??? I stopped reading there
    Cos Lallana won a couple of leagues was capped and wanted by the top clubs in the world at the same age as Pogba...
    Honestly :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

bangkok wrote: »
    no the press wanted redknapp and so did the public....

They predicted Redknapp would get the role and they were wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,755 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

What's going on? Why has he not been unveiled? Remember the press were wrong about Redknapp.

I think they are waiting for the Ryan Giggs 4 match era to be over before any announcement, things much quieter next week, gives Giggs an easier time with press conferences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭bmcc10

brinty wrote: »
    Seriously??? I stopped reading there
    Cos Lallana won a couple of leagues was capped and wanted by the top clubs in the world at the same age as Pogba...
    Honestly :eek:

Ye because that really makes him more proven, Pogba isn't near proven at any level yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

bmcc10 wrote: »
    Ye because that really makes him more proven, Pogba isn't near proven at any level yet.

haha he plays central midfield for one of the biggest clubs in Italy and Europe and is midfield for France!!! how is he not proven??? also just won the seria A with Juve and has a price tag of between 40-50m!!! if lallana wasn't English his price would be 10-15 tops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

How can anyone be touting inexperienced managers for the role (Pochettino, Martinez, Giggs) after what has happened with Moyes

#GiggsOut
    I think Giggs will get it

#GiggsIn
    Giggs will not get the job

#GiggsOut
    Is Giggs our saviour?

#GiggsShakeItAllAbout
    Encouraging that the Glazers aren't afraid to make big calls when necessary

The Glazers are pure daycent making big calls!!
    Isn't hiring Giggs the easy/cheap option?

Uh oh, are the Glazers are taking the easy option?!
    Mark Ogden ‏@MOgdenTelegraph 55s
    Man Utd will not be pursuing Jurgen Klopp. Been made aware he is committed to Borussia Dortmund. Story to follow...

#KloppOut
    Obvious Klopp wants it

#KloppIn

Every man and his dog could see Fellaini wasn't Utd standard yet the clamour for him to be signed in here was ridiculous.

"Everyone could see it. Except all of you here. You're all so ridiculous"
    The players should have insisted on no POTY awards this year.

This is just nuts. Completely bonkers. Why should Wilson, Janko & Giggs miss out on their awards, which are not related to this seasons first team performance? Why should David De Gea not be recognised for being the outstanding performer in an otherwise woeful season? All the awards were thoroughly deserved.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

v3ttel wrote: »
    #GiggsOut

#GiggsIn

#GiggsOut

#GiggsShakeItAllAbout

The Glazers are pure daycent making big calls!!

Uh oh, are the Glazers are taking the easy option?!

#KloppOut

#KloppIn

#KloppOut

"Everyone could see it. Except all of you here. You're all so ridiculous"

This is just nuts. Completely bonkers. Why should Wilson, Janko & Giggs miss out on their awards, which are not related to this seasons first team performance? Why should David De Gea not be recognised for being the outstanding performer in an otherwise woeful season? All the awards were thoroughly deserved.

That really is nuts, makes my dissing of Ronaldo to Maradona comparisons seem trivial :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

bullvine wrote: »
    That really is nuts, makes my dissing of Ronaldo to Maradona comparisons seem trivial :eek:

Ah, we all change opinions over time, to be fair to him.

It's just rarely that it happens so often in the space of two or three weeks. Usually it's over a period of months/years.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

v3ttel wrote: »
    Ah, we all change opinions over time, to be fair to him.

It's just rarely that it happens so often in the space of two or three weeks. Usually it's over a period of months/years.
    you should try redbarron throughout the last few Weeks of the moyes era.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

jane82 wrote: »
    you should try redbarron throughout the last few Weeks of the moyes era.

Try to spell my name right, yeah. and I'm entitled to change my opinion on a subject that is changing by the week. I was behind Moyes all season. Tried my absolute best to get behind him, and will with the next manager - even if he doesnt get off to a good start. Towards the end I lost faith. There were strong rumours about him losing the dressing room, and he started to look like a dead man walking.

What's wrong with that??

bangkok wrote: »
    haha he plays central midfield for one of the biggest clubs in Italy and Europe and is midfield for France!!! how is he not proven??? also just won the seria A with Juve and has a price tag of between 40-50m!!! if lallana wasn't English his price would be 10-15 tops

Pogba after one full good season at Juventus and a handful of games for France is proven? He's nowhere near proven yet he's a headcase and unpredicble what he will do, When he establishes himself after a good few seasons then come back and say it, It's almost as if people think Lallana only exsisted the past 2 seasons he's consistinley been very good for Southampton in League 1 the Championship and now the PL, Made the club captain at a young age and will be playing in the WC. I'm not saying he's a world beater but certainly he's a lot more than a one season wonder people seem to think.

Try to spell my name right, yeah. and I'm entitled to change my opinion on a subject that is changing by the week. I was behind Moyes all season. Tried my absolute best to get behind him, and will with the next manager - even if he doesnt get off to a good start. Towards the end I lost faith. There were strong rumours about him losing the dressing room, and he started to look like a dead man walking.

What's wrong with that??

Theres nothing wrong with it but go through the post now and itd be
    Moyes in
    Moyes out
    Moyes in
    Moyes out etc etc.

Its a bit funny is all.

Pogba after one full good season at Juventus and a handful of games for France is proven? He's nowhere near proven yet he's a headcase and unpredicble what he will do, When he establishes himself after a good few seasons then come back and say it, It's almost as if people think Lallana only exsisted the past 2 seasons he's consistinley been very good for Southampton in League 1 the Championship and now the PL, Made the club captain at a young age and will be playing in the WC. I'm not saying he's a world beater but certainly he's a lot more than a one season wonder people seem to think.
    Lallana has a season in the prem.. Powell is performing in the championship so was zaha at a lot younger an age. Cleverly done well at Wigan. I seen him play against the airtricity x1. Electric he was. Think he scored a hatrick.
    This was all before they were 25.
    He has pretty much reached his prime and looks good at a team that were in the championship last season and will probably be fighting relegation next season.
    Every few years a club comes up looking great then go back to midtable or lower.
    He isnt as good as the best in the world. Not nearly as good.
    For united itd be like good money for old rope. Hes not better than Ashley young was thought to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

Theres nothing wrong with it but go through the post now and itd be
    Moyes in
    Moyes out
    Moyes in
    Moyes out etc etc.

Its a bit funny is all.

Not really. I backed Moyes as much as anyone. My support was shaken after the liverpool game (I think). I then got behind him again. Then the Everton result was enough for me.

It was pretty difficult to keep the faith in all fairness. Especially in the immediate aftermath of some of the painful results.

i think the main reasons for delaying this is -
    1. dont want to over shadow Giggs...once Sunday is done, it will be announced.
    2. season ticket renewal period - normally the vast majority of season tickets are renewed between last game and end of May...this period is now approaching and no better time to announce something big than this. traditioanlly over the last 5 years apart from last year, we have our signings done also to coincide with renewal date or when the club are trying to sign up new season tickets.

if i am wrong and we let this go on for weeks and weeks, then we are in deep s*it.

That sounds pretty reasonable. However I won't believe anything until I see him being unveiled!

On another note how much are United season tickets?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

That sounds pretty reasonable. However I won't believe anything until I see him being unveiled!

Mines about 800 (edit probably closer to 900) a year when the cup games are added in the stretford end i can look up the exact price later

Lallana has a season in the prem.. Powell is performing in the championship so was zaha at a lot younger an age. Cleverly done well at Wigan. I seen him play against the airtricity x1. Electric he was. Think he scored a hatrick.
    This was all before they were 25.
    He has pretty much reached his prime and looks good at a team that were in the championship last season and will probably be fighting relegation next season.
    Every few years a club comes up looking great then go back to midtable or lower.
    He isnt as good as the best in the world. Not nearly as good.
    For united itd be like good money for old rope. Hes not better than Ashley young was thought to be.

2 seasons they've been in the PL 2 seasons im not even going to bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

v3ttels multiquotes are a sight to behold

2 seasons they've been in the PL 2 seasons im not even going to bother.

Technicalities. Doesnt change the fact. Victor Moses was **** hot not long ago.

NTMK wrote: »
    Mines about 800 (edit probably closer to 900) a year when the cup games are added in the stretford end i can look up the exact price later

That's not too bad. I was using a friend's Chelsea tickets this year and the seats were about 10 rows from the pitch for £940. I thought they'd be more for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Pogba is unproven? Nope you couldn't be any more wrong especially when comparing him with Lallana

RasTa wrote: »
    Pogba is unproven? Nope you couldn't be any more wrong especially when comparing him with Lallana

Pogba isnt proven because he hasnt done it on a rainy night against Doncaster apparantly.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

Lallana is a class player, but is he not more of a no 10 than a winger?

bullvine wrote: »
    Lallana is a class player, but is he not more of a no 10 than a winger?

Both from what Ive seen. I dont support Southampton too closely though.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

Both from what Ive seen. I dont support Southampton too closely though.

You have a very strong opinion of a player that you haven't seen much of?

Agueroooo wrote: »

That's what i don't get either why argue about it

Where did I say I havnt seen much of him?
    Im not a specialist on all things Southampton. I dont know why he was playing in certain positions on certain Weeks I see him on the wing or around the box.
    Hes not a bad player. He is way overhyped since the Southampton manager came in. Him and the striker they have that is not much better than big Andy if even.

Where did I say I havnt seen much of him?
    Im not a specialist on all things Southampton. I dont know why he was playing in certain positions on certain Weeks I see him on the wing or around the box.
    Hes not a bad player. He is way overhyped since the Southampton manager came in. Him and the striker they have that is not much better than big Andy if even.

He's been hyped this 6 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

That's what i don't get either why argue about it

I've got opinions on Lallana too, they are formed from the few live games that have involved Southampton and MOTD, the same as the majority here I'd imagine and the same as jane82 is probably making out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Mine is only £532 for 19 league games. then we have any extra cup home games, though the LC is optional.

it is quite possible that we will only have 21 or 22 home games next season, which will really impact the clubs finances, compared to 28 this season and i think 29 last season.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

I've got opinions on Lallana too, they are formed from the few live games that have involved Southampton and MOTD, the same as the majority here I'd imagine and the same as jane82 is probably making out.

but I wouldn't dare say he is better or worse that X ,Y and Z and go comparing to other players to make a point when the opinion is been reached by limited times the player was watched .

everyone has an opinion - but to put it across so strongly (over multiple posts) and then admit to have not watched support that much I find a little bizarre.. that's all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,205 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

Love watching Lallana hes comfortable in any of 3 positions behind the striker and even in a deeper centre midfield position.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

but I wouldn't dare say he is better or worse that X ,Y and Z and go comparing to other players to make a point when the opinion is been reached by limited times the player was watched .

everyone has an opinion - but to put it across so strongly (over multiple posts) and then admit to have not watched support that much I find a little bizarre.. that's all.

Jane82 has probably seen Lallana as much as the rest of us bar Saints fans, which if we're being honest is f*ck all compared to the players in the team we actually support.
    Unless there's people downloading full match recordings of Southampton games, in which case I apologise to those people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,979 ✭✭✭billyhead

Right folks who would our prediction as to LVGs 1st signing. I think it will be Toni Kroos as he is the exact type of player needed a box to box midfielder who can act as a link between the defence and the attack. Reus is too similar to Mata and Rooney when he drops back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

billyhead wrote: »
    Right folks who would our prediction as to LVGs 1st signing. I think it will be Toni Kroos as he is the exact type of player needed a box to box midfielder who can act as a link between the defence and the attack. Reus is too similar to Mata and Rooney when he drops back.

Speculating that LVG will be in charge and then speculating on who he will sign. This is speculation Inception. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭googled eyes

So lads. Obviously your excitement is building about Van Gaal coming in.

So where do you think he'll have you finishing next season?

Do ye all think he'll spend the rumoured 200 mill and will this be a major overhaul or just a few big names?

If stream two or three matches not involving utd a week on average. Usually Liverpool or Chelsea sometimes arsenal.
    Ive seen them a fair few times when they come up.
    For me hes a decent player. Not worth the price. Hyped for 6 years at Southampton maybe only lately by major media.
    Hes no Juan Mata or a prime Nani yet will cost gaga money because he is English.
    I originally stated I didnt want him at united for that money because he was more hype than talent.
    It kinda spiralled out of control to me having to explain how much I watch football.

The real question is how long have I watched football?

Long enough to know every year a great british hope gets touted for silly money and somebody gets suckered into buying him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,389 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Nah, Lallana's English, ergo he's at the level of Lee Cattermole. There's no other explanation. No English player with hype has ever been good, not Gerrard, Lampard or Rooney, he must be the next Charlie Adam.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

billyhead wrote: »
    Right folks who would our prediction as to LVGs 1st signing.

I think the Shaw deal is already done, so will likely be announced soon after the manager is.
    So where do you think he'll have you finishing next season?

Top 4 minimum, with a decent challenge for the title. What we should have been doing this season, basically. With investments, the bedding in period over for Mata, Januzaj a year older and no Europe to hinder us, should be a demand we get top 4.
    Do ye all think he'll spend the rumoured 200 mill and will this be a major overhaul or just a few big names?

I reckon 100m myself; one or two BIG names, and then a few smaller players. Will depend on who comes and goes though.

Liam O wrote: »
    Nah, Lallana's English, ergo he's at the level of Lee Cattermole. There's no other explanation. No English player with hype has ever been good, not Gerrard, Lampard or Rooney, he must be the next Charlie Adam.

Yeah at 25 Lampard Gerard and Rooney had only one decent season in the premier league?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,777 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Yeah at 25 Lampard Gerard and Rooney had only one decent season in the premier league?

Had Lampard had any decent seasons by 25? My memory of him is being extremely ordinary up until Jose's first year at Chelsea.

I think the Shaw deal is already done, so will likely be announced soon after the manager is.

Top 4 minimum, with a decent challenge for the title. What we should have been doing this season, basically. With investments, the bedding in period over for Mata, Januzaj a year older and no Europe to hinder us, should be a demand we get top 4.

I reckon 100m myself; one or two BIG names, and then a few smaller players. Will depend on who comes and goes though.
    A shalke left back was saying united were sniffing about a few Weeks ago. I dont think Shaw is done.

keane2097 wrote: »
    Had Lampard had any decent seasons by 25? My memory of him is being extremely ordinary up until Jose's first year at Chelsea.

Scored a hatrick for west ham at 19.
    Full time first team at 20 finishing 5th or 6th in the league. Won the intertoto cup. Scored a few in the uefa cup. Was the clubs peno taker. Wrestled di canio to get the ball off him to take a peno when dicanio wanted to take it.
    Chelsea ever present from 22 or 23. Was picking up Chelsea player of the month awards after that.
    Pfa team of the year at 25.
    Compare that to 1 decent prem year and one moderate one.

Edit; playing for England at about 20 too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,777 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

I feel you're massaging the stats a little with a hat-trick against Walsall in the League Cup. If we're only describing these last two years for Lallana as "moderate" or "decent" I don't think anything you've mentioned there rates particularly higher.