Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Superthread 2014 mod warning #8081

• Registered Users Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

Yeah lads cop on now.
    tumblr_ljq77svYwA1qavmeoo1_500.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Headshot wrote: »
    Man these pics are getting annoying at this stage. If I want to look at tits, ill look at a porno site.

Ya but her boobs are real.

If I wanted fake boobs I get 2 Baloons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭zarquon

Headshot wrote: »
    spot on zarquon

People really need to grow up tbh

Isn't there an off topic thread for crap like that. How come some stuff is allowed against the forum charter and others isn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Dreaming of Kate when Headshot ruins it :pac:

MeOtsLP.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Mick McCarthy gif cracks me up everytime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭upstairs for coffee

27 million seems like a very high opening bid.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭Chagan

Ashley Young's missus got the thread all excited and we haven't really calmed down since.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

27m for an English left back at a club who won't want to sell sounds grand. Really happy with that news.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

Chagan wrote: »
    Ashley Young's missus got the thread all excited and we haven't really calmed down since.

Haven't slept since, rubbed raw I am

• Registered Users Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭irishfeen

I honestly think we will have to get out of that mentality this summer - if we want a player bid and bid an amount to sign the player - NO MORE FANNYING ABOUT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

ninja900 wrote: »
    Did you spontaneously forget Euro 2012, or did it require months of therapy? :eek:

2002-2012 is ten years. ;)

Not sure how reliable Tancredi Palmeri is on twitter:
    Tomorrow 11.00am UK Van Gaal will meet Manchester United to sign the contract

There is also the possibility that the fee was agreed, but United still had to actually put the bid in.

Hoping we get a confirmation as quickly as we bid :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭mav79

A waste of time starting a bid any lower. Chelsea, Liverpool and United badly need a Lb so its better to get a high bid in early and hope things can get wrapped up before other clubs get involved. Would love to see him at Liverpool. Whoever gets him will have the Lb position sorted for a number of years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

excellent LB, english, 18 y.o ill be surprised if he goes for anything less than 35 tbh

pissing about on bids for in demand players got us into this mess we cant afford any more of that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,656 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

27m is small money in the grand scheme. A wc lb in the making and will have us covered for years to come.

A dream signing of mine

An ideal Monday would be "Van Gaal unveiled,Shaw bid accepted and Kroos puts in transfer request to join United".That'd be a nice start to the rebuild.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭Chagan

I'll be delighted if we get him before the World Cup too. Wouldn't want Shaw drawing any more attention to himself before we have him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,949 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

nsfw tags at least on the pics guys. Even better again, less of the pics. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

More Kate Upton, United bid for Shaw and I've a pack of Oreos to myself, today is a great day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

Mars Bar wrote: »
    nsfw tags at least on the pics guys. Even better again, less of the pics. :)

Some men just want to watch the world burn.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭Hococop

crazy money for an 18 year old. ye think he is worth it?

hopefully 2 big signings are done before the World Cup anyway.

We paid the same for Rooney granted it's a different position

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭Rubber_Soul

There is also the possibility that the fee was agreed, but United still had to actually put the bid in.

Hoping we get a confirmation as quickly as we bid :P

Whenever I hear these odd number opening bids I assume this is the case. Guess we'll see if they accept or now.

Schwiiing wrote: »

Do they? I wouldn't know! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

Well at least it's a realistic bid! This Summer's already shaping up better than last!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

Everything burns!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

This Shaw and Adnan battle goin on in the highlights of todays game on ss1 is great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,446 ✭✭✭glued

One thing I have to say about the weakness of Moyes was letting Vidic remain captain after signing and posing for Inter Milan. Would Fergie have allowed that? Not a fcuking chance. He should of stripped him of the captaincy after that.

That was my most disappointing Moyes moment amongst all the bad results and poor performances it was his lack of decisiveness and leadership that really let him down in the end. Also the pandering to Rooney was detrimental to the team.

I hope we get van Gaal in. We looked so frail this season. Some of these players need a massive shake up too.

Sly bid for Alex Song this summer perhaps? Wouldn't be mad money I reckon. 12-15m.

I don't for a second believe that Fergie would have taken the captaincy off vidic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭Vinz Mesrine

RichFTW wrote: »
    Can't see Liverpool finishing above us or Arsenal next year. Liverpool will lose Suarez and won't be as strong, they will still be competitive but won't have that extra fire power to blitz games like they had this season. If Arsenal get a top striker and avoid the injury list they had this year, they will also be challenging. 3 decent signings between midfield and defence and we will finish above Liverpool.

Why will Liverpool lose Suarez?

All this talk of teams strengthening to finish above Liverpool makes me laugh, do people not realise that Liverpool will also strengthen?

Can we all agree to just forget about Moyes? I know people like to bring him up to analyse what he did wrong but it reminds me of a bad time.

I don't for a second believe that Fergie would have taken the captaincy off vidic.

I don't think Fergie would have let Vidic be pictured signing for another club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Reus has given an interview with Kicker (very reliable) saying he may not be at BVB next season. No clubs mentioned, but might be of interest to you.

Full interview released midnight/tomorrow according to this (can't find English link, sorry.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Just realised United have bid £27million for a man I'm 6 months older than, I feel like a useless pack of **** right now :pac:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,427 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

On Pace, United need people to move the ball at pace not just players with leg speed.

On position for next Season, its hard to say at this stage. But when you look at the premier league, you need a good defence and a strong attack capable of scoring many goals, I think they can get there next season. That is enough to beat the "lesser" teams and should see the home form improve. To compete for winning the league you need momentum, confidence to be high and that will only come from having a side that can live with the top sides.

The second is achievable as well, especially with less games next season.

The reason I think its achievable is that United and the players have done it before, the club will be bringing in a new proven manager and improving/renewing the squad.

I wouldn't be confident to say they can win the league but compete yes.

All this talk of teams strengthening to finish above Liverpool makes me laugh, do people not realise that Liverpool will also strengthen?

Do Liverpool have the resources to strengthen to the same degree as Chelsea City and to a lesser extent Utd?

Just realised United have bid £27million for a man I'm 6 months older than, I feel like a useless pack of **** right now :pac:

Could be worse. You could be 14 years older than him.

Their reported budget is £60 million.These days that gets you 3 maybe 4 average players.They need to replace Johnson,Agger,need a CM.That's the budget gone.

Arsenal will be Arsenal.

Do Liverpool have the resources to strengthen to the same degree as Chelsea City and to a lesser extent Utd?

Obviously liverpool won't compete with Chelsea and City, that's a given. When it comes to United and Arsenal, I see no reason why Liverpool can't compete with them when it comes to transfer fees.

I have a feeling that the style of football that Brendan Rodgers implemented this season has raised a lot of eyebrows through Europe and will only mean that better players will want to join the club. Obviously having champions league football will do no harm either.

Do you think he would of allowed him be pictured signing for another club while captaining Man United? I don't think so. I think we're thinking of two different people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Had Vidic did what he did while Ferguson was manager, he would have been f*cked out of the club.

the thing is, Vidic would not have done it to Fergie.

zerks wrote: »
    Their reported budget is £60 million.These days that gets you 3 maybe 4 average players.They need to replace Johnson,Agger,need a CM.That's the budget gone.

Arsenal will be Arsenal.

€60m buys 3 average players? That's some expensive shopping you are doing.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,427 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

mav79 wrote: »
    A waste of time starting a bid any lower. Chelsea, Liverpool and United badly need a Lb so its better to get a high bid in early and hope things can get wrapped up before other clubs get involved. Would love to see him at Liverpool. Whoever gets him will have the Lb position sorted for a number of years.

How do Chelsea badly need a left back?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

zerks wrote: »

Arsenal will be Arsenal.

That's the figure being bandied around alright, nowhere near the amount Utd and Chelsea will spend, City will spend whatever they want.

Don't see why you'll only 3 or 4 average players for that. Zabaletta only cost City c. £6.5m, if Liverpool got someone near as good as that for twice the price it would be great value.

Of course on a limited budget, transfers have to be hit, very little room for miss

Luke Shaw for £27M is a terrible deal tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

€60m buys 3 average players? That's some expensive shopping you are doing.

What type of shopping are you doing??? 20M gets you a half decent player these days.

Hidalgo wrote: »
    That's the figure being bandied around alright, nowhere near the amount Utd and Chelsea will spend, City will spend whatever they want.

Don't see why you'll only 3 or 4 average players for that. Zabaletta only cost City c. £6.5m, if Liverpool got someone near as good as that for twice the price it would be great value.

Of course on a limited budget, transfers have to be hit, very little room for miss

Kompany cost €6m, there is incredible value out there if your scouts leave England (and Everton)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Antibac

GSPfan wrote: »
    Could be worse. You could be 14 years older than him.

Hah. Try 20 years older! More than double his age. Barely see 27euro never mind 27 million!
    In all seriousness it good to see that we are starting early this year

What type of shopping are you doing??? 20M gets you a half decent player these days.

20m gets some world class players, that was my point.